🐳 Moby v2023.03.16 update

Battlefield 2142

aka: 2142 Battlefield, BF2142

[ All ] [ Macintosh ] [ Windows ]

Critic Reviews 81% add missing review

Giery.eu (38 out of 40)

Podsumowując, Battlefield 2142 to pozycja, w ktĂłrej nie dopatrzyƂem się w zasadzie ĆŒadnych minusĂłw. Wiem, ĆŒe nie ma gry idealnej i BF2142 z pewnoƛcią teĆŒ nią nie jest, ale mĂłj sentyment i stosunek do tej serii, kaĆŒe mi patrzeć pozytywnie na wszystkie aspekty produkcji. JeĆŒeli szukasz strzelanki, do grania w trybie single, nowy BF (jak kaĆŒdy zresztą poprzedni) nie jest dla Ciebie. JeĆŒeli natomiast szukasz wraĆŒeƄ online - bez zbytniej przesady mogę polecić BF2142, jako najlepszą grę multiplayer dostępną obecnie na komputerach PC. Deklasuje on nawet kultowego Unreal Tournament. Jednym sƂowem - na najnowszą sieciową produkcję Dice nie ma mocnych, gorąco polecam.

Mar 2nd, 2007 · Windows · read review

FileFactory Games / Gameworld Network (90 out of 100)

If you’re looking for a fun first person shooter with plenty of options and a great example of how cooperative online play is really supposed to be, Battlefield 2142 is a great bet.

Nov 7th, 2006 · Windows · read review

GameDaily (9 out of 10)

Half the world is frozen over, and it's time to fight over what's left. Battlefield 2142 delivers a sci-fi themed experience using the familiar Battlefield style. While the setting may have changed a bit, the overall gameplay hasn't. Veterans of previous games should have no trouble jumping right into the fray. Chief among the features found in 2142 are the updated kits, an in-game buddy list, futuristic vehicles (like the armored walker), and the all-new Titan mode. The assault on the Titan battle cruiser is extremely fast paced since resources are often stretched thin to cover all the offensive and defensive tactics.

Nov 7th, 2006 · Windows · read review

Eurogamer.de (9 out of 10)

FĂŒr sich betrachtet ist der neuste Battlefield-Ableger ein nahezu perfektes Spiel, das vor allem in seiner Kernkompetenz, dem Mehrspieler-Teil, erstklassig funktioniert. Trotzdem bin ich gespannt, wie die Fan-Gemeinde reagiert. Denn bei den VorgĂ€ngern stand trotz dem spielerischen Hintergrund, stets der reale Bezug im Vordergrund. Ob sich die Fan-Gemeinde an das Szenario gewöhnt, bleibt abzuwarten. Rein spielerisch ist Battlefield 2142 jedenfalls hervorragend.

Oct 17th, 2006 · Windows · read review

Gamernode (9 out of 10)

As a new title, Battlefield 2142 holds its own. Even for those who didn,t like Battlefield 1942, Vietnam,orBattlefield 2, this may hold some key elements that seal the deal. The new vehicles and weapons seem fairly well balanced, and there don,t seem to be any obvious overpowered strategies so far. For a team-based shooter, you can,t do much better with what,s available today, and if you,re looking for a game to move your clan to, this may be what you,re looking for.

Oct 21st, 2006 · Windows · read review

GameStar (Germany) (89 out of 100)

Eigentlich sagt mir das Szenario von Battlefield 2142 lĂ€ngst nicht so zu wie das des VorgĂ€ngers. Aber nur dadurch konnte Dice so viele coole Upgrades wie TarnanzĂŒge, Selbstschussanlagen und dergleichen einbauen. Doch wichtige Grundausstattung zum beförderungspflichtigen Upgrade zu machen, das ist ja nun wirklich dĂ€mlich. Wenn man die allerdings erstmal zusammen hat, wird das Spiel super. Und weil mich die schnellen Beförderungen, vielen Upgrades und das verbesserte Teamspiel motivieren, gebe ich Battlefield 2142 eine Chance.

Nov 2006 · Windows

PC Action (Germany) (89 out of 100)

Gestatten, Titan-Modus: Die langerwartete Abwechslung zum ĂŒberbeanspruchten Eroberungs-Modus aus den vergangenen Battlefield-Titeln ist da. Ja, es ist wirklich wahr, dass Digital Illusions endlich eine zusĂ€tzliche Spielvariante ausgetĂŒftelt hat und die Spielergemeinde nicht mehr ausschließlich Jagd auf Flaggen macht. Vergangenen Monat durften wir uns anhand einer Ein-Level-Demo vom neuen Modus ĂŒberzeugen. Ende August war es soweit. Europas Journalisten, darunter die Battlefield-Götter aus der PC ACTION-Redaktion, legten Hand an das zu 99 Prozent fertige Battlefield 2142.

Oct 28th, 2006 · Windows · read review

4Players.de (89 out of 100)

Der absolute Höhepunkt ist fĂŒr mich der Titan-Modus, der trotz komplexer Mechanik und weitlĂ€ufigen Karten zu erstaunlich rasanten Duellen fĂŒhrt, insbesondere dank verbesserter Spawn-Mechanik. Und das gewaltig ergĂ€nzte Belohnungssystem mit freischaltbaren GegenstĂ€nden lĂ€dt immer wieder zu coolen Teamplay-Aktionen ein. Oft habe ich mich tief in der Nacht erwischt, noch eine Partie spielen zu wollen, nur um die Rangpunkte bis zur nĂ€chsten Beförderung zu erhaschen, um meinen Soldaten an meinen favorisierten Spielstil anzupassen. Es gibt an Battlefield 2142 nicht viel zu bemĂ€ngeln, lediglich die magere Anzahl an Karten sowie einige vergleichsweise mickrige Bugs - der Rest ist ein Actionfest!

