🐳 Latest Moby v2023.05.26 update

Caesar IV

aka: Cezar IV

Critic Reviews 77% add missing review

Hooked Gamers (9 out of 10) (90%)

If you have played the Caesar line you simply must continue your quest for advancement with this new installation of a long-running career of conquest. You won't be disappointed. How hooked? VERY!

Oct 9th, 2006 · Windows · read review

Deaf Gamers (8.8 out of 10) (88%)

Caesar IV isn't quite the sequel I was expecting but it's still a great game and one of the best city building games to date. You'll need one heck of a PC to run the game with full graphical details though. Sadly it's not fully subtitled.

2006 · Windows · read review

PC Powerplay (87 out of 100) (87%)

Caesar 3 spiele ich noch heute regelmĂ€ĂŸig, deshalb war ich sehr gespannt auf den Nachfolger. Die gute Nachricht: Caesar 4 ist genauso sĂŒchtig machend wie Teil drei, auch wenn ich auf einige Änderungen am Spieldesign verzichten könnte. Beispiel Oberlay-Folien: Die sind in Teil 3 einfacher zu lesen und liefern per Kontext-Hilfe schneller Informationen. Oder: Warum brauche ich vier verschiedene MĂ€rkte (und somit das Vierfache an Platz)? Ein einzelner oder modularer Markt (siehe Zeus) wĂ€re praktischer. Nach kurzer Eingewöhnung macht sich trotzdem das alte Caesar-GefĂŒhl breit: Ich baue, verwalte und optimiere, und die stimmige PrĂ€sentation zieht mich vollends in die Welt der Lateiner. Caesar 4: Ein Spiel summa cum laude!

Sep 27th, 2006 · Windows

Game Captain (86 out of 100) (86%)

Herzlichen GlĂŒckwunsch, Caesar IV verlĂ€sst als Sieger die Arena und kann damit die Konkurrenz locker auf die hinteren PlĂ€tze verweisen. Den Entwicklern ist es gelungen, die QualitĂ€ten des VorgĂ€ngers beizubehalten und neben einer wunderschönen Grafik auch noch einige gute neue Elemente zu integrieren. Besonders die unterschiedlichen Bevölkerungsschichten sorgen fĂŒr neue Herausforderungen. Die durch Grafik und Musik erzeugte AtmosphĂ€re ist wunderbar, auch wenn sicher nicht das absolute Top-Niveau im Grafikbereich erreicht wurde. Abgesehen von den kleinen Makeln der zu klein geratenen Karten und des etwas mickrig geratenen MilitĂ€rparts ist Caesar IV in meinen Augen aber wohl das momentan beste Spiel im Bereich historische StĂ€dte- und Aufbausimulation.

Oct 22nd, 2006 · Windows · read review

GameStar (Germany) (85 out of 100) (85%)

Ich geb's ja zu: Die alten Impressions-Spiele wie Pharao haben einen Ehrenplatz auf meiner Festplatte. Bis jetzt, denn mit Caesat 4 ist der Sprung in die 3D-Neuzeit gut gelungen, dass die Ägypter endlich in Ruhestand gehen können. Bis auf kleine Klick-Ungenauigkeiten bei Straßen- und AqĂ€duktbau klappt die Bedienung perfekt, ich habe meine Siedlungen immer im Griff. Dazu trĂ€gt auch die fĂŒr ein Aufbauspiel ebenso wunderhĂŒbsche wie ĂŒbersichtliche Grafik bei, bei der sogar manche Kollegen aus der Action-Abteilung gestaunt haben.

