🐳 New! Moby v2023.03.30 update

Pikmin 3 Deluxe

Critic Reviews 84% add missing review

TheGamer ( )

Pikmin 3 Deluxe is a better version of one of the best games ever made - one of Nintendo's crowning achievements, even. Whether you've played it before, or are lucky enough to experience it for the first time, you owe it to yourself to play this irrevocable environmentalist masterpiece.

Nov 25th, 2020 · Nintendo Switch · read review

IGN (9 out of 10)

Pikmin 3 Deluxe makes an already excellent game even better and transplants it onto a console where far more people have a chance to see how good it really is. Its Side Stories and difficulty modes aren’t massive additions, but they gave me more of the already clever and fast-paced fun that made me fall in love with the original game seven years ago. And while not as flashy new missions, there are a downright impressive amount of smaller touches and quality-of-life adjustments throughout (including replacing the Wii U’s Gamepad screen with Switch-friendly controls) that make this the best the Pikmin series has ever felt. There’s plenty of reason to come back for returning players, and if you missed Pikmin 3 on the Wii U then you absolutely shouldn’t repeat that mistake here.

Oct 28th, 2020 · Nintendo Switch · read review

Game Informer Magazine (9 out of 10)

Pikmin 3 was one of my favorite Wii U games, which isn’t meant to be faint praise it sounds like. Thanks to Pikmin 3 Deluxe, players who didn’t get around to checking it out in its original form have a chance to do so on the Switch. And better yet, they’re getting a version that lives up to its potential as a game to bring people together – even if it’s just to move tangerines and grapes around.

Oct 29th, 2020 · Nintendo Switch · read review

Hardcore Gamer Magazine (4.5 out of 5)

Of the many titles from Wii U that still need and deserve to be ported to Switch, Pikmin 3 Deluxe was a great choice to bring over. Pikmin has always been niche as far as Nintendo titles go, but it adds enough change to not only make it worth picking up again, but excellent for people to dive into for the first time. There isn’t anything else quite like Pikmin and its charm is matched only by its quirky unique gameplay and dialogue that creates a charming adventure in the wilds of a small world. It’s hard to say no to the big-eyed caring Pikmin that try their hardest to help the small adventurers do their best to escape the planet, and hopefully people will enjoy Pikmin 3 Deluxe for a first or second time on Switch.

Nov 5th, 2020 · Nintendo Switch · read review

Touch Arcade (4.5 out of 5)

I can understand the sentiment that Nintendo probably shouldn’t be charging full-price for ports of years-old games, particularly if there are minimal additions. At the same time, there’s nothing about Pikmin 3 Deluxe that feels particularly old or out-of-date. If you’ve played it before, I don’t think you’re going to get much out of this version other than a format shift. But if it’s new to you, I think it’s as good as a brand-new game. You will definitely get your money’s worth out of it, just as much as someone would have when it released on the Wii U. It’s a wonderful game that a lot of people missed out on due to when and where it released, and I think it’s great that it’s now available to a considerably wider audience.

Nov 9th, 2020 · Nintendo Switch · read review

We Got This Covered ( )

Pikmin 3 Deluxe is another excellent entry in Nintendo's charming and under-appreciated franchise. The main campaign is enjoyable enough on its own, but the numerous additions and improvements are just icing on the cake.

Nov 10th, 2020 · Nintendo Switch · read review

Way Too Many Games (9 out of 10)

I’m really enjoying the experience so far. The graphics are beautiful, the gameplay is absolutely addicting, and it’s just a super fun game overall. I can’t believe it took me almost twenty years to discover it. There are so many ways to work on strategy, timing, and the incredibly satisfying puzzle-solving, and to top it all off are these cute little Pikmin creatures. I’m really looking forward to playing the other installments in the franchise.

Nov 16th, 2020 · Nintendo Switch · read review

Forbes Magazine (9 out of 10)

If you count yourself among a smaller audience that, for example, knows what an RTS or a Metroidvania is, this is a great game. It does exactly what it sets out to do, and it does it well, but it will feel overwhelming to those that have signed on during the Switch era.

