馃惓 Latest Moby v2023.06.02 update

Age of Empires III

aka: Age of Empires 3, AoE III, AoE3, Rocket

[ All ] [ Macintosh ] [ Windows ]

Critic Reviews 83% add missing review

GameSpy ( ) (100%)

Age of Empires III is an absolutely fantastic title with superb graphics and tight gameplay. Single-player or multiplayer, no matter what your skill, you'll get hours of joy out of this sucker online or off. Age of Empires III may not redefine real-time strategy gaming, but it sets the bar so high that we'll be comparing games to this for years. Shoulder your musket and pony up: this one's a real trip.

Oct 19th, 2005 · Windows · read review

Game industry News (GiN) ( ) (100%)

AoEIII does what its predecessors did: set the standard by which other RTS titles will be judged for sometime to come. It remains the gold standard and earns 5 GiN gems for its home city's treasury.

2005 · Windows · read review

Imperium Gier (10 out of 10) (100%)

Zastanawia艂em si臋 dosy膰 d艂ugo, jakie to b艂臋dy m贸g艂bym wymieni膰. Nic nie przysz艂o mi jednak do g艂owy. Wszystko w tej grze jest perfekcyjne. 艢wietny multiplayer i wci膮gaj膮ca kampania zapewniaj膮 setki godzin wy艣mienitej zabawy. Zapomnijcie o Warcrafcie3 i Dawn of War. Age of Empires III jest bezsprzecznie nowym kr贸lem w艣r贸d RTS贸w i pozostanie nim bardzo d艂ugo. Nie b臋dzie przesad膮, je艣li napisz臋, i偶 strategie dziel膮 si臋 na te przed AoE3 i na te po. To naprawd臋 gra doskona艂a, kt贸ra moim zdaniem nie powinna mie膰 problem贸w ze zdobyciem tytu艂u Strategii Roku, a ma wielk膮 szans臋 na zostanie najlepsz膮 gr膮 roku 2005. Naprawd臋 polecam!

Nov 30th, 2005 · Windows · read review

GameZone (9.5 out of 10) (95%)

Age of Empires III is a must have game for any Real Time Strategy gamer. There are so many new additions in this game that it will boggle your mind. This is one of the best looking games, much less an RTS game, that is out on the market currently. This is one purchase you will not come to regret.

Oct 16th, 2005 · Windows · read review

Worth Playing (9.3 out of 10) (93%)

Overall, Age of Empires III is a must-have for anyone fond of the series or RTS gaming in general. The new additions do much to add new depths of strategy, and hopefully the next installment in the series will do even more. The graphics are impressive, and the solid gameplay from previous installments has carried over well. I'm glad the developers didn't radically change the game or try to reinvent it in a large way, as the core gameplay is what initially attracted me to the series and keeps me coming back. With only a few minor quibbles, such as the small role of navy and sometimes lackluster story in campaign mode, I give my full approval to AoE3.

Dec 5th, 2005 · Windows · read review

GamingTrend (554 out of 600) (92%)

Age of Empires III is a phenomenally awesome RTS, and stays true to all the games before it. The blend of rich graphics, professional quality sound tracks, accurately molded environments and settings, and "kick your feet back and watch" cinematics make this game a real treat. Add to that the outstanding gameplay and you just can't lose. You may have some issues with playing multi-player, so get ready to start untangling wires and/or configuring your router to act as a switch, or just flat out playing on a unsecured network and you'll be fine. Don't let that get you down because your experience with the multi-player may differ from my experience, and like I stated earlier, the single player campaign is worth the $$ any day of the week.

2005 · Windows · read review

eGames (9 out of 10) (90%)

Trudno m贸wi膰 tu o jakichkolwiek minusach. Naprawd臋 gra艂em w t膮 gr臋 d艂ugo i nie znalaz艂em nic za co m贸g艂bym da膰 negatyw. Moim osobistym zdaniem w艣r贸d strategii wydanych w 2005 roku Age of Empires 3 jest numerem 1. Bardzo dobra grafika, ciekawa kampania i tryb multiplayer, kt贸ry wed艂ug mnie jest du偶o lepszy, ni偶 ten kt贸ry mogli艣my u艣wiadczy膰 w takich produkcjach jak Warcraft 3, StarCraft czy Warhammer 40k: Dawn of War. Nie pozostaje mi nic innego jak stwierdzi膰, 偶e nowy Age jest warty swojej ceny.

Jul 31st, 2007 · Windows · read review

PGNx Media (9 out of 10) (90%)

Age of Empires had to meet the lofty requirements that previous entries in the game and recent RTS games have set. The game meets the bar set by previous games in the series though it doesn鈥檛 really revolutionize the genre. The additions, changes, and amazing visuals make the game one that is easily recommendable though.

Oct 24th, 2005 · Windows · read review

Miasto Gier (9 out of 10) (90%)

Podsumowuj膮c Age of Empires III jest zupe艂nie now膮, a jednocze艣nie star膮 poczciw膮 strategia, kt贸r膮 wi臋kszo艣膰 znasz doskonale zna i kocha. Po takim zako艅czeniu nie ma chyba nikt w膮tpliwo艣ci czy jestem za wydaniem pieni臋dzy na t膮 gr臋 ? Zw艂aszcza na wydanie, kt贸re szykuje dla nas CD PROJEKT 鈥 z nieprzeci臋tnym gratisem w postaci kufla.

Nov 3rd, 2005 · Windows · read review

Looki (90 out of 100) (90%)

Ich habe lange auf Age of Empires 3 gewartet und ich wurde nicht entt盲uscht. Die Story ist interessant und um Einiges spannender als die des Vorg盲ngers, sch枚nere Grafik finden Strategiespieler derzeit nirgendwo anders. 脺ber kleine Fehler wie die mangelhaften Formationen kann ich hinwegsehen, das einzige, was mich wirklich st枚rt, ist der geschrumpfte Multiplayermodus, mit dem sich die Entwickler sicher etwas mehr M眉he h盲tten geben k枚nnen, da dieser letztendlich f眉r den Langzeitspa脽 zust盲ndig ist. Unterm Strich bleibt ein fantastisches Strategiespiel mit sinnvollen und nicht 眉bertriebenen Neuerungen, das in der Spielesammlung eines jeden Genrefans auf gar keinen Fall fehlen darf.

Nov 21st, 2005 · Windows · read review

Electric Playground (9 out of 10) (90%)

Age of Empires III offers everything you desire in an RTS and more. Whether or not you've played the other titles in the series is of no consequence. The luscious graphics will draw you in and the game play will keep you there.

2005 · Windows · read review

Adrenaline Vault, The (AVault) ( ) (90%)

I have to move fast as there are only moments before this outpost is overrun by French Army regulars.. After that it will only be a matter of time before the capitol falls. Two days ago an advance unit reported back to us that they had spied enemy activity near here No sooner had we begun to shore up the defenses we were being bombarded by cannon fire. Why has there been no word from the capitol? They were supposed to send reinforcements long ago; meanwhile our own infantry regiments are barely keeping their nails dug into the front lines to prevent our inevitable defeat.

May 25th, 2006 · Windows · read review

Gamezoom (90 out of 100) (90%)

Eine atemberaubende Grafik, ein sehr gut gew盲hlte Story und ein Multiplayer der es in Sich hat. Das sind nur Bruchteile, welche Age of Empires III zu bieten hat.. Selten ein Strategiespiel mit soviel Spa脽 und Spannung gespielt, wie dieses. Normalerweise bin ich kein Freund von Echtzeitstrategiespielen, aber seit Age of Empires III ist alles anders. Selten hat mich ein Spiel so gefesselt wie dieses und dank AoE III habe ich viele 鈥瀌urchzockte N盲chte鈥 und einiges an Schlaf nachzuholen. Jeder Fan von Echtzeitstrategiespielen sollte keinen Moment z枚gern und sich Age of Empires III sichern, jene die mit Strategie am PC wenig anfangen k枚nnen, sollten wenigstens einen Blick auf das Spiel werfen. Sicher eines der besten Spiele am PC, die es im Moment im Handel zu erwerben gibt.

Jan 12th, 2006 · Windows · read review

Playback (9 out of 10) (90%)

Jest to obowi膮zkowa pozycja dla fan贸w RTS, jednak im nie musze tego chyba m贸wi膰... Dla reszty b臋dzie to jedna z wa偶niejszych pozycji w tym roku. 艢miem chyba nawet twierdzi膰, i偶 AoE3 jest dla RTS tym, czym Far Cry by艂 dla FPS, ale to tylko moje zdanie i pewnie kilka os贸b si臋 z tym nie zgodzi.

Jan 2006 · Windows · read review

Gamers' Temple, The (90 out of 100) (90%)

If you didn鈥檛 like the prior Age of Empires games or don鈥檛 enjoy real-time strategy games in the classic mold, then Age of Empires III is not for you. On the other hand, Age of Empires veterans and strategy fans in general will find a lot to like with Age of Empires III and should seriously consider adding it to their game libraries.

