🐳 New! Moby v2023.06.02 update

Lemmings

[ All ] [ Android ] [ PS Vita ] [ PSP ]

Critic Reviews 76% add missing review

GameSpy ( ) (100%)

Even though the original Lemmings was released in 1991, it wasn't until 1995 or so that I first met the green-haired accident-prone stars of the classic puzzle game. Level after level, they'd mindlessly trudge toward certain doom unless I could give them the proper orders to dig or build or climb their way around otherwise deadly obstacles.

May 26th, 2006 · PSP · read review

AceGamez (9 out of 10) (90%)

Okay, I admit it - I spent most of my youth being addicted to Tetris and Lemmings. No matter how much they tried to revamp the series with success (The Tribes) and failure (Lemmings 3D) it is nice that for the PSP, Sony has gone back to the basics. Yes, it is time once again to step inside the time machine and revive another old classic. And by God, a classic it is!

Apr 26th, 2006 · PSP · read review

Retro Gamer (90 out of 100) (90%)

Team 17 has really spoiled us. Cute 2D graphics, fantastic animation, superb level design, the ability to create your own stages - Lemmings on the PSP leaves no stone unturned. It's even possible to take part in Wi-Fi games, and play the original Amiga levels. An essential purchase.

Mar 2nd, 2006 · PSP · read review

4Players.de (90 out of 100) (90%)

Lemmings ist auch auf der PSP ein spielerischer Meilenstein, der nach all den Jahren kein bisschen seiner Faszination verloren hat. Kaufen!

Mar 13th, 2006 · PSP · read review

Daily Game (9 out of 10) (90%)

It's been said, and rightly so, that too many PSP games have been thoughtless ports from the consoles. Sure, they have good graphics and sound, but the controls have often been designed with two thumbsticks or other gameplay mechanics in mind, not the one-stick-wonder PSP. But finally, for the PSP's one-year anniversary, Sony has released a game designed with the PSP in mind. And it happens to be fun, too.

Jun 6th, 2006 · PSP · read review

Worth Playing (8.8 out of 10) (88%)

It's hard not to love the lemmings. As a species, they are so small, determined, and for lack of a better term, stupid that you can't help but like the little critters. Even if you don't particularly like them, you at least feel sorry enough for them that you're willing to lend them a hand. For those of you who have never played a Lemmings game before, each stage consists of a spawn point and an exit. Your goal is to direct a specified number of the lemmings across the map, from the spawn portals to the exits, within a certain time limit.

May 10th, 2006 · PSP · read review

Defunct Games (83 out of 100) (83%)

This version of Lemmings won't change your mind if you hated the original computer hit, but if you were a fan this is one update worth checking out. It doesn't reinvent the wheel, but it does manage to get every element of Lemmings just right. I could have asked for more levels, but what Team 17 has given us is one heck of a comeback for our favorite suicidal rodents.

May 22nd, 2006 · PSP · read review

Game Chronicles (8.2 out of 10) (82%)

I still remember playing the original Lemmings game more than 15 years ago when it made its PC debut. This was quickly followed up by numerous sequels, holiday booster packs, and almost as many system translations as Tetris. I can remember spending hours after countless hours with this totally addictive game, often on just one level trying to figure out the particular “hook” for that particular puzzle that would let me advance to the next.

Jun 9th, 2006 · PSP · read review

GameDaily ( ) (80%)

For a while there, way back when, there wasn't a console without Lemmings. Its popularity spread far beyond its initial PC offerings, with Lemmings eventually making its way to the Sega Master System, the Nintendo Entertainment System, the Game Gear, Game Boy, and even the oft-forgotten Atari Lynx. Then, just like that, Lemmings disappeared. Entire hardware generations passed without nary a mention of the mindless marching fuzzballs. Now, however, they're back. And with the capabilities of the PSP behind them, the results may be one of the best versions of Lemmings on any system.

May 23rd, 2006 · PSP · read review

GameSpot (8 out of 10) (80%)

These suicidal critters have lost none of their charm over the last decade, and the new level editor, online functionality, and graphics available in this update of Lemmings make it entirely relevant for this day and age.

Jan 1st, 2006 · PSP · read review

Deaf Gamers (8 out of 10) (80%)

Team 17 have done a great job with Lemmings and it's definitely one of the more enjoyable games on the PSP. The classic formula hasn't been messed with and it's the same enjoyable and challenging experience it always has been. Of course this might not please everyone but it would have been a brave or foolish move to try and fix what wasn't broken. That said some form of multiplayer mode might have been nice but still, even without a multiplayer mode, it's still one of the more enjoyable PSP games we've seen so far.

2006 · PSP · read review

Level ( ) (80%)

Nu este deloc un joc scurt, cele 156 de niveluri fiind mai mult decĂąt suficiente pentru Ăźmpătimiții „genului” Worms și pentru cei care n-au altceva mai bun de făcut Ăźn timpul călătoriilor.

Apr 2006 · PSP

Electric Playground (8 out of 10) (80%)

A great return to an old classic.