Oct 30th, 2020 · Nintendo Switch · read review

Darkstation ( )

Pikmin 3 Deluxe is the best version of the best game in this series. I missed my map at times, but the new additions more than makeup for having to pull it up when needed. If you’ve already played the original version though, there probably isn’t enough here to justify purchasing the game again unless you really love playing co-op. For any gamer who missed it the first time though, Pikmin 3 Deluxe is one of the best games released in 2020.

Nov 16th, 2020 · Nintendo Switch · read review

WellPlayed (9 out of 10)

Pikmin 3 Deluxe is a RTS for all kinds of gamers. It’s a complete package with new background stories, co-op and a literal small army of adorable Pikmin that you'll love to meet and hate to lose.

Oct 29th, 2020 · Nintendo Switch · read review

Destructoid (8.5 out of 10)

Pikmin 3 Deluxe is another re-release that isn’t going to blow some people away, but provides another means with which to play a potentially forgotten Wii U classic. For me, it still holds up, and then some.

Nov 1st, 2020 · Nintendo Switch · read review

Vandal Online (8.5 out of 10)

Pikmin 3 Deluxe es, con diferencia, la mejor y más completa versión de esta fantástica aventura. Una digna conversión de un título divertidísimo y con un diseño exquisito que ahora nos llega con algunas novedades que no solo añaden más horas de juego, sino que también mejoran su base jugable, lo hacen más accesible y nos dan más opciones a la hora de disfrutar de su propuesta. Es una pena que no se haya aprovechado la oportunidad para remasterizar su apartado audiovisual o para mejorar defectos que ya estaban presentes en el original, como los problemas que tiene la IA para seguirnos, pero si nunca lo jugasteis en Wii U, aquí encontraréis una obra diferente, con mucha personalidad y enormemente recomendable que no querréis dejar escapar por segunda vez.

Oct 28th, 2020 · Nintendo Switch · read review

NintendoWorldReport (8.5 out of 10)

That all being said, it’s very easy to recommend Pikmin 3 Deluxe, especially if you have never played the game before. I wish the new playable content was more substantial or there was online play, but the additions are still an overall positive. The variety of difficulty settings makes the game harder if you want it to be, while also making it far more approachable for gamers of all skill levels. The controls don’t quite match the elegant design of the Wii U, but the tweaks here approximate it well enough. I know for me, as someone who played and enjoyed Pikmin 3 on Wii U, revisiting this game again was well worth the time. Pikmin 3 Deluxe is very close to being the definitive version of a modern classic. Now please, bring me more Pikmin adventures. I would like to visit more areas with these little plant aliens.

Oct 28th, 2020 · Nintendo Switch · read review

4Players.de (85 out of 100)

Pikmin 3 Deluxe wirkt mit seinem zauberhaften Mikrokosmos auch als Umsetzung für Switch wie eine kreative Vitaminspritze. Zwar sind Steuerung und Wegfindung trotz einiger Verbesserungen hinsichtlich der Zielerfassung manchmal tückisch, aber nach einiger Übungen entsteht ein toller Spielfluss in einer charmant inszenierten Spielwelt. Man muss taktisch clever zwischen den fünf Pikmin wechseln und sie wie Pioniere einsetzen, um Brücken zu schlagen oder Transportwege frei zu machen. So ergeben sich interessante Rätselsituationen, aber auch knackige Bosskämpfe.(...) Zwar plätschert die Story etwas lange nur vor sich hin, aber jetzt könnt ihr die Kampagne mit einigen Zusätzen auch komplett kooperativ erleben. Das ist also sehr gute Unterhaltung für Taktiker! Trotzdem wünsche ich mir jetzt endlich die Bestätigung, dass Pikmin 4 nächstes Jahr erscheint.

