🐳 New! Moby v2023.03.30 update

Pathfinder: Wrath of the Righteous

aka: Pathfinder: Wrath of the Righteous (Core Edition), Pathfinder: Wrath of the Righteous - Enhanced Edition

[ All ] [ Macintosh ] [ PlayStation 4 ] [ Windows ] [ Xbox One ] [ Xbox Series ]

Critic Reviews 82% add missing review

Way Too Many Games (9.5 out of 10)

Pathfinder: Wrath of the Righteous, is an amazing game. It’s far more than anything I could have dreamed for, in every way. I knew the character customization would impress, but I was blown away by the depth and breadth of the Mythic Paths, as well as the absolute mastery of the implementation of the alignment system. Finally, there was the simply fantastic story and party members, which is truly the foundation that no RPG can live without. I honestly can’t remember the last time I played a game that I found just as fun as I did find impressive. With the way this game works, there’s still so many options and paths I have left to see. And it’ll take a while to see them all, but I know I’ll enjoy every moment.

Sep 1st, 2021 · Windows · read review

TechRaptor (9 out of 10)

When the final foe is slain and you stand atop the demonic corpses of your enemies, Pathfinder: Wrath of the Righteous is a triumph that succeeds in just about every way imaginable. The mechanical changes, narrative focus, and typical but welcome epic battle of good versus evil make it a must-own for not only RPG fanatics but a worthy contender for one of the best games of the year. Even with the issues of bugs or bloat, Wrath of the Righteous transcends this into a wonderful, well-made game that makes me excited to see what Owlcat does next.

Sep 9th, 2021 · Windows · read review

GameStar (Germany) (90 out of 100)

(...) Mich stimmt es immer ein wenig traurig, wenn so viele Leute dieses Erlebnis auslassen. Eben weil Pathfinder auch eine Menge von uns abverlangt. Aber ich rate euch einfach nochmals eindringlich: Gebt ihm eine Chance! Das ist ganz hohe Rollenspielkunst und kitzelt einen Nerv, den seit Baldur's Gate 2 kein RPG in dieser Form je wieder anschlagen konnte. Das gilt nochmal mehr, nachdem die gröbsten Bugs aussortiert wurden. Klar, wer noch länger wartet, wird vielleicht ein noch leicht runderes Spielerlebnis bekommen. Doch wer zu Ungeduld neigt, braucht sich auch um die aktuelle Version keine größeren Sorgen mehr machen.

Jan 28th, 2022 · Windows · read review

GameStar (Germany) (87 out of 100)

Ich hatte beim Testen von Pathfinder 2 gleich mehrere Momente, in denen ich wahrhaftig jubelnd vom Stuhl aufgesprungen bin. (...) Das sind große Emotionen, die man einem so textlastigen Spiel mit eher biederer Inszenierung selten zutraut. Doch wer sich darauf einlässt und versucht zu verstehen, wie alles funktioniert, der findet hier mehr emotionale Ventile als in jedem Open-World-Blockbuster. Ich ärgere mich nur über die blöde Kreuzzugsmechanik. Man kann sie zwar ohne Weiteres ausschalten, hat dann aber trotzdem das Gefühl, irgendetwas zu verpassen. Doch sie aktiviert zu lassen sorgt den dritten und fünften Akt über nur für Ärger. Man fühlt sich davon blockiert und sowas sollte in einem Spiel nicht sein. Glücklicherweise hat der vierte Akt gezeigt, dass das kein Dauerzustand ist. Dass Wrath of the Righteous seinen Vorgänger trotzdem übertrifft, verdankt es seiner Inszenierung, dem Einfluss der legendären Klassen und einem Finale, das zwar schlaucht, aber zumindest nicht nervt!

Sep 10th, 2021 · Windows · read review

Gameplay (Benelux) (82 out of 100)

Owlcat Games gaat voort op zijn elan met een epische cRPG die bulkt van de systemen en mogelijkheden om je personage te kneden. Overweldigend voor de een, maar een zegen voor de ander.

