👾 The lost Atari arcade game returns with Jeff Minter's Akka Arrh

Crackdown

aka: Riot Act

[ All ] [ Xbox 360 ] [ Xbox One ]

Critic Reviews 82% add missing review

Nuts ( )

Drive-and-fight blockbuster from one of the geniuses behind Grand Theft Auto, in which you play a skyscraper-climbing, car-chucking, teleporting superhuman cop armed to the teeth with scum-wasting weapons.

Feb 23rd, 2007 · Xbox 360

Snackbar-Games.com (5 out of 5)

The game's presentation is sparse, but passable. The voice acting is repetitive, but well done. The announcer will encourage you or scold you depending on closely you're toeing the agency line, and the kingpins and lieutenants find creative ways to insult you as you struggle to get close to them through their hordes of minions. As said earlier, the narrative is pretty sparse, but what there is of it ties nicely together, particularly at the game's conclusion. The game is short, especially given how quickly it can be beaten with come concerted effort, but it's thoroughly enjoyable while it lasts and most certainly worth repeating, especially in co-op mode. Crackdown is a game worth owning for its own sake, and I can't recommend it highly enough. It's the sort of game you'll go back to again and again, even months from now, because the core gameplay is simply too much fun to pass up.

Feb 27th, 2007 · Xbox 360 · read review

Mansized ( )

Crackdown can be rushed through in a couple of days if you so wish, but it’d be a crime to pile through this little beauty. As the man says in Robocop, we’d buy that for a dollar. Or thirty.

Mar 11th, 2007 · Xbox 360 · read review

Games Master (92 out of 100)

Realtime Worlds have made a brilliantly detailed city, filled it with cars, weapons, people, objects - all kinds of tools for you to mess around with, long after the main game has finished. Just brilliant.

Mar 2007 · Xbox 360

Gaming Age (A-)

The easiest way to describe a new game is to compare it to an old game. In the case of Crackdown, that's not so easy. It combines the vast environments of GTA, the quick, the satisfying combat of great action games, a vertical dimension of game play and the character progression of RPGs in a very entertaining and unique package. The content is strictly for adults, but otherwise, it's a slam dunk.

2007 · Xbox 360 · read review

Eurogamer.net (UK) (9 out of 10)

In other words, being so excellent that you obliterate the single-player in a weekend is not enough to stop it being my favourite Xbox 360 game of recent times. You should definitely buy it, because, on this evidence, waiting for Grand Theft Auto IV would be rather daft. This is what it should do anyway.

Feb 12th, 2007 · Xbox 360 · read review

JustPressPlay (9 out of 10)

Overall, Crackdown was a pretty fun game to play. Itprovided me with about eight hours of game play before I had beaten allthe gang leaders and generals. If you are playing co-op with someone Icould only see that time been shortened. There is always Xbox live. Isuppose, in order to increase the replay value.

Feb 18th, 2007 · Xbox 360 · read review

FZ ( )

Med totalt 43 så kallade achievements värda sammanlagt 900 poäng, ett cooperative-läge i vilket ytterligare en spelare kan hjälpa till att rensa gatorna från busar, ett trettiotal uppdrag och en klockren spelkontroll har jag svårt att inte rekommendera Crackdown till skjutglada 360-ägare. Även om Real Time Worlds inte är i närheten av att revolutionera actiongenren har man likväl tagit fram ett tredjepersonspangare som håller en standard som höjer sig en god bit över det vanliga. Du som har lagt locustskjutandet i Gears of War bakom dig och i julens kölvatten har några hundralappar över hittar några helkvällars föredömligt kvalitativ underhållning i Crackdown. Spelets betyg - 4,5 FZ-logotyper och en tillhörande silverpokal - är i sitt sammanhang tveklöst välförtjänt.

Feb 14th, 2007 · Xbox 360 · read review

TTGamer (9 out of 10)

Crackdown is probably going to get significant attention simply because it comes with the ability to play Halo 3 Beta for free, but there is no doubt that it would be making some noise even without this attractive addition. The action is sensational and amazingly varied, and the world is totally immersive because of the game's somewhat unique approach to the visuals and environment, not despite of it. As it would happen, the only thing that lets this game down is the fact no real storyline is present, which does create a void in the experience offered and it also tends to restrict the variation of the missions and objectives, but anyone who enjoys top notch action with few limitations should be able to look past that easily enough. Crackdown is just simply unbelievably fun to play, and realistically probably only a really good storyline away from being a classic.

Feb 12th, 2007 · Xbox 360 · read review

GamingExcellence (9 out of 10)

Overall, Crackdown is an amazing game that is both fun and addictive but loses a lot of appeal as your stats get maxed out and the realization that what’s left is simply a shallow, repetitive experience. I remember hating the story elements of Spider-Man 2 (and that damn little girl who lost her balloons) and loving the upgrade/exploration aspect. So much so that I deleted my save file and restarted the game from scratch a few times. Crackdown is the same type of game. The variety of achievements will also keep you entertained for a long while. A solid, fun and wholly addictive game that should be purchased on its merits alone. Hopefully the game will be successful enough to warrant a sequel with a more fleshed out campaign mode. Highly recommended.

Feb 20th, 2007 · Xbox 360 · read review

GamesAreFun.com (GAF) (9 out of 10)

The only major problem with the game is that once you have done all there is to do (defeated all the gangs, and finished off the achievements list) there isn’t much incentive to keep going. You can’t restart the game unless you delete your agent altogether, and the bosses don’t come back when you turn crimes back on - just gang members that appear on the street. Hopefully there will indeed be some additional downloadable content that will help to spark more life into the game. Otherwise, the wait for a sequel will probably feel like a long one. But that is only a small complaint that doesn’t detract from the great experience you’ll have while actually playing the game. Crackdown is a must own for every Xbox 360 owner. Even if you pick it up so you can play that other big game from Microsoft whose beta can be accessed from the Crackdown disc, you won’t be disappointed. Grand Theft Auto IV should learn a couple of things from this game before making its debut later this year.

Mar 8th, 2007 · Xbox 360 · read review

GamePro (US) (4.5 out of 5)

Remember in Charlie and the Chocolate Factory when Charlie finds the Golden Ticket, and everyone's so excited that they forget all about the sweet, sweet candy that the Ticket came with? That's sort of what Crackdown is like: everyone's so busy salivating about the inclusion of a Halo 3 beta code that they're overlooking the deliciousness that's sitting right under their noses.

May 14th, 2007 · Xbox 360 · read review

GotNext ( )

Still, it's a great ride while it lasts, and there's plenty of replay value in addition to just screwing around in the game world in addition to chasing some of the more creative achievements. While more would have been better, what's there is ridiculously entertaining and the sandbox elements never stop being fun. Crackdown is big, bold, direct, filled with stuff to blow up real good, and there's a million goofy things to do for those creative enough to see them. Really, you can't ask for better than that.

