Join our Discord to chat with fellow friendly gamers and our knowledgeable contributors!

Shigesato Itoi

Game Credits


Mother 1+2 (2003)   (Director)
EarthBound (1994)   (Producer / Director)
Earth Bound (1989)   (Director)


Mother 3 (2006)   (Story)
EarthBound (1994)   (Written By)


EarthBound (1994)   (Dosei Font Designed by)


EarthBound (1994)   (Sampling Voices)


Super Smash Bros. for Nintendo 3DS (2014)   (Senior Supervisors)
Super Smash Bros. for Wii U (2014)   (APE inc.)
Super Smash Bros. Brawl (2008)   (Senior Supervisors)
Super Smash Bros.: Melee (2001)   (Original Game Staff)


Deathstate (2015)   (Special Thanks)


Super Smash Bros. Ultimate (2018)   (Original Game Supervisors (Hobonichi Co., Ltd. / APE inc.))
Super Smash Bros. (1999)   (Original Game Staff)


Super Smash Bros. Ultimate (2018)   (Characters: (C))

Developer Biography

Shigesato Itoi (糸井 重里), born November 10, 1948, is a Japanese essayist, voice actor, copywriter, lyricist, and video game designer. In the video game world, he is best known for his work on the EarthBound / Mother series.

With his copywriting work in the 1980s, Itoi established the profession among the general public in Japan. He did voice acting work in the Japanese version of the anime My Neighbor Totoro. Itoi also co-authored a collection of short stories titled Yume de Aimashou ("Let's meet in a dream") with writer Haruki Murakami.

In 1998, Itoi opened the website Hobo Nikkan Itoi Shinbun ("Almost Daily Itoi News"). Under the theme “creating good mood,” the website is being updated every day for the past years, with Itoi’s own essays on lifestyle, interviews and articles, and merchandise sales. He discusses his interviews with artists, craftsmen, businessmen, etc., which tend to center on philosophical issues. Itoi has also co-written several books modeled on these interviews, in which he has a series of long conversations with, for example, an expert on neurology (Kaiba, The Hippocampus), about how to live as a human being in the world.

Last updated: Jun 09, 2011