🐳 New! Moby v2023.06.02 update


aka: KlashBall


The original future sport game, Speedball is played out on a small court with five players on each team, making it more frantic than the more famous sequel. The ball must be thrown into the goal at your opponent's end. Any amount of physical contact can be made, and there are no illegal ways to get the ball or the goal.

Before each match you can bribe the referee into awarding you a head-start or strengthening the abilities of your players. You compete in a simple knockout cup tournament, or in individual 2-player games.

Groups +



Credits (DOS version)

Graphics by
Music & Sound Effects by



C64 version

The C64 version of the game is one of the 30 games on the Commodore 64 Direct TV retro game joystick released in 2004.


Unofficially inspired by the 1975 movie Rollerball.


According to Eric Matthews, plain programming only took one and a half months - but play testing and fine tuning of the game play took another four months. Spending such amounts of time on the game play was very unusual at the time the game was created.


  • Golden Joystick Award
    • 1989 - won the 16-bit Game of the Year award

Information also contributed by Johnny "ThunderPeel2001" Walker and Ricky Derocher

Related Games

Speedball 2100
Released 2000 on PlayStation
Speedball 2 HD
Released 2013 on Windows
Speedball 2: Evolution
Released 2011 on iPhone, PSP, PlayStation 3...
Speedball 2: Tournament
Released 2007 on Windows
Speedball 2: Brutal Deluxe
Released 1991 on DOS, Game Boy, 2001 on Game Boy Advance...

Related Sites +

Identifiers +

  • MobyGames ID: 1466


Know about this game? Add your expertise to help preserve this entry in video game history!

Contributors to this Entry

Game added by Macintrash.

Antstream added by firefang9212. Atari ST added by tbuteler. Commodore 64 added by necronom. NES added by Alaka. SEGA Master System added by deepcut. BlackBerry added by MAT. Amiga added by Rantanplan.

Additional contributors: Apogee IV, Alaka, Martin Smith, Jo ST.

Game added May 26th, 2000. Last modified April 11th, 2023.