Oct 2006 · Windows

Gamesmania.de (83 out of 100) (83%)

Das Jahr der römischen Aufbauspiele neigt sich dem Ende und der Sieger heißt Caesar IV. Der Altmeister hat in seinem neuesten Teil nicht nur die beste Optik zu bieten, sondern spielt sich auch gegenĂŒber Die Römer und CivCity: Rom am komplettesten. Jeder Bereich, mit Ausnahme des MilitĂ€rparts, wurde sinnvoll umgesetzt und greift in andere Spielbereiche ĂŒber, so dass stĂ€ndig irgendetwas zu tun ist. Der Leerlauf, das große Problem bei CivCity: Rom, ist daher vernachlĂ€ssigbar gering. Letztlich hĂ€tte ich mir eine etwas abwechslungsreichere Kampagne mit echter Story gewĂŒnscht und auch die Steuerung ist an einigen Stellen, wie beim Straßenbau, arg ungenau. Doch Fans antiker Aufbauspiele machen mit Caesar IV nichts verkehrt, mir persönlich reicht es jetzt aber erst mal ein bis zwei Jahre mit dem römischen Setting. Wer im Sommer CivCity: Rom bereits ausfĂŒhrlich gezockt hat, wird kaum erneut Lust haben, viele Stunden in den Bau von römischen Provinzen zu investieren.

Oct 23rd, 2006 · Windows · read review

GameZone (8.3 out of 10) (83%)

At long last, Caesar is back. Soon after we purchased our first computer, I often looked at the copies of Caesar II in the bargain bins around town and wondered if it was any good. Then, a few years later, Caesar III hit the scene. I decided to get it, even though I had never played a strategy/city-building game. It was love at first play. I became obsessed with Caesar, and would play into the wee hours of the morning. It took me forever to become Caesar and finish the game, almost a year. I have since replayed the entire campaign through a few years ago.

Oct 10th, 2006 · Windows · read review

Game Shark (B+) (83%)

This fall seemed to be the season for managing Roman empires. No less than three games have made their way to North America prior to the holiday shopping season: CivCity Rome, Glory of the Roman Empire, and Caesar IV. We're going to avoid a hard-line side-by-side comparison of all three, but each offers something different for players worth noting. Caesar IV, in many ways is the cream of this strategy building game crop, though it isn't quite as flashy as CivCity: Rome or as easy for new players to jump into as Glory of the Roman Empire.

Nov 3rd, 2006 · Windows · read review

Games Master (82 out of 100) (82%)

Unless you're playing Caesar on NASA's own computers you'll have to switch off every nice effect to make the game run smoothly. Even with the graphics setting turned down the game does look gorgeous and with a variety of modes including branching missions in the career mode and various scenarios there's plenty to keep you rebuilding the mighty Roman Empire for months. Just remember that it wasn't built in a day, eh?

Feb 2007 · Windows

Gamernode (8.2 out of 10) (82%)

Fans of the franchise or new fans will be pleased with Caesar IV; it's a solid historic city building game with plenty to do. Create your bustling gardens of flowers and herbs in front of your villas, or build your vast markets to hawk goods to your citizens. Despite a few kinks here and there, Caesar IV delivers on what it promises.

Oct 6th, 2006 · Windows · read review

PC Games (Germany) (81 out of 100) (81%)

Tiefe Sorgenfalten zieren die Stirn des mÀchtigsten Mannes der Welt, wÀhrend er die von der Abendsonne beschienene Karte betrachtet. So vieles liegt derzeit im Argen... Die Steuereinnahmen sinken seit Jahren, von den Barbaren im Norden her droht Krieg. Schon munkelt man, dass sich bald Verschwörer mit blitzenden Messern vor der Casa des Imperators treffen. Genug! Er stellt sich auf den Balkon, dem rauen Wind entgegen. Zeit, das Land in Ordnung zu bringen! Zeit, eine Stadt zu bauen, die an Wohlstand und Macht dem Ruhme Roms gerecht wird!

Sep 25th, 2006 · Windows · read review

FOK!games (81 out of 100) (81%)

Caesar IV is een nette, complete citybuilder geworden, met een behoorlijk diep en uitgewerkt systeem, waarbij vooral de ruimte die je tot je beschikking hebt een bindende factor is. Het spel ziet er mooi uit en vraagt redelijk wat van je systeem om alle toeters en bellen te laten zien. Ook de muziek en geluiden zijn goed geslaagd, en dragen zeker bij aan de sfeer.