Mar 9th, 2007 · Xbox 360 · read review

UOL Jogos ( )

"Crackdown" nem de longe é perfeito. O conteúdo não é dos mais densos (muitos objetivos são apenas burocráticos), mas você provavelmente não deverá largar do controle até, pelo menos, eliminar todos os bandidos e fortalecer seu personagem ao máximo - ele tem esse magnetismo irresistível de fazer esquecer de tudo enquanto dura a partida. Infelizmente, fica com um gosto de quero mais. Talvez, os conteúdos adicionais venham a resolver o problema.

Feb 14th, 2007 · Xbox 360 · read review

Game Infowire (9 out of 10)

The operative word for "Crackdown" is "fun." It's just a really fun game, that gives you a world filled with enemies and objects you can destroy and lets you choose how to go about doing that. There are people out there who will insist on comparing it to GTA, because they see the word "sandbox" and can't imagine any sandbox game that isn't GTA; "Crackdown" is its own game and likely they'll beat it up for not being something completely different. If you play it, though, my bet is that "Crackdown" will win you over, for one reason: it's fun.

Mar 14th, 2007 · Xbox 360 · read review

Xboxdynasty (XD) (8.9 out of 10)

Crackdown ist ein sehr gelungenes Spiel mit überzeuger Grafik, Spielfreiheit und Abwechslung im Singleplayer, allerdings fehlt ein Multiplayer-Modus zum perfekten Titel der das Spiel auch nach dem Durchspielen noch interessant macht.

Mar 16th, 2007 · Xbox 360 · read review

FOK!games (87 out of 100)

Je hebt ondertussen vast al gekeken naar het eindcijfer en inderdaad, het is hoog. De game is echter alle punten meer dan waard, zelden heb ik me met een dergelijke game zo vermaakt als met Crackdown. Het springen van gebouw naar gebouw via de daken geeft een heerlijk gevoel van vrijheid, het neerschieten, neerslaan, neergooien en neerknallen van de bendeleden is heerlijk adrenalineverhogend en de algehele uitstraling van de game, zowel grafisch als op geluidstechnisch gebied, is fantastisch.

Feb 23rd, 2007 · Xbox 360 · read review

Play.tm (87 out of 100)

However, regardless of its lack of originality, Crackdown is never anything less than a fun-filled blast that places absolutely no pressure on the player and is happy to accommodate any gameplay whim that he/she wishes to follow - missions to track down and remove generals and kingpins remain open at all times and can be executed whenever the player chooses to return to the core action. Specifically, all 500 agility orbs and all 300 hidden icons can be sought out as the game cycles patiently through day and night; road races and roof-bound agility tests can be bested until attributes are maxed-out; or, if the player so desires, piping, explosive gas canisters, gang members, pedestrians, and a host of other items can be hurled from rooftops...just because!

Mar 28th, 2007 · Xbox 360 · read review

Gamesmania.de (86 out of 100)

Microsofts Actiontitel bietet unglaublich bleihaltige und gnadenlose Schießereien in der bislang vielleicht sogar hübschesten fiktiven virtuellen Stadt. Sicherlich verschenkt der Titel bei der Story einiges an Potenzial und die Spielzeit hätte ruhig etwas länger ausfallen können, doch dafür begeistert das schnelle und schnörkellose Gameplay. Ganz besonders haben es mir die Sprünge von Dach zu Dach angetan, selbst bei den Superheldenlizenzumsetzungen hat man nicht so ein beeindruckendes Freiheitsgefühl, zumal die Technik von Crackdown sehr gut mitspielt und für imposante Ausblicke sorgt. In Sachen Bedienungskomfort und Speichersystem könnte sich selbst ein GTA einiges von Crackdown abschauen. Von mir gibt es jedenfalls eine absolute Kaufempfehlung für das technisch wie spielerisch ausgezeichnete Spiel, nur ein typisches GTA-Spiel mit viel Story und langer Spielzeit sollte man nicht unbedingt erwarten.

Feb 28th, 2007 · Xbox 360 · read review

ActionTrip (86 out of 100)

Overall Crackdown is a cool concept. If you really want to challenge yourself, then there is a lot more you can do but for most of us, the fun will end when the last boss falls to the ground. However, I believe it stands on it own. Even without the H3 beta thrown in. Taken all together, the complete package is worth every penny. I almost think they should have thrown the Beta on a game that wasn't this good. But that probably would have pissed a lot of people off to buy some "Hello Kitty" game to play Halo 3 beta (Dude shut your pie hole! Hello Kitty kicks ass -Ed). So maybe the beta game being attached to Crackdown was a good idea after all.

Feb 27th, 2007 · Xbox 360 · read review

Extreme Gamer (8.5 out of 10)

The ambitious Crackdown is an impressive accomplishment for first time developer Realtime Worlds. Blending together a comic book inspired super cop in a Grand Theft Auto crime infected city is gaming gold. For what Crackdown does right, it nails it, Crackdown is a blast to play. It’s too bad the buzz of Crackdown wares off just as it gets going. Crackdown disappoints, only because I wanted more. More missions, more villains, more vehicles, more multiplayer, and the list goes on. Even though Crackdown falls a short of becoming a classic, I have faith that another dosage of "Crack"down could be the start of something epic and memorable on the same scales as the aspiring Grand Theft Auto series. For now, I’ll have to be complacent running on the roof-tops looking for orbs.

Feb 13th, 2007 · Xbox 360 · read review

GamesFire (85 out of 100)

Mit Crackdown hat man im Hause Microsoft ein ernst zu nehmendes Spiel konstruiert, welches durch die scheinbar unbegrenzten Möglichkeiten und die große Spielwelt glänzen kann. Der Sound ist ausgewogen, während die deutsche Synchronisation leider etwas schlecht ausfiel. Weitere Mankos sind der geringe Anspruch, auch die Spieldauer, die bei etwa 12 Stunden liegt, sollte ein wenig ergiebiger sein. Dennoch konnte uns Crackdown überzeugen, sodass wir es allen Fans von ordentlicher Action bedenkenlos ans Herz legen können. Wer allerdings auf eine richtige Story steht, wird mit dem Action-Titel nur bedingt seine Freude haben, denn diese ist schlichtweg nicht vorhanden. Deutsche Spieler müssen leider auf einen Import aus dem Ausland (beispielsweise Österreich) zurückgreifen, da das Spiel aufgrund der Brutalität in Deutschland nicht angeboten werden darf.

Feb 22nd, 2007 · Xbox 360 · read review

Deeko (8.5 out of 10)

Crackdown is an all in all fantastic first attempt from a brand new studio which obviously has tons of talent. While most gamers will be picking this game up for the included HALO 3 beta (which I haven't mentioned till now) the game really does stand on its own merits. Crackdown may be remembered for being the game that came with the HALO 3 beta, but hopefully it will also be remembered for being one the most amusing and exciting games this new generation of consoles has brought us so far.

Mar 2nd, 2007 · Xbox 360 · read review

Vgames (85 out of 100)

למרות מגרעותיו, קראקדאון הוא משחק פשוט וטוב, שמזכיר לנו שלפעמים לא צריך סיפור עמוק ומערכת שליטה מהפכנית כדי לגרום לנו לבזבז שעות מול המסך. כדי לפצות על החוסר בתוכן שחררה מיקרוסופט לאחרונה חבילות הרחבה (חלקן בתשלום וחלקן לא) שמוסיפות עוד קצת תוכן לחגיגה. מדובר ללא ספק במשחק מומלץ מאוד לכל חובבי הז'אנר שלא יכולים לחכות כבר לג'י.טי.איי. 4.