Oct 16th, 2006 · Windows · read review

PC Powerplay (89 out of 100)

Battlefield 2142 löst Teil 2 in meiner persönlichen Multiplayer-Hitliste ab. Weil ich lieber im Kampfroboter ĂŒber Science-Fiction-Schlachtfelder stapfe, als in US-Uniform auf Terroristenjagd zu gehen. Weil es einen Riesenspaß macht, den gegnerischen Titan zu entern. Weil die neuen Klassen klasse sind. Endlich keine Aushilfsjobs mehr, jeder darf ran an den Feind! Zwar stoße ich mich noch an ein paar Ecken und Kanten. Allen voran am mangelnden Treffer-Feedback. Die meisten alten Spielspaß-Falten haben die Entwickler aber ausgebĂŒgelt und Battlefield 2142 so zum bislang rundesten, ausgefeiltesten Teil der Serie gemacht. Mir jedenfalls fallen nur noch kleine Verbesserungen fĂŒr eventuelle Nachfolger ein. Hoffentlich kommen nicht wieder zig Mini-Addons.

Oct 25th, 2006 · Windows

Game Chronicles (8.8 out of 10)

Whether it’s the single player fighting to hone your skills or the all out fun of the online multiplayer the game is still the same but a lot more intense and fun. Battlefield 2142 is more of a mod of the very well made Battlefield 2, but still a must for online gamers. The action is better and the fun is just what any would be hero can ask for online or in the single player mode. Battlefield 2142 is a great game with excellent graphics; really intense multiplayer combat action and some well designed and balanced gameplay.

Oct 23rd, 2006 · Windows · read review

411mania.com (8.8 out of 10)

While Battlefield 2142 feels more like a very professional MOD as opposed to a true sequel, there’s no denying its wonderfully addictive gameplay. If you found yourself enjoying Battlefield 2, then this latest installment is a must-have for your PC game collection. DICE/EA did a fine job of adding some new gameplay mechanics while keeping things familiar for those who loved the last few Battlefields. There are tons of servers online that are packed each and everyday with enthusiastic players looking to get their Battlefield fix and you should most certainly be one of them. After all, millions of players can’t be wrong, right?

Nov 1st, 2006 · Windows · read review

Gamezoom (88 out of 100)

Schon Battlefield 2 konnte mich, dank des Rangsystemes, monatelang an den Monitor fesseln, doch der neuste BF-Teil wird mich noch lĂ€nger in seinen Bann ziehen, denn derzeit gibt es keinen Multiplayer-Shooter der so viel Spaß macht und gleichzeitig motiviert. Dank des ĂŒberarbeiteten Rangsystems und der zahlreichen Upgrades hat das Spiel „Suchtpotenzial“ und der neue Titan-Modus passt perfekt in das Spielflair hinein. Zwar haben die Entwickler nur zehn Maps dem Game gegönnt, doch diese sind dafĂŒr perfekt strukturiert und taktisch gesehen ein Traum. Einzig der ĂŒberstarke Mech und die „zusammengefassten“ Klassen machen uns etwas Sorgen, doch vielleicht (zumindest im Fall des „Walker“) hilft der kommende Patch etwas.

Oct 27th, 2006 · Windows · read review

PC Games (Germany) (87 out of 100)

Es ist kalt, bitterkalt. Eine sechsköpfige Einheit der EU kĂ€mpft sich wacker durchs dichte Schneetreiben zu einem unbewachten Raketensilo in der weißrussischen Hauptstadt Minsk. Routiniert hackt sich der Trupp in das Computersystem und aktiviert den Countdown - die Uhr tickt! Jetzt heißt es wachsam sein, denn sollte es tatsĂ€chlich gelingen, das Geschoss auf den Titanen der verfeindeten Pan-Asien-Koalition abzufeuern, wĂŒrden dessen Schutzschilde kollabieren und man könnte die Invasion aufs Mutterschiff starten.

Oct 23rd, 2006 · Windows · read review

GameSpot (Belgium/Netherlands) (87 out of 100)

Battlefield 2142 is een waardig opvolger voor Battlefield 2. Op de geweldige Titan mode en enkele upgrades hier en daar na, lijkt het echter een ietwat gemoderniseerde en opgepoetste versie van diezelfde Battlefield 2. Een voldoende voor originaliteit dus, maar een tien voor online multiplayershooterplezier.

Oct 18th, 2006 · Windows · read review

JagoGame.com (8.7 out of 10)

Melanjutkan perjalanan serial game Battlefield yang dimulai dari Battlefield 1942, yang berseting pada perang dunia ke-2 hingga Battlefield 2, yang berseting pada perang modern. DICE Stockholm kembali menghadirkan Battlefield selanjutnya yaitu Battlefield 2142, yang mengisahkan tentang perang masa depan. Tepatnya pada tahun 2142, di mana bumi telah mengalami perubahan yang sangat besar dengan seluruh wilayah hampir tertutup es. Pada seri ini menyertakan dua fraksi yang dapat digunakan, yaitu American – European Alliance (EU) dan Pan Asian Coalition (PAC). Kedua fraksi tersebut akan saling bertempur hebat untuk memenangkan tempat terakhir di Bumi yang belum tertutupi oleh es.

