🐳 Latest Moby v2023.06.02 update

Star Wars: Episode I - Racer

aka: Pod Racer, SW E 1 Racer

[ All ] [ Dreamcast ] [ Macintosh ] [ Nintendo 64 ] [ Nintendo Switch ] [ PlayStation 4 ] [ Windows ] [ Xbox One ]

Critic Reviews 70% add missing review

Way Too Many Games (8 out of 10) (80%)

This might be one of the least impressive visual remasters I have ever seen, but considering how well Star Wars Episode I: Racer‘s gameplay has aged over the decades, I still have to recommend the Switch version of this game to racing fans and Star Wars fans alike. This is still one of the best and most creative Star Wars games ever released, and even though it now looks as clunky as the CGI from Attack of the Clones, it’s still well worth playing once again. One can only wonder which Star Wars game Aspyr is going to release next. If it isn’t Knights of the Old Republic, we riot.

Jun 24th, 2020 · Nintendo Switch · read review

Use a Potion! (7.7 out of 10) (77%)

Of course, it isn’t perfect and some sketchy textures, inconsistent (and often too easy) difficulty, and distorted audio problems do hinder the experience a fair bit. They’re not problematic enough to make Star Wars Episode I: Racer feel like a bad game, but they’re still obvious issues that can be hard to ignore in places. Still, it’s clear that Star Wars Episode I: Racer has managed to stand the test of time and it’s easy to recommend this remastered release for both returning gamers and those who never got the chance to race in one of the iconic pod racers back in 1999.

Jun 25th, 2020 · Nintendo Switch · read review

Nintendo Link (76 out of 100) (76%)

I will say that the price of the game should be a bit cheaper. I know it is a STAR WARS licensed game, but this is something that was birthed in 1999. Here we are in 2021 now, and I am expected to cough up a decent amount of money for basically a nostalgia trip. It is not like this port added anything of significance, like online racing, online leaderboards for TIME ATTACK, or 4 player splitscreen. Any or all of those options would have raised the value of this remake tremendously, but instead they went the safe route, did not change much of anything, and are trying to charge a decent price for what is a 21-year-old game.

Jan 4th, 2021 · Nintendo Switch · read review

Starburst Magazine ( ) (70%)

Star Wars Episode 1: Racer on Switch is the most the definitive version of the game, but it's sadly let down by its lack of multiplayer options. Still, the force is strong with this one.

Jun 24th, 2020 · Nintendo Switch · read review

4Players.de (65 out of 100) (65%)

Star Wars Episode 1: Racer ist mir immer positiver in Erinnerung geblieben als der mäßige Kinofilm. Nachdem ich den Auftakt der Prequel-Trilogie kürzlich wieder gesehen und mich jetzt erneut in den Podracer gequetscht habe, bestätigt sich der Eindruck. Zwar sieht, hört und merkt man dem futuristischen Rennspiel sein Alter trotz der leichten Remaster-Überarbeitung an, aber ich habe immer noch Freude daran, mit einem wahnwitzigen Tempo über die abwechslungsreichen Pisten mit Anakin & Co zu preschen und meinen schwebenden Untersatz mit Upgrades aufzumotzen. Besonders viel Mühe hat sich Aspyr bei der Modernisierung zwar nicht gegeben und hat weder die Zeichentiefe verbessert noch sinnvolle Funktionen wie einen Onlinemodus hinzugefügt. Aber zumindest muss man dem Remaster zugute halten, dass man auf Switch sowohl mobil als auch am TV eine flüssige Darstellung genießen darf und der durchaus positive Geist des Originals auch bei der Neuauflage erhalten bleibt.

Jun 29th, 2020 · Nintendo Switch · read review

Starbit (6 out of 10) (60%)

Star Wars Episode I: Racer regressa com uma atualização tímida, longe de tirar partido das capacidades das plataformas contemporâneas. No entanto, transporta todo o conteúdo original e uma jogabilidade exímia, o que juntamente com um preço relativamente baixo é uma proposta recomendada a apreciadores do original e curiosos mas pouco apelativo para quem gosta de jogos de corridas.

Jul 4th, 2020 · Nintendo Switch · read review

Nintendo Life ( ) (60%)

The central loop of 'race, win, upgrade, race' is certainly compelling while it lasts, and if you have fond memories of Star Wars Episode I: Racer from your childhood this is as good a way to relive them as possible – just don't expect any huge overhauls from the original game. Star Wars Episode I: Racer sets itself apart from the likes of Wipeout with its earnest take on the popular licence, and it's still fun to relive one of the best scenes in the prequel trilogy, but it's a long way from being one of the best racers on Switch.

Jun 30th, 2020 · Nintendo Switch · read review

Player Reviews

We don't have any player reviews for Nintendo Switch.

Contributors to this Entry

Critic reviews added by POMAH, Tim Janssen, lights out party, Patrick Bregger, Victor Vance.