🐳 23 years ago: Metal Slug 3 was released!

Ninja Gaiden II

[ All ] [ Xbox 360 ] [ Xbox One ]

Critic Reviews 80% add missing review

Play.tm (95 out of 100)

There are some camera difficulties, but they're infrequent and hardly major. The difficulty is pure; there is no "cheap" in this game and there is no luck, it's all fair play and it's all beatable by calculation and reaction. NG2 is the perfect fighting-action game, it is the ultimate gaming challenge for 2008, and it's one of the best looking 'gore games' ever created. If you want to know why Master Ninja level NG players give no respect to anyone who hasn't achieved this level of action-gaming perfection, you must become one yourself.

Jun 19th, 2008 · Xbox 360 · read review

Vgames (92 out of 100)

הכמות והגיוון של המהלכים והנשקים פשוט עצומה, ומלבד בעיות טכניות מזעריות וזוויות מצלמה מעצבנות, מדובר במשחק כמעט מושלם בז'אנר שלו. הוא כיפי, מאתגר, קצבי, מגוון, יפה ומושקע. לא צריך יותר מזה.

Jul 1st, 2008 · Xbox 360 · read review

Power Unlimited (92 out of 100)

Ik ben Team Ninja erg dankbaar voor zowel het originele avontuur als de kans om nu wederom die ongeëvenaarde actie te beleven in een gloednieuw avontuur.

Jul 21st, 2008 · Xbox 360 · read review

Gaming Age (A-)

All together, I really enjoyed the time I've spent so far with Ninja Gaiden 2, and I absolutely look forward to going thru the harder difficulties. It's a game that has an addictive quality to it that ends up being a bit hard to define, but there's a great satisfaction to climbing the leaderboards and pulling of the higher rankings on various levels. I personally have a long way to go before I end up coming close the upper echelon of skill that other players possess, but I look forward to improving. So despite it's technical flaws, it's a game that is absolutely worth playing for 360 owners, and while it could have used a bit more time in the virtual oven, I'm happy with the overall experience it provides.

Jun 13th, 2008 · Xbox 360 · read review

FileFactory Games / Gameworld Network (90 out of 100)

Ninja Gaiden 2 may not be for everyone, but regardless of that it is still one of the deepest and most rewarding pure action games to be found on this current generation of consoles.

Jun 26th, 2008 · Xbox 360 · read review

MS Xbox World (9 out of 10)

Ninja Gaiden 2 is a lot more accessible than its predecessors, although is still going to be a little too hard and vague in places for newcomers. The new easy difficulty is most certainly a welcome addition, because more experienced players can feel like god and treat it as a practice mode, and newer players will not die as often and get pad throwing levels of frustration. In my experience of playing, there's a distinct classy quality here, yet this is somewhat marred by some cheap moments and of course the non dynamic camera which hasn't evolved from previous games. That said, if you are looking for an action game that is fast paced and hugely rewarding to play, then look no further as Ninja Gaiden 2 certainly delivers a well rounded package. Ninja Gaiden 2 has improved from its predecessors and is a welcome addition to the Xbox 360 library of games.

Jun 7th, 2008 · Xbox 360 · read review

Video Games Daily (9 out of 10)

Had I personally been the guy to review Ninja Gaiden on Xbox 1 for us, I would have probably gone for a 10. Ninja Gaiden II is not perfect but it's one of the best action games since the original and an absolute joy to play. You owe it to yourself to play through both. Ninja Gaiden II, despite some relatively minor flaws and quibbles, is another heart-pounding masterpiece of a game from Team Ninja. It doesn't do much that's new, but it does improve and tweak in enough areas to be considered a proper success and a worthy sequel.

Jun 5th, 2008 · Xbox 360 · read review

GamingHeaven / DriverHeaven (90 out of 100)

As an overall game experience Ninja Gaiden II is a success and it is one of the most fun and enjoyable action games on the Xbox 360 to date. The combat has plenty of depth and remains an exciting experience right until the end which is no mean feat. This time around the game is certainly more focused on action combat which will be a positive feature for most people. That said, there is nothing new being brought to the table and those wanting a fresh new experience might be disappointed. Personally I thoroughly enjoyed the game and I feel fans of the original will feel the same, therefore it comes highly recommended.

