đź‘ľ The lost Atari arcade game returns with Jeff Minter's Akka Arrh

Star Trek: Shattered Universe

[ All ] [ PlayStation 2 ] [ Xbox ]

Critic Reviews 48% add missing review

GameZone (7.4 out of 10)

It seems that most people either love this game or hate it. Fan boards are fairly evenly split, with many so-called experts coming out and panning the game, but the important criteria to me is whether the game is fun. I believe more people will enjoy this game for its production values and approachable gameplay. Since this is set in the Trek universe, there are thousands of fans out there ready to pore over every detail of the game, the accuracy of the voiceovers, etc. As a casual fan, I can tell you that the game is enjoyable and difficult enough to keep most gamers occupied for hours. If you are a space combat ace, you may find the combat to be a bit too repetitive and easy, but I consider it to be a fun way to spend a few hours.

Feb 18th, 2004 · PlayStation 2 · read review

Computer and Video Games (CVG) (6.8 out of 10)

It's fun then, but next to the visual magnificence of Cube's Rogue Squadron series, this looks like a clumsy kid's drawing. Flat textures, static backdrops and bog standard explosions spoil a lot of the game's atmospheric potential too.

May 28th, 2004 · PlayStation 2 · read review

Gamesmania.de (64 out of 100)

Am Anfang war ich entsetzt: Das miese Render-Intro, der nervtötende Soundtrack und eine gewöhnungsbedürftige Story verführen zum Abschalten. Doch nach den ersten Einsätzen kam doch der Fan in mir durch: Die Designer haben sich bei Story und Missionsdesign große Mühe gegeben. Hat man sich erst einmal mit der Steuerung angefreundet, macht es trotz allen Mängeln durchaus Spaß, kleine Raumjäger und große Schlachtschiffe zu zerlegen. Fans dürfen gut und gerne zehn Prozentpunkte auf die Wertung addieren, zumal das Genre nicht viele Alternativen bietet.

Nov 2nd, 2004 · PlayStation 2 · read review

Game Over Online (60 out of 100)

I'm not a Trekkie, though, and this game is aggressive and unstoppable in its mediocrity. I assume that there are people out there for whom the license holds no special attraction, but who will, nonetheless, be attracted to a paradoxically fast-paced yet slow space battle simulation, but, well... they're freaks.

Jan 23rd, 2004 · PlayStation 2 · read review

Futuregamez.net (55 out of 100)

Star Trek: Shattered Universe was never going to be a AAA title, problem is it wouldn't have been even on the PSOne. The poor visuals and often dull gameplay make this a game strictly for the Star Trek fans, even at the budget price.

Jul 8th, 2004 · PlayStation 2 · read review

Worth Playing (5.5 out of 10)

This is usually the part of the review where I recommend what to do with this game, to buy or rent, who would and wouldn't like it, etc. Unfortunately, only the most die-hard (and I do mean die-hard; I'm talking Spock posters on your walls or something to that effect) Trek fans could possibly get any lasting enjoyment out of this title. My conscience would never let me sleep at night if I didn't tell anyone who didn't fit this description to pass over this game. So there you go.

Jan 19th, 2004 · PlayStation 2 · read review

PGNx Media (5.3 out of 10)

Star Trek Shattered Universe is abuse to faithful Star Trek fans who bought the game simply for the license. It isn’t bad at all times, in fact, a few of the first missions are reasonably amusing, that’s before you figure out that they are all basically the same. Unless you want to pay $39.99 for Star Trek memorabilia, it is best to avoid Shattered Universe.

Jun 6th, 2004 · PlayStation 2 · read review

Silicon-Fusion.com (5 out of 10)

Overall Star Trek: Shattered Universe is a poor game that showed a lot of promise when the game was first announced. It does nothing for the genre, and absolutely nothing for Star Trek, especially if you are a huge fan of the series and movies.

May 18th, 2004 · PlayStation 2 · read review

AceGamez (5 out of 10)

Star Trek: Shattered Universe should probably be titled Shattered Illusions, because anyone who thought this might be a decent Star Trek game is in for a disappointment. It looks like fun but in reality the gameplay is tedious, repetitive, very simple and badly designed. Some Trek fans might enjoy this (those that don't mind the significant inconsistencies in the story) but anyone looking for a good shooter won't find it here.

2004 · PlayStation 2 · read review

GameSpot (4.4 out of 10)

Perhaps if it existed in an alternate universe, Star Trek: Shattered Universe might be a game worth playing. Unfortunately, this is not the case. In our universe, Shattered Universe's dull, unimaginative gameplay, redundant mission structure, and highly unimpressive production values make for a pretty lousy game all around. As an attempt at Star Trek, it wastes every opportunity given to it to do something even mildly interesting or entertaining, and it certainly won't please any fan of the franchise. As for its place among space combat games, it is completely unimpressive in every imaginable way and is easily shown up by practically every game currently available in the genre today. There's just nothing about Shattered Universe worth recommending to Star Trek fans or space shooter fans, and if you fall into either category, you're definitely better off looking elsewhere for your particular needs.

Jan 23rd, 2004 · PlayStation 2 · read review

IGN (3.9 out of 10)

I am a devout fan of the space combat simulator / action title and each passing year is another ton of bricks dropped onto my already dying heart. Select few titles come along while burgeoning and flailing publishers alike explain away the lack of such games to poor sales. Here's a hint, game dudes: if your stupid game is as fun as watching a pet die, as attractive as an eight-legged dwarf, and as generally cool as getting your chest ruptured by an angered moose, it's bloody well not going to sell or be critically-freaking-acclaimed!