May 31st, 2007 · Xbox 360 · read review

Kombo.com (8.5 out of 10)

In the end, the people that will get the most out of Real Time Worlds’ first project are the ones that load Crackdown into the Xbox 360 DVD tray without any preconceived notions of what to expect. Rather than trying to out-do Grand Theft Auto, David Jones has crafted an entirely different beast, with a completely different set of strengths and weaknesses. Crackdown takes a relatively simple premise and makes the most of it by providing a satisfying RPG element, engaging combat mechanics, and a huge city for the player to explore or otherwise goof around in. Though not without its faults, Crackdown is a solid and downright addictive open-ended action title, and perhaps the first chapter of another great Microsoft franchise.

Feb 15th, 2007 · Xbox 360 · read review

Lawrence (8.4 out of 10)

I certainly have my complaints about this title, but some of the hilarious and impossible-to-duplicate co-op moments made it a worthwhile gaming experience. It can be beaten in pretty short fashion, and there really aren’t any sidemissions or distractions outside of a few races. Your best bet would be to get a friend to rent a copy with you, and blow through it in a few days. It’ll definitely be fun while it lasts.

Feb 22nd, 2007 · Xbox 360 · read review

Daily Game (8.4 out of 10)

The game's arguably light on content, and the horribly annoying co-op bugs keep it from scoring higher, but for pure superhero-style fun, Crackdown is hard to top. It may not generate as much consumer demand as the next Grand Theft Auto, but I'll tell you this: it has still managed to set the bar for multiplayer options in an open-world game, and if GTA IV doesn't have online co-op, it will be a sheer disappointment -- with nothing but Crackdown to blame.

Feb 19th, 2007 · Xbox 360 · read review

XboxAchievements (83 out of 100)

Despite unique achievements and an open world to do what you want in, there is literally no side missions in Crackdown. With a campaign that will last you anywhere from 12-20 hours, unless you really dig killing people over and over, the game can get stale rather quickly. Co-op helps somewhat, but even killing with a friend can get tiresome without any variety. It's a game that can be completed in a rental and may be best experienced that way.

Jun 24th, 2007 · Xbox 360 · read review

Xbox World Australia (XWA) (83 out of 100)

Every game has its shortcomings or a couple of glitches and Crackdown is no exception. Thankfully they aren't show stoppers and merely the weak points in an otherwise solid game. It's a shame that the game is fairly light on other activities, rooftop foot or street based races are the only two, because after all the action stops and the explosions settle, you really do wish that there was a bit more to do in the game. Let's hope that the downloadable content that's been promised features some new missions rather than just new cars or guns because that may not be enough to draw you back in.

Feb 14th, 2007 · Xbox 360 · read review

Gamezoom (83 out of 100)

Crackdown, einigen wird das Spiel gefallen, andere werden sich enttäuscht von dem Spiel abwenden, wenn sie es einmal angespielt haben. Einen neuen GTA Teil braucht ihr euch nicht erwarten, obwohl es einige Parallelen zu San Andreas aufweißt. Schließlich handelt es sich doch um die gleichen Entwickler. Alle die darauf stehen durch eine futuristische Stadt zu laufen und dort alles und jeden abzuknallen sind bei Crackdown genau richtig. Einen linearen Ablauf gibt es auch nicht, somit habt ihr freien Handlungsbedarf. Wenn euch eine schicke Comicgrafik nichts ausmacht und ihr nicht viel Wert auf den Sound im Hintergrund legt seid ihr bei Crackdown genau richtig.

Mar 21st, 2007 · Xbox 360 · read review

FiringSquad (83 out of 100)

Real Time Worlds and its publisher Microsoft have brought us an Xbox 360 game that won’t be returned to the store anytime soon. Crackdown has taken the essence of the open world sandbox game and brought it down to its base elements. Combine that with comic book super hero style abilities and a unique visual take, and you have a game that, while it lasts, you might find yourself playing until the wee hours of the morning.

Mar 5th, 2007 · Xbox 360 · read review

XBox Front (81 out of 100)

Crackdown ist ein spannend inszenierter Actionkracher, der insbesondere mit seiner enormen Weitsicht und großen Missionsvielfalt zu punkten weiß. Die Tatsache, dass das grafische Gewand komplett im Cel Shading Stil daherkommt, dürfte bei vielen Spielern auf kontroverse Meinungen stoßen. Nichtsdestotrotz fängt es die Atmosphäre gut ein und kommt nur selten ins Stocken, auch wenn noch so viele Gegenstände auf dem Bildschirm explodieren. Zwar ähnelt das große Spielprinzip stark der GTA-Reihe, durch das Rollenspiel-Feature wird dieser Ersteindruck aber schnell korrigiert. Das Konzept der 'offenen Spielwelt' geht wunderbar auf, denn überall sind Zivilsten zu erkennen, die schon bei eurem ersten wahllosen Amoklauf in hellen Aufruhr versetzt werden. Eine Komplexität in Sachen Goodies, Körperschmuck und Waffenshops wie in diversen anderen Genre-Vertretern gibt es nicht, die brachiale Action steht gänzlich im Mittelpunkt.

Feb 17th, 2007 · Xbox 360 · read review

360 LIVE (8.1 out of 10)

(...) Unserer Meinung nach wirken die wenigen Brutalo-Stellen in dem stilisierten und gelegentlich von ironischen Sprüchen entschärften Gameplay eher fehl am Platze. Hätte Microsoft diese Stellen entfernen lassen, hätte das unserer Meinung nach dem Gesamtgefüge gut getan. Außerdem hätte die USK dann vielleicht die begehrte Ab-18-Jahren-Freigabe erteilt, an der »Crackdown« offenbar nur knapp vorbei geschrammt ist. Aber auch so schlägt das Spiel selten über die Stränge, ist halt nur ein bisschen hart manchmal. Halt nichts für Kinder.

Feb 2007 · Xbox 360

VGcore (8.1 out of 10)

Overall Crackdown delivers on the promise of total freedom. As soon as gamers step into this game they have absolutely no restraints on how to go about finishing the game if they ever want to. Despite aiming problems, camera problems, and a very laggy online experience, Crackdown is worth a purchase. Heck if you bought the game with the Halo 3 Beta, you probably made the best purchase of this year so far.

Mar 16th, 2007 · Xbox 360 · read review

Digital Press - Classic Video Games (8 out of 10)

If the short core game length is bothersome for you, take notice that there’s plenty of life to be had once the missions are completed. Crackdown has been developed in a way that the world becomes a mission in and of itself, filled with secrets and enormous possibilities for enjoyment if you have the ingenuity. The satisfaction potential is without question taken to a new level with Crackdown, easily putting the pressure on Rockstar to stun us come time for their next Grand Theft Auto installment. They’ll need all the help they can get.

