đź‘ľ The lost Atari arcade game returns with Jeff Minter's Akka Arrh

Harvest Moon: Magical Melody

aka: Bokujou Monogatari: Shiawase no Uta

[ All ] [ GameCube ] [ Wii ]

Critic Reviews 82% add missing review

NGC Magazine (91 out of 100)

(...) Persistence is one thing that Magical Melody does reward - both materially and spiritually. For this is a town and a world that is yours to shape, yours to play with, at your own pace and for your own ends. So after all those weeks of hard grind, not only will your former hovel be extended, a barn raised, a stable created and the town's common land claimed, but your toil in the soil will also produce less tangible rewards - romance, friendship and joy - the things that will make the rest of your days in this endearing little village more than just A Wonderful Life.

Jun 2006 · GameCube · read review

Video Game Generation (9 out of 10)

Natsume wised up. Harvest Moon: Magical Melody has finally returned the Harvest Moon series to its roots, with the emphasis being on freedom of action and farming per se as opposed to just "making friends and raising a family", the flawed emphasis of the last two, ultimately failed installments. The end result? A game that’s actually fun and addictive, just like Back To Nature was, way back on the original Playstation. Good move, guys. Knock out a few of these glitches I mentioned, and you’re finally back on track with this series. All hail the new Natsume…

May 4th, 2006 · GameCube · read review

HonestGamers (Staff reviews only) (9 out of 10)

Some people get it and some don't. If you're one who does, then you won't easily find an experience more magical than this one. Factor in how long it'll all remain fresh and you have a clear winner.

Apr 19th, 2006 · GameCube · read review

Cheat Code Central (4.3 out of 5)

The appeal of this game lies within the complex results your interactions and decisions generate. There is also a four-player mode where up to four players can take part in mini-games based on some of the gameplay features found in the single-player mode. There is horseracing, mountain climbing and fish catching events that offer a nice diversion. The overwhelming replay value is to be found in the single-player mode. Even though this game may look like it's got Playskool written all over it, it can be very challenging. Don't underestimate it until you've tried it.

Apr 13th, 2006 · GameCube · read review

Just RPG (85 out of 100)

Overall, I thought this game was fantastic. It kept me entertained for many hours, and it is a game that I am sure I will revisit many times. I am eagerly anticipating any new additions that there might be to Harvest Moon series!

May 25th, 2006 · GameCube · read review

GameZone (8.5 out of 10)

This is a really cute game! There’s a whole lot to do, and I just wish I had more time to spend with it. Hopefully this summer I’ll be able to really sit down and enjoy it. A nice choice for families and all ages, and one that is guaranteed to last a long time.

Apr 26th, 2006 · GameCube · read review

IGN (8.2 out of 10)

Harvest Moon: Magical Melody will be the final GameCube version, and it is by far the best. The sheer depth of gameplay will impress even the most seasoned veterans, and the difficulty is there as well. While it will be a bit of a struggle for new players, Magical Melody is well worth the learning curve. The package isn’t perfect, suffering from dated graphics and bland audio, but it has it where it counts. For anyone who considers themselves a true Harvest Moon fan, this one simply can’t be passed up.

Mar 28th, 2006 · GameCube · read review

Kombo.com (8 out of 10)

Magical Melody is a fun and addictive GameCube title that is definitely worth playing for fans of the franchise and anybody else interested in Harvest Moon.

Apr 20th, 2006 · GameCube · read review

RPGamer (4 out of 5)

If nothing else, Magical Melody shows that innovation can be done even in a simple theme like farming. Had it not been for the poor presentation in the sound and graphics side of the game, it could have been a spectacular title. Instead, it slides in at good, with some improvements badly needed. That being said, there's no getting around the fact that this title is simply a really fun game, which cannot be described by any numbering system. For veterans to the Harvest Moon series as well as those who have never picked up a watering can in their life, this title is recommended to all. It may come as a surprise just how interesting a game it is.

Apr 12th, 2006 · GameCube · read review

GameSpot (8 out of 10)

The Harvest Moon games have enjoyed a sort of cult following that defies explanation to those who haven't played the games. As a result, publisher Natsume continues to bring out new games in the series just about each year, and while the series never changes very much, it still offers the same strangely compelling gameplay that keeps fans coming back for more. Magical Melody, the latest in the series, is sort of a cross between A Wonderful Life and Animal Crossing, and the result is arguably the best Harvest Moon yet to appear on the GameCube.

Apr 5th, 2006 · GameCube · read review

Eurogamer.net (UK) (8 out of 10)

Despite these faults, I've been utterly hypnotised by Harvest Moon: Magical Melody from the moment I laid my hands on it, even watching my girlfriend play it for hours on end (her time spent playing probably a tenfold increase on mine) and I still don't feel that we've even begun to scratch the surface. The game seems to value extreme breadth over depth with dull townspeople and simplistic fishing and mining, but, for example, I haven't even found space to discuss the joys of horse-riding, shearing sheep and dying wool, or even the (throwaway) multiplayer mini-games. I suppose you might want to avoid eating the dead chickens, but if there's a hunger inherent to Harvest Moon: Magical Melody, it's the hunger to keep playing it until you've seen it all, and it'll be a long time until it's sated.

Apr 21st, 2006 · GameCube · read review

Games TM (8 out of 10)

Is Magical Melody the best Harvest Moon yet? That comes down to personal preference - some will still feel that the series loses something when it's not portable. It's definitely the best home-console game in the series, and the extra depth and involvement that it brings to the table will be irresistible to Harvest Moon fans. Indeed, for followers of the series, this is an essential purchase; it's everything that we've always wanted a Harvest Moon game to be.

Apr 2006 · GameCube

JustPressPlay (7.6 out of 10)

Overall, this is a game to buy. It's only $40 or so and it has a lot of replay value. You can play either sex; have numerous combinations of marriages, furniture, places to live and so on. This is definitely a game worth buying and keeping. And it's such a change from the normal shoot’em up games or even RPGs. You create things in this game and you feel good about it. Not to mention that there's so much to do in town that it really does become addicting. My advice, whether you be male or female, give it a chance. It takes a lot from the older NES version and adds a lot of new fun elements to make it a worthwhile game.

Apr 18th, 2006 · GameCube · read review

Consoles Plus (14 out of 20)

Techniquement à la rue, Harvest Moon prouve s'il en était besoin que l'intérêt ne réside pas toujours dans le graphisme, surtout en gestion, pourvu que la richesse soit là.

Oct 2006 · GameCube · read review

GameSpy ( )

Which is a shame, because it's easy to get lost in the world of Harvest Moon, and the game as a whole is entrancing. There need to be more games like this on the market. It's certainly the best Harvest Moon game in recent years, and it really comes close to greatness -- if only it had been paced a little better, then everyone would be able to enjoy it. As it is, it's a fun game for someone who has a lot of time on his or her hands, and a real trial for anyone else.

Apr 10th, 2006 · GameCube · read review

Player Reviews

We don't have any player reviews for GameCube.

Contributors to this Entry

Critic reviews added by Tim Janssen, Wizo, Evil Ryu, Vessol, CalaisianMindthief, Alsy.