Markus Persson

Also Known As

  • Markus Alexej Persson
  • Notch

Game Credits


Minecraft: Xbox 360 Edition (2012)   (Original Design by)
Minecraft (2010)   (Game Design)


Minecraft: PlayStation 4 Edition (2014)   (Original Design and code by)
Shambles (2013)   (A 7DFPS by)
Minecraft: Xbox 360 Edition (2012)   (Original Code by)
Minecraft (2010)   (Programming)
Left 4K Dead (2008)   (Game by)


Minecraft (2010)   (Graphics)

Quality Assurance

Luftrausers (2014)   (Testers)


Minecraft (2010)   (Website Development)


Proteus (2013)   (Feedback, Help, Support & Critique)


Carmageddon: Reincarnation (2014)   (Featured)
Legend of Grimrock II (2014)   (Special Thanks To)
The Sims 4 (2014)   (The Sims 4 Team would like to thank)
The Stanley Parable (2013)   (A Special Thanks You to)
FTL: Faster Than Light (2012)   (Thank you to all of our extremely generous Kickstarter backers, with a very special thank you to)
Legend of Grimrock (2012)   (Special Thanks to)
No Time To Explain (2011)   (Kickstarter showstoppers!!!)
Sanctum (2011)   (Special Thanks)


Borderlands 2 (2012)   (Gearbox Software wishes to acknowledge these individuals and studios that made development contributions to Borderlands 2)
Retro City Rampage: DX (2012)   (Cameos)
VVVVVV (2010)   (Supported by the following patrons)

Developer Biography

Markus Persson is best known as the developer of Minecraft, one of the best selling independently developed games of all times. He is from Sweden and lives just outside of Stockholm.

Earlier he created Wurm Online with Rolf Jansson and that game is still running now. After that, he worked for where he made a whole pile of small Flash games, each having usually one-to-two months development time. He briefly joined Avalanche Studios during that time, but went back to almost immediately as he was uncomfortable to work at a large studio. Eventually he quit completely to work on Minecraft.

Last updated: Nov 25, 2010