Apr 16th, 2007 · Xbox 360 · read review

GameCell UK (8 out of 10)

The lack of any game structure befitting a game from the 21st century would normally cause a game to get absolutely massacred by me. In this paragraph I would normally be writing about how the game is just a novel concept that doesn't stretch beyond the initial 'wow' factor. In my mind though, Crackdown manages to get away with it, perhaps because of the way it has put a spin on an already existing game concept. I suspect that in 7 months time as I run around the GTA4 city I'll be looking up at the rooftops thinking 'my Crackdown agent could've clambered up there'.

2007 · Xbox 360 · read review

MS Xbox World (8 out of 10)

Crackdown is well worth a look for action fans although many will be able to see and do most in a weekends’ play or rental period. The co-op is extremely good fun although this is no excuse for those not connected to Xbox Live. Either way if you are looking for some engaging game play then Crackdown is compelling, addictive and well worth a look. The only thing that is questionable is the game’s staying power. Will gamers still be goofing around in a few months from now? I would suspect only the die hard few.

Feb 16th, 2007 · Xbox 360 · read review

Digital Spy ( )

Crackdown is the kind of game that draws you in and makes you forget the stresses of the day. Its simple pick-up-and-play nature makes it easy for anyone to enjoy and the thrill of bouncing around roof-tops and the constant search for rewards makes for a fun blast.

Feb 23rd, 2007 · Xbox 360 · read review

PlayDevil ( )

"Crackdown" is a great proposition despite the 6-7 hours it takes to mow down the various bosses. If you give up after this time, you are missing out on the best bits of the game, charging round the city with a friend, blowing things up, killing in new and innovative ways. You could almost say that the game, without achievements, would be pretty pointless; and in a way you would be right. But the achievements are satisfying, fun targets, especially with friends, and are really fun to get. Orb hunting WILL take over your life, and you'll find that once you learn to love the game, you will easily put 50 hours into it, especially with the DLC. That point is, I guess, the game's only negative, you do need to learn to love it, as unlike the Zeldas, Marios and Forzas of the world, you don't fall in love with it as soon as it hits the disk drive. Even without the Halo 3 Beta, this is well worth the buy.

Jun 25th, 2007 · Xbox 360 · read review

GameSpy ( )

It's a solid game that delivers exactly what it promises: a giant sandbox to blow the crap out of

Feb 20th, 2007 · Xbox 360 · read review

Video Game Talk ( )

This is one of the greatest experiences that you'll have on your Xbox 360 and I can't think of the last time my console got this much play. Actually, yes I can, that was Gears of War. Crackdown is simply a blast from start to finish. Whether you're killing gang members, climbing skyscrapers, or simply looking around the city for orbs you're going to have fun while you're doing it. The single player game rocks though Crackdown's true colors are shown when you play co-op with a friend. I have to tip my hat to Realtime Worlds and the wonderfully addictive game they created. Here's hoping for a Crackdown 2 where the minor annoyances are fixed. Highly Recommended

Mar 27th, 2007 · Xbox 360 · read review

Totally Gaming Network (8 out of 10)

Problems aside Crackdown has an amazing amount of fun contained within the game and Crackdown certainly blows a game like Saints Row out of the water. Playing through the very loose plot will not take you too long but you will certainly spend more time with the game experimenting and chasing down those amazingly designed achievements. This game does clearly have longevity issues and could be best rented if the Halo3 beta is not enough to convince you of a purchase.

Feb 28th, 2007 · Xbox 360 · read review

Factornews (8 out of 10)

Excellente surprise pour moi que ce Crackdown, qui, il faut le signaler, ne fera sûrement pas l’unanimité tant ses partis pris sont tranchés. Dans un univers du jeu vidéo où le joueur devient de plus en plus guidé par la linéarité et spectateur de scènes cinématiques, les développeurs de Real Time Worlds ont décidé de prendre le contre-pied de cette mode pour nous offrir un jeu rafraîchissant, basé sur la liberté d’action et un gameplay émergent. Beaucoup se sentiront déroutés, mais le plaisir procuré par les longues balades sur les toits n’a aucun équivalent à ce jour dans le jeu vidéo.

Feb 21st, 2007 · Xbox 360 · read review

games xtreme (8 out of 10)

All in all Crackdown could have been so much more with a great story, but it’s really all about taking down your enemies, powering up your agent and blasting them with style. It has numerous clever Achievements and when you complete the game you can turn random crimes back on so you’re able to keep on fighting crime solo or with a friend. I hope if RTW produces a sequel (and they should) that they take some of the faults into consideration and deliver a solid story.

Mar 9th, 2007 · Xbox 360 · read review

Defunct Games (80 out of 100)

Even with its faults Crackdown is still a solid game that is well worth playing through. While it's not nearly as strong as some of Microsoft's other first party offerings, Crackdown does prove to be a solid first entry into what will no doubt be a franchise. Realtime Worlds is already on record saying that they are going to release some sort of free expansion pack to the game; one can only hope that it includes some better mini-games and a better boss or two. There are going to be a lot of people who buy Crackdown just to be able to play the Halo 3 beta, thankfully they will find that this is a fun game that's worth every penny. It's not perfect, but it's a good start to something that will hopefully be spectacular the next time we visit it.

Mar 27th, 2007 · Xbox 360 · read review

Games Finder (8 out of 10)

Crackdown is fast paced and often over the top crazy as players jump from building rooftops and hurl cars at would be attackers. The game doesn’t take itself seriously which is why exactly it has such great appeal to a casual audience.

Mar 24th, 2014 · Xbox 360 · read review

GamePlay (Croatia) (16 out of 20)

Nakon nekoliko sati laganog negodovanja, privikavanja i ponajviše razvoja lika, gotovo svi u redakciji primili su se igre kao drvo zemlje, a iz osobnog iskustva mogu reći da sve imalo zainteresirane vlasnike Xboxa 360 čeka nekoliko ludo zabavnih, neprospvanih noći i sramotno loših izgovora upućenih na sve strane ne bi li dobili još malo vremena da skupe koji simbol za pokretnost, dignu desetak autića u zrak u lančanoj eksploziji, prođu koju utrku autom ili trčanjem i skokovima u prkour.hr :) stilu skoče s vrha zgrade samo da bi vidjeli pukotinu koju će ostaviti na betonu pri doskoku.

Mar 2007 · Xbox 360

Games TM (8 out of 10)

Crackdown isn't as well-conceived as Canis Canem Edit, but it grants soul and personality to the empty histrionics of Just Cause and never resorts to the brazen plagiarism offered by Saints Row. The market has suffered from a glut of inferior free-roaming games, but to denigrate Crackdown due to an abundance of shaky alternatives is corrupt. It works hard to scratch out a path of ground to call its own, while reconnecting with the breathless sense of fun that made GTAIII so special. This is pure, playground satisfaction.

Jan 2007 · Xbox 360

EL33TONLINE ( )

If you are a gamer (or not even one) you are going to love this game no matter how old or fussy you are. Crackdown is a sheer blast and a lot of fun. If you enjoyed the Grand Theft Auto or Saints Row series, love sandbox games, love causing massive amounts of destruction and enjoy having mindless fun then this game was made for you! If not, then this game was still made for you.