2005 · Windows · read review

Gamelog - Strefa Gier Komputerowych (9 out of 10) (90%)

Czas na podsumowanie. M贸wi膮c wprost, mamy tu do czynienia z bardzo grywalnym produktem. Rzecz urzek艂a mnie od pierwszej chwili i siedzia艂 przed monitorem przez d艂ugi czas, chc膮c zobaczy膰 kolejn膮 misj臋 i kolejn膮, i kolejn膮. Ju偶 samo to 艣wiadczy, i偶 "Age of Empires 3" to gra warta polecenia, nic tak bowiem nie robi dobrze grze, jak fakt, i偶 jest wci膮gaj膮ca. Dodaj膮c do tego wspania艂膮 opraw臋 audiowizualn膮 oraz wiele nowych i ciekawych pomys艂贸w, mog臋 o tym tytule powiedzie膰 tylko jedno: zdecydowanie polecam. I to nie tylko wszystkim mi艂o艣nikom strategii.

Feb 19th, 2006 · Windows · read review

Gamestyle (Germany) (9 out of 10) (90%)

Also reicht es f眉r Age of Empires 3 zum besten Strategiespiel? Nicht ganz. Warcraft 3 hat einfach die bessere Kampagne. Bei Age of Empires 3 fesselt die Story nicht so stark, auch zu den Charakteren baut man keine solch starke Bindung auf wie beim Kokurrenten. In Sachen Mehrspieler-Modus hat jedes Strategiespiel einen schweren Stand gegen Warcraft 3, allerdings kann Age of Empires 3 mit dem Kartensystem punkten. Trotz allem ist Age of Empires 3 das beste Strategiespiel des Jahres. Das liegt an der kontinuierlichen Weiterentwicklung der St盲rken der Serie, an den Neuerungen, wie Kartensystem und Heimatstadt und nat眉rlich an der atemberaubenden Grafik. Eine absolute Kaufempfehlung!

Nov 12th, 2005 · Windows · read review

GotNext ( ) (90%)

Diehard fans will appreciate the depth and intuitive controls while working to build a successful empire throughout the ages. Plus, the easy pick-up-and-play makes AoE III a blast when playing amongst friends in varied multiplayer courses. While I can't say AoE III will be the definitive game for everyone, it is a "must-own" for players with a love for the historically correct or anyone who craves a good escape from their usual genre favorites.

Nov 14th, 2005 · Windows · read review

Netjak (9 out of 10) (90%)

Age of Empires III had a lot of expectations to live up to, given the popularity of its predecessors. The home city concept adds a new twist, making the game slightly more interested than it had been before. If you鈥檙e a fan of historical RTS games, then you鈥檝e probably already picked this up, but if you鈥檝e been on the fence about whether or not to make a purchase, Age of Empires III absolutely deserves a spot on your desktop.

Nov 18th, 2005 · Windows · read review

FileFactory Games / Gameworld Network (90 out of 100) (90%)

Overall, I think AoE III is a great addition to any RTS library. Yes it has some of the old rehashed game mechanics, but I think straying to far from formula would alienate player base. So if you鈥檙e thirsting for a good RTS, pick up Age of Empires III.

Nov 7th, 2005 · Windows · read review

PC Games (Germany) (89 out of 100) (89%)

Gott sei Dank, es ist ein echtes Age of Empires! Ich hatte schon bef眉rchtet, dass die vielen Neuerungen das so geliebte Age-Flair verw盲ssern w眉rden. Aber nix is: Heimatstadt und 脛nderungen am Wirtschaftskreislauf f眉gen sich so harmonisch ein, als h盲tten sie schon immer dazu geh枚rt. Besonders die Mehrspielerpartien haben dadurch mehr Pfiff bekommen.Nur mit der Kampagne werde ich nicht richtig warm. Okay, die Vorg盲nger haben in diesem Punkt auch nicht brilliert, aber die absurde Geschichte um geheime Zirkel und Piraten geh枚ren nicht in ein Age of Empires-Spiel.

Oct 24th, 2005 · Windows · read review

Gameplay (Benelux) (89 out of 100) (89%)

De weinig innovatieve gameplay wordt meer dan goedgemaakt door de immer aanwezige verslavingsfactor en de grafische pracht.

Oct 29th, 2005 · Windows

GameStar (Germany) (89 out of 100) (89%)

Meine Augen k枚nnen nicht glauben, was sie sehen: Kanonenkugeln zerrei脽en den feindlichen Schiffsrumpf in Einzelteile, die Tr眉mmer schlagen Wellen im Wasser. Meine Ohren k枚nnen nicht glauben, was sie h枚ren: Kanonendonner, Explosionen, Wasserrauschen 鈥 alles wie in echt. Und mein Hirn kann nicht glauben, wie sehr es arbeiten muss: Wo gehen meine Truppen an Land, welche Verst盲rkung fordere ich von der Heimatstadt? Hinter der Grafikpracht von Age of Empires 3 steckt immer noch die s眉chtig machende Kombination aus komplexem Aufbau und taktisch fordernden Massenschlachten, die uns schon in den Vorg盲ngern so fasziniert hat. Es sind Kleinigkeiten, die den Begeisterungssturm von Zeit zu Zeit abflauen lassen: schuss-durchl盲ssige Mauern, unflexible Formationen, biedere Kampagnen-Inszenierung. Aber genau diese Kleinigkeiten verhindern den Sprung an die Genrespitze. F眉rs beste Echtzeit-Strategiespiel des Jahres reicht鈥檚 aber allemal!

Oct 2005 · Windows

Game Vortex (88 out of 100) (88%)

While the persistent Home City is a nice feature, it鈥檚 not the kind of replay value that most people are looking for in a RTS. Despite this new addition, the game feels more shallow than others of the same caliber, including its own prequels. The advancements in the graphics are wonderful, and the addition of the Home City is different and slightly innovative, but the game is actually more suited to newcomers to the genre. Age of Empires III is still a fun game to play, it just doesn鈥檛 provide the kind of deep gameplay experience that we have come to expect from this line of games.

2005 · Windows · read review

Gamigo (8.8 out of 10) (88%)

Die Computerspielindustrie wird zunehmend ein attraktiver Massenmarkt und so ist es kein Wunder, dass man bei den Ensemble Studios ein dementsprechend massentaugliches Produkt auf die Beine gestellt hat. Absolute Hardcore-Strategen werden an Age of Empires III wohl kaum ein gutes Haar lassen, da ihnen einfach der n枚tige Tiefgang fehlt. Da kann es noch so sch枚n 鈥濺ums & Bums鈥 auf dem Bildschirm machen!

Nov 8th, 2005 · Windows · read review

IGN (8.8 out of 10) (88%)

Age of Empires III is a superbly balanced and polished game and it definitely ups the ante for the C&C and 'Craft developers. Discounting a few niggles in the interface, the whole presentation is rock solid. Each new release in the Age of Empires series has added something to the mix. But while Age of Empires II seemed to focus on quantity, Age of Empires III sacrifices some units and civilizations in order to make the whole experience much tighter.

Oct 14th, 2005 · Windows · read review

DarkZero (8.8 out of 10) (88%)

While the game was definitely not what I had expected it to be, Age of Empires III was quite fulfilling and exciting to play through whether it was campaign or skirmish. As the franchise always has, AOEIII continues the tradition of easy-to-learn, original gameplay, impressive graphics, and that little spark that keeps us playing for hours on end having immersed ourselves within it. Assuming your computer meets the games requirements, this game is undoubtedly worth a try as it is an exceptional RTS experience that should not be missed out on by any fan of prior games in the AOE franchise.

2005 · Windows · read review

Gry OnLine (88 out of 100) (88%)

Kiedy ostatni raz gra艂e艣 w naprawd臋 dobrego RTS-a? W艂a艣nie. Ten niegdy艣 najpopularniejszy gatunek gier ostatnimi czasy uleg艂 powa偶nym przeobra偶eniom, ewoluowa艂 na tyle, 偶e rzadko widzi si臋 produkcje takie, do jakich przywykli艣my tych kilka lat temu. A tu, prosz臋, gra idealnie 艂膮cz膮ca to, czym by艂y dawne real-time鈥檡 z rozs膮dn膮 dawk膮 nowych pomys艂贸w oraz rewelacyjn膮 opraw膮 audiowizualn膮. Trzeba zagra膰, kurcz臋. Obcowanie z tym tytu艂em daje niek艂aman膮, i艣cie fizyczn膮 przyjemno艣膰, poczucie nasycenia zmys艂贸w i zaspokojenia u艣pionych nieco w graczach instynkt贸w. Warto si臋 da膰 ponie艣膰 klimatom kie艂kuj膮cych Stan贸w Zjednoczonych, upolowa膰 bizona, wypali膰 fajk臋 pokoju z Indianami, skopa膰 ty艂ki konkwistadorom. Ensemble nie zawiod艂o, to najwa偶niejsze. A Miko艂aje rusz膮 do sklep贸w ju偶 za miesi膮c, wi臋c...