Oct 13th, 2006 · Windows · read review

4Players.de (81 out of 100) (81%)

Caesar IV ist ein wĂŒrdiger Nachfolger der großen Serie, obwohl er praktisch ohne Neuerungen auskommt. Zwar gibt es drei neue Gesellschaftsklassen, deren Versorgung lĂ€uft aber im Wesentlichen wie bei den VorgĂ€ngern ab: Ihr sorgt fĂŒr Nahrung, Wasser, Hygiene und Sicherheit und schon wachsen die WohngebĂ€ude in die Höhe. DarĂŒber hinaus mĂŒsst ihr fĂŒr Unterhaltung, Bildung und Luxuswaren sorgen, um die steinreichen Patrizier bei Laune zu halten. Das Spielprinzip wurde jedoch entschlackt, so dass sich Erfolge nun schneller einstellen. Immer wenn Soldaten ins Spiel kommen, wird es öde, da ihr bei den Schlachten nichts zu taktieren habt und sie auch optisch nichts hermachen. FĂŒr ein Volk wie die Römer, bei dem das MilitĂ€r eine derart große Rolle spielte, zu wenig. Richtige Innovationen sucht ihr so leider vergebens, da die Macher zu sehr auf AltbewĂ€hrtes setzen. Im Vergleich zu CivCity: Rome oder Die Römer hat Caesar jedoch immer noch die Nase vorn.

Oct 16th, 2006 · Windows · read review

GameSpy ( ) (80%)

Little things count. If there's anything I've learned in the countless hours I've spent playing classic city-builders like SimCity, Pharaoh, and Impressions' original Caesar games, it's that the tiniest things -- a missing shipment of grain, or a misplaced road that keeps an engineer from performing maintenance on the Colosseum -- are the things that can bring the mighty engine of a city to a grinding halt. Caesar IV, Tilted Mill and Sierra's attempt to revive the classic franchise, brought this truth home to me in a most surprising fashion. The brilliance of the game's underlying gameplay and economic engine is based on managing and manipulating little things, but a number of little things keep it from attaining the heights of its predecessors.

Sep 26th, 2006 · Windows · read review

PGNx Media (8 out of 10) (80%)

Even after the eight year hiatus, Caesar is still one of the most influential strategy games. Caesar IV, developed by a new house made up of old Caesar developers, introduced 3D graphics to the series. The core gameplay is similar to previous games while adding enough wrinkles to make the gameplay relevant to the current gaming landscape.

Oct 24th, 2006 · Windows · read review

PC Action (Germany) (80 out of 100) (80%)

Als Verwalter einer römischen Stadt haben Sie viel um die Ohren. Sie befriedigen die Bevölkerung und schwingen sich zum Kaiser auf. Als gottgleicher Alleinherrscher ĂŒber ein großes Reich muss man es doch einfach gut haben. Vor allem im alten Rom. Auf einer Pritsche vor sich hintrĂ€umen, wĂ€hrend vollbusige Damen einen mit Trauben fĂŒttern und Gladiatoren sich in der Arena gegenseitig die Köpfe einhauen. Dass dem nicht ganz so ist, beweist Caesar 4 von Tilted Mill. Denn auch als Herrscher haben Sie hier alle HĂ€nde voll zu tun.

Oct 30th, 2006 · Windows · read review

GotNext ( ) (80%)

Admittedly, I've never really been a fan of city-building games, so bear that in mind while reading my experiences with Caesar IV. Though I have always been a fan of history, discovering how Tilted Mill managed to recreate the thriving empire which was once Rome seemed all too interesting to pass up. Simulation games such as these have been rolling in on the PC for what seems like forever now, and it's been more than several years since Caesar III, so it's gratifying to know that there's still room for some new in this very old tale of building an empire from the ground up.

Dec 8th, 2006 · Windows · read review

Video Game Talk ( ) (80%)

If you enjoy simulation games then you can't go wrong with Caesar IV, this game is very challenging while not being over the top. I know for a fact I'll be playing for a long time to come and there will be plenty for me to do before I become Caesar myself. I highly recommend this title to anyone who enjoys the genre.

Oct 31st, 2006 · Windows · read review

GamingExcellence (8 out of 10) (80%)

Caesar IV is a fun city-building sandbox game, especially for those that like balancing a myriad of options like space, happiness, budget, resources, and political obligations. The military aspect of the game is weak but, since the campaign gives you the option of playing with a military or economically-based city, this aspect can mostly be avoided. The rest of the game however, is addictive and one of the better city-builders to hit the market.

