ūüź≥ Latest Moby v2023.05.26 update

Awesome Possum Kicks Dr. Machino's Butt

aka: Rad Rhino and Awesome Possum

Critic Reviews 53% add missing review

Electronic Games (93 out of 100) (93%)

In any case, Awesome Possum certainly has its heart in the right place. There are very few games that can produce this level of headbanging thrills.

Dec 1993 · Genesis · read review

Game Power (89 out of 100) (89%)

Va bene, non sarà originalissimo, ma devo dire che questo Awesome Possum place proprio. Il gioco é velocissimo, pieno zeppo di bonus nascosti, passaggi segreti e tutta la panoplia di diavolerie che fa di un gioco a piattaforme un buon gioco. Il sonoro, in particolare, è fantastico, le frasi con cui il nostro amico opossum commenta ogni fase di gioco sono irresistibili, almeno per chi ha una certa dimestichezza con la lingua inglese. Intelligente, la scelta di "unire l'utile al dilettevole" introducendo un istruttivo quiz sul tema ecologico (la lotta per la saívaguardia ambientale si combatte anche così). Consigliato a tutti gli amanti della natura che, invece di fare un pic-nic domenicale sporcando il prato in cul bivaccano, preferiscono trascorrere il pomeriggio con un simpatico e divertente videogioco.

Feb 1994 · Genesis · read review

Ação Games (3 out of 4) (75%)

Awesome Possum tamb√©m tem gr√°ficos legais e o som √© massa, com vozes digitalizadas. O √ļnico problema √© a jogabilidade. As respostas n√£o s√£o r√°pidas e quando voc√™ √© atingido uma vez, fica sem controlar o gamb√°. Desse jeito, corre o risco de perder energia novamente. Fora isso, o game √© j√≥ia. Vale umas boas gargalhadas!

1993 · Genesis · read review

GamePro (US) (3.5 out of 5) (70%)

Awesome Possum may not be awesome, but it'd be close if it weren't for the repetitive, lackluster graphics. If the other critter games are making you feel like hibernating for the winter, you might want to curl up with Awesome.

Dec 1993 · Genesis

Video Games (67 out of 100) (67%)

Es mu√ü nicht immer Blut spritzen oder reihenweise K√∂pfe rollen, um einen halbwegs √ľberzeugenden Background f√ľr Ballerspa√ü zu finden. Da√ü man einem Videospiel auch gesellschaftskritische Gedanken mitgeben kann - ohne erhobenen Zeigefinger - ist eine durchaus erfreuliche Entwicklung. Die Grafik ist angenehm luftig. Mit gezielt feinen Strichen zaubern die Designer raffiniert Geschwindigkeiten, die einem f√∂rmlich die M√ľtze vom Kopf blasen. Note: Clicking the link will not directly take you to the site. Instead put the URL in the address bar and hit send to view it.

Jan 1994 · Genesis · read review

Electronic Gaming Monthly (EGM) (31 out of 50) (62%)

The scrolling is a bit too choppy to make this a game with long-term appeal!

Nov 1993 · Genesis

Game Players (60 out of 100) (60%)

This ecologically correct crusader wants to rid the world of polluters. You'll just want to shut him up - he talks constantly through four worlds of three levels each.

Dec 1993 · Genesis

Classic-games.net (4 out of 10) (40%)

There were many awful mascot platformers in the 16-bit era. But rarely were they this bad. Awesome Possum deserves every bit of ridicule it has received over the years. Let this stay forgotten along with the other has beens like Zool and Croc.

Nov 11th, 2020 · Genesis · read review

Mean Machines (39 out of 100) (39%)

A horrible little platform game. So drab, dull and lacking in inspiration - it must cry itself to sleep at night.

Feb 1994 · Genesis

Random Access (2 out of 10) (20%)

Awesome Possum isn't awesome at all. In fact, he should change his name to the more apt "Flawsome Possum". That would best describe both his character and this embarrassing stink of a game. Don't ever look for it on purpose. Use it as a disposable coaster or for batting practice. By the way, Awesome Possum was released on Christmas Day in Japan. Merry Christmas, Nippon. You'll be clamoring for coal soon enough.

Mar 27th, 2013 · Genesis · read review

Sega-16.com (2 out of 10) (20%)

If the subject content were not all that interesting to begin with, the game play, controls, and music helped bury this game deeply into the ground. Awesome Possum should have just been boycotted to prevent Tengen from making the game. It would have saved a lot of plastic.