May 30th, 2008 · Xbox 360 · read review

GameSpy ( )

If you're a fan of action games, then Ninja Gaiden II is an absolute must-have. The gameplay mechanics are phenomenally satisfying, and mastering Ryu's diverse weapon sets can easily entertain you through multiple play-throughs, giving this strictly single-player experience an extended life. You'll see yourself getting better over time, and the results are both gory and fulfilling. This is videogaming in the strictly old-school sense, an interactive experience that's light on storytelling and all about mastering all that's involved until you are skillful enough to defeat one of gaming's few truly capable challenges. Ninja Gaiden II is unrelenting and even unforgiving at times, but mastering the deadly art of Ninjitsu will leave you feeling very satisfied.

Jun 2nd, 2008 · Xbox 360 · read review

360 LIVE (8.9 out of 10)

Die wohl augenscheinlichste Neuerung ist der nach oben geschraubte Gewaltgrad. Die Körperteile fliegen nur so durch die Luft, selbst verstümmelte Gegner blasen noch zum verzweifelten Endangriff. Das Geschehen wirkt zwar comichaft überzeichnet, aber trotzdem extrem heftig. Schade drum, denn das überzeugende Gameplay hätte eine solche Zurschaustellung von Blut und Splatter eigentlich nicht nötig. Dennoch führt genau das nun dazu, dass die USK eine Jugendfreigabe verweigert und Microsoft auf einen offiziellen Deutschland-Release verzichtet. Jedem Fan des Vorgängers oder von schneller Schnetzel-Action sei daher dringend ein Besuch im deutschsprachigen Ausland oder beim Fachhändler des Vertrauens ans Herz gelegt. Der kann das Teil besorgen.

May 2008 · Xbox 360

Middle East Gamers (MEgamers) (8.9 out of 10)

Ninja Gaiden 2 is easily one of the best action games available only to Xbox owners and it should not be missed by fans of the previous games. Also the more approachable difficulty of this game has made it accessible to a bigger number of players who were not patient enough to play the game after getting killed for the 10th time in 1 minute!

Aug 1st, 2008 · Xbox 360 · read review

Atomic Gamer (89 out of 100)

Whether you’ve been slaying fiends for years or are just learning the power of Ninpo, it doesn’t matter; Ninja Gaiden 2 is a game all action fans should spin in their 360s. Be prepared for gore like you’ve never seen; blood flows like an over-active geyser and limbs fly like fleshy confetti. The difficulty is also nuts—you will toss your controller…several times. But, if these elements don’t dissuade you, don’t let our earlier complaints keep you away either. It doesn’t pack the knock-your-socks-off punch of the original, and some of the design feels dated, but despite these flaws, NG2 is still an amazing ride.

Jun 20th, 2008 · Xbox 360 · read review

JustPressPlay (8.9 out of 10)

Aside from the occasional cheap enemy, shoddy frame rate and a camera that actually became worse; the game is great. If you don’t mind firing off curses in rapid succession and find enjoyment in being humiliated by a game then this is a definite purchase.

Jun 13th, 2008 · Xbox 360 · read review

Planet Xbox 360 (8.8 out of 10)

In summation, Ninja Gaiden II has more action than a Dolemite flick. Its intensity is unrelenting, foes respectively stalwart, appearance is congenial, and it includes beautifully orchestrated macabre combat that would make Quentin Tarantino proud. With fourteen chapters, the length is more than adequate. According to in-game statistics, upon completion I logged over twenty hours in two and a half days. If I were to play using my regular gaming pace, it would have cost me a week, perhaps two to complete which for me is a relatively long time.

Jun 4th, 2008 · Xbox 360 · read review

GameZone (8.8 out of 10)

Aside from the aforementioned changes, most players will be convinced that this is another Ninja Gaiden born from the first game’s concept. That’s not a bad thing, at least not in this case. This series had room to grow within the current spectrum, as proven by the tweaks and additions made here. Enhancements, jaw-dropping battles and a near-seamless combat system are a part of Ninja Gaiden II. But if you were blown away by the Xbox original, you may only be very impressed with the sequel.

