🕹️ New release: Lunar Lander Beyond

Forums > Off Topic > Vintage game art

Marker (557) on 3/16/2012 6:16 AM · Permalink · Report

I'm looking for some input. I'm a long time illustrator, and in my younger days was responsible for quite a few paintings for video game packaging. I have a series of high rez transparencies that I shot back in the day, prior to delivery to clients, showing the game art complete, and clear of any design elements,ie.:Title, crawlers, crop outs., etc. I want to gauge whether or not there is any interest in my possibly creating signed prints of these images. I know it's tough to even find good quality visuals of the old boxes, much less hi rez and great color on the actual art. These 25-30 images include early and later games by the top 8 makers.

Any thoughts?

vedder (70822) on 3/16/2012 8:02 AM · Permalink · Report

It's a niche market, but I'd definitely think there would be people interested in buying such prints!

Marker (557) on 3/16/2012 7:08 PM · Permalink · Report

Thanks for the input. I didn't think younger gamers would be into this, but felt the over age 25 guys might be the demographic.

Zeppin (8408) on 3/16/2012 2:38 PM · Permalink · Report

I'd like to think that there would always be an interest in vintage cover art. It tends to bleed character.

Marker (557) on 3/16/2012 7:12 PM · Permalink · Report

That was the name of the game in the early days. Take a look at the pixels, sit down with the packaging guys and sort out a compelling image in sketch form on the spot based on the developers narrative, then have at it back at the studio. Try to give the game play a visual construct.

Pseudo_Intellectual (66362) on 3/16/2012 4:44 PM · Permalink · Report

While you're at it, have a look to see if games you made the art for credit you as illustrator here, and help us get your name on file for those games that don't list you 8)

Marker (557) on 3/16/2012 7:13 PM · Permalink · Report

I'll check that out. Thanks./