Nov 6th, 2006 · Windows · read review

FileFactory Games / Gameworld Network (86 out of 100)

Familiar territory it may be, but for my money Battlefield 2142 is second only to Battlefield 2 in terms of high quality online FPS games. It’s well worth the purchase.

Oct 23rd, 2006 · Windows · read review

Gamesmania.de (86 out of 100)

Als alter Battlefield-Vetaran hatte ich mich eigentlich sehr auf Battlefield 2142 gefreut – die vielen Features und zahlreichen Upgrades klangen ausgesprochen vielversprechend. Und im Spiel funktionieren sie auch bestens. Dennoch bin ich etwas enttĂ€uscht: Die eisigen Endzeit-Schlachtfelder lassen einfach keine richtige AtmosphĂ€re aufkommen. Die Hochspannung von Battlefield 2, wenn man sich auf einer SĂŒdseeinsel mit seinem ScharfschĂŒtzengewehr im Busch versteckt und hofft, dass einen der vorbeirumpelnde Panzer nicht sieht – das fehlt im technisch-abstrakten Geschehen von Battlefield 2142.

Nov 13th, 2006 · Windows · read review

PC Gamer (86 out of 100)

Limiting the game to two factions (EU and PAC) and only two aerial vehicles (no fighter planes, either) gives me the impression that EA plans to release more sides and units in upcoming booster packs. Battlefield 2142 lays the groundwork for fresh life in the series, but the advances are more evolutionary than revolutionary – at least as much as warfare can evolve in 136 years.

Dec 2006 · Windows

Fragland.net (85.8 out of 100)

With Battlefield 2142, DICE has again a top game in their hands thanks to the new Titan mode! The amount of action you get poured over you is incredible. "Intense" is the word! Another good move from the Swedish devs is the keeping of weapons that shoot bullets instead of lasers which gives the game a specific atmosphere that leaves a certain feeling of credibility. All in all I do see BF2142 compete with Quake Wars although we do have to wait until that title arrives in stores to do a decent comparisong.

Nov 24th, 2006 · Windows · read review

Game Informer Magazine (8.5 out of 10)

As with all primarily online games, the biggest determinant over your enjoyment of Battlefield 2142 will be the crowd that you play with. A good server with friendly, teamwork-oriented players (yes, they do exist) can be one of the best places to hang out and have some fun on the whole Internet. Conversely, playing with a bunch of teamkilling cheaters is even less entertaining than the game’s bare-bones single-player mode. Trust me – it’s well worth the effort to find a group of like-minded players to frag with.

Nov 2006 · Windows · read review

ActionTrip (85 out of 100)

Bottom line is I had loads of fun playing BF 2142 in multiplayer. The evolution of the series may not have taken the direction, or has been carried out to the extent that I hoped it would (what about some sort of proper exo-skeleton for the Assault Class?), but there are things about it that I find very appealing (like the enhanced RPG element and the class changes in general).

Oct 20th, 2006 · Windows · read review

Gameslave UK (8.5 out of 10)

I wanted to bitch about Battlefield 2142, I really did. See, I'm one of the army of Battlefield fans that has been so disappointed with how Battlefield 2 progressed, or not as you might say. Numerous bugs and questionable game-play features added in patches blighted what I once considered to be the best multiplayer PC FPS game in existence. The launch of a full sequel using more or less the same engine barely 18 months after Battlefield 2's release is not what hardened FPS players expect either and has no doubt clouded the views of many of us. As it is Battlefield 2's community has been shrinking rapidly and now its sequel has arrived, that's only accelerating; for a game that's only eighteen months or so old and had such a massive following, that's a crying shame. Don't get me wrong, it's still popular but the community is not the behemoth it once was.

Dec 5th, 2006 · Windows · read review

JustPressPlay (8.5 out of 10)

In the end, it is a very fun online shooter. Don’t even hope tohave fun with single player, it is exactly like BF2. 16 player mapsonly with bots that aren’t too smart. If you get this game, plan onplaying online. That’s where all the fun is at.

Nov 14th, 2006 · Windows · read review

Gamer Within (8.4 out of 10)

Despite these shortfalls, Battlefield 2142 remains a solid game at its core. While the mechanics and graphics may frustrate, there is no denying that the gameplay is frantic, strategic, and as fun as always. The new Titan mode is a very welcome addition to the blend, and the incorporation of entities like Mechs certainly boost the value of the overall package. If you are eagerly looking for more of the same as Battlefield 2, but with a twist, this new title from DICE will please. If you require a more significant evolution, then stick it out until we see what is coming down the pipe next.

2006 · Windows · read review

IGN (8.4 out of 10)

Overall Battlefield 2142, even with the look and feel of a well polished mod, is a pretty worthy addition to the franchise, even with the price tag. There's something missing that's hard to really figure out. Some of the Battlefield magic just isn't quite there. That's not to say there isn't fun to be had, it's just almost like the game is taking itself too seriously. That said, the addition of Titan mode is certainly welcome to those of us that were clamoring for objective-based play. The changes to unlocks are definitely interesting and come out looking better after a longer time playing the game thanks to quicker progression through the ranks. Now they just need to get the stat reporting to work correctly and players can have more fun playing with their new gadgets. Most importantly, team play has been preserved and even made more advantageous.