Jun 3rd, 2008 · Xbox 360 · read review

Gamers.at (88 out of 100)

Ninja Gaiden II bietet euch durchgehend (wenn leider viel zu lineare) blitzschnelle, fesselnde, blutige und über all dem wirklich stylische Action. Bloß leider wird der extreme Schwierigkeitsgrad all jene Gamer, die sich vom Gameplay nicht beeindrucken lassen, weit abschrecken, bis hin in die farbenfrohen Tiefen von Viva Pinata selbst - NGII wurde immerhin nicht ohne Grund mit einem 18+ von PEGI bedacht. Die Grafik ist nicht wirklich top, bleibt aber trotzdem beeindruckend. Die Story ist relativ nebensächlich, jedoch lasse ich mir gerne einreden, dass sie das auch sein darf, wenn die Action im Vordergrund steht. Denn als Actionspiel ist Ninja Gaiden II nicht zu übertreffen, dem verhassten Schwierigkeitsgrad zum Trotz. Holt es euch!

Jun 9th, 2008 · Xbox 360 · read review

Game Informer Magazine (8.75 out of 10)

If you are willing to put up with those few annoyances, Ninja Gaiden will show you a great time, but let's hope Team Ninja adds a few new flavors to the mix next time it stirs this pot.

Jul 2008 · Xbox 360

IGN (8.7 out of 10)

Ninja Gaiden II is easily one of the best action games on Xbox 360. The depth in combat is as exciting as ever and the new gameplay additions and changes only add to the experience. The game has been focused from its predecessor into a more pure action affair, for better or for worse, but the formula remains the same -- frustrating camera and all. It's challenging and rewarding. It looks great in motion and it feels great to know you're the one at the helm, directing this bloody dance. It has its foibles and doesn't feel as rich as the last Ninja Gaiden, but this sequel still offers up a great ride. Start doing thumb exercises now. Your poor fingers are going to be worn out by the time you get through this adrenaline pumping blast.

May 26th, 2008 · Xbox 360 · read review

Fragland.net (86 out of 100)

In the end Ninja Gaiden II is a success. It's not as ground shaking or surprising as what we've seen before, but it's still one of the best action games you can find, both for old-school ninjas as for new apprentices. The only reason why you shouldn't buy this game, is if you can't handle losing. Then again, who likes being called a wuss?

Jun 27th, 2008 · Xbox 360 · read review

GBase - The Gamer's Base (8.5 out of 10)

Ihr mögt schnelle Action und schreckt auch vor einem hohen Gewaltgrad nicht zurück? Ausserdem besitzt ihr viel Ausdauer und Nerven wie Drahtseile? Dann ist Ninja Gaiden 2 euer Spiel. Zwar ist der Schwierigkeitsgrad nicht mehr ganz so hoch wie jener des Vorgängers, trotzdem dürften sich Anfänger angesichts der knallharten Bosskämpfe und der ziemlich gewöhnungsbedürftigen Kameraführung doch etwas überfordert fühlen. Wer sich davon allerdings nicht abschrecken lässt, wird mit einer erstklassigen Grafik, einem treibenden Soundtrack und vielen spannend inszenierten Zwischensequenzen belohnt. Des Weiteren erwarten euch jede Menge abwechslungsreiche Gegner und Levels sowie eine Reihe spektakulärer Kombos und Waffen. Heisse Action ist also garantiert. Eine Genrerevolution ist Ninja Gaiden 2 allerdings dennoch nicht. Trotzdem sollten sich Fans und solche, die es werden wollen, das Spiel auf keinen Fall entgehen lassen.