May 4th, 2007 · Windows · read review

UOL Jogos ( ) (80%)

O prazer de jogar "Caesar" estå de volta. No quarto episódio da série, as classes sociais e os gråficos renovados dão novo fÎlego à construção de cidades romanas, e nem as limitaçÔes do modo single-player e da porção militar são suficientes para abalar o retorno. Sorte dos candidatos a César virtual.

Dec 12th, 2006 · Windows · read review

Good Game (8 out of 10) (80%)

Okay, so the game hasn't really evolved much. But it's still a solid gameplay experience, worth anyone's time. If you ever liked Sim-City or Sims, you WILL have fun with this game. 8/10 from me.

Oct 10th, 2006 · Windows · read review

Bit-Tech (8 out of 10) (80%)

This game is far better than its competitors, producing an enjoyable, challenging and graphically superior game when compared to CivCity: Rome or Glory of the Roman Empire. Unfortunately, the boxed version of the game is struggling with lots of technical issues. At the moment the small patch that has been released hasn't solved many of the issues and as such I'd have to advise you wait to see a more comprehensive patch before parting with your hard earned cash. When those issues have been fixed though, I highly recommend this game. It has a strong internet community already and with an online element that will allow you to create and share scenarios with friends the game should have a lasting appeal. You can pick Caesar IV up for ÂŁ24.99 from Play but I'd imagine if you hold out a couple of months that will probably drop to around the ÂŁ15 mark.

Oct 21st, 2006 · Windows · read review

GameSpot (Belgium/Netherlands) (78 out of 100) (78%)

Caesar IV kan ondanks enkele technische probleempjes een heel verslavend en bevredigend (maar bij momenten taai) game zijn. Elk scenario houdt je uren bezig maar – zoals dat bij vele goede games het geval is – vliegt die tijd verrassend snel voorbij. De campagnes, scenario's en (niet echt toegankelijke) scenario editor zorgen voor een kleine maand spelplezier.

Oct 13th, 2006 · Windows · read review

Worth Playing (7.7 out of 10) (77%)

If you're looking for a city-building simulation with a Roman pretense, which are in surprisingly high supply at the moment, then Caesar IV is a good choice. The overall design presents a good economic-based, city-building simulation with pleasing accompanying visuals. It will most likely prove more entertaining than CivCity: Rome or Glory of the Roman Empire, and as long as you don't expect epic Roman warfare, Caesar IV will bring you numerous hours of rewarding and enjoyable gameplay.

Dec 11th, 2006 · Windows · read review

IGN (7.7 out of 10) (77%)

We're big fans of Impressions' old city building classics like the Caesar series so hearing that some of the old Impressions guys at Tilted Mill were taking another shot at that venerable series got us pretty excited. After seeing initial screens and then builds of the game we were even happier since the game looked to be moving along swimmingly. Now that we have the final, we're less happy than we were, but not cursing at the gods either. Caesar IV is definitely good in some respects but has just missed some important aspects of user interface design and hasn't exactly mastered the technical aspect of engine design. Even with the problems, it was nice to get back into Rome for a bit of city building.

Oct 17th, 2006 · Windows · read review

GameSpot (7.7 out of 10) (77%)

Rome may not have been built in a day, but that's certainly part of the appeal of the Caesar series, the long-running city-building strategy franchise that lets you build cities for the glory of Rome. Though set thousands of years in the past, it turns out that the people of Rome had wants and needs similar to our own, and coming up with solutions can be both entertaining and educating, in a way. As the first new entry in eight years, Caesar IV updates the series to the 3D graphics age. Caesar IV was developed by Tilted Mill, which itself is composed of veterans of previous Caesar games, so the designers knew what they were doing. As a result, this new Caesar captures the spirit of the earlier games quite well, though not without some quirks and issues.