Dec 1st, 2005 · Windows · read review

Krawall Gaming Network (88 out of 100) (88%)

Das Thema Kolonisierung mag zwar nicht sonderlich prickelnd sein, ist aber in diesem Fall gut umgesetzt. Etwas wirr und ziellos wirkt die Hintergrundstory. Spielerisch funktionieren die neuen Elemente, also vor allem die Heimatstadt, hervorragend. An der Pr盲sentation gibt es ebenfalls nicht das Geringste zu meckern. F眉r Fans der Vorg盲nger und damit Fans 鈥渒lassischer鈥 Echtzeitstrategiespiele ist 鈥濧ge of Empires 3鈥 ein Muss. Und wer gerne mal ins Genre schnuppern w眉rde, f眉r den ist 鈥濧ge of Empires 3鈥 ebenfalls ein guter Kandidat.

Oct 31st, 2005 · Windows · read review

Game Informer Magazine (8.75 out of 10) (88%)

Well balanced, beautiful, and easily accessible to any RTS faithful, Age of Empires III may not offer a lot of surprises, but it has the fundamentals pretty well covered.

Dec 2005 · Windows

GameWatcher / Strategy Informer (8.7 out of 10) (87%)

Age of Empires III is a good and entertaining game packed with truly amazing looking Age of Discovery world. If you have a thing for this great age and RTS games, you should pick Age of Empires III for sure. It will give you many hours of joy. If only A.I. was better鈥

Oct 19th, 2005 · Windows · read review

PC Powerplay (87 out of 100) (87%)

Konquistadoren, Kolonien, Indianer, Unabh盲ngigkeitskrieg, Eisenbahnbau: Die Vorgeschichte der Vereinigten Staaten von Amerika ist vergleichsweise kurz, aber dramatisch. Age of Empires 3 inszeniert diese Ereignisse in drei fulminanten Kampagnen - mindestens genauso dramatisch, mit brachialen Gefechten und Zerst枚rungsorgien.

Nov 2005 · Windows

PC Action (Germany) (87 out of 100) (87%)

In der letzten Ausgabe durften wir schon mit heruntergeklappten Kinnladen die technische Opulenz von Age of Empires 3 in der Beta-Test-Version bewundern. Auch die erste Kampagne war schon komplett spielbar. Sie wissen nicht, wovon wir reden? Dann mal aufgepasst: Als Schottenrocktr盲ger und Schwert schwingender Kreuzritterheld namens Morgan Black pr眉geln Sie sich zun盲chst durch das europ盲ische Malta und verfolgen die Osmanen, die angeblich hinter einem mystischen Jungbrunnen her sind, der sich in der Neuen Welt befindet. Dort angekommen, errichten Sie ganz Age-typisch Ihre Siedlungen, heben Milit盲rs aus und zeigen Indianern, Konquistadoren und dem frei erfundenen Zirkel von Ossus mit seiner Knochengarde, wo Barthel den Most holt. Punkt, erste Kampagne abgehakt.

Dec 19th, 2005 · Windows · read review

GamesFire (87 out of 100) (87%)

Ensemble Studios kann man eigentlich in jedem Punkt loben. Die Erwartungen waren extrem hoch und wurden auch ann盲hernd erf眉llt. In jedem Punkt kann Age of Empires 3 kr盲ftig trumpfen, nur ein kleines bisschen mehr Innovation h盲tte sicher nicht geschadet. Das Konzept ist das der Vorg盲nger und bietet wenig neues. Age of Empires 3 setzt dennoch hohe Standards f眉r das Genre. Der Mangel an Innovation ger盲t beim Spielen zunehmend in den Hintergrund, Prinzipien wie das der Erfahrungspunkte und der Heimatstadt kommen hervor. In Age of Empires kann man viel erleben und ist deshalb definitiv einen Kauf wert.

Nov 14th, 2005 · Windows · read review

Game Captain (87 out of 100) (87%)

Die Erwartungen an AoE III waren sehr hoch. Leider konnten die Ensemble Studios um Senior Game Designer Bruce Shelley nicht alle drf眉llen. So gibt es kleinere Schw盲chen bei der KI, hektische un眉bersichtliche Schlachten und einen lieblosen Multiplayer-Part. Warum man durch Schutzw盲nde schie脽en kann, bleibt wohl das Geheimnis der Entwickler. Neben der Heimatstadt sucht man nach weiteren Innovationen vergebens. Damit reicht es nicht f眉r die absolute Genrespitze. Einen GameCaptain-Award hat sich das Spiel dennoch verdient, weil es sonst handwerklich perfekt umgesetzt ist. Als Kenner der Age of Empires Reihe setze ich mich vor das Spiel und f眉hle mich sofort zu Hause. AoE III ist 鈥濷ld School鈥-RTS vom Feinsten. Alles passt, ist stimmig und sehr gut ausbalanciert. AoE III hat eben das gewisse Etwas, was vielen Nachahmern und Konkurrenzprodukten einfach fehlt und hebt sich dadurch von der Masse mehr als positiv ab.

Nov 3rd, 2005 · Windows · read review

GamingExcellence (8.6 out of 10) (86%)

Age of Empires III is a very solid title as a whole, but in the end it is still another entry in an overcrowded real-time strategy genre. It offers a very solid gameplay model and superb graphics, but it isn鈥檛 really a revolutionary game. It may not be what people were expecting, but that doesn鈥檛 stop it from being a very solid entry into the real-time strategy genre, and a recommendation to say the least.

Nov 25th, 2005 · Windows · read review

GameBump/Gaming Horizon (8.6 out of 10) (86%)

Colonial America hardly seems like the most exciting backdrop for an RTS, but the campaign mode in AOE 3 makes it not only worthwhile, but also leaves players longing for more. This game sets a new bar for graphical effects in RTS games, one that seems mighty high but is very welcome. It also brings about a few changes 鈥 some more appropriate than others, but everything is done well enough that I鈥檓 willing to forgive it for trying to ride the customization-craze wave and failing. The verdict: fans of the first two should pick it up for sure, and other RTS fans would be smart to do the same. Even if it isn鈥檛 a perfect ten, it鈥檚 still worth the price of admission.

Nov 8th, 2005 · Windows · read review

FOK!games (86 out of 100) (86%)

Ondanks dat AoE3 veel weg heeft van zijn voorganger zijn er tal van vernieuwingen die het tot een totaal nieuwe game maken. Het "Home town" gebeuren, de Indianenstammen, de Explorer en de schatten zijn voorbeelden van vernieuwingen. AoE3 ziet er fantastisch uit, de maps, de units, de animaties van de units; het is allemaal piekfijn in orde. Vooral de animaties van de schepen zijn echt erg mooi. De zeilen worden gehesen voor een schip gaat varen. Er wordt niet meer op gebouwen gehakt met zwaardjes of speren, maar er worden brandende fakkels gegooid. Vooral de map in het Caribisch gebied is prachtig, witte zandstranden en wuivende palmbomen. Deze prachtige graphics worden vergezeld van een goede soundtrack met bijpassende achtergrond muziek en de soundeffects zijn ook erg realistisch.

Nov 11th, 2005 · Windows · read review

JustPressPlay (8.6 out of 10) (86%)

If you are looking for a great RTS, this is it. AOE III is sure toplease any gamer, from children to hard core adults. Well balanced.Great graphics. Fun to play. Challenging. This is a good choice for anygamer, period. It was a struggle to find flaws with the game. Itdefinitely was an awesome surprise. I'm glad I was picked for thereview. Thank you Microsoft! I will be waiting for your next one...

Nov 30th, 2005 · Windows · read review

HC.Gamer (85 out of 100) (85%)

Sz贸val az AoE 3 j枚tt, l谩tott 茅s gy艖z枚tt. Nem 眉t akkor谩t, mint a hat 茅vvel ezel艖tt sz眉letett b谩tyja, de alighanem arra a performanszra m谩r a tov谩bbi epiz贸dok sem lesznek k茅pesek. Kit is 茅rdekel ez? A negyedik r茅szig biztos kih煤zzuk ezzel, ha meg valamilyen okn谩l fogva m茅gsem, akkor b艖ven van lehet艖s茅g眉nk a r茅gebbi darabokb贸l, esetleg m谩sb贸l v谩logatni.

Nov 12th, 2005 · Windows · read review

Games Finder (8.5 out of 10) (85%)

To add further depth Age of Empires 3 also uses a similar system to the Age of Mythology minor gods, known as the politician system. This allows players to choose from a number of politicians as they advance through the ages to provide a bonus to their settlement. Overall Age of Empires 3 lives up to the bar set by the other Age of Empire games and won鈥檛 disappoint strategy fans.

Aug 17th, 2014 · Windows · read review

Pelit (85 out of 100) (85%)

Age of Empires 3 on kuin komea prinssi, joka tulee is盲ns盲 vanhaan valtakuntaan viisi vuotta my枚h盲ss盲, pyyhkii jalkansa perinteisiin ja heitt盲盲 viisaat neuvonantajat vallihautaan. T盲m盲 keisarikunta ei kest盲.