2006 · PSP · read review

TotalVideoGames (TVG) (8 out of 10) (80%)

We constantly find ourselves bemoaning the lack of originality on Sony's handheld, so it's a little surprising to find a 15-year old game providing a resurgence of sorts for the PSP.

Apr 24th, 2006 · PSP · read review

GameZone (7.9 out of 10) (79%)

If you’ve heard of the Lemmings, chances are you managed to catch it in some form or another on a computer and gaming console that ranges from the Commodore Amiga to the likes of the 3DO. For the past 15 years, this puzzle/platform game has developed quite a following and the simple reason is that the game is just plain addictively fun. Of course, it didn’t take long for the Lemmings to show up on Sony’s PSP and having been playing this game for various hours straight it just proves that the game is still just a fun then as it was back in the day and even more so on the PSP.

May 25th, 2006 · PSP · read review

IGN (7.8 out of 10) (78%)

Gamers that have been around for awhile are no doubt familiar with Lemmings, DMA Designs' classic puzzler that has seen release on nearly two dozen platforms in the last 15 years (it's been on the Amiga, the PC, the Phillips CDi, Atari's Lynx, etc, etc). But why is there such widespread saturation for a title that does little else except follow a collection of dimwitted munchkins from one point to another? The answer, quite frankly, is that there's a lot more to it than that. Lemmings is a puzzler that doesn't involve falling gems, rotating blocks, or some other adaptation of the classic Tetris formula. More importantly, it's a puzzler where the requirements for success change drastically from level to level and where quick thinking and fast reflexes are always rewarded.

May 16th, 2006 · PSP · read review

Just RPG (78 out of 100) (78%)

One series that seems like it has been around forever is the popular Lemmings franchise. In the past, the series has spawned multiple installments that have been released for multiple systems. The latest installment in the series was released in May of 2006 for the PlayStation Portable.

Jul 13th, 2006 · PSP · read review

Lawrence (7.7 out of 10) (77%)

I really did have a lot of fun with this title, but it's filled with a constant feeling of "been there, done that." Like the PSP remakes of Mega Man X and the original Mega Man, this is a genuinely fun title that I can't fully recommend for purchase thanks to the high price for a game we've all played before.

Jun 7th, 2006 · PSP · read review

Jeuxvideo.com (15 out of 20) (75%)

La sortie de Lemmings sur PSP devrait à la fois combler les nostalgiques du jeu d'origine et séduire ceux qui n'ont pas encore eu l'occasion de s'y essayer. Le concept n'a rien perdu de son charme et se révÚle d'autant plus efficace sur PSP qu'il comporte quelques nouveautés : une réalisation technique et sonore entiÚrement remaniée, des stages inédits et un éditeur de niveaux qui permet d'échanger ses créations sur le net.

Feb 27th, 2006 · PSP · read review

Game Informer Magazine (7.25 out of 10) (72%)

This new PSP entry in the well-loved franchise offers more of the same we’ve come to expect, albeit with an upbeat and varied soundtrack and enough new level content to bring in return players.

Jul 2006 · PSP · read review

PSX Extreme (7.2 out of 10) (72%)

Lemmings fans that are dying to play the game on the PSP (I assume there are a few) won't be disappointed in the PSP version of the game -it looks and feels great. However, if you've played the heck out of any of the previous versions, there's probably not enough new here to warrant spending $40. If you're unfamiliar with the game, but you enjoyed Exit or some of the older (not the new crappy 3D) Worms titles, you're sure to enjoy the simple yet engaging gameplay that Lemmings has to offer.

May 24th, 2006 · PSP · read review

Softpedia (7 out of 10) (70%)

When I was growing up I had that stupid hobby of playing with the ants like all kids do: burn them with a magnifying glass, drown them or just squash them (insect cruelty?). Then Lemmings came along, but they were not ants, although almost as fun to kill. Conscience got to me when I saw their innocent faces on the cover of the game and realized that the purpose is rescuing them from certain doom. I made peace with the ants through the Lemmings and now my conscience is clean! This puzzle game saved thousands of ants...think about it!

Nov 9th, 2006 · PSP · read review

Factornews (7 out of 10) (70%)

Lemmings sur PSP est une adaptation tout Ă  fait fidĂšle Ă  l’original de DMA Design. Si vous avez toujours rĂȘvĂ© d’ĂȘtre chien de berger, mais que vous ĂȘtes allergiques Ă  la laine, ce jeu est fait pour vous ! Si vous n’avez jamais rĂ©ussi Ă  terminer Lemmings parce que le chien mangeait la feuille sur laquelle vous aviez soigneusement notĂ© les codes d’accĂšs aux niveaux complexes, la possibilitĂ© de sauvegarde sera une vĂ©ritable bĂ©nĂ©diction. Finalement, cette remise Ă  neuf de Lemmings prouve bien que malgrĂ© leurs quinze ans d’existence, ces rongeurs n’ont pas pris une ride. Les lemminologues avertis passeront peut-ĂȘtre leur chemin, Ă  moins d’ĂȘtre intĂ©ressĂ©s par l’éditeur de niveaux, et la possibilitĂ© de partager ses crĂ©ations via le Web.