Jun 8th, 2008 · Xbox 360 · read review

GamesCollection (8.5 out of 10)

Ninja Gaiden II ce lo saremmo aspettato diverso, forse con la stessa dose di "wow" che accompagnò il primo, black e il Sigma (nonostante sia in definitiva Ninja Gaiden 1). Alcune problematiche fanno pensare che il titolo sia stato sviluppato frettolosamente, senza badare più di tanto a stupidi errori che potevano trovare una soluzione con un attento lavoro. In primis su tutti, la telecamera: sarà la nostra peggior nemica, forzandoci a cambiare costantemente il punto di vista per poter vedere meglio l'azione. Oltre a qualche rallentamento occasionale, dovuto solo in presenza di assurde quantità di oggetti e nemici (a me è accaduto due volte in tutto il gioco, percui non calcolatelo neanche), il gioco si dimostra bello, ricco di azione e specialmente non fallisce nel consegnare l'ultimo baluardo videoludico per il ninja provetto.

Jun 8th, 2008 · Xbox 360 · read review

Kombo.com (8.5 out of 10)

Ninja Gaiden II doesn't provide the same kind of leap forward for the action genre that its predecessor did, but it's still one of the best action games on the Xbox 360. The combat is deep and stylish, and the sense of satisfaction gained from successfully making it through a particularly challenging enemy encounter is an addictive high. Good thing too, because physiological dependency is just about the only thing powerful enough to push new players through the initial learning curve and veteran players through some of the game's cheap shots. As a merely great follow-up to a modern classic, Ninja Gaiden II can't help but feel just a little disappointing.

Jun 3rd, 2008 · Xbox 360 · read review

V2.fi (85 out of 100)

Ninja Gaiden on edelleen peli heille, jotka tahtovat ohjelmoida kontrollit selkäytimeensä, optimoida keskushermostonsa toimimaan tuplanopeudella ja vajota nirvanaan suoriutuessaan mahdottomasta rutinoituneesti kuin balettitanssija Joutsenlammesta. Taiteensa voi nauhoittaa videoiksi, ja Liven tuloslistojen kovimpien kukkojen kivekset sen kuin kasvavat, kun huippusuoritukset kelpaavat yleiseenkin jakoon. Eunukkien puolestapuhujana kiitän Team Ninjaa vielä kerran siitä, ettei kovien pelaajien puheita uskovien tavistenkaan tarvitse itkeä, vaikka peli marketin kassalle eksyisikin. Myös ilokseen pelaaville Ninja Gaiden II on keskitasoa kovempi ja komeampi napinpaukutusspektaakkeli, joka tyydyttää sen tietyn nälän.

Jun 13th, 2008 · Xbox 360 · read review

games xtreme (8.5 out of 10)

With the AI quibbles, some graphical slowdowns and the annoying camera it feels as if the shiny new graphics, blood and dismemberment aren't quite enough to lift this game into the halls of greatness. It's one that you should at least play to sample the incredibly satisfying combat system, try out the new weapons and see where the story goes in the series. It lacks anything else to make it replayable however, and whilst it unlocks more difficulties when you finish it...most gamers probably never will due to the leapfrogging difficulty and rock hard boss fights in places.

Jul 30th, 2008 · Xbox 360 · read review

Game Informer Magazine (8.5 out of 10)

Despite some luster, the battles are still packed with excellent action and entertaining mechanics that everyone can enjoy, from the lowliest ninja dog to the most exalted master ninja.

Jul 2008 · Xbox 360

ActionTrip (8.5 out of 10)

In the end, it's a matter of opinion. Of course, you can always try out the demo first, which is available on Xbox Live (for US and Canadian gamers - and now in Europe, as well). As for me, I have thoroughly enjoyed it and I find it to be one of the most entertaining games I've ever played on the Xbox 360. Even casual gamers should try it. It makes a nice change from today's choice of generic shooters and action games.

Jun 10th, 2008 · Xbox 360 · read review

Gamezoom (84 out of 100)

Die ausgesprochen Hübsche Kulisse, die geschmeidigen Kampfhandlungen und der flüssige Ablauf sorgen für höchstes Spielvergnügen, was nur durch die verkrampfte Kameraführung in engen Passagen oder kleinen Räumen zu Frustmomenten führen kann. Action vom Feinsten!

