🐳 Moby v2023.03.16 update

Tomb Raider: Chronicles

aka: TR 5, TRC, Tomb Raider 5: Chronicles, Tomb Raider Chronicles: La leggenda di Lara Croft, Tomb Raider V, Tomb Raider: Die Chronik, Tomb Raider: Sur les traces de Lara Croft

[ All ] [ Dreamcast ] [ Macintosh ] [ PlayStation ] [ PlayStation 3 ] [ PS Vita ] [ PSP ] [ Windows ]

Critic Reviews 72% add missing review

SuperGamePower (9.5 out of 10)

Agora chega de papo e vamos encarar mais essa aventura de Lara, cheia de mistérios e adrenalina. Essa garota é demais!

Jan 2001 · PlayStation · read review

NowGamer (9.1 out of 10)

At the end of the day this one still doesn’t take the title of best Tomb Raider game (which must stay with the original for now) despite having far more impressive graphics and much more responsive controls. It is however the best Tomb Raider title since the first – hands down – and as such is a real must-buy!

Nov 17th, 2000 · PlayStation · read review

Power Unlimited (8.5 out of 10)

De PlayStation heeft z'n beste tijd gehad en dat geldt ook wel een beetje voor Tomb Raider; het zal mij dan ook benieuwen op wat voor manier Lara op de next-gen consoles van zich zal laten horen.

Dec 2000 · PlayStation

Computer and Video Games (CVG) ( )

If you hate Tomb Raider, this won't alter that fact. But if you love everything Lara, then you'll love this too. The new features enhance (though hardly revolutionise) the experience, and the frustration factor is not enough to detract from a well-constructed game that rarely has a dull moment. From sniping robots to walking tightropes, Lara's fans will lap it up like the love-struck puppies they are. This is a fitting climax to the Tomb Raider series, but Lara simply must undergo some serious life-changing experiences if she's to make the grade in future on the next-gens. In the meanwhile, watch Chronicles fly off shop shelves this Christmas.

Dec 2000 · PlayStation · read review

Video Games (79 out of 100)

Die Core-Designer sollten sich fĂŒr Teil sechs an die alte Weisheit erinnern, ein Spiel immer mit den optisch schönsten und spannendsten Leveln zu beginnen. Hier werden die 13 Level nĂ€mlich erst gegen Ende besser: Als Teeny ohne Waffen ist die Spannung in der dritten Episode am grĂ¶ĂŸten. Auf der Suche nach Iris darf Lara in der vierten Mission nach Seiltanz und Stangenflug endlich noch einen dritten neuen Move ausfĂŒhren: das BetĂ€uben von Gegnern. Nur: Bis zu dieser spĂ€ten Belohnung halten die wenigsten Spieler durch. Schade, so rauscht Die Chronik knapp am Gold-Classic vorbei.

Dec 2000 · PlayStation

GameSpot (7.2 out of 10)

Tomb Raider Chronicles is a worthy enough "sequel" to the original and can deliver an adequate number of thrills, though nothing unique or surprising.

Nov 20th, 2000 · PlayStation · read review

Gamezone (Germany) (7.2 out of 10)

Der fĂŒnfte, und wohl bestimmt nicht letzte Teil der Saga, ist bestimmt der beeindruckenste. Lara kann nun so viele Bewegungen wie nie zuvor und wird auch immer hĂŒbscher. Sie ist in Ägypten verschollen und ihre engsten Freunde treffen sich fĂŒr eine Gedenkfeier. Die alten ErzĂ€hlungen werden von Dir nachgespielt. Daher ist klar, dass Du auf sehr verschiedene Welten treffen wirst... Abwechslung ist garantiert.

Apr 26th, 2001 · PlayStation · read review

Game Informer Magazine (7 out of 10)

The death of Lara Croft is a fascinating premise that holds a little something for everyone. Either A) you love this female crusader more than your girlfriend and want to be there for Lara right up to the fateful day, or B) you hate this series and would pay anything to see Lara’s fragile figure crushed beneath a large boulder. A few years back, DC Comics ran a similar story where Superman visited the reaper. The payoff was huge. The same theory applies to Tomb Raider. Lara’s passing could have been the next big thing. It’s never happened in the game realm, and I’m sure everyone would want to see how her life came to a sudden end. Of course, Eidos royally screwed up. There wasn’t a teaser campaign to draw interest, and worst of all, months before the game hit retail shelves, Eidos announced that Lara Croft is alive and will return in a new adventure for PlayStation 2 (see page 80). I’ve heard of people shooting themselves in the feet before, but this is stupidity in its purist form.