Dec 2005 · Windows · read review

Gry Onet (8.5 out of 10) (85%)

Podsmumowuj膮c, 鈥濧ge of Empires III鈥 nie jest mo偶e t膮 wy艣nion膮, wyczekan膮 gr膮, o kt贸rej przez 6 lat marzyli stratedzy. Jest jednak 艣wietn膮 i wyr贸偶niaj膮c膮 si臋 pozycj膮, z kt贸rej 偶aden z graczy nie powinien by膰 zawiedziony.

Feb 2nd, 2006 · Windows · read review

Gry Mocny (8.5 out of 10) (85%)

Nowy tw贸r studia Ensemble jest niezwykle trudny do ocenienia. Z jednej strony mamy do czynienia z wy艣mienitym erteesem, posiadaj膮cym niesamowit膮 opraw膮 audiowizualn膮, ale z drugiej dostali艣my produkt z niewielk膮 ilo艣ci膮 nowych pomys艂贸w. Metropolia i kilka pomniejszych nowo艣ci plus rewelacyjny tryb wieloosobowy to jednak troch臋 za ma艂o by m贸wi膰 o Age of Empires III jako o tytule, kt贸ry spe艂ni艂 wszystkie pok艂adane w nim nadzieje. Jednak nie zmienia to stanu rzeczy, 偶e AoE jest g艂贸wnym pretendentem do miana strategii roku.

2006 · Windows · read review

Gamesmania.de (85 out of 100) (85%)

Keine Frage, Age of Empires 3 ist ein sehr gutes Echtzeitstrategiespiel mit einer Traumgrafik und bew盲hrtem Gameplay. Doch gerade letzteres steht einer h枚heren Wertung im Wege. Beim Spielen der drei Kampagnen stolpern Fans der Vorg盲nger von einem Dejavue ins andere, ein paar mehr Innovationen w盲ren wirklich w眉nschenswert gewesen, zumal die Story auch eher langweilig ist und das Missionsdesign nicht immer 眉berzeugen kann. Auch die gro脽 angek眉ndigte Heimatstadt ist im Laufe der Kampagnen l盲ngst nicht so wichtig wie gedacht und entfaltet ihr Potenzial eigentlich erst in Mehrspielerduellen. Letztlich werden alle Strategiefans nat眉rlich dennoch viel Spa脽 mit AoE 3 haben, doch dem Hype im Vorfeld wird das fertige Spiel abgesehen von der Grafik leider nicht ganz gerecht.

Nov 7th, 2005 · Windows · read review

GBase - The Gamer's Base (8.5 out of 10) (85%)

Die Vorfreude auf Age of Empires III war gewaltig, die Preview-Version hatte sie sogar noch steigern k枚nnen. Ich bin zufrieden mit dem Endergebnis, doch hellauf begeistert bin ich nicht. Mir wird geboten, was ich erwarte habe: Ein Strategiespiel mit sehr h眉bscher Pr盲sentation, einer interessanten und abwechslungsreichen Kampagne, sowie einem spassigen Mehrspielermodus. Doch die Schw盲chen bei den taktischen M枚glichkeiten bleiben nicht im Verborgenen und so schneidet der dritte Teil der AoE-Reihe ein kleines St眉ck schlechter bei mir ab als der Vorg盲nger, den ich nach wie vor f眉r unterhaltsamer im Mehrspielermodus halte aufgrund seiner besseren strategischen Optionen.

Oct 29th, 2005 · Windows · read review

VGPub (8.5 out of 10) (85%)

Age of Empires III stands as one of those games that it is easier to respect than love. The design is tried and true, so trifling with it too much would be crazy. This is a good game ? a very good game. It has all the addictiveness of the earlier titles, but probably less replay value since there are more interesting and creative RTSs out there. Age of Empires III will undoubtedly sell millions of copies and become a huge hit in multiplayer ? and deservedly so. All the same, it might be time for the father to learn some lessons from the kids.

2005 · Windows · read review

PC Zone (1993-2010) (8.4 out of 10) (84%)

Simple on the surface, but satisfyingly complex underneath - that's the Age Of Empires series all over. This latest instalment is an evolution of the successful formula rather than the revolution that some of us might have been hoping for, but we can't really blame Ensemble Studios for that. After all, gamers have lapped up all the previous Age games with relish and that isn't about to change with this one. It's surely the best-looking traditional real time strategy game out there at the moment, and more importantly it's a real blast to play. Boom!

Nov 18th, 2005 · Windows · read review

Computer and Video Games (CVG) (8.4 out of 10) (84%)

Simple on the surface, but satisfyingly complex underneath - that's the Age Of Empires series all over. This latest instalment is an evolution of the successful formula rather than the revolution that some of us might have been hoping for, but we can't really blame Ensemble Studios for that. After all, gamers have lapped up all the previous Age games with relish and that isn't about to change with this one. It's surely the best-looking traditional real time strategy game out there at the moment, and more importantly it's a real blast to play. Boom!

Nov 18th, 2005 · Windows · read review

Game Over Online (83 out of 100) (83%)

It鈥檚 a little difficult to call a game like AOE3 dated because so much work has been done on the graphics and interface, but under the hood (with the exception of the home city concept) AOE3 is all AOE2. Is this a bad thing? Maybe. I鈥檓 still playing AOE2 online and in skirmish mode (where the computer does relatively well on certain maps), and now in AOE3 I get to play AOE2 with snazzier graphics and a groovy new interface. Perhaps with a couple of patches they can clean up a few of the formation issues and make life even more swell (though I think the ship combat is a total loss). As it stands, it鈥檚 a pretty good game. Not a great one, but pretty good.

Nov 8th, 2005 · Windows · read review

Game Informer Magazine (8.25 out of 10) (82%)

Age of Empires III is a solid, fun game with a lot going for it. On many fronts, though, the series is treading water or even moving backwards with this installment. Dedicated players online will doubtless get a lot of mileage out of it, though, and the pleasantly lengthy single-player campaign ain't half bad. Hopefully Ensemble will focus a little more on substance than style with its next game.

Dec 2005 · Windows

Fragland.net (82.5 out of 100) (82%)

Whenever the term Age of Empires is used, nearly every gamer spontaneously recalls himself of Age of Kings, which was released back in 1999. Not only did it look amazing back then, it also offered numerous hours of addictive game play. The multiplayer part is still being played at almost every LAN party out there. Now, six years later, Microsoft brings us Age of Discovery, third chapter of the series, which takes place during the second half of the previous millennium. But does the game really live up to all these high expectations?

Nov 24th, 2005 · Windows · read review

4Players.de (82 out of 100) (82%)

Warum nutzt man die Physik-Engine nicht konsequent? Warum kann man keine Mauern bemannen? Warum spielt das Gel盲nde keine taktische Rolle? Warum gibt es automatisiertes Gemetzel statt Formationsplanung? Diese Fragen blieben offen und lie脽en den Award in weite Ferne r眉cken. Am Ende war es jedoch nicht nur der Age-Fan in mir, der den Absturz eines Hitkandidaten in die Mittelm盲脽igkeit stoppte: Mit der unterhaltsamen Kampagne, den lebendigen Allianzen und vor allem dem innovativen sowie auf lange Sicht motivierenden Trading Card-System haben die Ensemble Studios selbst die Rei脽leine gezogen, die den dritten Teil doch noch sicher im guten Bereich landen l盲sst. Und auch in Sachen Optik, Akustik und Umfang bleiben keine W眉nsche offen. Age of Empires III ist auf den ersten Blick der sch枚nste, der 眉ppigste und angesichts seiner Einheitenvielfalt vielf盲ltigste, aber auf den zweiten Blick auch der inkonsequenteste und schw盲chste Teil der ruhmreichen Serie.

Oct 31st, 2005 · Windows · read review

GameSpot (Belgium/Netherlands) (82 out of 100) (82%)

'AOE III' is niet perfect, en spelers die te veel verwachten zouden wel eens bedrogen kunnen uitkomen. Maar al diegenen die zoeken naar een ingewikkeld en interessant levensecht strategiespelletje met mooie grafische beelden en een historisch tintje, zullen heel tevreden zijn met 'Age of Empire III'.

Dec 13th, 2005 · Windows · read review

Gaming Nexus (8.2 out of 10) (82%)

Age of Empires III is a very well-polished old-school RTS, with enough new concepts to freshen the series up a bit. Fans of the Age of Empires franchise will be well pleased, but those looking for the Next Big Thing in real-time strategy will need to look elsewhere.

Dec 1st, 2005 · Windows · read review

GameSpot (8.2 out of 10) (82%)

Those looking for a complex and interesting real-time strategy game with fantastic good looks and some historical flavor will find just what they want in Age of Empires III.