Mar 22nd, 2007 · Xbox 360 · read review

Game Positive (7.9 out of 10)

When it was announced that the Halo 3 beta would be bundled with every Crackdown disc, many considered it a desperate ploy to sell a floundering game. Regardless, Crackdown ends up standing on its own two feet incredibly well, much better than so many other attempts at the GTA formula, including Saint's Row. Even with its great conventions, Crackdown does leave players craving something more. Easy boss battles and the level progression effectively destroy the chance for replayability that a game like this deserves. It's definitely worth a rent, if only because of the sheer enjoyment to be had from jumping twenty-five feet in the air. Thankfully, a sequel is all but guaranteed, leaving open the possibility for greatness in the future.

Apr 13th, 2007 · Xbox 360 · read review

GameSpot (7.8 out of 10)

Crackdown feels unfinished. It feels like the developers sat down and crafted a wonderful-looking city and carefully considered how the gameplay and abilities should work, and then they didn't have enough time to plug in enough activities to take advantage of it all. While you'll certainly have a lot of fun playing Crackdown, it's hard not to get the distinct feeling that it was on the cusp of being so much more.

Feb 12th, 2007 · Xbox 360 · read review

JagoGame.com (7.7 out of 10)

Crackdown memanfaatkan teknologi cell-shade untuk merender background, obyek, dan karakternya. Penampilan karakter dilengkapi dengan efek pencahayaan dan shadow yang keren. Selain itu, efek suara juga terdengar lumayan, walaupun musik pengiring latar hanya terdapat pada menu utama saja. Kesimpulannya, game ini merupakan salah satu game action terbaru yang pantas untuk dimainkan oleh para gamer, terutama para pecinta game action seperti GTA dan Saints Row.

Apr 20th, 2007 · Xbox 360 · read review

Deaf Gamers (7.7 out of 10)

Those who have enjoyed past GTA games should find Crackdown to be an enjoyable experience. The game does have its problems, as we've mentioned above, and it's fair to say it could have been better. As you probably already know it also provides a way of obtaining access to the Halo 3 Multiplayer Beta (whenever that will be) and this is a bonus that's sure to appeal to many fans of the Halo series. The brevity of the game is unfortunate and it's also a shame that there's not a great deal to do when you've finished the game. Still it's fun while it lasts and it's deaf gamer friendly.

2007 · Xbox 360 · read review

V2.fi (76 out of 100)

Potentiaalia Crackdownissa riittää, mutta viihtyä unohdin kun hermoilu ja ennen kaikkea haukottelu vei huomioni. Kyseessä on sokeriton versio vähälle huomiolle jääneestä, uskomattoman äärimmäisen tuhovoimaisesta ja vihreästä The Incredible Hulk: Ultimate Destructionista, johon alussa viittasin. Hulkin rinnalla Crackdownin parhaatkin puolet, eli leikkimismahdollisuudet, tuntuvat Kinder-yllätyksiltä. Toki pelin grafiikka, kontrollit ja kaupunki kertovat hyvästä ammattitaidosta. Tuskin hyvän pelin maineeseen muuta olisikaan tarvittu kuin kulmahiomakonetta ja pari pikkupikkujuttua, kuten tarina, tehtävät ja naamiaisasussa ilkeilevä kehonrakentajamies. Samantapainen peli vaadituin parannuksin ja vaikka Deadpool- tai Spawn-lisenssillä saattaisi olla suu kuolassa tahkottavaa nannaa, tai sitten ei.

Mar 28th, 2007 · Xbox 360 · read review

Digital Entertainment News (den) (7.5 out of 10)

Crackdown manages to exceed expectations with its entertaining action gameplay; however, noticeable shortcomings prevent it from having long lasting appeal. The single player campaign assumes you’ll spend most of your time wandering Pacific City, exploring its secrets and enhancing your character’s skills. Unfortunately, the roaming that initially seems fun, wears thin as you defeat each gang associate. A variety of achievements and online cooperative play help to extend gameplay, but it’s clear there’s a lack of depth. Throw in some technical difficulties and Crackdown is a generally enjoyable game that just misses its potential.

Feb 21st, 2007 · Xbox 360 · read review

Jeuxvideo.com (15 out of 20)

Crackdown, l'archétype du jeu tout bête mais effroyablement addictif. Il est vrai que son gameplay est bourrin et basique dans une certaine mesure, qu'en dehors de flinguer tout ce qui bouge, on ne nous demande rien et qu'on peut lui reprocher de ne pas être "complet". Pourtant, c'est toujours avec plaisir que l'on retourne arpenter les rues, sautant de plus en haut, soulevant des objets de plus en plus lourds et causant de plus en plus de dégâts. Résultat, le titre est à essayer absolument pour ceux qui doutent, et à acheter par ceux pour qui traverser une ville sans en fouler le sol constitue déjà un petit bonheur en soi.

Feb 16th, 2007 · Xbox 360 · read review

GameLemon (7.5 out of 10)

So if you've got a hankering for GTA-style mayhem pushed to the extreme, you'll probably appreciate this game. But if it's GTA's narrative flair and satirical eye that piques your interest, you may want to let this one slide. And then you can go read a book, you dork! I, on the other hand, am going to go grab one of those heat-seeking rocket launchers and see if I can launch a body into orbit. Yee-haw!

Nov 9th, 2007 · Xbox 360 · read review

Cheat Code Central (3.7 out of 5)

When the dust settles, Crackdown winds up being a fun and mindless action game. The story is neglible, and there is little to the game besides blowing up bad guys, and leaping across rooftops. However, while the game lasts, these things are undeniably fun to do. If you like a lot of explosions and no exposition, Crackdown might be the game for you.

2007 · Xbox 360 · read review

GNT - Generation Nouvelles Technologies (7 out of 10)

Une bonne réalisation technique et un bon concept permettent à Crackdown d'accéder au rang de jeu fun et agréable à jouer. Pas incontournable, il saura cependant procurer au joueur un bon moment de détente et d'action pur, de quoi se défouler après une grosse journée de boulot. Il apporte un peu de fraîcheur dans les jeux de style GTA et on ne va pas s'en plaindre.

Mar 13th, 2007 · Xbox 360 · read review

Gamezine (14 out of 20)

Crackdown est une bonne surprise. D’un bon niveau technique et doté d’un gameplay sympa, ce jeu se révèle à la longue addictif. On prend plaisir simple à faire des explosions gigantesques, tenter des sauts de la mort, faire des cascades. Bref, un jeu pour lequel la bêta d’Halo 3 est, pour le coup, un bonus et non un argument d’achat.

Apr 1st, 2007 · Xbox 360 · read review

411mania.com (6.5 out of 10)

Crackdown is one of those guilty pleasure titles that’s worth a weekend rental, but isn’t something you’d want to slap down half a C-note for. The game’s story mode is short, its control issues noticeable, and its presentation hit-and-miss. If you’re in for little more than a fun shooter without much depth, especially with deft multiplayer and the game’s element of collectibles, Crackdown may be a title worth your time. Otherwise, this game’s worth giving a spin in your 360, but only a short one.