Oct 5th, 2006 · Windows · read review

DarkZero (7.3 out of 10) (73%)

Overall Caesar IV is an interesting game to say the least. The gameplay is well-thought out and not confusing, but perhaps some more variety and gradual progression should have been elements as at the moment it’s very limited. This game isn’t for the gamer that enjoys a lot of action or a quick pace – you’ll be sitting at the computer desk for a decent amount of time. A plus is that it doesn’t really cause any frustration – it’s a very smooth and calming game, and while it doesn’t have the flashiest graphics or most mind-blowing audio effects, it’s a quality title that I wish I had more time for. That said, there are many improvements and features that I would have liked to do in the game.

2006 · Windows · read review

Gameplay (Benelux) (71 out of 100) (71%)

Caesar IV is net als GotRE Ă©n CivCity Rome een leuke en verslavende game geworden, teminste, zolang het niet crasht.

Oct 27th, 2006 · Windows

Gamer.nl (7 out of 10) (70%)

Tempeltje hier, straatje daar, Coloseumpje naast dat huisje en nog een Forum Romanum tussen die parkjes in. Klaar! Men zegt wel dat Rome niet in Ă©Ă©n dag gebouwd is, maar de Caesar reeks heeft toch al drie keer bewezen dat dit wel degelijk mogelijk is. Nu het vierde deel in deze genrebepalende reeks in de winkels ligt, hopen we dat we weer een heerlijke simgame voor ons hebben. Is dit ook zo, of zou deze game een duim omlaag krijgen in het Coloseum?

Oct 19th, 2006 · Windows · read review

Eurogamer.de (7 out of 10) (70%)

Caesar IV finde ich reichlich enttĂ€uschend. Klar, das Spielprinzip des Siedelns und StĂ€dtebauens macht immer noch viel Spaß. Das Zusammenspiel der einzelnen Wirtschaftszweige und der Nahrungsmittelproduktion funktioniert ganz wunderbar. Nur habe ich das exakt so schon hunderte Mal in den VorgĂ€ngern gemacht. Alles sieht nur hĂŒbscher aus, die Steuerung ist sogar schlechter als bei der versammelten Ahnenschar. Vor allem die Szenarios sind extrem abwechslungsarm. Stets muss ich immer dieselben Vorgaben mit unterschiedlichen Zahlenwerten erreichen. Wie leicht hĂ€tte man das Spiel mit ein paar geskripteten Überraschungen, wie Katastrophen, Invasionen oder Hungersnöten deutlich spannender machen können. Wer noch keinen Teil der Caesar-Reihe besitzt, kann sich gern nach Rom begeben. Alle anderen aber sollten einfach die VorgĂ€nger weiter spielen (mein persönlicher Liebling ist das spielerisch interessantere Zeus). Einen echten Grund fĂŒr den Neukauf gibt es außer der Optik nicht.

Oct 12th, 2006 · Windows · read review

Games Finder (7 out of 10) (70%)

Caesar IV is a pure city building experience that takes place in an ancient Roman setting. The game was developed by Titled Mill Entertainment and released in 2006.

Jun 15th, 2013 · Windows · read review

Computer Bild Spiele (2.5 out of 6) (70%)

Ein schönes, optisch attraktives und leicht zu bedienendes Spiel mit viel Tiefe. Es gibt etliche GebĂ€udetypen, die dazu passenden Einwohner sowie viele Ereignisse. Die GebĂ€ude sehen aus, wie man sie aus SchulbĂŒchern oder Filmen kennt. Dennoch: Im Vergleich mit Ă€lteren Aufbauspielen des Teams, etwa „Pharao“ oder „Der letzte Kaiser“, schwĂ€chelt Caesar 4. Es gibt auch einige Ă€rgerliche Punkte, die AtmosphĂ€re und Gesamteindruck stören und beeintrĂ€chtigen, etwa dass das Bauen per Mausklick manchmal etwas hakt und das Abreißen von HĂ€usern immer nur zeitverzögert ablĂ€uft. Daher nur knapp „gut“.