Oct 14th, 2005 · Windows · read review

Gameswelt (81 out of 100) (81%)

Obwohl die Ensemble Studios ihr 鈥橝ge of Empires 3鈥 mit dem letzten technischen Schrei sowie einigen neuen Features, wie etwa der Home City, vollgestopft haben, bleibt als Gesamteindruck ein ziemlich konservatives Spiel 眉brig. Zu vieles kennt man schon aus dem angestaubten Vorg盲nger, man h盲tte sich schon mehr Mut zum Risiko bei der Wiedergeburt gew眉nscht. Sicher: Wer bef眉rchtet, mit dem dritten Teil ein Spiel in H盲nden zu halten, das nichts mehr mit dem 鈥橝ge鈥-Feeling zu tun hat, kann beruhigt zu 鈥橝ge of Empires 3鈥 greifen. Auch die Vereinfachungen in der Wirtschaft, wie zum Beispiel der Verzicht auf Lager- und Sammelst盲tten oder der Wegfall einer klassischen Ressource, brauchen nicht zu 盲ngstigen. Doch gerade im f眉r 鈥橝ge of Empires鈥 wichtigen Multiplayer-Modus summieren sich die Ungereimtheiten.

Oct 27th, 2005 · Windows · read review

GamesRadar (8 out of 10) (80%)

There's no question that Age of Empires III is enjoyable, and the strong multiplayer modes make it worth owning. It's just that it doesn鈥檛 strive hard enough to truly usher in a new age of the genre.

2005 · Windows · read review

GamePro (US) (4 out of 5) (80%)

Unfortunately, AOE III also suffers from the same combat and resource management that's long been present in the AOE franchise. Units are diverse and well crafted, but heroes, or "explorer" units as they're called, seem bland and undifferentiated between factions. The same goes for the professional but tepid soundtrack. This doesn't suggest AOE III is a bad game by any measure, yet with such visual improvements it's unfortunate that other aspects didn't receive such an overhaul. Ultimately, AOE III has clearly won the battle for graphical supremacy, but for all its improvements elsewhere, it has yet to win the war for RTS dominance.

Oct 17th, 2005 · Windows · read review

JeuxVideoPC.com (16 out of 20) (80%)

Vous l鈥檃vez attendu pendant des ann茅es, le voil脿 enfin : Age of Empires 3 sort officiellement le 4 novembre. Quel bonheur de retrouver cette s茅rie d茅velopp茅e par Ensemble Studios, devenue une r茅f茅rence dans le domaine des jeux de strat茅gie temps r茅el ( STR).

Oct 26th, 2005 · Windows · read review

TotalVideoGames (TVG) (8 out of 10) (80%)

Age of Empires III is very much the evolution of this iconic franchise from Ensemble and Microsoft Game Studios thanks to its retention of key gameplay features such as Age progression and the addition on new elements such as the Home City screens. The implementation of Havok physics and Bloom lighting have enabled the Age of Empires III look and act fantastically well, and the audio is also satisfying. Overall it's a slick and well presented title that is very much a mainstream middle of the road game that will please RTS fans who aren't hardcore armchair generals.

Nov 3rd, 2005 · Windows · read review

Video Game Talk ( ) (80%)

The 24-mission single player campaign will take up a huge chunk of your time, but it's certainly worth it. Be prepared to invest a solid 25 to 30 hours in the single player game at the hard level of difficulty. Add in many more countless hours if you get hooked on the awesome multiplayer portion of the game. I recommend this game to RTS beginners & veterans, adventure lovers, or people that enjoy historical eras. The lengthy single player game and the tense multiplayer sessions make this one a no-brainer to recommend even at full price.

Jan 12th, 2006 · Windows · read review

Christ Centered Gamer / Christ Centered Game Reviews ( ) (80%)

This is a war strategy game so there is violence and war. There is no blood or gore though. Every civilization has a church you can build though the Ottomans have Mosques instead. No particular faith is practiced and the priests are used for healing purposes. The taunts are funny but a few may be offensive to some. The worst of them is: 鈥淪hut your pie hole!鈥 This is a great addition to the Age of Empires series. I鈥檓 glad I bought it and have spent lots of time playing this game. With the various difficulties and online play there鈥檚 lots of replay ability. From an appropriateness standpoint this game is pretty decent, even though there is war and battles it doesn鈥檛 have blood and guts everywhere. I highly recommend this game to any RTS gamer.

Aug 1st, 2006 · Windows · read review

Game Chronicles (8 out of 10) (80%)

If you were a big fan of Age of Empires II then you will probably enjoy this title. Though you could just save yourself the money and play Age of Empires II. The additions to the game don鈥檛 alter the basic strategy that much. So while this is a solid RTS title, it certainly isn鈥檛 breaking any new ground.

Nov 14th, 2006 · Windows · read review

videogamer.com (8 out of 10) (80%)

Age of Empires III is a beautiful and exceedingly competent RTS. It doesn't really do anything to take the genre into a new direction or to differentiate itself too much from its predecessors, but both newcomers to the genre and RTS veterans are unlikely to be disappointed by what it offers. The multiplayer mode is likely to entertain well beyond the campaign and will no doubt keep you busy until the inevitable expansion.

Nov 21st, 2005 · Windows · read review

Gry o2 (8 out of 10) (80%)

Age of Empires III to krok do przodu i p贸艂 kroku wstecz. Otrzymali艣my, bowiem produkt uproszczony, mo偶e i graficznie powalaj膮cy, ale z kiepskim pathfindingiem, problemami z obs艂ug膮 dzia艂 i brakiem zaawansowanych rozkaz贸w. Ujmuj膮c to w jednym zdaniu: Co z tego 偶e multiplayer mo偶na por贸wnywa膰 z World of Warcraft skoro jednostki trzeba nia艅czy膰?

Dec 8th, 2005 · Windows · read review

Jeuxvideo.com (16 out of 20) (80%)

Age of Empires 3 n'est peut-锚tre pas le jeu ultime que l'on attendait de par sa campagne solo basique et ses lacunes au niveau des options escarmouche et multijoueur, mais c'est tout de m锚me un excellent STR. Gr芒ce 脿 son contenu tr猫s riche, sa r茅alisation soign茅e et son gameplay efficace, il parvient sans mal 脿 surclasser ses a卯n茅s. De longues heures de jeu en perspective.

Oct 28th, 2005 · Windows · read review

UOL Jogos ( ) (80%)

Independentemente disso, o game 茅 divertido, competente e vale cada centavo nele investido, tanto para admiradores antigas da saga quanto para quem est谩 chegando agora. Por茅m, sem d煤vidas, o impacto da nova vers茫o foi muito menor que o de "Age of Empires II" em rela莽茫o ao original.

Oct 25th, 2005 · Windows · read review

Armchair Empire (8 out of 10) (80%)

I was hoping for a revolution, but instead, I found an excellent evolution. Depending on what you expect, you may or may not be disappointed with what you find. However, there can be no arguments made on whether or not Age of Empires 3 is successful in providing an entertaining real-time strategy experience.

Nov 25th, 2005 · Windows · read review

PAL Gaming Network (PALGN) (8 out of 10) (80%)

Six years is a long time for fans to wait, and Age of Empires III doesn鈥檛 meet the expectations. The game does a good job at fixing a lot of the previous problems with the Age of Empires formula, but there are still some issues that hurt the game greatly. There鈥檚 certainly enough depth to be found for RTS fans, but once again, it falls a tad sort of our expectations.

Nov 14th, 2005 · Windows · read review

3DAvenue ( ) (80%)

AOE3 is a good game because it doesn't change the AOE formula too much - the gameplay is essentially identical, and even though 3D graphics are used this time around, they are rendered in a way that makes the game look 2D isometric, even if it isn't. What this creates is an RTS that does feel a little dated bar a few bells and whistles, although the fans of the series will likely feel right at home, which is, after all, the fanbase who made AOE2 a successful title in the first place. However, I still can't help but feel more could have been done to make AOE3 a truly next generation RTS title. AOE3 is still a very enjoyable game, but whether or not it is a true upgrade over AOE2 is questionable.

Dec 6th, 2005 · Windows · read review

Gildia Gier Komputerowych (8 out of 10) (80%)

Teraz nadszed艂 czas na podsumowanie. Mam mieszane uczucia, bo to jest tak 鈥 pi臋knie wydana gra (CD Projekt umie oto zadba膰, oj umie), przynosz膮ca ze sob膮 wiele godzin doskona艂ej zabawy dla wszystkich mi艂o艣nik贸w strategii czasu rzeczywistego i historii, ale r贸wnocze艣nie przyprawiaj膮ca o palpitacje serca i zawroty g艂owy wszystkich nie posiadaj膮cych potwor贸w a nie komputer贸w (wymagania podane przez producenta mo偶ecie zaklasyfikowa膰 do kategorii trzeciej prawd og贸lnych 鈥 g**** prawdy - AoEIII nie chcia艂 si臋 nawet zainstalowa膰 na nast臋puj膮cym sprz臋cie - AMD Windows XP, Athlon Thunderbird 1,4 Ghz, 256 MB DDR RAM, Radeon 9200 128 MB DDR, czyli na odpowiadaj膮cym minimalnym wymaganiom). Je艣li jednak masz odpowiedni sprz臋t to gor膮co polecam!