Mar 26th, 2007 · Xbox 360 · read review

CanardPC (6 out of 10)

Crackdown part d'une idée simple : offrir au joueur un environnement urbain peuplé de racailles pour y lâcher un flic gonflé à la testostérone bionique. Malgré une ressemblance superficielle avec GTA, il n'en partage ni les missions originales ni la progression accrocheuse. Sans parler de l'absence totale d'ambiance ou de consistance de l'univers qui donne l'impression de se balader dans une ville fantôme malgré la réalisation flatteuse. Après Just Cause, voilà un nouvel exemple qu'il ne suffit pas de faire un grand terrain de jeu propice à quelques cascades pour qu'on s'y amuse.

Mar 1st, 2007 · Xbox 360 · read review

Thunderbolt Games (6 out of 10)

I’d love to say that it’ll be interesting to see what people make of Crackdown once the Halo 3 beta is over and done with, but it’s already obvious that the price will plummet and we’ll never speak of it again. A shame indeed, but even at budget price there’s not much that any self respecting Xbox 360 owner will be missing other than a few pretty explosions and half a day spent marveling at spring from building to building, the novelty of which rubs off pretty damn quickly.

Apr 7th, 2007 · Xbox 360 · read review

Games TM ( )

[Online review] We want to climb the agency tower with a buddy, then laugh as we kick him off to his death. We don't want to watch a city jerking around like a silent movie while being overwhelmed by exasperation. If Crackdown is ever truly fixed, then it will be a great place to play for months to come, but as it is, it's still just a Halo 3 beta enabler. A shame.

Apr 2007 · Xbox 360

Player Reviews

A supercop game that delivers
by Joshua J. Slone (4664)

The Good
When I recently got an Xbox 360, I went browsing for deals. Crackdown was a game I wouldn't have got unless it was quite cheap. All I knew about it was that it was compared to Grand Theft Auto and was initially a big deal because it let players into a Halo 3 beta. However, the chance to try out a B-tier open world game on a high-def console for $10 seemed fair enough, so I went for it. I'm so glad I did. While the freedom is GTA-esque, in many ways Crackdown is like Grand Theft Auto in reverse.

Let me apologize if I go too heavy on GTA comparisons, but as it's by far the most popular game of this type and the one I've spent most time with, it seems the obvious way to frame things.

In Crackdown you don't follow a set mission structure. In fact, you could try to complete the game's main objectives almost immediately. However, you will probably fail. Your ultimate goal is to take out the leaders of Pacific City's three main gangs, but at the beginning they'll be heavily guarded. By taking out the lesser gang generals and kingpins (in any order you please), the gang will become less powerful and the final gang leader less well protected. This actually reminds me of the way battles work in the Dynasty Warriors series, but in this case it's on a much larger scale.

In GTA you can improve certain stats, but it's a fairly gradual thing. Crackdown kicks it up a very enjoyable notch. At the beginning the Agent you control will run and jump much like any game character, but as his agility increases through several levels he'll be able to run the speed of slow cars and jump dozens of feet. He'll go from being able to throw a trash can to being able to throw a truck. Other stats that improve are gunmanship, explosives, and driving. Eventually you get to feeling like quite the superhero. When I think Crackdown, I think racing along the city bounding from rooftop to rooftop and having a blast doing so.

GTA's on-foot and shooting controls have always been a bit clunky. Luckily since Crackdown is more action-packed and with a more agile and able character, the controls keep up. I'm more of an RPG guy, but after a while I was having no problem leaping around, targeting and taking out gang members in mid-jump, or smacking them around physically if they approached while I was reloading. Speaking of things that help me as more of an RPG guy, the game has multiple difficulty levels, though they still try to make one feel manly by naming the easiest "Tough". So whereas in many action game I'll just reach a point where I'm stuck forever, I was able to get through Tough without it seeming either taxing or patronizing.

In GTA you gain new weapons for your hideouts by finding hidden packages throughout the city. In Crackdown it's much more natural. You find a new weapon, you carry it back to one of your supply points, and now it will be available from any supply point. However, that doesn't necessarily make it easy--if you want a certain fancy rare rocket launcher, you'll first have to find someone who has it, take them out, drop one of the two weapons you can hold at a time in exchange for it, and then make it back to a supply point without being killed. There are still hundreds of objects hidden throughout the city to gather, but they have to do with increasing player stats.

As Crackdown is the first X360 or PS3 game I've spent many hours with, I'm not in the best position to compare the game to its peers in a technical sense. However, I can say this is the type of upgrade I prefer to see from a new generation. It's not uncommon for developers to get a more powerful system, but just go so wild that the frame rate still has problems. Not Crackdown. The frame rate is always great. The draw distance is near infinite. Unlike last-gen GTA games, you won't just have a few types of cars on screen at once, which disappear when you get a few dozen feet away--things stay in place pretty much until you've forgotten they were there. It's rare to find a texture that gets blurry. And as a matter of preference, I really like the outlined look objects have, rather than trying for photo-realism.

It's worth noting that the game has online multiplayer and for-pay downloadable content that promise more fun, but neither of which I tried.

The Bad
I've put above many of the ways being a reverse GTA can be good, but it sometimes can mean things that worked in GTA don't here.

One is driving. It feels largely superfluous. There are street races, but the driving controls themselves don't seem fun enough to bother with them. Perhaps they'd feel better if I leveled my driving stat higher. Going fast usually means some unintentional citizen casualties, which is sort of frowned upon in this game since we're supposed to be playing the side of law and order. The music also didn't strike me as worth listening to, and there's no attempt at things like fake commercials or radio station identities to keep you interested. Luckily, since the running and jumping is so great in this game, there's almost never a need to get in a car to go where you're going. It might just be more fun to carry it there.

Another is mission variety. In a game like GTA, you have actual varying mission types. Maybe you need to get in a car and knock someone else's vehicle off the road. Maybe a gun shootout. Maybe tail someone. Maybe drive a boat to various destinations. Not always handled well, but certainly mixes things up. In Crackdown almost everything boils down to infiltrating an area full of little gang goons until you reach the big gang goon and take them out. Doing so is plenty of fun, but it gets to being largely the same thing in a new location. The freedom you have can in some ways make it seem like the game designers wasted their time, as well. One gang general in particular looked to have a heavily guarded entrance, so I swam around to the back and the general was almost completely unprotected.

If there's one thing I really appreciate in GTA that's not here, it's just... messing around, maybe getting chased. In Crackdown, you can't really just pick on a civilian; you either do nothing or strike them, which in the latter case means killing them since you're such a superman. The law officials don't look kindly on that, but neither will they chase you around. I know it's not fair to expect this of every open world game, but as someone who gets a big kick out of doing that when it's there, it's worth mentioning to you readers that it's not. So when you've cleared out the gangs and everything is peaceful... well, it can be a little TOO peaceful. Though you can always use the menu to reset the gang members to try for them again.

The Bottom Line
This game was a real blast to play, and at the prices it goes for now if you've cared enough to check out my review of it this far you'd probably enjoy trying it out.

It's worth noting that I think the star rating attached to this review is I think a little low. Most of the categories I gave lower scores to are things that I didn't think were very important in the game, and so didn't detract from things to just be there rather than special. My pick for "Personal Slant" was the full 5.