Jan 2001 · PlayStation · read review

Super Play (Sweden) (7 out of 10)

ÄndĂ„ saknar Tomb Raider: Chronicles nĂ„got. NĂ„got som förmodligen bara de som verkligen har lĂ€rt kĂ€nna Lara genom de fyra tidigare spelen kommer att mĂ€rka. Kanske Ă€r det det faktum att Lara faktiskt inte Ă€r med i spelet pĂ„ riktigt, utan bara i vĂ€nnernas minnen. Eller sĂ„ Ă€r det spelglĂ€djen som har försvunnit. Jag hoppas att den kommer tillbaka i nĂ€sta Lara-spel.

Jan 2001 · PlayStation

PSM (7 out of 10)

Still, this game still doesn't push the series forward at all. There is little innovation and very few compelling features. That's why I can only recommend it to die-hard Tomb Raider fans. Those of you who got burnt out after the third game will find nothing here to spark your interest again. That's what the PS2 sequel is for.

Jan 2001 · PlayStation

Quebec Gamers (6.9 out of 10)

On peut se poser la question à savoir si ce jeu était nécessaire ou non, si on était mieux avec ou sans? Pour ma part, je trouve que c'est un jeu avec une assez bonne qualité pour justifier son existence, sauf que je ne crois pas y revenir souvent, car il ne représente pas assez ce qui fait la force des Tomb Raider pour moi et me laisse un peu indifférent.

Dec 20th, 2011 · PlayStation · read review

Jeuxvideo.com (13 out of 20)

Un Tomb Raider de plus. Et c'est tout car aucune originalitĂ© ne vient pimenter ce nouvel opus. Les amateurs du genre y trouveront peut-ĂȘtre leur compte, mais ce jeu sera loin d'ĂȘtre incontournable pour les autres.

Dec 12th, 2000 · PlayStation · read review

Game Informer Magazine (6 out of 10)

I used to be a fan of this series but now I can’t stand the sight of it. Perhaps it has to do with the fact that Eidos is beating this dead horse for all it's worth (destroying all its worth at the same time). Basically this is just the same game you’ve played with new levels – oh yeah, and how could I forget – there is also a new tightrope walking move that slows the game down even more. The innovations just never stop. I pray to the gaming gods that when Lara comes to the next wave of systems like PS2 and Xbox that something is done to improve this game – and I don’t just mean the graphics. The puzzles are interesting, but the pace is way too slow. I feel slightly bad ripping on a game for coming too frequently, since I think I could play a new Metroid every year if Nintendo gave me one, but this series isn’t of that caliber. I’m gonna skip this one and wait for the next generation. I think you should too.

Jan 2001 · PlayStation · read review

Gamekult (5 out of 10)

C'est la fin de la belle Lara mais surtout la fin d'un moteur graphique datant de 1995 qui, malgré quelques améliorations, n'est vraiment plus à la hauteur. Les fans seront lassés par ces erreurs récurrentes qui ont contribués à refroidir les ardeurs des plus fervents admirateurs de la belle. Tomb Raider : Sur les traces de Lara Croft n'est guÚre plus qu'un hommage post-mortem pour nostalgiques des temps anciens et seuls les charmes de l'aventuriÚre permettent à ce titre de subsister. On se doit malgré tout de reconnaßtre qu'en son temps, Tomb Raider était véritablement révolutionnaire et que l'évolution de la série nous laissera sûrement quelques regrets. Adieu Lara et... à bientÎt.

Dec 16th, 2000 · PlayStation · read review

All Game Guide ( )

Honestly, if you are a big fan of the Tomb Raider series, rush out and get this game, because you've accepted the same for so long that you'll be more than satisfied with this one. For those of you who have already grown tired of the franchise and its hype, there's absolutely nothing new or compelling in this title that will make you change your mind.

2000 · PlayStation · read review

Player Reviews

We don't have any player reviews for PlayStation.

Contributors to this Entry

Critic reviews added by Bozzly, Scaryfun, vedder, Tim Janssen, Patrick Bregger, qwertyuiop, Wizo, Jacob Gens, Parf, Lain Crowley, Alsy, Jeanne, Big John WV.