Jul 11th, 2004 · Genesis · read review

Video Game Critic, The (F)

The framerate is so choppy you'll want to divert your eyes, and the level design is infuriating. For example, in one stage you'll whiz through a series of tunnels only to be tossed into a set of elevated buzz saws! Your adversaries include chainsaw-toting gray robots which can be defeated by Awesome's patented spin attack. And when I say patented, I mean patented by Sonic of course. Awesome Possum is woefully unoriginal, which is also evident in the derivative rainforest, underwater, and ice stages. The background music is a few notches below Casio keyboard quality, and the muffled sound effects are grating. Between stages you're presented with trivia questions, but most make little or no sense. Awesome Possum is one platformer that should only be played out of morbid curiosity - don't expect to derive any degree of enjoyment. Heck, Awesome even makes at lame-ass Bubsy look cool by comparison!

Feb 24th, 2006 · Genesis · read review

Player Reviews

without a doubt, one of the most generic rip-offs of Sonic

The Good
Well, they did say they were trying to make a game that would persuade others to recycle and stuff. Sadly,though they fail.

The Bad
In most of my other reviews, I have said that good graphics and good music doesn't make a good game. But this game doesn't even possess great audio or top-notch graphics. Firstly, let's start with the plotline. Apparently," In 20 years, mankind has automated the destruction of the environment."

So, I suppose that now we have to bring on a certain possum to "rescue the world/environment" (great plot, huh?). Along the way Awesome has to engage against a variety of uninspired enemies and atrocious boss battles to add to the boring gameplay. The music sounds so bad, I think i'd rather listen to my cat spitting out a hairball in front of a loudspeaker (I apologise, that was disgusting and unnecessary!).

The gameplay is so unbalanced and slippery and I can't help but notice that there is even a speed element, just like a sonic game. I never finished the game because I couldn't be bothered, but one of my friends told me that the ending involved that (un)lovable possum being carved onto mount Rushmore!

If I saw that low-life bum up along with the other four heads, I would flip out. I mean, you don't want that loser to be seen in public, because he's an embarrassment to video games!

The Bottom Line
The Sega genesis has gone through a lot in it's time and we're all thankful that we don't get to see many rip-offs like these on modern consoles these days. The developers did mean well and tried to encourage people to be more environmental but still, you don't want this game, it's not worth your time.

by Arejarn (7553) on Jun 18th, 2008 · Genesis

The worst platformer ever?

The Good
Well, it starts off good, with...wait, no, it doesn't start off good at all.

The Bad
Pretty much everything about this game is done horribly wrong. At first it's just a pain to look at and listen to, with terribly chopped up and badly done graphics. Ok, the Genesis was pretty limited in its display of colors, &c. but this game feels like a true hack job, even if it isn't. Just look at Sonic 2. Secondly, the sound is horrible, with distorted voice samples and bad music. It's not even so bad that it's funny, it's just bad. The controls and challenge is also what is not good about this, if you can manage to stand the terrible controls, you'll probably finish this game in an hour or less. Pretty much you run, like Sonic but not as fast or fun, and jump sometimes, like Sonic, but not as good, and if you're lucky the seemingly random spin attack works so you can dispose of the badly animated and unimaginatively designed enemies.

The Bottom Line
Take Sonic 2. Replace everything that's good with stuff that's bad, and you get Awesome Possum.

by optrirominiluikus (118) on Jul 10th, 2006 · Genesis

Worst. Sega. Genesis. Game. EVER.

The Good
Probably the fact it's so bad it makes me laugh my butt off...no, actually, the only good thing is that there's an option to make Possum shut up. I don't think there's anything else good about this so called "game".

The Bad
Everything. The story is just stupid, and it's a typical way of brainwashing other people. Sure, recycling is a good idea, but making it the point of a game is the worst idea ever. The characters are rip-offs of Sonic characters, the controls are horrendous and frustrating, the gameplay is boring, the speech is annoying, the SFX is from Sonic Spinball, the music is horrendous and annoying and last but not least, the background looks like a glitchy mess and the foreground is not any better.

The Bottom Line
This game is really horrible. Don't buy it, unless they are selling it for less than $2 and you want to laugh your butt off for a while.

by Mango Man (5) on May 29th, 2010 · Genesis

Plus 11 player ratings without reviews

Contributors to this Entry

Critic reviews added by Bozzly, Big John WV, Riemann80, Alaka, sayewonn wisseh, RhYnoECfnW, Alsy, coenak.