Jan 10th, 2006 · Windows · read review

Gameplanet ( ) (80%)

A classic real time strategy game based on the discovery of the New World. A whole set of new challenges for strategy gamers set in some of the best gaming environments we have seen in the RTS genre. An excellent game and one that needs to be in your collection.

Nov 9th, 2005 · Windows · read review

ActionTrip (79 out of 100) (79%)

My final verdict for Age of Empires 3 is that it's a game with great potential that sadly hasn't been fully developed. No matter how much you may like certain aspects of it, the fact that the retail code feels so incomplete and technically lacking is inexcusable. The pre-release patch only improves things slightly, and it looks to me like a more thorough patch is in order. For our reader, I would recommend that you wait a week or two before purchasing this one. In a few weeks, when the code feels more like retail code, I strongly advise you to get it - the experience will be worth it.

Oct 17th, 2005 · Windows · read review

Game Shark (B) (75%)

Again, Age of Empires III is definitely a fun game and if you loved Age of Empires II you're most likely going to love this one, too.

Nov 15th, 2005 · Windows · read review

Yahoo! Games ( ) (70%)

On the whole, Age of Empires III would be a damn fine RTS if it came out five years ago. Instead, it's some impressive modern technology and bold gameplay ideas unfortunately saddled by an outdated take on the genre. Hardcore Age players? You'll love it. Everyone else? Well, the good news is that there are plenty of excellently designed real-time strategy games out there.

Oct 14th, 2005 · Windows · read review

2404.org PC Gaming (7 out of 10) (70%)

In the end the gameplay remains almost the same as the Age of Kings , except quite a bit worse. The Home City system along with its decks of power-ups detract significantly from any element of strategy in-game, because players can simply call up reserves of troops and stockpiles of resources at a moment's notice, without any consideration given to how the game is unfolding on the map.

Nov 8th, 2005 · Windows · read review

1UP (7 out of 10) (70%)

And if you loved doing that the Age of Empires way before, you're liable to love this time every bit as much. The new single-player campaign offers an enjoyable trip to the New World over three generations of an exploring family. Multiplayer support has been significantly upgraded with a slick interface, support for clans and a number of other useful features. It's a rock-solid package, one that tightens every part of the existing game with a facelift worthy of the most talented plastic surgeon. Ensemble has proven no one can beat it at its own game, but neither will it be Age of Empires III the wannabes are aiming at in the coming months.

Oct 14th, 2005 · Windows · read review

Gamenikki (7 out of 10) (70%)

Overall, Age of Empires III is a nice update to the series. But especially with the way other historical RTS games have advanced the genre, I was expecting more innovation from the game (and developer) that started it all.

2005 · Windows · read review

Gamer Within (7 out of 10) (70%)

I should probably apologize for the lateness of the review. It鈥檚 just that, finally, I鈥檝e come to terms with the tragedy that is Age of Empires 3. It鈥檚 hardly the romantic reunion fans were expecting to have with another staple in their beloved series, and it鈥檚 not even a good RTS when looked at in the grand scheme of things.

Nov 18th, 2005 · Windows · read review

GameDaily (7 out of 10) (70%)

Age of Empires III adds a great deal to the series, bringing about the Age of Discovery. Added to the gameplay is the Home City concept, as well as ranks, troop-specific grouping, experience and exploration reward. Sadly, most of these new advancements are simply refurbished versions of features present in most strategy games available in the last year. This doesn't mean it isn't a great game, however. It does add a bit to the series and the genre, and it is a great compilation of many of the last year's best advancements in some very pretty packaging.

Dec 14th, 2006 · Windows · read review

Eurogamer.net (UK) (7 out of 10) (70%)

These hand-outs are symptomatic of the stagnation at the heart of Age of Empires 3. Even with the new home cities, gameplay feels tired and characterless.

Oct 24th, 2005 · Windows · read review

Gamekult (7 out of 10) (70%)

Beau et dot茅 d'une tr猫s bonne atmosph猫re, Age of Empires III est un excellent jeu de strat茅gie qui ne d茅vie cependant pas des limites du genre. Extr锚mement classique dans sa conception, le jeu d'Ensemble Studios tente quelques perc茅es innovantes qui dissimulent mal un manque relatif d'ambition.

Nov 2nd, 2005 · Windows · read review

Game Revolution (B-) (67%)

But no one buys strategy games for the sound effects - they buy them to agonize over tactics and statistics and this is why Age of Empires III is still a recommendable RTS. The steps it has taken in the gameplay department since Age of Empires II are negligible, but at least the new card-based bonus system adds an element of customization and depth to the genre. This result is as detailed as a history book, and about as much fun.

Nov 1st, 2005 · Windows · read review

Gamer 2.0 (6.4 out of 10) (64%)

It manages to avoid complete failure with the marvelous card decks, but pales compared to modern strategy titles.

2005 · Windows · read review

Absolute Games (AG.ru) (61 out of 100) (61%)

袪械褑械锌褌 薪芯胁芯泄 RTS 芯褌 Ensemble Studios 褍写懈胁懈褌械谢褜薪芯 锌褉芯褋褌. 袘褉芯褋懈褌褜 芯褋薪芯胁薪褘械 褋懈谢褘 薪邪 褋芯蟹写邪薪懈械 谐褉邪褎懈泻懈, 锌芯褌褉邪褌懈褌褜 薪械写械谢褞-写褉褍谐褍褞 薪邪 锌褉芯褉邪斜芯褌泻褍 Home City, 薪邪锌谢芯写懈褌褜 锌芯斜芯谢褜褕械 褉邪褋 懈 蟹邪泻芯薪芯锌邪褌懈褌褜 蟹懈褟褞褖懈械 写褘褉褘 胁 写懈蟹邪泄薪械 斜械褋褑胁械褌薪褘屑懈 邪锌谐褉械泄写邪屑懈. 袩芯褌芯屑 蟹邪锌褉邪胁懈褌褜 芯斜械蟹卸懈褉械薪薪褘屑 懈褋褌芯褉懈褔械褋泻懈屑 褋芯褍褋芯屑 懈 蟹邪薪褟褌褜褋褟 锌芯写褋褔械褌芯屑 斜褍写褍褖械泄 锌褉懈斜褘谢懈.

Nov 8th, 2005 · Windows · read review

1UP (6 out of 10) (60%)

Delightful, disappointing, and frustrating-Age of Empires III in a nutshell. In many ways, AOE3 acts as a shrewd follow-up to developer Ensemble Studios' acclaimed Age series, incorporating choice bits of Age of Mythology with the history-buff reverence of the Empires games. But in many other ways, it paints a clumsy and confused picture of what might have been.

Oct 17th, 2005 · Windows · read review

Computer Gaming World (CGW) ( ) (60%)

Still, even a bad RTS from Ensemble is better than a mediocre RTS from just about anyone else. With the new lush game engine and the company鈥檚 obvious enthusiasm for the subject matter, Ensemble knows how to make all those doppelsoldners, strelets, and culverins look sexy, even if you don鈥檛 know what they are. And that鈥檚 half way toward making a really good RTS. But only half way.

Dec 2005 · Windows

Player Reviews

The best RTS since WarCraft II

The Good
The graphics are colorful and varied, animations uniformly excellent, sound effects wonderful -- especially the female German villagers, and the cannons firing in quick succession. Multiplayer is really where this game shines.

The gameplay is extremely well-crafted and well-balanced. There's eight different nations, from the English, who breed like rabbits, to the Dutch, who accumulate vast wealth thanks to their bankers. All the nations are distinct from one another, and there's all sorts of play styles for different personalities. The Russians are for unpredictable wildcats, the Ottomans are for those who prefer blitzkrieg, and the Germans allow you to hire great numbers of powerful mercenaries. Of course if you want to hire ronin (masterless samurai) you'll have to go with Portugal.

One last thing: AoE3 uses the Havok physics middleware package, so when you blast apart a windmill you'll see individual beams of wood go flying. This also applies to humans: fire at a crowd of pikemen, and they'll be airbound in a no time. It's a very nice touch to this already spectacular game.

The Bad
Single-player's only really value is to prepare you for multiplayer, and it doesn't do a very good job at that. Anyone who takes this game semi-seriously will make mincemeat out of you if your only experience is against the computer.

The storyline is instantly forgettable, but no worries, the developers surely developed this game with one thing in mind: massive multiplayer matches.

The Bottom Line
Pretty well a flawless game. Fortunately for me, I didn't waste my time on the previous installments of the Age of Empire series, nor any RTS since Warcraft 2, so when people tell you that AoE3 adds nothing new to the genre, they are both lying (Home Cities, for example) and suffering myopia from being too close to the genre. If you haven't played an RTS this is where you begin.

by Chris Wright (85) on Sep 2nd, 2007 · Windows

Nothing groundbreaking, but a solid game

The Good
The best thing I can say about AoE3 is that it's very playable and polished. Many of the basic game concepts have been used plenty of times before, so it's not surprising they work well again this time around. For example, unlike Inderanta claims in his review, you STILL build barracks, stables and workshops to "build" infantry, cavalry and artillery units. You build houses to raise your unit limit, you build farms to increase your food income ... all not entirely new to the genre should know the drill. As in the predecessors, you still advance through the ages, and doing so grants you more powerful units and gives you access to upgrades and buildings (and more of the cards mentioned below).

