Join our Discord to chat with fellow friendly gamers and our knowledgeable contributors!

John Smith

Game Credits


Dungeon Siege (2002)   (Leads (ZoneMatch and Strike Team Development))


Killer Instinct (2016)   (Microsoft Studios Thanks)
Quantum Break (2016)   (Microsoft Studios Thanks)
Quantum Break (2016)   (Microsoft Studios Thanks)
ReCore (2016)   (Microsoft Studios Thanks)
Minecraft: PlayStation 4 Edition (2014)   (Special Thanks)
Bloodforge (2012)   (Special Thanks)
Minecraft: Xbox 360 Edition (2012)   (Special Thanks)
Trials Evolution (2012)   (Special Thanks)
Condemned: Criminal Origins (2005)   (Special Thanks)
Jade Empire (2005)   (Special Thanks)
Jade Empire (Limited Edition) (2005)   (Special Thanks)
The Chronicles of Riddick: Escape from Butcher Bay (2004)   (VUG Special Thanks to)
Sudeki (2004)   (Special Thanks)
Unreal Tournament 2004 (2004)   (Special Thanks)
Unreal Tournament 2004 (DVD Special Edition) (2004)   (Special Thanks)
Cabela's Dangerous Hunts (2003)   (Special Thanks)
Unreal Championship (2002)   (Very Special Thanks)
Max Payne (2001)   (Thanks)
4x4 Evo (2000)   (Special Thanks To WinCE Dreamcast Team)
Allegiance (2000)   (Special Thanks To)
Renegade Racers (2000)   (Special Thanks)
Sega Swirl (2000)   (Special Thanks)
Asheron's Call (1999)   (Special Thanks To)


Pariah (2005)   (Microsoft)
Asheron's Call 2: Fallen Kings (2002)   (RAT Studio Management)
Unreal Championship (2002)   (General)
MechWarrior 4: Vengeance (2000)   (GUN)

Developer Biography

John Smith is currently technical director of Detonator Games, a development studio he co-founded with Matt Wilson and Corey Dangel on 4th July 2009, all coming from SOE Seattle. Previously, he had co-founded the studio FireAnt, Inc. together with Wilson in 2004, until the entire team was hired in February 2005 to form SOE Seattle.

Before that, he worked at Microsoft on both client and server frameworks for Microsoft's Internet Gaming Zone, and large scale server infrastructure for Microsoft's and Sony's MMO's.

Last updated: Aug 09, 2009