Oct 28th, 2020 · Nintendo Switch · read review

Gameplay (Benelux) (85 out of 100)

De Deluxe-versie voegt relatief weinig aan deze sterke basis toe. Naast de oude DLC-missies krijgt de campagne zowel een nieuwe proloog als epiloog. Daarnaast kan ze ook volledig in co-op worden beleefd. Er werden ook enkele extra zijmissies toegevoegd, al remixen deze vooral ideeën die je in de campagne zag. Daarnaast is er een nieuwe Ultra-Spicy moeilijkheidsgraad op maat van hardcore Pikmin-spelers en worden nu net als in Pikmin 2 al je verslagen vijanden in een Piklopedia opgenomen. De gameplay werd ook zeer licht getweakt, zodat het mikken en weggooien van Pikmin nog eenvoudiger gaat. Tenzij je van plan bent het avontuur in co-op te herbeleven, weegt dit alles voor terugkerende fans die Pikin 3 op Wii U al grijs hebben gespeeld net te licht om de volle prijs van een nieuwe aankoop te rechtvaardigen. Nieuwkomers hoeven echter niet te twijfelen. Pikmin 3 is nog steeds een van de beste Nintendo-games van de voorbije jaren en verdient het om (her)ontdekt te worden.

Nov 28th, 2020 · Nintendo Switch

Video Chums (8.3 out of 10)

Pikmin 3 Deluxe may not be a huge step up from its previous incarnation but it's such a wonderful adventure that it's a must-have for anyone who missed out on the Wii U version. If only Switch had a GamePad peripheral...

Oct 29th, 2020 · Nintendo Switch · read review

Nintendo-Online.de (8 out of 10)

Mit „Pikmin 3 Deluxe“ erhalten Fans der Reihe und Neueinsteiger ein umfangreiches Komplettpaket mit allen bisher veröffentlichten Inhalten und zusätzlichen neuen Abenteuern, die auch wunderbar für den mobilen Genuss geeignet sind. Zwar wäre grafisch mehr möglich gewesen, dennoch bieten der Zweispieler-Modus und zusätzliche Inhalte genug Langzeitmotivation, um sein Herz an die kleinen Pikmin zu verlieren und viele gemeinsame Stunden zu verbringen. Auch wenn beispielsweise die etwas unbequeme Kameraführung des Originals weiterhin erhalten bleibt, gilt dies auch für die angenehme Atmosphäre dieses Klassikers und sein ganz besonderes Spielprinzip.

Oct 28th, 2020 · Nintendo Switch · read review

Gamer.no (8 out of 10)

Har du ikke allerede spilt Pikmin 3, anbefaler jeg deg å gjøre det. Her får man eventyr, strategi og action i en skjønn forening, og jeg koser meg glugg, selv om jeg teknisk sett har spilt det før.

Nov 10th, 2020 · Nintendo Switch · read review

Video Games Chronicle ( )

Its new content may be underwhelming, but this demanding strategy adventure is still well worth a revisit.

Oct 28th, 2020 · Nintendo Switch · read review

Nintendo Life ( )

Visually, Pikmin 3 Deluxe doesn't push the boat out much further than the original Wii U version did. Where its changes lie are in its revamped control system and the addition of a new Side Stories mode. Neither are necessarily transformative enough to warrant double dipping if you're perfectly happy with your Wii U copy, but if you're one of the vast majority who don't have a Wii U copy, this Switch update is unquestionably the best way to play it.

Oct 28th, 2020 · Nintendo Switch · read review

GameSpot (8 out of 10)

Although Pikmin 3 Deluxe may not offer much in the way of substantial new content, the game still holds up wonderfully thanks to its unique gameplay and carefully constructed levels, and the tweaks and additions that have been implemented here help smooth over the whole package for newer players. Even three installments in, there is no other series quite like Pikmin, which helps Pikmin 3 still feel fresh seven years after its original release.

Oct 28th, 2020 · Nintendo Switch · read review

Game Revolution (8 out of 10)

Pikmin 3 Deluxe does what Starcraft 64 could not: make a real-time strategy game work well on console. It does have its aggravating flaws and quirks, but these are balanced out in part by robust quality-of-life features and sensible design. Despite its flaws, Pikmin 3 Deluxe gets most of its gameplay right and will hopefully serve as the blueprint for the continuation of the franchise on the Nintendo Switch.

Nov 5th, 2020 · Nintendo Switch · read review

Pocket Tactics (8 out of 10)

Pikmin 3 Deluxe is another first party Switch port that does enough to justify its existence, offering a deserved second bite at the cherry for an overlooked classic. It’s a shame that Nintendo didn’t go that extra mile to make it the truly sparkling revamp that fans might have hoped for. But for the many newcomers out there, there’s really nothing quite like Pikmin.