However, some details have been changed compared to the previous games. For example you now have cards, a bit like in 7th Legion (but a lot less unbalancing). These are earned during the single player campaign or for gaining experience in skirmish or multiplayer matches. During the game, you gain XP in a number of ways, a small base income is granted automatically, then you gain more for killing enemy units and buildings, through trade routes (read below) etc. Every time you have amassed a certain amount of XP, you can play out a card, activating it's effect. There are a lot of cards with very varied effects, for example you can get resource shipments, troop reinforcements, unique buildings such as factories (allowing you to produce resources) and forts (forward bases with strong defense and a wide array of units available for recruitment), you can improve the rate your settlers gather certain resources, increase the stats of some of your units or even recruit powerful mercenaries (having to pay for them with shiny coin). Each of the nations in AoE3 has it's own set of cards from which you can choose, allowing for different tactics and granting each nation a certain degree of distinctiveness.

Then there are the natives. On most of the maps, one or more native tribes have villages. The player can build trading posts there, which forms an alliance with that village, allowing him to recruit a number of native units and research technologies, once again a unique set for each tribe. Native units don't add to the population, so having a lot of allied tribes can give a player quite an edge, even though native units are usually a bit weaker and a bit more expensive than ordinary units.

Additionally, there are trading post sites along trade routes. Claiming those grants a constant XP income, awarded in regular intervals when traders travel the route. Upgrading allows to gain resources instead and increases the frequency of income.

The Bad
Quite honestly, my biggest gripe with AoE3 is that it's from a line of "historical" games, but the single player campaign is based on a completely fictional story - which isn't very believable to start with. I mean, come on, a Knight of St. John following some Arab cult to the Americas only to find out there's yet ANOTHER cult, and that one is the one which is really bad, then having to chase that bad, bad cult through half of south and north America to stop them from finding the fountain of youth, doing things like fighting Russian soldiers in the grand canyon in the process... gimme a break. From what I recall, there were certain historical events during the colonization of America which could have been made into some interesting campaigns, so I fail to see why they had to pull such an abomination of a rabbit out of their hat.

There are treasure sites scattered across most maps, and I have to say almost all of them are really useless. The are usually guarded, often WELL GUARDED, by a number of hostile animals or rogue troops, and more often than not, you'll get something like 25 wood from them. A few offer interesting findings, for example some enhance stats of your explorer, but these are few and far between. Sure, you can ignore the sites altogether, but I deemed it worth mentioning.

Oh, and the explorer. It's some sort of hero unit, but of pretty limited use. He has some skills allowing him to kill animals with one shot (later even single enemy units) and can build trading posts (and later even town centers), but is pretty useless otherwise, at least IMO. He can be handy in the first few minutes of a game, but then can be parked in the backyard of one's base and forgotten about. I think it's safe to say the hero concept has been realized better by other games - for example the somewhat related AoM.

And then there's the AI. Let's just say it's not very bright. Ok, granted, most computer game AIs aren't, but it's really severe in AoE3. Most of the single player missions get around this by making heavy use of scripts, but in skirmish, you can't miss the flaws. For example, the AI doesn't build walls. Never. And it's really easy for players to confuse the AI by using walls himself. They can almost be channeled like water, and will only attack a wall on very rare occasions. Similarly, while the AI DOES build towers, they are usually not very well placed and a rare sight as well. The AI is also very ignorant in some ways. It's not uncommon it will cleverly amass a perfectly mixed assault force to effectively penetrate your defenses (analyzing defenses actually works well, to a degree) and then has the force march towards your base, past it's own farms, houses and town center - which are being reduced to ruins by YOUR assault force the very minute. That's right, the force will not lift a finger to defend it's own home unless you attack them first. Sometimes the force will reconsider somewhere on their way to your base, sometimes it won't ... and if you think the AI is actually being really clever planning to crush the player's base as the player crushes hers ... the forces are usually too weak to do this on their own, especially without further reinforcements. Additionally, it's not rare for the AI to simply cease and desist, without any obvious reason. It just won't build any more buildings and units, even if in perfect shape.

Some final thing I'd like to mention: I found the selection of maps for skirmish/multiplayer very bland. They are named after regions in America, like Texas, the Caribbean or Patagonia, and each sport a different mix of terrain, natives and trade routes, but despite being random per se, each generated map will be VERY similar to the last one in this region. For example, if some region for 2 players will have 2 trade routes, one north, one south, and 4 native tribes, and a canyon in the middle, and a lake in the east once, next time you play that region with the same amount of players, the map will likely have all those features again. You can download a couple of user maps to counter this, but this isn't a review of user maps, so ...

Speaking of user content ... there is no possibility to create custom campaigns, which I consider a stupid decision. Definitely takes away a lot possibilities for aspiring scenario designers.

The Bottom Line
A few more things worth mentioning, but neither really positive nor really negative to me, personally. For example, a number of limits have been introduced to influence gameplay in a certain direction. Thus, you can now only build a limited amount of towers (7, I think), to stop players from turtleing in, I'd presume. Similarly, navies are severely limited, the most powerful ships allow less than a handful of them being in service at any time. So fleets of more than a dozen vessels are a rare sight. Also, workers never need to return to storage buildings again. They'll just stand there gathering wood or gold or food until they can't find any more of the resource. You could basically have your workers gather wood on the far side of the enemies base, and unless he discovered and actively attacked them, it wouldn't be a problem for you - they would act like the trees were standing next to your town center.

Now, for the real bottom line. I steered clear of AoE3 for a long time because I was skeptical whether I could enjoy the fictional campaign. And I found I was right, at least to a degree, when I finally picked up the game much later when it had hit the bargain bin. However, ignoring most mission briefings and ingame movies, it provided me with a fair amount of hours of good old RTS fun, with hero-centric missions being in a clear minority. After that, there's the skirmish mode, which - despite it's weaknesses - can provide a good amount of fun by encouraging you to play on for a good while by allowing you to unlock new cards with the XP you earn for each battle fought. And you can play the game online...

so, it's still an AoE game at it's heart. Some changes have been made, most of which I tried to outline above, and you should take these into consideration. Gameplay has shifted focus a bit, with melee units playing a minor role and masses of rifleman being the way to go instead, but I think that's quite historical. At bargain bin price, I don't think purchasing this game can be a mistake. And at the time of this writing, an expansion is in the works, who knows, maybe it'll relieve the game of some of it's flaws.

I mainly wrote this because Inderanta's review seemed a bit biased to me, and I wanted to present a more balanced review. I hope I succeeded.

by Cadorna (219) on Jul 1st, 2006 · Windows

A good game, but not a worthy successor

The Good
By playing AOE3, one can easily tell (if they didn't already know) that this isn't Ensemble Studios' first game. No, this title bears the mark of experienced game design peppered with tiny improvements over the previous titles in the way of presentations.

I welcome the improvement in graphics (looking at AOE2 now almost looks DOS like in graphical quality) and sound, and to my personal tastes, I appreciate the time frame that AOE3 takes place during. Instead of catapults we have cannons. Factories can crank out canned goods to supplement your food supply, and the difference in nations' abilities is enough to allow for entirely different strategical and tactical approaches as they are quite varied in their individual strengths and weaknesses.

But perhaps the biggest improvement is the notion of home cities and customized decks of cards. As you play through the game with your profile (I have not bothered with the campaign, I only play multiplayer games on LAN), you earn experience for things like number of kills, resources gathered, and the like. These experience points go towards earning your home city "levels" which can then be used to purchase cards to build a deck with.

These "cards" allow your civilization to have special abilities. For example, in game you could play a card that gives you an extra 600 food. Another card gives you say, two cannons for free. There are all sorts of cards, and you can have up to 20 in your deck. However, as you progress you will be able to choose from more than just 20, so the player must choose carefully which cards they will take with them to a game, and which to leave behind. This allows for extra fine tuning in play styles. Coupled with the civilization differences, various players can have an entirely different approach to gameplay here. Good stuff.

As your city gains levels, you'll be able to customize its features. In the main menu screen, one can see their city while people walk around in it at real time. As levels are gained, your city grows and you are able to add new features like adding decorations, people, idols, and the like (if you play England you can add Jack the Ripper and he wanders around with a knife). These additions are purely visual and have no part in the gameplay, but it's still fun as it gives some incentive to level up your city and play more.

The environment seems a little more alive here as well. There are Native Americans which are neutral at the start of the game, and by building tradeposts nearby it's possible to get access to their technologies and warriors. Animals of all types roam the landscape, each with their own relevant amount of meat to feed your population. Buildings have shingles and chunks fly off of them when hit by cannons. A mortar round from a Monitor ship will send a villager sliding across the ground, their lifeless body hitting rocks and such along the way. Trade carts have been replaced by stagecoaches and steam locomotives that ride on rails sprawling through the map delivering supplies. The world is just much more alive here than in AOE2.