Jun 27th, 2008 · Xbox 360 · read review

Cheat Code Central (4.2 out of 5)

Bottom line, Ninja Gaiden II is a very good action title that has a repetitive yet satisfying combat mechanic. It doesn't look or feel quite like the masterpiece Itagaki stated it was, but it will provide you with several hours of a bloody good time.

Jun 2008 · Xbox 360 · read review

Gameswelt (81 out of 100)

Irgendwie altmodisch, irgendwie frustrierend, irgendwie aber auch (trotzdem) verdammt spaßig und richtig gut aussehend. ’Ninja Gaiden 2’ erinnert in vielerlei Aspekten an den Vorgänger. Und genau wie dieser wird das neue Abenteuer von Ryu Hayabusa die Spielergemeinde entzweien. Während hartgesottene Actionfans das tolle Kampfsystem bejubeln, werfen andere User schon nach wenigen Levels das Drachenschwert ins Korn. An die Klasse des Vorgängers kommt das Sequel trotz größerer Move-Vielfalt allerdings nicht heran, was an einigen schwächelnden Leveldesign-Entscheidungen und vor allem an schlicht unfairen Stellen liegt. Wer sich vor vielen frustigen Momenten nicht fürchtet und ein richtiges Actionspiel der alten Schule sucht, sollte ’Ninja Gaiden 2’ aber auf jeden Fall eine Chance geben.

Jun 9th, 2008 · Xbox 360 · read review

Hooked Gamers (8 out of 10)

This game is perfect for players wanting to play something different from Devil May Cry or for those looking for something to play during the summer gaming lull that occurs from June to the end of August. Just don't expect this one to stay on your shelf for very long though.

Jun 10th, 2008 · Xbox 360 · read review

Deaf Gamers (8 out of 10)

Even with these issues to contend with however, Ninja Gaiden II is still an impressive game and when you're not being hindered by the game's issues, it's an exhilarating experience that hardly any other action game on the Xbox 360 could hope to match.

Oct 13th, 2008 · Xbox 360 · read review

Jeuxvideo.com (16 out of 20)

Gigantesque défouloir, immense pourvoyeur de tripaille, Ninja Gaiden II ne trahit en rien son illustre prédécesseur pas plus qu'il n'améliore la solide formule de la Team Ninja. Le jeu se fait tout simplement l'esclave du plus : plus nerveux, plus gore, plus épique aux dépends probablement, de la magie et de la lisibilité de l'action. Reste l'un des softs les plus sauvages de ces dernières années, à consommer sans la moindre modération, si toutefois vous en avez le courage.

Jun 6th, 2008 · Xbox 360 · read review

Gamer 2.0 (8 out of 10)

Ninja Gaiden II is a fun, brutal and violent game. The slick and stylish battles coupled with the insane boss battles make this one thrilling and exciting game to venture through. While there are a few instances of graphical glitches and repetitive objectives, Ninja Gaiden II still offers up enough action to make it one of the best games of the year, and a must-own title for any Xbox 360 owner.

Jun 11th, 2008 · Xbox 360 · read review

IGN Australia (8 out of 10)

Ninja Gaiden II is not quite the sequel we were hoping for. It’s very good, and it’s still built for those with an iron constitution (aka those prepared to replay sections over and over again until they get them right), but it’s also lazily designed and far cheaper than the original game. Still, it’s hard to deny the sheer visceral impact of the game – it’s a spectacle in the true sense, a glorious homage to bloodletting that at its best has an energy that you can’t get anywhere else. Sadly, it’s not always at its best.

Jun 7th, 2008 · Xbox 360 · read review

Extreme Gamer (8 out of 10)

Ninja Gaiden II has been adapted to the casual gamer market making Ninja Gaiden II more enjoyable across the board. For the hardcore Ninja fans, Ninja Gaiden II still offers up a strong challenge when the difficulty is increased. Ninja Gaiden II is faster, refined, and a bloody triumph for gamers who want non-stop action. Ninja Gaiden II might not reach the acclaim of its first remake from the old NES days, but it’s still a great game that you find enjoyment from. Ninja Gadien II is a definate buy for combat action fans.

