Dave Lebling

Game Credits


Zork N plus 9 (2012)   (adapting Zork by)
Zork I: The Great Underground Empire (1996)   (Authors)
Arthur: The Quest for Excalibur (1989)   (At the Last Minute and at Great Expense)
Zork Zero: The Revenge of Megaboz (1989)   (Based on a concept by)
James Clavell's Shogun (1988)   (Game Designer)
The Lurking Horror (1987)   (Design)
Spellbreaker (1985)   (Design)
Suspect (1984)   (Game by)
Enchanter (1983)   (Design)
Starcross (1982)   (Design)
Zork III: The Dungeon Master (1982)   (Design)
Zork II: The Wizard of Frobozz (1981)   (Design)
Zork: The Great Underground Empire (1980)   (Design)
Dungeon (1977)   (created at the Programming Technology Division of the MIT Laboratory for Computer Science by)


Zork Zero: The Revenge of Megaboz (1989)   (Design and implementation of XZIP development system)
James Clavell's Shogun (1988)   (Programming)
Beyond Zork: The Coconut of Quendor (1987)   (Z Development System)
Trinity (1986)   (Interactive Fiction Plus (TM) Development System)
Dungeon (1977)   (Written by)


Classic Mystery Library (1987)   (Interactive Fiction by)
The Lurking Horror (1987)   (Interactive Fiction by)
Enchanter Trilogy (1986)   (Interactive Fiction by)
Zork Trilogy (1986)   (Interactive Fiction by)
Zork: The Great Underground Empire (1980)   (Interactive Fiction by)


Alienators: Evolution Continues (2001)   (Special Thanks)
Return to Zork (1993)   (Special Thanks to)
Pork I: The Great Underground Sewer System (1991)   (A parody of ZORK I, THE GREAT UNDERGROUND EMPIRE by)


Beyond Zork: The Coconut of Quendor (1987)   (Z Development System)
The Witness (1983)   (Based on an idea by)

Developer Biography

(Taken from a 1988 game manual)

Dave Lebling was born in Washington D.C., in a hospital that was torn down soon thereafter. He grew up in suburban Maryland. He attended the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and worked at MIT's Laboratory for Computer Science where he developed an interest in computer entertainments. He co-authored the original mainframe Zork. He co-authored Zork 1, Zork II, Zork III, and Enchanter, and wrote Starcross, Suspect, Spellbreaker, and The Lurking Horror on his own. He is married and lives in a suburb of Boston. His long-range ambition is to have a library with room enough for all his books to be taken out of storage. His short-range ambition is to keep squirrels out of his birdseed.

Last updated: Dec 29, 2004