Oct 20th, 2006 · Windows · read review

Game Revolution (B+)

So technology can’t fix every problem we’ve seen in the past, but it is good for some giant airships, cool hats, and intense firefights. And really, they had us at the hats. While Battlefield 2142 could stand to remind us a little less of Battlefield 2, its awesome technology has shown us a future worth paying for and dying in.

Oct 24th, 2006 · Windows · read review

GamingExcellence (8.3 out of 10)

Despite the patch needed on release day, BF 2142 has been a mostly smooth play experience. The game is rock solid and balanced so that experienced gamers and new players can get the hang of the game and soon be hooked on the action and teamwork it brings while working towards that next unlock.

Oct 25th, 2006 · Windows · read review

Deaf Gamers (8.2 out of 10)

If you’re a fan of the Battlefield series then there’s no question you’re going to enjoy Battlefield 2142. The experience is pretty much the same as it was in Battlefield 2, which is no bad thing, and if you’ve played that game you’ll feel pretty much at home with Battlefield 2142 immediately. In fact you could even argue that this could have been an expansion given the similarities between the games and it definitely feels like more of a sidestep rather than a step forward. Battlefield fans will love it of course and essentially that’s all that matters. It’s just a shame the developers couldn’t have been a bit more imaginative about the future.

2006 · Windows · read review

Games Master (82 out of 100)

The real change is the addition of Titan Mode, which is tremendous fun; scrambling to take down the shields of the enemy's giant flying base, then boarding it, blowing it and escaping is brilliant. Nevertheless, this isn't quite the online revolution we were hoping for. But it's still lovely.

Dec 2006 · Windows

GameSpot (8.1 out of 10)

When you get down to it, Battlefield 2142 is a solid entry in the series, as it feels like a slightly more refined version of its popular predecessor. Aside from the new Titan mode, there's not a lot new here, though, so this doesn't feel anywhere quite like the leap that Battlefield 2 represented from its predecessors--it's more akin to what Battlefield: Vietnam was to Battlefield 1942. Still, if you're looking for more multiplayer mayhem, it's hard not to recommend Battlefield 2142.

Oct 16th, 2006 · Windows · read review

YouGamers (81 out of 100)

BF2142 is a tough game to score, because in its own right it can stand up to most of the competition. For many owners of BF2, it is bound to be a letdown, and does not represent nearly the same value for money. However, Titan mode and multiplayer game enhancing tweaks and perks alone make the game a lot of fun to play, if you give it a chance. Northern Strike, the first expansion, will come with another new game mode called "Conquest Assault Lines", potentially making it better than all BF2's expansions put together. If you're new to Battlefield, BF2142 is without doubt the best place to start. Hopefully it is also the swansong for DICE's old warhorse engine, and we'll see bigger and better things in the future.

Mar 2nd, 2007 · Windows · read review

games xtreme (8 out of 10)

I think Battlefield 2142 is bringing enough to make it worth playing. All the new unlocks, and extras to good teamwork surely make it interesting. But it is hard to say whether it is better than it's siblings. Once in a while I long back to flying in the old WWII planes, and being the captain on a battleship. And maybe in a couple of months I will start Battlefield 2 for a couple of games. For now I am hooked. I just hope that the annoying issues will be taken care of, starting with the soon expected second patch. That would make it even a better game.

Nov 16th, 2006 · Windows · read review

Deeko (8 out of 10)

With some new additions and a kick ass new multiplayer mode, it really is up to the player to decide. While I feel the forced replay feature tied in with unlocking weapons is a cheap way to extend the game time, others may find that portion right up their alley. But again, if you have a tight knit squad, it won't matter because you'll be playing until all hours anyway. Just remember to turn off the air condition and refrigerator before you boot up the game, for you'll need all the power you can get.

Nov 8th, 2006 · Windows · read review

VGcore (8 out of 10)

My advice? If you are a die-hard Battlefield fan then there is no stopping you, you’ll be buying this game. Everyone else who find themselves enjoying Battlefield 2? Stay there. Except for a poorly applied new coat of paint and one cool new mode, Battlefield 2142 doesn’t offer up too much new stuff. Battlefield 2 Vietnam anyone?

Oct 19th, 2006 · Windows · read review

Yahoo! Games ( )

Now in its fourth iteration, the Battlefield series, which started with Battlefield 1942, jumps into the far future. A new ice age is ravaging the planet and the major powers have consolidated into the EU (European) and PAC (Russian) forces. Both sides are fighting for control over what little hospitable land is presumably left. Sure, the story's on the thin side, but no one plays Battlefield for its single-player mode or epic tales. We play because it offers massive, team-based, first-person shooter action, and Battlefield 2142 continues to deliver just that.

Oct 20th, 2006 · Windows · read review

Playfuls (8 out of 10)

Shortly put, Battlefield 2142 introduces itself as a successor capable of turning heads (in this case, to keep the servers full). A decent game, sabotaged by a few uninspired design choices, and a content that "craves" for more, because we have to admit, the series still suffers from conservationism, despite the new temporal horizon. In the end, we're left with one question: where will the digital steps carry the franchise's future, after the inherent exhaustion of resources invested in add-ons production, and since the script of a possible end of humankind has already been presented? I believe that it's best to stay on our toes.