Jun 10th, 2008 · Xbox 360 · read review

Factornews (8 out of 10)

Itagaki est un amoureux de la Xbox et il lui a rendu le plus bel hommage qu’on puisse faire en réalisant un beat’em all solide, prenant, très nerveux et techniquement impeccable. Complètement à l’opposé de la mentalité casual gaming, Ninja Gaiden 2 puise ses racines dans une époque révolue des jeux vidéo pleine de plaisirs simples où la dextérité est le seul allié du joueur.

Jul 16th, 2008 · Xbox 360 · read review

GamePro (US) ( )

You might feel a weighty sense of accomplishment for enduring these uneven trials, and you'll undoubtedly enjoy the rich combat system and gorgeous visuals along the way, but by the end you're more likely to breathe a sigh of relief and move on than venture back for an even less forgiving encore. Ninja Gaiden II is a slick and thrill packed action game but it's nowhere near the masterpiece that fans have been clamoring for. It's worth playing through and you'll have plenty of fun but finicky camera and uneven difficulty definitely cuts into the fun.

Jun 4th, 2008 · Xbox 360 · read review

Gamereactor (Finland) (8 out of 10)

Osa puutteista on samoja kuin jo ensimmäisessä osassa, mutta silti se tuntui täyteläisemmältä kuin Ninja Gaiden 2. Se johtuu ehkä siitä, ettei uudessa 20-tuntisessa toimintaseikkailussa itse asiassa seikkailla juuri lainkaan. Ensimmäisessä Ninja Gaidenissa sai suunnistaa kartan kanssa ympäriinsä, mutta jatko-osa koostuu vain nipusta suoraviivaisia kenttiä. Mantereelta toiselle hypitään sen suuremmitta selityksittä. Ympäristöissä on nyt enemmän vaihtelua, mutta peli kulminoituu voimakkaammin pelkän toiminnan ympärille. Pulmanratkonnalle tai tutkiskelulle ei ole annettu tilaa. Se on pois pelin rytmityksestä. Kun lopputekstit viimein rullaavat, syvä hengenveto on paikallaan; näin intensiivistä toimintapeliä ei ihan joka viikonloppu viitsisi koluta. Mutta ainakin kerran se on koettava.

May 26th, 2008 · Xbox 360 · read review

UOL Jogos ( )

"Ninja Gaiden II" traz exatamente aquilo que poderíamos esperar da continuação do excelente jogo para o Xbox original: ação visceral incrivelmente veloz e divertida, que se mantém sempre interessante devido a profusão de armas e golpes, cenários vistosos e batalhas contra chefes desafiantes. Ele pode não reinventar a série como o primeiro jogo fez, motivo deste não causar tanto impacto, mas mantém o nível de polidez e qualidade do original, apresentando uma experiência de jogo incrivelmante satisfatória - pelo menos para o público mais "hardcore".

Jun 6th, 2009 · Xbox 360 · read review

Gamereactor (Sweden) (8 out of 10)

Annars är mycket sig likt och för den som vill ha ett bra ninjaspel fyllt av alla ninjaklyschor som finns har hittat rätt. Men även om Ninja Gaiden II är ett riktigt grymt actionspel med följsam och smidig spelkontroll, lagom utmaning, coola bossfighter och riktigt högt tempo så kan jag inte låta bli att känna mig lite besviken. Ninja Gaiden var ett av mina absoluta favoritspel genom alla tider, medan Ninja Gaiden II "bara" är ett mycket bra spel. Mitt slutomdöme blir ändå en rejäl köprekommendation, men förvänta dig inget nytt mästerverk.

May 26th, 2008 · Xbox 360 · read review

Thunderbolt Games (8 out of 10)

Ninja Gaiden II does have its faults, but the combat is good enough to keep the game entertaining and engaging, providing one of the best action titles on the 360. It’s a fitting send off for a man who created the Ninja Gaiden series just because he wanted a violent game. He has certainly succeeded in his mission.