Aug 31st, 2009 · Xbox 360

Parkour the Safe Way
by Marko Poutiainen (1160)

The Good
In Crackdown you are a genetically engineered cop with the task of breaking down three criminal gangs controlling Pacific City. Genetic engineering has given you superhuman abilities: the ability to jump incredible lengths and land safely, inhuman running speed, incredible strength that allows you to pick up cars and throw them at your enemies and so on. You will also improve your five core skills (agility, driving, shooting, strength, explosives) by using these skills or by other means, such as collecting orbs. There are 500 agility orbs (which, as the name implies, increase your agility) and 300 hidden orbs which give a small boost to each skill. But there are many other ways of improving these skills, as well, most important being killing gang members and by finishing certain tasks and achievements. These skills have a profound effect on game play. Agility, for instance, increases your jump height which allows you to reach even higher locations.

The logical way of getting rid of these gangs is to start by killing the lower level bosses first because this weakens the bigger bosses. By killing the guy responsible for the gang's weapons, for instance, means that their bodyguards are less heavily armed. Killing the guy doing the recruiting decreases the numbers and so on. But there's nothing stopping you from starting from the top if you want, it's just a lot harder. Once all the bosses are dead you still need to destroy a stronghold and after that the gang is no more and the streets of that part of the city are safe again. Repeat this three times and you have finished the game!

You can also pretty much choose your preferred method of entry: you can crash through the front, sneak in from the back or maybe jump across rooftops. In any case you will meet quite a few enemies, this guy is no 47 (from the Hitman series). Machine guns, rocket launchers and grenades along with fists and feet are the chosen tools of his profession. Most guns have to be confiscated from the gangs first and brought to a supply point before they are available. And these supply points also have to be freed first before they can be used. Or you can also do hand-to-hand combat either with your hands and feet or with items found lying around. After a while these can, as previously stated, include even cars and other heavy stuff.

In between razing the gangs the player can also collect those orbs, do rooftop or car races, try car acrobatics or stunt jumps, hijack gang vehicles and so on. Most orbs are in pretty easy places, but some of the races can be quite tricky to finish in time to get the achievement.

What really sets Crackdown apart from other FPS's is that this game is truly 3D - you will be scaling the height of Pacific City unlike you have ever done. The height difference is dizzying and you can really feel when jumping from one building to another in your stomach. This is the best simulation of parkour I have ever seen, nothing even gets close. And it's surprisingly interesting. You find yourself jumping across rooftops just because it's fun. Imagine being at the top of a 200 feet building and jumping across the street to another, 100 feet high building, only just making the distance. And this is not just a gimmick, you can use this ability to help you defeat the gangs, too. There are lots of places which the enemy can't reach, these are perfect to heal yourself or just simply ambush the enemy. Just beware of those pesky grenades. There is just something in the fact that you are not tied to certain approaches, just come up with your own! After this game any game where you have to go from point A to point B to point C looks unimaginative. And the controls really help moving around, the agent automatically grabs ledges and the controls are responsive. It's easy to jump, turn and fire a few rockets mid air and land on small platform.

Co-op is also supposed to be great fun, although I haven't tried it yet.

The Bad
Controls are almost perfect, but only almost. Sometimes you are left wondering why you couldn't grab a ledge, and there is no simple way of looking up, which would be very useful in this game. The camera also can get funny in small spaces, sometimes the camera is behind the wall, sometimes so close to the character you can't see him, which makes aiming your jumps a bit hard. Cars are also a bit tricky to drive, at least at lower skill levels (I have only reached a one-star rating at this). Most cars seem to slide all over the place and brakes feel weak. In the end I seem to mow down half the civilian population if I try a race.

What really started bugging me in the end, however, was the ridiculous amount of enemies, especially in the last territory. There are so many of them you just get numb after a while. Dozens and dozens of them attacking you. Running through the streets you are shot all the time, no point in shooting back because you'd never get to where you were going. And trying to jump across the rooftops is even worse because you WILL get hit by rockets. By the time I had three or four bosses left, I was getting bored and had to grind the last ones. This task was not made any more interesting by the fact the last boss was at the top of a very tall skyscraper and the entire way up was defended by gunmen who re-spawned if you died or left the building. I made it to the very top three times just to die and then on the fourth time I killed the last kingpin almost by mistake. This was the time I was happy the game isn't as long as the GTA series, as finishing Crackdown took maybe 20 hours in total, although I hadn't maxed out all my skills.

I also have a small gripe about the music track. You can only listen to it when driving but that's just as well because frankly it's quite bad, at least to my taste.

The Bottom Line
Crackdown is close to being a classic. Little more game play (interesting side quests, rather than just races), slightly better controls and this would be a truly great game. Now it's only a very good one. If you have a friend, then this game will give plenty to play - you can first finish this solo and then co-op and even compete the races and time trials. Even collecting the agility orbs is great fun, even though I usually don't like to do stuff like that (collecting stars in GTA:Vice City was a total bore).

Think GTA with an added dimension but with less side quests and being on the right side of law. There is a sequel coming and even though I got bored at the end I'm going to buy it.

Feb 17th, 2008 · Xbox 360

For the few of us who didn't like GTA III, possibly
by Greg Mitchell (73)

The Good
I'm surprised to say I'm quite taken with Crackdown, a game which sounded in premise like a lot of other games I dislike. After talking with a friend of mine who, like me never saw what the fascination was with Grand Theft Auto III, I downloaded the demo and was nearly instantly hooked. I will do my best to put my finger on precisely what it is that wins me over in Crackdown that GTA never managed.

Firstly, the obvious one - the graphics are really stellar. Use of color is varied and vibrant (especially for a game of this type), animations are excellent, textures are possibly over-slick and slightly unrealistic, but it's still a great looking game. Secondly, the powering up of your character really helps to keep the game interesting to me. Acquiring orbs and the ability to run faster, jump to insane heights and the like sort of includes a super-hero element that GTA never had. Thirdly, while both games are "open" and allow you to do whatever you want whenever you want, Crackdown just feels more purpose-driven and less pointlessly exploratory somehow. Admittedly, all of the missions that are piped in really boil down to "Now kill this guy" or "Now kill this gal", and they're not very interesting in and of themselves, but it does keep the game moving at a good pace somehow.

And one final thing that's hard to truly pin down - I really liked how believable the world is in Crackdown in little ways, and how dynamic the events are. As a car of gangsters pulls up, I start shooting at it. The car stops, and two or three baddies get out and we have at it with some gunplay. Possibly, a car or two of police officers shows up to help out. Possibly, a car or two of gangsters arrive to heighten the battle. Often, it becomes a scene of real carnage and destruction, all at random. You often come across scenes of battle between gang members and police, and can pass it by or stop and join in. Throw a grenade into the fray for fun, or run right in and start using some melee attacks, or drive on by if you choose. It's all very intriguing, very free and yet not aimless or pointless.

The Bad
I did think that nearly all of the music in Crackdown stunk. I realize that the music may possibly be appropriate for the area you're in, but I just personally can't stand 99% of the tracks they've selected. They're all in the metal / rap fusion category which I often like, but just not in these cases. I wish the game gave you more choices for music style, but it's easy to get over as I spent a lot of the game on foot when there's not much music anyways.