Nov 1st, 2006 · Windows · read review

JeuxVideoPC.com (14 out of 20) (70%)

Huit ans que les fans attendaient, une Ă©ternitĂ© pour les apprentis gouverneurs romains. Un nouveau volet d’une grande sĂ©rie - ici longue de 13 ans - est toujours quelque chose de particulier ; Entre la volontĂ© de conserver une communautĂ© fidĂšle et celle de sĂ©duire un public nouveau, les enjeux sont multiples. Huit ans sĂ©parent Caesar 3 et Caesar 4 et si de nombreuses amĂ©liorations techniques sont venues enrichir ce 4Ăšme Ă©pisode, les principes restent exactement les mĂȘmes. A l’époque une des sĂ©ries de gestion de rĂ©fĂ©rence, ce Caesar 4 rĂ©ussira t-il aussi bien que ses aĂźnĂ©s ? Voici quelques Ă©lĂ©ments de rĂ©ponse.

Oct 17th, 2006 · Windows · read review

ActionTrip (69 out of 100) (69%)

Caesar IV offers a lot of content. The main campaign is pretty huge, with three different stages that depict three different eras of Ancient Rome. The developers have also included an in-engine editor with tools and an online feature for those wanting to get into some geek on geek action. In my opinion, however, the game is simply not fun enough and it gets very repetitive after a while. The challenges rarely diverge enough to keep things interesting, so Caesar IV just gets stale after a while.

Oct 10th, 2006 · Windows · read review

Game Over Online (67 out of 100) (67%)

Obviously, I found Caesar IV to be a disappointment. I liked Tilted Mill's first offering, Immortal Cities: Children of the Nile, much more, and it's odd how they could go from a unique and interesting game to one so completely bland and generic. But that's what happened, and, as much as I wasn't really enthusiastic about CivCity: Rome, I'd easily recommend that one to people looking for a city management game to play, rather than Caesar IV.

Oct 17th, 2006 · Windows · read review

PC Player (Denmark) (6.5 out of 10) (65%)

Hverken som frygtet eller hÄbet, men derimod som forventet. Caesar IV er solidt hÄndvÊrk af den slags, fans af bysimulation og sandkassespil vil elske, og alle andre vil ignorere.

Dec 2006 · Windows

FZ ( ) (60%)

Caesar IV Àr genomgÄende ett vÀlgjort och utmanande spel och till en början Àr det riktigt trevligt att leka stadsarkitekt. TyvÀrr blir det vÀl repetitivt dÄ du efter avklarat uppdrag startar om med en tom spelyta och du tvingas bygga om allt frÄn början igen. Jag bör ocksÄ tillÀgga att den som förvÀntar sig leda en romersk legion fÄr söka sig Ät annat hÄll dÄ det Àr sparsmakat med strider. Med lite mer variation i uppdragen hade Caesar IV utan tvekan nÄtt ett snÀpp till pÄ betygsstegen.

Oct 28th, 2006 · Windows · read review

1UP (6 out of 10) (60%)

Why in the name of Mahatma Gandhi do game designers feel that city-builders -- a subgenre geared specifically to RTS pacifists -- need to have a military element? Caesar IV, the new city-builder from Tilted Mill, trundles along just fine as a wheat-growing, furniture-crafting, pottery-potting domestic sim. Then, all of a sudden, instead of dealing with urban sprawl and water rights, you're tasked with using a bunch of poorly controlled, dim-bulb A.I. legionnaires to defend against invading hordes. Battles have nothing to do with tactics, being determined only by who has the bigger, better-equipped force. If the real Roman army were actually this scattershot, schoolchildren today would be forced to learn Carthaginian rather than Latin.

Oct 2nd, 2006 · Windows · read review

Eurogamer.net (UK) (6 out of 10) (60%)

So, I come here not to praise Caesar or to bury it. It's just doing pretty much the same generally reliable job it always has done, putting in its hours and going home again - if anything, it's getting sloppier with age. If it really wanted to be great, it really could have been. But even after an eight-year gap, it still manages to feel like a churned out sequel rather than a careful study of what did and didn't work last time around. Times have changed since the last Caesar reigned; there's only enough spit and polish here to delay, rather than prevent, the fall of this particular empire.

Oct 16th, 2006 · Windows · read review

Good Game (6 out of 10) (60%)

I agree. But if you're on a budget I'd suggest going out, getting Caesar III from the discount bin, crossing out III and writing IV, and you're pretty much getting the same game. 6/10.

Oct 10th, 2006 · Windows · read review

Player Reviews

Caesar just died, by Jupiter!