Jul 2nd, 2006 · PSP · read review

1UP (7 out of 10) (70%)

Fifteen years ago, the gaming world was introduced to Lemmings, and players can now celebrate with a revamped, tricked-out version of a puzzle classic. What's best about Lemmings on the PSP is that Team17 didn't mess with the original formula. Sorry, kids -- you won't find any third dimensions, car chases, grotesque monsters, or pimped-out rides here. Instead, you'll be treated to classic strategy-puzzle gaming at its finest.

May 31st, 2006 · PSP · read review

Extreme Gamer (7 out of 10) (70%)

Lemmings from Sony and Team 17 is an excellent addition to any PSP owners library of games. The pick up and play action of Lemmings make it perfect for quick runs, but the addictive nature of Lemmings might keep you around longer. If you have never played Lemmings you should do your self a favor and try it out. Of course its puzzle game so it's not for everyone, but anyone who lemmings you can't go wrong picking this one up.

Jun 5th, 2006 · PSP · read review

GamesRadar (7 out of 10) (70%)

The premise of Lemmings is simple: you’re in charge of a herd of green-haired, rodent-like creatures who drop into 2D environments at varying intervals and march in a straight line until you tell them to do otherwise. Standing between them and safety are cliffs, assorted deathtraps and other hazards; but if you’re a quick thinker and can assign your charges the right jobs at the right times, a few of them might just make it through alive.

May 24th, 2006 · PSP · read review

Fragland.net (68 out of 100) (68%)

Would you look at that? A remake of some old game, thrown on the PSP? Well that's something you don't see every day. Sarcasm aside: Lemmings was a pretty addictive game about a decade ago. In the meanwhile we've gotten used to stunning 3D environments, physics, free-roaming worlds and what have you. With all of the retro-fuss though, someone thought it might be profitable to release Lemmings again. I'm not here to blame the marketing guys, isn't it true that some things are better left untouched?

Mar 28th, 2006 · PSP · read review

Gaming Age (B-) (67%)

I've been a Lemmings fan for quite some time. However, unlike most long-time fans of the series, the first game I played was the SNES version and not the PC, Amiga or Atari ST originals. Needless to say, I was pretty excited when a PSP version was announced to coincide with the puzzler series' 15th anniversary.

Jul 13th, 2006 · PSP · read review

Electronic Gaming Monthly (EGM) (6.5 out of 10) (65%)

You've got to hand it to the mind behind Lemmings. After all these years (more than a decade now), it's still a crazy idea for a game. Allow me explain the concept as if I were David Jones, the guy who thought of it:

Jun 22nd, 2006 · PSP · read review

Video Game Talk ( ) (60%)

In the end Lemmings is a fun game that offers a welcome "next generation" experience for newcomers and older fans alike. The only problem is that the concept hasn't matured much since its original inception and the experience this game offers is familiar to the point that it borders déjà vu. The pricing point is a little too high for my taste considering the "been there, done that" nature of the game, but even so the game is a success on some level. If you're looking for a intelligent and unique puzzle game that you haven't already checked it out before you'll want to try saving the lemmings. The gameplay is as fun now as it was 15 years ago, though your enjoyment will hinge solely on your exposure to previous games in the series.

Jun 21st, 2006 · PSP · read review

Eurogamer.net (UK) (6 out of 10) (60%)

Do Lemmings like cliffs? Sod that - do Cliffs like Lemmings? That's what I want to know. To this end, I've spent some of Sunday afternoon perched on my bed, laptop resting on my knee, Googling various strings along the lines of "Lemmings review author Cliff" and "Lemmings by Cliff" and "Sodding BY Cliff not GETTING OFF". Sadly I haven't found what I'm looking for, but I did find some fascinatingly dyslexic fan-fiction modulating between Lemming house sales and geologically informative pornography. I also happened upon a surprisingly large number of reviews of the old-days versions for PC, Amiga, Spectrum and the like. And sadly, despite the nice things Team 17 has done to the PSP one, flicking through a few of those I know I won't be able to give it such a sparkling report.

Mar 7th, 2006 · PSP · read review

GamePro (US) (3 out of 5) (60%)

Before Tommy Vercetti was terrorizing the citizens of Vice City, before Carl Johnson caved in the face of his first hooker with a crowbar, the developers over at Rockstar North (back then they were DMA Design) made Lemmings. That was in 1991. Now, after a plague of middling sequels and spin-offs like Holiday Lemmings, the classic puzzle game is reconstructed for the PSP. But does it rekindle its charm or simply make you want to jump off a cliff?

May 25th, 2006 · PSP · read review

Official U.S. PlayStation Magazine (OPM) ( ) (60%)

I think I can basically sum up everything significant there is to know about this game in three words: It's portable Lemmings. If you were on the cutting edge of PC gaming back in the day, this may serve as a delicious dose of nostalgia for you. If not, you may have already played many of these levels in some Flash game somewhere in the bowels of the Internet.

Jul 1st, 2006 · PSP · read review

Player Reviews

We don't have any player reviews for PSP.

Contributors to this Entry

Critic reviews added by Stratege, Tim Janssen, Wizo, Giu's Brain, Corn Popper, Jacob Gens, Jeanne, DreinIX, Alsy.