Nov 13th, 2006 · Windows · read review

GotNext ( )

Unlike Madden with its mandatory yearly roster update there’s really no reason for longtime Battlefield fans to pick this game up unless they’re actively looking for a change in scenery. Everyone else should be right at home jumping into what is still the best online team-based first-person shooter you can play on the PC. Just make sure you download the newest patch before diving in.

Nov 29th, 2006 · Windows · read review

FZ ( )

Dice förnekar sig inte, de har Àn en gÄng byggt ett kompetent stycke onlinekrig. Det nya spellÀget Àr en viktig nyhet, som Àven om den inte kommer tysta kritiken om "kommersiell modifikation" helt Àr tillrÀckligt bra för att göra serien intressant. Synd bara att det inte blev mer av det hela. För fÄ banor och stora likheter med föregÄngaren hindrar betyget frÄn att segla upp i topp. LikvÀl, Battlefield 2142 Àr kul och vÀlgjort. Men det slÀcker inte nyfikenheten pÄ Enemy Territory: Quake Wars.

Oct 15th, 2006 · Windows · read review

Game Over Online (80 out of 100)

Battlefield 2142 made up a lot of its own fiction with an ice age in the year 2142 dividing the remaining inhabitants on Earth between a Russian led Pacific Asian Coalition (PAC) and the European Union. It seems unrealistic to count the Americans out but that's how it is. I enjoyed the little blurbs before each map talking about the PAC and EU wars but I found it restrictive that the EU is fated to retreat. If the battle's results could determine what the next map should be, that would have been better. I was fascinated enough to want to know more but a multiplayer only game offers only so much to tell the story. Are PC gamers ready for another Battlefield? From what I saw in the online population, it's very likely Battlefield 2142 will be met with success. The question is will it be wild runaway success or a muted one. Until history can answer that, you'll have some decent Battlefield action on your hands with a shiny new wrinkle in the Titan mode to play online with your buddies.

Oct 22nd, 2006 · Windows · read review

UOL Jogos ( )

"Battlefield 2142" estĂĄ longe de representar uma revolução para a sĂ©rie, mas o estilo de jogo persistente, com a evolução dos personagens e os itens para destravar, somados ao Titan Mode e Ă  atmosfera futurista, transformam-no em uma adição bem-vinda Ă  sĂ©rie, com uma vida Ăștil suficiente para divertir por um bom tempo.

Oct 27th, 2006 · Windows · read review

Play Magazine (8 out of 10)

The initial phase of the Battlefield 2142 review session was a brutal affair, as a ravaging pack of EA clan testers provided a live boot camp to remember. Is there a draft in here? I thought to myself after a particularly nasty round in the Tunis Harbor map, along the billowy Mediterranean Sea. My skull had been ventilated by another trail of angry SMG bullets. Eventually I fell into the groove and climbed the kill list, building up persistent stats and unlocking new combat gear and gadgets, all while observing a squad-based multiplayer shooter that feels like a futuristic Battlefield 2 update. Digital Illusions’ BF 2142 shares its brethren’s expertly distilled multiplayer first-person action and the new Titan mode instantly separates it from its peers.

2006 · Windows · read review

TTGamer (8 out of 10)

Battlefield 2142 is an interesting move for the series and DICE have done well to keep the quality of this series going. While it is probably not as good as Battlefield 2, it's very hard to top what is seen as the number one multiplayer game. Those upgrading will find more of the same and we don't expect 2142 to have the same or greater impact Battlefield 2 had on the gaming landscape.

Oct 29th, 2006 · Windows · read review

DarkZero (8 out of 10)

Problems aside 2142 is a fine addition to any PC gamer’s library and a fine example of a war-themed first person shooter that isn’t set in World War 2! If DICE can fix the bugs the lag and release some reasonably priced expansions it could be even better than Battlefield 2.

2006 · Windows · read review

Gameplay (Benelux) (80 out of 100)

Battlefield 2142 biedt geen wereldschokkende veranderingen, maar genoeg voor uren en uren online knalplezier.

Oct 27th, 2006 · Windows

Computer Bild Spiele (2 out of 6)

Dieser Zukunftskrieg ist absolut nichts fĂŒr schwache Nerven und zarte GemĂŒter. Das Sammeln von Erfahrungspunkten und besseren Waffen ist damit ein zweischneidiges Schwert, das einerseits fĂŒr Einstiegsfrust, andererseits fĂŒr erhebliche Langzeitmotivation sorgt. Besonders spektakulĂ€r geraten Gefechte vor allem durch den Einsatz der verschiedenen Fahrzeuge, die auch zahlreiche taktische Möglichkeiten eröffnen. Die Spielkulissen selbst sind dagegen etwas lieblos gestaltet – karge Schlachtfelder eben. Wenn genĂŒgend Mitspieler via Internet teilnehmen, wird Ihnen hier auf jeden Fall „gute“ und spannende Action geboten.

Jan 1st, 2007 · Windows

3DAvenue ( )

Battlefield 2142 is an interesting move for the series and DICE have done well to keep the quality of this series going. While it is probably not as good as Battlefield 2, it's very hard to top what is seen as the number one multiplayer game. Those upgrading will find more of the same and we don't expect 2142 to have the same or greater impact Battlefield 2 had on the gaming landscape.

