Join our Discord to chat with fellow friendly gamers and our knowledgeable contributors!

Jim Connelley

Also Known As

  • James Connelley
  • J. W. Connelley

Game Credits


Alexi Lalas International Soccer (1998)   (Management)
Fox Sports College Hoops '99 (1998)   (Management)


Dragonriders of Pern (1983)   (Designed by)
Crush, Crumble and Chomp! (1981)   (Game Design)
Ricochet (1981)   (Game Design)
StarQuest: Star Warrior (1980)   (Game Design)
Invasion Orion (1979)   (Game Design)
Starfleet Orion (1978)   (Designed by)


Crush, Crumble and Chomp! (1981)   (Programs)
Ricochet (1981)   (Program)
Dunjonquest: Hellfire Warrior (1980)   (Programs)
StarQuest: Rescue at Rigel (1980)   (Programs)
StarQuest: Star Warrior (1980)   (Programs)
Dunjonquest: Morloc's Tower (1979)   (Programs)
Dunjonquest: Temple of Apshai (1979)   (IBM Program)
Dunjonquest: The Datestones of Ryn (1979)   (Programs)
Invasion Orion (1979)   (Programs)

Quality Assurance

Dunjonquest: Sorcerer of Siva (1981)   (Playtesting)
Tuesday Morning Quarterback (1981)   (Playtesting)


Space Invaders (1999)   (Special Thanks To)

Developer Biography

Jim Connelley is one of the founding members of Automated Simulations, the other is Jon Freeman. Although the company isn't well known today they were one of the earliest game companies for home computers and shipped many of the early strategy games.

Jim and John started with Starfleet Orion in 1978 and then followed that up with the single-player Invasion Orion the next year. Then they created Temple of Apshai, also in 1979, which would go on to win many awards and is considered by many to be one of the greatest games of its era.

Over the next few years the company grew and eventually changed their name to Epyx (John had moved on by this point). Epyx had a whole management team and wanted to take the company into the action game area while Jim was still interested in strategy games. His last work at Epyx was Dragonriders of Pern, and after that he left to do freelance design.

Last updated: Oct 14, 2007