The Bottom Line
In all, I'm surprised by how much I like Crackdown. It doesn't seem on any level to be my kind of game, and yet I find myself playing it a lot. It's easy and fun to hop into, shoot some baddies for a while, climb some buildings and leap from rooftop to rooftop, clear out an area of town from crime, get in a fancy car and smash it up, level up the character and take out more baddies.

Apr 24th, 2007 · Xbox 360

1/4 Spider-man, 1/4 GTA, 1/4 Mercenaries, and 1/4 True Crime = Crackdown. Crackdown = Awesome.
by Classic Nigel (145)

The Good
The free form game, or "sandbox" game, is an interesting idea for a game, the ability to explore an open area and experiment with your surroundings but is not always implemented as well as a gamer such as myself would like such is the case with the GTA franchise, which I never understood the mass appeal for I played it and even though there was some fun to be had I felt that something was missing some sense of what I was doing, more room to experiment with the game’s “civilization”. Having the ability to do things inside the world to make it feel more real like climb the tallest building and jump off and land in the water, or do what I call “pulling a Navy Seals” in which you ride the back of a truck, or hide the hood of a car and jump off and land in a nearby water mass all these things can be accomplished in Crackdown!

Crackdown, is a free form action adventure title made by Real Worlds, a new development company with Dave Jones. The creator of GTA and Lemmings. Has branched out and made a game like GTA but, much better the game's plot is very loose and simple. You play as a modified agent with superhuman powers for an organization simply called The Agency. And you are tasked with stopping 3 massive criminal organizations who are running amok in Pacific City. Los Muertos, The Volk, and Shei-Gen each gang has low ranking Generals that answer to the kingpin which sort of reminds me of 2005's "Mercenaries", you can try to take down the kingpin right away or get the underlings, crippling the gang and making the final confrontation much easier. And that you can take down the gangs in any order, but you will find it simpler to go in order. Furthermore, you can upgrade your characters abilities which consist of agility, explosive skill, driving, strength, and shooting you can collect agility orbs scattered throughout the city. And you can do checkpoint races, race in your car, run criminals over make sure they are criminals because you lose points for hitting civilians. Shooting bad guys, or melee hitting them you can get so strong you can lift 2 tons!

The missions are very loose all you do is find the crime boss, and go though the area and kill him. Then move on to the next one and unlike in a game like, "Mercenaries" in which there is very little to do aside from missions. In this game playing with the environment can be more fun than the missions sometimes!

I enjoyed the music of this game although it is very little the only music is when you drive around in your car the music is mostly electronica, dance, and hip hop some of the music is international like Hispanic rap.

The graphic style is interesting the character models look like something out of a comic book and the backgrounds like the buildings are traditional polygon graphics and it makes the game look interesting.

The controls and the superpowers are implemented well.

There are also nice additions such as, when driving in your car you switch to the next and previous song, turn the music volume up which is something I wish they had implemented into "True Crime: New York City", which suffered from low song volume.

And there are special cars in the agency garage that can transform as your car skills improve one of the changes looks like the Bat mobile!

The Bad
The problems with this game are basically the fact that certain missions are way harder than other ones. Like how the final kingpin is easier than the earlier gang leaders.

And also the ending has a very ridiculous plot twist which I will admit was not what I was expecting, but still not good.

The A.I. is horrible, the inhabitants never act realistically. It can often even be funny watching how dumb they are.

The Bottom Line
Overall this game is a very rewarding and fun experience that, any Xbox 360 owner should at least take a look at specially if they like the free form game genre.

Jan 26th, 2008 · Xbox 360

Crackdown, Smackdown, Beatdown......
by Lucky 13 (40)

The Good
Pretty much everything! graphics were pretty cool, gameplay was awesome, I played this game for three weeks straight before I started gettin bored, then.....they added more to it from XBOX Live. running around rooftops with a sniper rifle was my personal favorite.

The Bad
one thing that got old fast was the green orbs, there are way too many to find to gettem all, it was sorta annoying like the pokemon saying, "gotta catchem all" cause the a lotta of them and the mystery orbs too!

The Bottom Line
Crackdown, Smackdown, Beatdown, any of these names would have worked for this game. You get to show lil thug wanna-bes what happens when they cross the line, then when you get bored of that, do the same to civilians, then (lol) when you get bored of that show the cops whos boss.

Jun 4th, 2007 · Xbox 360

Even a Halo3 beta invite can't raise this game out of mediocrity
by phlux (4328)

The Good
Initially, it looks like there's a lot to like about Crackdown: the impressive graphics with no loading times or glitches, the sheer size of the environment which can be enjoyed even from far above the streets, the joy of being able to jump on rooftops to collect stuff that makes you jump even higher or throw cars around... could be a lot of fun, and it is fun in the beginning. The premise that you can play along a friend in the same city, but not necessarily together, sounds even more exciting.

The game's sound (not music, that's a different story) is nice and crisp with a very charismatic sounding announcer. Loud explosions as well, which are always a plus.

Oh, and there's an invitation to the Halo3 beta in the box. Wait, I don't care for Halo3. Scratch that.

The Bad
From a game by a legend like Dave Jones, one would expect a bit more than Crackdown delivers. Yes, the visuals are pretty, but the basic premise falls flat quickly after novelty wears off. Agreed, it's fun to jump around in a huge city, upgrading your character to jump even higher, but that's about it already. The rest of the action consists of rather unimaginative shooting action without much of a goal. Side missions like you'd expect in a game like this are rare and don't feel rewarding at all.

While the city is huge, it's also devoid of much interactivity. A lot of people and cars move around, but that's it. No shops, next to no missions, no dialogues, nothing.

The game's music is rarely heard anyway, so why bother with licensing it? And even with the licensed music, it fails to impress, since the music's style is very diverse and often doesn't fit the game at all. The announcer also repeats himself a lot and doesn't always talk about stuff you'd expect from the given situation.

The game feels like they developed a "jump-around-a-city- simulator" first and then decided to add some "content" since there wasn't much else to do. Sadly, there isn't much else to do now either. It's a tech demo, nothing more.

The Bottom Line
There are three options:

a) if you are a Halo fan, you'll want Crackdown for the beta invitation
b) in case you like fancy graphics and rather shallow gameplay, you'll want Crackdown for it's fancy graphics and rather shallow gameplay
c) in any other case, Crackdown will likely collect dust on the shelf

In my case, c) was the letter of choice and now Crackdown collects dust on a shelf, which is too bad considering I dislike Halo3 as well.

Apr 15th, 2007 · Xbox 360

Plus 35 player ratings without reviews

Contributors to this Entry

Critic reviews added by RhYnoECfnW, Jacob Gens, Chris Pickering, Wizo, CalaisianMindthief, Kabushi, Big John WV, Jeanne, chirinea, Corn Popper, Patrick Bregger, Solid Flamingo, Yearman, UV, Alsy, Cavalary, Samuel Smith, Plok, Tim Janssen, Evil Ryu, Picard, Alaka, Mictlantecuhtli.