Oct 29th, 2006 · Windows · read review

Bit-Tech (8 out of 10)

All in all then I have to say I enjoyed playing Battlefield 2142 despite it not being too dissimilar from Battlefield 2. Nothing too ambitious has been attempted, and the few changes that have been made have improved the game. You can pick it up for ÂŁ24.99 from Play, well worth a buy but don't expect a world of difference.

Nov 3rd, 2006 · Windows · read review

Imperium Gier (7.6 out of 10)

Jedno nowemu Battlefieldowi trzeba przyznać – posiada ogromną grywalnoƛć. Bez wątpienia wpƂyw na to ma system odblokowywania ulepszeƄ, odznak, jak i ciekawy nowy tryb Tytana. RĂłwnie waĆŒnym aspektem jest poƂoĆŒenie większego nacisku na grę druĆŒynową, bowiem nawet po kilku godzinach ciągƂej zabawy ma się ochotę do niej powrĂłcić. Mimo ƛredniej i „tekturowej” juĆŒ grafiki czy niemal 60% wtĂłrnoƛci, produkt ten przykuwa do komputera.

Nov 8th, 2006 · Windows · read review

GamePro (US) (3.75 out of 5)

It won't blow your mind, but Battlefield 2142 is a solid online shooter with an enormous fan base and plenty of servers. So what's not to like? The lack of major gameplay evolution, for one. Jittery vehicle controls (why can't Battle Walkers strafe?) and an awkward, slow-loading menu interface are others gripes that spring to mind. We're also hoping that EA and DICE will release more maps soon to boost the ones already available. But these imperfections won't stop most online warriors from logging on. That's because Battlefield, in its best moments, is one of the most perfect and pure online experiences around. It's too bad 2142 isn't a major evolution over the titles that came before it but it's entertaining enough, and as the old saying goes, you shouldn't look a gift hovertank in the mouth.

Oct 23rd, 2006 · Windows · read review

Game Critics (7.5 out of 10)

For a good long while I was looking for the right compound word to use to describe this game. After consulting with my friends and family, town elders, and unnameable things that live in the outer walls of a madman’s imagination, I settled on one: Review-Proof. Battlefield 2142 is made for people who played Battlefield 2, which was made for people who played the Desert Combat mod for Battlefield 1942, which was made by people who played Battlefield 1942, for people who played Battlefield 1942. Okay, that got a little complicated towards the end there, but that incoherence serves to illustrate my point—this isn’t a game for newcomers or the uninitiated. So what’s the point in reviewing it?

Nov 29th, 2006 · Windows · read review

PC Player (Denmark) (7.5 out of 10)

Ligesom Battlefield Vietnam blev kaldt Battlefield 1.5, er dette spil Battlefield 2.5. Det skorter dog ikke pÄ underholdning, og alene det nye Titan Mode er nÊsten det hele vÊrd. I hvert fald nÄr spillerne fÄr taktikken pÄ plads.

Dec 2006 · Windows

Jeuxvideo.com (15 out of 20)

Immersif, diffusant un vrai plaisir sur le long terme et disposant d'un environnement graphique de qualitĂ©, le titre d'EA avait tout pour devenir un jeu d'exception. Il devra se contenter du statut de meilleur FPS de masse de ces derniers mois, remplaçant aisĂ©ment ses aĂźnĂ©s Battlefield 1942 et Vietnam (tout en Ă©tant sans doute moins fun que ce dernier), ce qui n'est dĂ©jĂ  pas si mal. La raison de ce retrait rĂ©side dans le relatif manque de variĂ©tĂ© du soft et surtout dans ses carences au niveau de l'innovation. MalgrĂ© la qualitĂ© de cette sĂ©rie, il serait peut-ĂȘtre temps d'apporter vraiment du sang neuf. En tout cas j'y retourne, j'ai un Titan sur le feu.

Oct 19th, 2006 · Windows · read review

Gameguru Mania (75 out of 100)

The game itself has its ups and downs. The new Titan mode is a great change of pace from the classic Conquest mode of the previous Battlefield titles (I find myself playing it exclusively), but fighting inside a Titan can be glitchy at times. The game comes with plenty of unlockable weapons and gadgets to keep you busy for a while. If you have $50 to spare, and like Battlefield 2, you should probably give this a try - but first try the demo!

Nov 4th, 2006 · Windows · read review

FiringSquad (73 out of 100)

Battlefield 2142 was clearly made in a short amount of time compared to Battlefield 2 and we certainly can understand that gamers will feel some hesitation in paying $50 for a game that on the surface doesn’t look or feel that much different than the previous title. However, hardcore Battlefield fans who spend hours online every day will find a lot to like in this new entry in the series and it’s mighty hard to resist the addictive gameplay formula that this game continues. Your final decision on whether or not to pick this game up now entirely depends on how much of a fan you are of this series as a whole. If you are a huge fan this is a must buy. If not you may want to wait a bit until the inevitable price drop or special sale offer. To be truthful, Titan mode is really the only significant addition to the game. This could just as easily have been an expansion pack for Battlefield 2, featuring Titan.

Oct 24th, 2006 · Windows · read review

Play.tm (72 out of 100)

Ignoring the annoying so-called 'geographically appropriate' ads , Battlefield 2142 is a title bound to please fans of the series, of which this is the fourth installment. Though newcomers might at first feel a little overwhelmed, there's enough enjoyment to be had for anyone who can overcome the rather 'in at the deep end' difficulty curve. That, as well as the occasional server blip shouldn't be enough to put you off, especially if you've ever wanted to be responsible for the future of the world's food supply. Hungry for a bit of Battlefield, anyone?