Oct 27th, 2020 · Nintendo Switch · read review

Shacknews (8 out of 10)

Pikmin 3 feels like the strategy game for people who aren't really into strategy games, sort of like how Hades is the roguelike for people who don't dig roguelikes. After a while, you forget that you're playing a strategy game and you become enraptured by the beautiful environments, the adorable Pikmin creatures, and the chaos that gradually descends on you as the day goes on. That's the Pikmin 3 Deluxe experience and it's one worth checking out if you haven't already.

Nov 3rd, 2020 · Nintendo Switch · read review

VentureBeat / Gamesbeat ( )

I’m thrilled that I had another great excuse to play through it. And I’m really hoping this is paving the way for a Pikmin 4. Even if you bounced off of Pikmin, I think Nintendo has ironed out a lot of the wrinkles that acted as a barrier for this franchise. The controls are solid and friendly. Even the camera never really causes frustrations. Give this game a shot. It’s worth it.

Oct 29th, 2020 · Nintendo Switch · read review

Metro.co.uk (8 out of 10)

After years out of the limelight Pikmin 3 has resprouted, with its mellow take on real-time strategy more enjoyable than ever, especially thanks to the expanded co-op options.

Oct 28th, 2020 · Nintendo Switch · read review

GamesRadar ( )

Even if it's not brand new, Pikmin 3 Deluxe deserves a place in your Nintendo Switch library.

Oct 28th, 2020 · Nintendo Switch · read review

Jeuxvideo.com (15 out of 20)

Il a beau avoir quelques années, Pikmin 3 reste un jeu attachant. N’ayant pas connu un grand succès sur Wii U, le titre de Nintendo profitera comme il se doit de ce revival sur Switch et devrait s’offrir une seconde jeunesse. Même si cette réédition ne propose rien de renversant, elle a le mérite d’améliorer des points sensibles de l’original tout en proposant ses extensions. La quête principale peut se terminer assez vite mais il vous restera de quoi faire avec son multi (coop ou versus) et ses différentes modes de difficulté. Nous n'aurions pas été contre des nouveautés un peu plus marquées mais c'est un jeu qui a le mérite de passer l'épreuve du temps.

Oct 28th, 2020 · Nintendo Switch · read review

PC Magazine ( )

Nintendo’s overlooked Pikmin series shines as the latest Wii U Port on Switch, though the core gameplay experience is largely unchanged.

Oct 28th, 2020 · Nintendo Switch · read review

Polygon N/A

Pikmin 3 Deluxe does a great job of catering to fans of the entire breadth of the series, from its time-crunchy roots to the chiller days of Pikmin 2. But if you find the relaxed pace of the campaign a bit too lovey-dovey for your hardcore gamer sensibilities, just know that there’s a serious challenge waiting for you at the end of this road.

Oct 30th, 2020 · Nintendo Switch · read review

Eurogamer.net (UK) N/A

Finally, there are Pikmin 3's all-new Olimar and Louie levels, set before and after the game's main campaign. A couple of weeks ago I was able to play the first set of these and found them enjoyable but rather lightweight. Well, I'm delighted to now be able to say those found in the second set, which you'll unlock after the game's campaign concludes, are meatier and more numerous, though Nintendo does not want me to say anything more about the story they tell. While they're still set in Pikmin 3's original areas and a bit of a kitbash, they offer the closest thing to a Pikmin 4 you're going to play this year. And that's the real hope with this re-release - that this return of the Wii U campaign with extra bells and whistles is the launch pad for an all-new Pikmin in the relatively close future. Just like its own small treasures, Pikmin 3 is well worth dusting off, as we wait for the series to properly end its garden leave.

Oct 28th, 2020 · Nintendo Switch · read review

Player Reviews

We don't have any player reviews for Nintendo Switch.

Contributors to this Entry

Critic reviews added by ryanbus84, POMAH, lightlands, Cantillon, Patrick Bregger, Tim Janssen, A.J. Maciejewski, Victor Vance.