Sep 30th, 2021 · Windows

IGN (8 out of 10)

Pathfinder: Wrath of the Righteous has to live up to the expectations of being a Pathfinder adaptation, a sequel to the fascinating if messy Kingmaker, and the next big ambitious isometric RPG. Perhaps shockingly, it succeeds at meeting those expectations, thanks largely to taking the step of implementing a turn-based mode from the beginning. It may take as long as organizing a tabletop campaign to actually finish, but the journey's still worthwhile.

Sep 29th, 2021 · Windows · read review

Gamereactor (Denmark) (8 out of 10)

Pathfinder: Wrath of the Righteous er et seriøst vellavet spil, som fans af genren skal prøve. Der er visse kritikpunkter, men kan man leve med de ting jeg nævner, så er Pathfinder: Wrath of the Righteous en rigtig underholdende tidsrøver.

Sep 18th, 2021 · Windows · read review

Movies Games and Tech (8 out of 10)

Whether you're looking for a captivating narrative with relatable characters, or whether you're looking for your next dose of challenging combat in Pathfinder fashion, you probably won't be disappointed by what you'll find here. Also, the soundtrack is absolutely fantastic, it's so good that I've repeatedly found myself humming parts of it ever since I started playing the game. Nevertheless, Pathfinder: Wrath of the Righteous is an astronomical CRPG that is, unfortunately, plagued by bugs.

Nov 13th, 2021 · Windows · read review

Checkpoint (8 out of 10)

Pathfinder: Wrath of the Righteous is certainly a worthy successor to Pathfinder: Kingmaker. With its highly varied moral choices, a tremendous number of race and class options, as well as the Mythic Path feature, players will have a ton to dig into. That said, the addition of turn-based crusade battles where you lead armies across the land doesn't quite land as well, feeling sluggish and lacking many of the tactical nuances of the main combat mode. In all, however, despite the experience not being the most polished, Pathfinder: Wrath of the Righteous is a deep, challenging and highly enjoyable title that is an easy recommend for fans of RPGs.

Sep 3rd, 2021 · Windows · read review

VentureBeat / Gamesbeat ( )

I'm now preparing to storm Drezen, a fortress-city full of demons. Along the way, I have plenty of quests to take care off to both defeat the Abyssal incursion and dive into the stories of my companions. This is what I want from an RPG, and Owlcat does an stellar job delivering this.

Sep 2nd, 2021 · Windows · read review

RPGFan (78 out of 100)

While flawed, Pathfinder: Wrath of the Righteous is a grand and ambitious adventure and an impressive adaptation of a popular tabletop RPG. The eclectic characters feel alive, though the thought of that literally being true is terrifying. In some ways, it feels like too standard a CRPG; in others, it stretches the conventions of that subgenre in fascinating directions. The amount of writing here (and pretty good writing at that) is astounding — it's a rare case where the sheer quantity is a positive, each quest another strand in your character's tapestry, even if they don't always hit.

Feb 22nd, 2022 · Windows · read review

PC Gamer (76 out of 100)

After some more patching though, Wrath of the Righteous will be well worth your time. This is a huge game, easily 100+ hours, in which you take a meticulously crafted hero, throw them into a meatgrinder of war, politics, and interplanar travel, and see how they're reshaped by it. After the most complicated character creation system I can think of, it tricks you into thinking you're done when in fact the entire game is about making a character. That size is both its strength and weakness, because it's got room for half-baked areas of story and systems that feel like you've wandered off into unmapped wilderness. But when you find the right path and are solving the world's problems while jogging across fields with your gang of colorful pals, it's like Baldur's Gate 2 never ended.

Sep 14th, 2021 · Windows · read review

RPG Site (7 out of 10)

Despite my misgivings with many of the Crusade-related mechanics, needless management systems, and prevalent bugs -- past all of that is an engaging game that is still easy to recommend to fans of RPGs. A strong narrative that carries itself for the entirety of its lengthy runtime, a huge cast of compelling characters that interface with the story in smart ways, plenty of unique buildcraft, gorgeous art, a variety of quests, and a true commitment to consequence make Pathfinder: Wrath of the Righteous one of the most ambitious RPGs of the year, even if it ultimately falls short.

Oct 26th, 2021 · Windows · read review

Player Reviews

We don't have any player reviews for Windows.

Contributors to this Entry

Critic reviews added by POMAH, Utritum, Patrick Bregger, Tim Janssen, Alaka.