Nov 9th, 2006 · Windows · read review

Eurogamer.net (UK) (7 out of 10)

It's easy to be downbeat with BF2142, which makes it worth reiterating that it's built around the core of one of the genuine great games. In fact, at its best, BF2142 is entirely on par with it, with some uniquely brilliant moments of its own: being propelled through the sky in a drop-pod, the warzone spread out before you like a bloody tapestry; stalking between buildings in the turret of a walker, scanning for targets; or even, on foot, following one of these mechanical beasts, and - for a moment - actually feeling like you're in some strange war in the future. But, when you come down from a battle, you find yourself with more questions and nagging doubt than lasting elation. Battlefield 2142 may be a glimpse of the future of games. I'm just not sure that I like it.

Oct 20th, 2006 · Windows · read review

Maximum PC (7 out of 10)

Battlefield games have always offered fantastic action, as long as you can get past the bugs, crashes, and craptacular server browser that makes it hard to find a game with your pals. And none of that has changed with the latest version, Battlefield 2142. The game is still buggy, the client and servers still crash frequently, and the server browser still leaves much to be desired. On top of that, EA has added a whole host of goofy in-game ads, which further distract from the gaming experience. Still, despite the litany of flaws, the game is a ton of fun to play.

Dec 15th, 2006 · Windows · read review

Gamekult (7 out of 10)

Un an Ă  peine aprĂšs la sortie de son aĂźnĂ©, Battlefield 2142 ne rĂ©volutionne pas vraiment la sĂ©rie crĂ©Ă©e par Digital Illusions, en reprenant sans vergogne une majeure partie de son gameplay. MalgrĂ© l'univers futuriste du titre, on contrĂŽle donc de la mĂȘme maniĂšre les diffĂ©rents vĂ©hicules proposĂ©s, on mĂšne l'assaut de façon identique sur les points de contrĂŽle et les sensations sont peu ou prou les mĂȘmes, souris en main ; le jeu reste efficace et bien fun Ă  pratiquer, mais cette trop grande similitude sur le fond et un peu sur la forme pourra en agacer certains. Heureusement, l'ajout du trĂšs bon mode Titan et le systĂšme d'upgrades Ă  dĂ©bloquer, original et prenant Ă  dĂ©faut d'ĂȘtre totalement pertinent, donneront mĂȘme aux vĂ©tĂ©rans de quoi se passionner pour la sĂ©rie quelques mois encore... en attendant un Ă©ventuel Battlefield 3, plus fourni, on l'espĂšre en nouveautĂ©s.

Oct 24th, 2006 · Windows · read review

JeuxVideoPC.com (14 out of 20)

Doit-on craquer pour Battlefield 2142 ? Le nouvel Ă©pisode futuriste de DICE n’est dans les faits qu’un Ă©norme mod, extrĂȘmement bien rĂ©alisĂ©, certes, mais qui n’innove en rien ou presque par rapport Ă  BF 2. MalgrĂ© tout, l’ambiance est belle et bien prĂ©sente et rĂ©ussie. Pour ceux qui n’ont jamais touchĂ© Ă  du Battlefield, foncez ! Pour les autres, sachez que BF 2142 n’apporte aucune rĂ©volution au genre, mais qu’il rĂ©ussit le pari d’accrocher.

Oct 19th, 2006 · Windows · read review

2404.org PC Gaming (6.5 out of 10)

2142 is not a bad game – it’s got lots of bugs, balance issues, and other idiosyncrasies, but it’s not bad. My only issue with it, honestly, is that DICE hasn’t really made an effort to change anything substantial about the game in five years.

Mar 19th, 2007 · Windows · read review

Out Of Eight (5 out of 8)

Essentially, you are paying $50 for a new mode (Titan) that’s almost identical to Conquest, re-skinned and tweaked maps, weapons, and vehicles, and a bunch of unlocks you can’t use until you’ve invested quite a bit of time into the game. I see how unlocks add some longevity to the game, but shouldn’t the gameplay alone be enough to keep you coming back? I’d much rather let everyone access all of the tools from the beginning and just restrict usage to one unlock at a time. Those players who enjoy playing multiple roles (a strength of Battlefield: variety) are penalized as they now must spread their unlocks over several classes (jack of all trades, master of none). Battlefield 2142 feels like a well-developed mod of Battlefield 2 because that’s essentially what it is. The changes from Battlefield Vietnam to Battlefield 2 are much greater, and it makes paying full price a little hard to swallow.

Oct 20th, 2006 · Windows · read review

Games TM (5 out of 10)

So, while not a game completely devoid of ideas, Battlefield 2142 nevertheless fails to offer anything genuinely fresh. The new elements added to the franchise are shamelessly plundered from other games, and generally not as well executed. When you add this to the execrable standard of game performance and Digital Illusions' questionable record of releasing patches that actually remedy technical issues, Battlefield 2142 is hard to recommend.

Sep 2006 · Windows

Player Reviews

Playing a good game with a bad conscience
by Zonker (880)

The Good
Actually, I am not that much into online shooters and because of this Battlefield 2142 was the first in the whole series I even took a look at. When the demo got released I dared to take the challenge and after some quite confusing first matches I honestly got a bit addicted. At the time I am writing this review I'm still no member of a clan - but I've burned a good part of my free time playing the retail game during the last half year.