Jan 13th, 2004 · PlayStation 2 · read review

Game Freaks 365 (3.8 out of 10)

The biggest gameplay flaw, was the length of each mission; some missions could last over 20 minutes, without any checkpoints. Unintelligent AI doesn't help the game's lackluster performance; some will bang against your main ship's shield. Even worse than the game's play mechanics are the graphics. The backgrounds look painted; the quality is actually pretty good, at least if it had been on the N64. Particles are the only effects that are somewhat realistic, other than they will sometimes go through your ship. I have a question for Take-Two's CEO; what in the world were you thinking when you purchased TDK?

2004 · PlayStation 2 · read review

Jeuxvideo.com (7 out of 20)

Quel bel exemple de licence gâchée ! Ce Star Trek : Shattered Universe est moche, la maniabilité est mauvaise, mais surtout le jeu est totalement inintéressant. Le pouvoir soporifique du titre est vraiment important et les missions s'enchaînent sans véritable lien et sans vraie raison. Bref, il semble que la médiocrité ait encore trouvé un digne représentant.

May 12th, 2004 · PlayStation 2 · read review

Netjak (2 out of 10)

Everyone involved in the decisions that made this game the way it is should be embarrassed. It's a disgrace to the gaming industry that this got made. It's an insult to Star Trek, and it's an affront to consumers. Not only does this go down as the worst Star Trek game I've ever played, unless I'm repressing some bad memories, this also goes down as worst space shooter I've ever played. This wins all kinds of Awards for Gaming Anti-Excellence in a variety of categories. If anyone who worked on this game thought that this was a good game in its final form, you need to strongly consider finding a job somewhere that doesn't require you to do any sort of qualitative judgement. Preferably one far, far away from anything related to anything I hold as a form of entertainment.

Mar 25th, 2004 · PlayStation 2 · read review

GameSpy ( )

The message should be clear by now: Shattered Universe is, at its best moments, mediocre. At its worst, it's redundant, unforgiving, and glaringly ugly. You simply have no time to be messing around with this sort of game. If you want to play something involving flying objects that blow things up in cool ways, play Ace Combat 04 or something.

Mar 1st, 2004 · PlayStation 2 · read review

Player Reviews

Great game from Star Trek universe
by MAT (235985)

The Good
As the title implies, you somehow end up in another universe (man, I really don't like parallel universe stories, but this one was made pretty interesting so I won't complain on that account) taking the role of your-parallel-self as you switched place with him. At the same time, that other you ended up in your part of the space. So, how big could the changes be... quite, because there is no Federation on this behalf, but instead there's an Empire and from the look at it, they ain't plain' the good guys. Needless to say, alas, you will battle your own comrades (or at least comrades of other Captain Sulu) and some of the already known species such as Klingons and Romulans.

The story takes many twists and turns as you will make alliances with your enemies due to circumstances at hand, and even grow as powerful to launch an assault upon the Empire (just think what the other Sulu is doing in your space if he's anything alike, which the ending will help to explain). There are 19 missions in total but they are not as short nor easy as one might expect. As a matter of fact, each of them is so well established it could almost make a standalone episode. That's one of the best part of the game, through those 19 missions you feel like you're watching a season of 19 episodes, and one per day would just be enough to make you think of the most recent events and what might expect you next.

As for the ships and fighters, I can't say I much care whether they're never-before-seen or already known, it's a mix of both, and they all have unique weapons and abilities. In this game you only commandeer fighters, not the battleships, but you will fight battleships nevertheless. Of course, you won't stand a chance if you use direct approach against them even if you're playing it on easy level of difficulty, but that's the whole fun in finding their weak spot after taking down their shields. Unlike with fighters, battleships won't replenish their shields while your fighter, as well as enemy fighters, will replenish shields rather quickly so it's not so wise to leave a wounded prey.

Missions are great in design and filling in the story, you will fight in the wormhole, inside the vortex, make alliances and protect your allies, fight against known and unknown enemies, and boldly go where noone has gone before. Yeah, the STTNG feeling is all over this game, and Sulu isn't that bad of a commander either. All in all, this game forms better storyline than most of the Star Trek series.

The Bad
Although there is an easy level of difficulty, it will still require of you to lay a proper judgment of your fighter for the mission at hand as well as quick reflexes to handle multiple attacks, evade enemy fire, and do the task at hand in timed missions. It is nowhere near as hard as easy level in TransFormers, but requires much more of thinking to handle certain enemies.

Also, this game doesn't let you switch Y-axis so if you're used that up is up and down is down, you'll have to take some time to adapt 'cos resistance is futile.

The Bottom Line
Great game with the spirit of Star Trek franchise that gives a solid story with lots of interesting sub-parts, unexpected plot twists, and twice as fighters to commandeer. The menu is nicely handled as a bridge control room which lets you see all the cinematics up to the point reached, and there is at least one cinematic per game. It's not an interactive movie like Cyberia, but movies are as present as in MGS games.

Feb 25th, 2012 · PlayStation 2

Plus 6 player ratings without reviews

Contributors to this Entry

Critic reviews added by Jeanne, Patrick Bregger.