The Good
You know there comes a moment in life for a veteran gamer that does reviews to really not start a game review with:

"Yep, better graphics".

Aww, come on. Not everyone one of us is a moronic teenager that buys games only after constant nagging to the parents.

The only other additional feature I noticed was the fact that now you can build roads and buildings "side-ways", not up-down-left-right. Adds some additional architectural skill, I might add.

Other than that, you have more graphical advisors with a little more detail. Never got so far as actual mass combat though, got bored. So I can't review the combat stuff.

The Bad
Yep, Caesar just died! I'm guessing this there won't be a Caesar V unless they fix up this mess, by Jupiter.

So how did Caesar die? By killing the 2 things that made Caesar a freakin award winning game:

  • Managing citizen routes;
  • Managing home improvements;
  • Managing trade;
  • Actually everything that has to do with Caesar III :p Managing Citizen Routes
    The most managerial thing about Caesar III was the fact that you had to control your citizens from moving into areas you don't want them to (via this no-entry button thingy which I forgot what it was called). Thus you could make citizen routes more efficient when it comes to supplying citizen needs such as food supplies, entertainment, security...the works. Now you don't need to do that anymore. All you have to do is place that darn building and you can see where that person actually travels. Its much more easier, but we don't play strategy games BECAUSE they are easier. User-friendly and Difficulty are 2 different worlds mate. The game did not become more user-friendly, it DID become more easier.
  • Managing Home Improvements
    Once upon a time all rich folk came from poor folk that eventually worked hard enough to get rich. Not so in Caesar IV. Now you have Pleb houses, Elites houses and Preatorian houses. Each still evolve, but must be built separately. Again, the game became easier but not more fun. Once upon a time it was fun seeing the poor get rich and evolve. You had to work darn hard to see your citizens become more. Bah, now I'm was more preoccupied in keeping the rich - rich and the poor - poor.
  • Managing Trade
    I remember trade was really fun in Caesar III. In fact, it was the really "real" source of income. Not taxes. In this version its the other way around. You have to rely on taxes, not trade. Not that I really care, but what I really do care is that the "sense" of money making is completely eliminated here. I remember having delight in seeing a merchant come in and buy my goods from the storehouse. There was also a supporting sound effect that indicated money was entering your coffers. No longer. You no longer notice a merchant entering your port. You don't even know why the merchant didn't buy all your goods. There's a lot it seems you don't know what going on in your city. Hmm.
  • Personal Touch
    One little thing I noticed in Caesar III is that you can always click on the citizens walking around like idiots and hear what they think about your fine city. Here the citizens are smaller and the default speed is faster (although you can slower it down). Its much harder for you to click on the citizens since they are small and not cartoon funny looking like in Caesar III. --- I haven't played the game long enough (which is probably only 48 hours in my book...long is a week). After finishing the "mandatory" tutorial (which also sucks) and 2 scenarios, I got bored. Something really impossible I thought for the most freakin addictive game series I've played. See my Pharaoh review. I played that freakin game for 2 weeks non-stop. Now if a fan gets bored of the same game series in 2 days, it must be really that bad, no? Yeah. The game became just this superficial illusion of a city-building game. Actually this looks more like a clone of Caesar III than a sequel. Different developers maybe? Oh, yeah. I just checked. Different developer. They also created Immortal Cities: Children of the Nile, which by the way is the ugliest (gameplay wise) city-building sim I've played. No wonder Caesar died...

    **The Bottom Line**
    Why did they have to kill off this wonderful series, by Jupiter? Seriously Tilted Mill Entertainment, Inc., you really can't make city-building sims. Or at least the bloke who came up with the idea of "city-building simulation" which actually IS (or should be) "city-building managerial strategy" can't make city-building sims.

by Indra was here (20777) on Jan 31st, 2007 · Windows

Plus 14 player ratings without reviews

Contributors to this Entry

Critic reviews added by Tim Janssen, Wizo, Patrick Bregger, Pecunia, RhYnoECfnW, Jeanne, Xoleras, chirinea, beetle120, Cantillon, Sciere, Samuel Smith, Emmanuel de Chezelles, Mark Langdahl, Kabushi, CalaisianMindthief.