Furthermore, I appreciate that the resources now consist of simply food, wood, and coin. What's more is that there are different ways to produce all three types of resources. You can hunt, farm, and/or mill for food (among other things). Coin can be gained through mining, plantations, whaling, and other endeavors. Wood must be chopped down from trees by hand, but you can supplement your supply by having it delivered in tradeposts or produced from a factory.

AI is pretty decent. If you're producing lots of cannons they'll marginalize infantry and produce other types of units. In other words, the AI will adjust unit types throughout the game depending on the challenges you face them with.

The Bad
Unfortunately, there are some giant steps backwards with this title when compared to previous installments of the series.

For one, there are NO wonders. None at all. No wonder victory, no special abilities from wonders, nothing of the sort. Why?! I feel like this is intentional. I mean, AOE and AOE2 had wonders from the start, but with AOE3 they don't exist. Well, the Asian Dynasty expansion released in October of 2007 has them. I feel like the designers intentionally left them out so that they could sell an expansion pack with them later on. The practice of strip mining this franchise is starting to interfere with game development, and it shows.

Another step backwards is that there is really only one game type; kill your enemies. You have supremacy where you have to focus on building up your empire along with defeating your enemy, and you have deathmatch that just has you crank out units to throw at your enemy. There is no regicide, wonder victory, idol victory, timed game, or anything else. Again, they have lowered the number of features in the game. This is a huge let down for me as I play LAN games daily with AOE, and I find it disgusting that a newer installment is sporting fewer features.

In addition to that, the map options for multiplayer are pathetic. They've gone mostly from map types, to map styles. Teams islands are gone, replaced mostly by Amazonia that has a giant river separating teams. Furthermore, you can't play with two players on a four player map, four players on a six player map, etc. If you have four players, you MUST play on a four player sized map. The game will not start if you have open spots (which by the way cannot be closed in the drop down window as a player must join or a computer opponent must be added), so if you like doing a 1v1 on a giant sized map, forget it.

This game also fails to offer up options that many other RTS titles have already done. It's not possible to vary the difficulty with more than one AI opponent. For example, say you have 3v3 against the computer. You can't have say, two expert opponents and one medium. They're either all easy, moderate, expert, etc.

Combat is too much like rock/paper/scissors. Cannons are good against infantry, calvary against cannons, pikemen against calvary... it just seems old hat at this point to make a combat model based on this concept. Furthermore, there are some pointless units. For example, what is the difference between an anti-infantry cannon and an anti-artillery cannon? Why should an anti-infantry cannon be terrible at taking out another cannon, especially in reality during this time frame the way you take out an enemy cannon is by killing the infantry operating it, not by focusing on destroying the hardware itself?

Other little annoyances are present as well, like villagers that remain idle after having built a structure. Take a villager off of resource gathering to build a house, and once the house is done they just stand there. They do not go back to resource gathering as in the previous installment. I also don't appreciate that this game runs like shit on a LAN. There is no excuse for it. One player games do just fine. On a LAN, it's choppy as hell. This shouldn't be the case with a 5200 x2 with 8600GT in SLI and 2GB RAM. I don't have problems with performance issues on any other LAN games, and this one is fine in single player, so I blame the coders here.

The Bottom Line
Had this game been released as a standalone title with a new name, it might be a smash hit. But by passing it off as an AOE installment leaves me a bitter taste. I also don't appreciate the fact that important features were intentionally left out just so they could be included in an expansion for more money. I'll pay top dollar for a good game, but I don't like attempts to manipulate the product to get to my wallet. I will not be buying any of the expansions on principle alone.

by D Michael (221) on Nov 27th, 2007 · Windows

Nothing new under the sun

The Good
It's almost identical to Age of Empires II, which should be something good, because that was a great game.

Nice gameplay, very nice graphics, nice music.

The Bad
It's almost identical to Age of Empires II, which is really sad, because the game feels like an expansion pack.

Same gameplay, same mechanics, same music.

The Bottom Line
The third edition of Age of Empires sticks religiously to its winning formula, in detriment of creativity and innovation.

There's a common phenomenon taking place these days, regarding the creative path game developers are supposed to follow ... or not follow at all.

The first example of how a mercantilistic approach, biased and conditioned by marketing charts and sales numbers can put the entire game industry at a stall is Half-Life 2. After seven years of long wait, Gordon Freeman came back to defend his crown in the sequel to the "best videogame ever" with nothing more than ... better graphics. Not an ounce of creativity, not a twist in the plot, not even new weapons. Absolutely nothing but state of the art rendering and lightning. What was the result? A lenient, inaccurate and deceptive battery of reviews, serving buyers a mediocre game in a silver platter.

The second example packs a number of titles, including the the latest of the NBA Live series, Football Manager series, Battlefield 2, The Sims 2, Unreal Tournament, etc. The common denominator? Better graphics as the main and only added value. The result? Great sales at the expense of creative stagnation.

Not every game should "reinvent itself" each and every year, but most of these games seem nothing like very good graphical patches for the prior version. That's all. The code remains almost intact, ideas are still nowhere to be found and innovation is just "commercially too risky".

Many of these games i speak of wouldn't even be on the map if it wasn't because someone took a little leap of faith and tried something more or less new. Now that they're in the comfort zone ... why fix it if it keeps selling well?

Expect nothing else from Age of Empires III that you haven't seen in Age of Empires II. I commend the people who worked on those very nice graphics, but i'm utterly disappointed at the rest of the people at Ensemble Studios for delivering nothing more than a campaign patch, with some new levels to play.

After SIX years, one would have expected a little more than just revamped new levels.

by Sebastian Cardoso (48) on Jun 7th, 2007 · Windows

Show me an AOE fan that actually likes AOE 3? I didn't think so.

The Good
Hmm...probably difficult to make a game better than Age of Empires 2...oh wait...they did. It's called Age of Mythology. So I wonder what happened in "THIS" Age of Empires?

Anyway, I've asked around most of me buddies about their experiences with Age of Empires 3 and comparing it with my own. Let me tell you, just mentioning the name put a frown on ones face.

But before I drop the bomb, a brief head-up on the changes to AOE 3.

Yep, they changed 50% of the gameplay. Though I do admit, it is quite creative on some ends. The most noticeable change unit creation and age advancement. You don't build units, you order them from the motherland. So you've got this first main map where the standard game, and you have the motherland screen which...uh doesn't do anything really. Age advancement is an interesting twist, you get to choose what kind of "style" of advancement you want, represented by founding fathers. You advance an age, you can choose 1 out of 2 founding fathers per age. Each gives you a different additional bonus. Plus you get native American Indian allies...though there doesn't seem to be any technology advance for Indian genocide though.

Other that that, the game is somewhat the same...somewhat.

But probably the best thing I like from Microsoft games...(unlike their operating system), haven't found one single dang bug! Yipee!

The Bad
Don't we just love the bad. But firstly, do you know how overrated this game is? Checkout all those idiot commercial reviews, can't seem to find any commercial website that bad mouths this game...yep, in the end it always leads to player reviews.

Point of clarrification...the game isn't bad. Its very playable. But again, since its called Age of Empires III and the blokes who are most likely to play it are the fans of the previous AOE, you HAVE to compare it with the greatness of AOE I and II. And when you compare it, what do you get? Another total disaster. Here we go...

Graphically mediocre. For 3D graphics, I would expect something new...sheesh, Age of Mythology had a better impact the first time around when I first played it. This game is graphically ho-hum.

Unit limitation is probably one of the most irritation features. There are some units you just can't build, you can order only so many times from the motherland. Another irritating feature is the limited number of towers. Dang, I used to have like 20 or more towers in AOE 2, and that was minimal. Now your forced with 5 or so towers...can't build more.

Naval combat is somewhat improved, unfortunately the game suddenly becomes very slow when a ship sinks. I have to move my screen out of view of the sinking ship to have the game run smoothly again.

But for me personally, the most major let down isn't the gameplay. It's the story. In AOE I and II, they did a hell of a job teaching you history through a semi-fiction story. In this game, its practically all fiction. I didn't learn any new historical facts, just a bunch of knights following a stupid myth to the Americas...in addition to some Saracen knights also stuck there (since when did Arabs go to the Americas during the crusades?). Really...

The Bottom Line
Well, if your AOE fan...avoid this game at all costs! If your not, its a good strategy game.

In my book, Age of Mythology is AOE 3.

by Indra was here (20655) on Dec 28th, 2005 · Windows

Plus 71 player ratings without reviews

Contributors to this Entry

Critic reviews added by Wizo, gukker, Abi79, COBRA-COBRETTI, Martin Smith, Jeanne, Xoleras, Cantillon, Patrick Bregger, Yearman, chirinea, Big John WV, Samuel Smith, Picard, Sciere, Emmanuel de Chezelles, vicrabb, Max Tikhonov.