To begin with, there are four distinct soldier classes (recon, assault, support and engineer) and various vehicles like tanks, air and ground transports and mechs called "Walker", which differ slightly between the two factions. Each class has eight unlockable items gained by collecting points for kills, objectives and so forth including two additional weapons per class. Although there are certain pieces of equipment and weapons that are obviously preferred by many players, the choice is eventually a matter of personal taste and helps a lot to give the game a "I'm playing it my style" feeling.

As none of the classes is able to do everything on its own, teamwork is essential in Battlefield. The game features a squad-system, allowing up to six players per squad to coordinate attacks, share visual information about enemy units and spawn at the leader's location. Well-balanced squads (in terms of distribution of classes and team play) are often dominating forces in matches and are by far the best source for entertainment in the game, in my opinion. Both multiplayer modes (described in the main summary) include maps of vast sizes and require at least some degree of tactics to win a match. The commander feature comes in handy here, delivering a way to have one guy in the background with a better overview of the map and the possibility to issue orders to squad leaders and dropping supplies for allies - or air strikes on enemies.

As you might have guessed by now Battlefield 2142 isn't a shooter in the classic sense. There are neither bunny hops nor rocket jumps like one can expect from more fast-paced first person shooters like the Quake and Half-Life series. Additionally, a grenade under your feet or a machine gun volley in your back aren't things you'll survive that easily. Anyhow, the game could be characterized as a nice compromise between a realistic approach of gameplay and a more action-oriented style compared to overly accurate games like Red Orchestra. Sure, it's harder to hit someone while running or shooting from the hip instead of using the aiming mode, but you actually have a cross-hair. You can resurrect, heal or resupply fellow soldiers on-the-fly if you're playing the respective class, which prevents too many (frustrating) respawns for your teammates and you. Altogether, 2142 mixes just enough action in the combat to justifiably call it combat.

Finally, the vehicles add a new dimension to the game, while not feeling out of place like in some other games where they are more like a nice decoration in terms of "and it has vehicles!". They aren't only a fast way to get across the map, they take also a important part in winning fights and whole matches, but aren't unbeatable. It takes some time to get used the handling, though, especially concerning the aircrafts. As a positive result, there are a few real ace pilots, drivers and tank commanders who mastered their crafts - speaking of "I'm playing it my style".

The Bad
Sadly, Battlefield 2142 contains a few really unlovely flaws ranging from minor annoyances to almost frustrating problems.

One of the first things I had to realize was the absurd usage of a copy protection. There is no way around a registration of your copy to get an account for playing the game, so why ask for the DVD every time one wants to launch it? I can't remember a single multiplay-only game which had such a strict protection, while forcing the player to connect through a master server. So you are unable to play via LAN or on a private server without connecting to the master server first (would be no reasonable problem with an option to disable unlocks and rankings for such games).

Especially odd is the fact that 2142 uses in-game advertisement, presumably to "open new ways of funding", while the game is sold full-price. These ads are dynamically presented on big billboards at miscellaneous places on the maps. Although these aren't very obtrusive up to now, one can only guess how intensely ads will be pushed into the game in the future.

Furthermore, the retail game lacks a detailed manual and tutorial, so the learning curve is pretty steep. You have to kind of guess the "what", "where" and "how to"s during your first batch of multiplayer games. Some details seem to stay mysteries to a lot of the players until somebody tells them about them, giving them an unneeded disadvantage at first. Although the unlocks are basically a good thing, their potential to be a pain for casual gamers should also be noted here. Because the time to "level up" increases with every level, it becomes more and more difficult to gain new unlocks with the same soldier. There's a lot of playing involved to get the maximum gear for two, let alone three classes. So hardcore gamers will always have an advantage in equipment compared to somebody who plays a few hours a week, for example.

The worst at last: Somehow DICE unintentionally introduced a performance glitch in the retail version, causing the Titan mode to lag and stutter on many computers that aren't state-of-the-art. In my case attacking or defending a Titan in a game with more than about 30 players gets kind of unplayable; this didn't happen in the demo. The mode is a lot of fun, though, so I hope for things to come. Unfortunately, the patch support seems a bit slow.

The Bottom Line
Tactical team play, enjoyable vehicle combat and big maps with up to 64 players are the main features of Battlefield 2142. If teamwork and a slightly more realistic and war-like theme is your cup of tea, I recommend you try out the demo. It gets even better if you have some friends joining you as teammates (or cannon fodder). It's hard to generally recommend 2142, though. As mentioned before, it has more or less important problems. Especially regarding the performance in Titan mode, which is why you should look up the current suggestions for hardware before you buy the game. In conclusion, I had more than enough fun with Battlefield 2142 to justify the purchase, yet I still don't feel completely comfortable with spending my money for a game with an annoying copy-protection, in-game advertisement and a manual which isn't one (but should be!).

Jun 9th, 2007 · Windows

Plus 20 player ratings without reviews

Contributors to this Entry

Critic reviews added by COBRA-COBRETTI, Wizo, Jeanne, Xoleras, Patrick Bregger, Alaka, Cantillon, Indra was here, Sciere, Jacob Gens, RhYnoECfnW, CalaisianMindthief, Cavalary, Kabushi, chirinea, gukker, Mark Langdahl, vicrabb, Bjorn Holine, firefang9212, Tim Janssen.