Jun 28th, 2008 · Xbox 360 · read review

Xbox World Australia (XWA) (79 out of 100)

A man of faith might say it lacks the first games soul and spirit; a man of science would simply say that the competition is just a lot tougher, and the sequel never really rises to the challenge. Nevertheless, Ninja Gaiden 2 is a solid, often enjoyable game marred by a clumsy camera and lack of drive. Fans of the original will probably love it, newcomers will probably divided, but either way it's a faithful sequel to one of the Xbox's favourite sons.

Jul 18th, 2008 · Xbox 360 · read review

XboxAchievements (79 out of 100)

Don’t get me wrong, Ninja Gaiden 2 is a title that I truly enjoyed playing. However, it was a frustrating ride with difficulty levels, luck and that damned camera not helping matters, but I would encourage everyone to experience the game, if only for a while. It does have its “just one more stage” periods and that is always the sign of something great. It will be the best game ever for Ninja Gaiden fans, for others, it will be collecting dust within a matter of weeks or in my case... Days.

Jun 10th, 2008 · Xbox 360 · read review

AusGamers (7.8 out of 10)

The adventures of Ryu Hayabusa will always be remembered and revered by fans of his work, but his latest shows many of his actions and presentations are now quite out-of-date. But if you like blood and reasonably simple stories to ingest, there’s plenty to swallow here, just don’t go expecting an Earth-shattering tale of the most epic proportions lest you leave your quarters utterly disappointed.

Jun 12th, 2008 · Xbox 360 · read review

JagoGame.com (7.7 out of 10)

Secara garis besar, game ini seru banged dan sangat adiktif. Dijamin bakal puas ngebantai ratusan musuh dengan sadis hingga pagi. Ninja Gaiden 2 menjadi game penutup franchise ini, soalnya Itagaki sudah meninggalkan Tecmo dan tidak berniat meneruskan game ini lagi. Kalau engga sampai menyicip game ini, beneran rugi deh. Gameplay yang adiktif, grafis indah, framerate yag stabil di 60 fps, Ninja Gaiden II. cocok banged menjadi game yang menghibur dan menghilangkan stress. Bacok sana-sini meski sadis banged, tapi sangat seru…

Jun 20th, 2008 · Xbox 360 · read review

Game Revolution (B)

With so many elements pushing you to switch down to the lower difficulty, it’s hard not taking the easier course. No bones about it, this game is incredibly hard, and it will frustrate you to no end. The thing is, the game’s at its best when it’s pushing you to play it on expert. Ninja Gaiden 2 on easy is a bland experience by comparison, and sucks the life out of the title: It’s a chili dog without the chili; a martini without vermouth. Sometimes making a game accessible to the masses strips all of its power away, and that just doesn’t suit Ryu’s tastes. Now pass the wasabi.

Jun 30th, 2008 · Xbox 360 · read review

Worth Playing (7.5 out of 10)

It says something about the original Ninja Gaiden that Ninja Gaiden II being a merely good action game is such a letdown. Ninja Gaiden II's graphics are fantastic and the action flawless, but this perfection is marred by a jerky, awkward and terrible camera and a difficulty level that's the product of the camera and enemy positioning, rather than an actual challenge. Unfortunately, Ninja Gaiden II is not as good a game as its predecessor, although it most certainly isn't a bad game. Even with all of its issues, it's still a fun and incredible-looking game, but the flaws weigh far heavier on Ninja Gaiden II than they did on Ryu's last journey, and as the franchise's swan song, it feels tragically lackluster. If you're willing to work past the problems, Ninja Gaiden II is a fine game that you'll have a lot of fun with, but no matter what Tomonobu Itagaki tries to claim, it isn't a masterpiece.

Jun 3rd, 2008 · Xbox 360 · read review

Game Positive (7.2 out of 10)

At the standard MSRP, Ninja Gaiden II feels like too little for the average gamer's money. While replay value is certainly there with regards to four levels of difficulty and the promise of future downloadable content, there haven't been many strides made toward evolving the series. By not making enough basic improvements to usher NGII onto the current generation of consoles, only hardcore fans will appreciate the "more of the same" approach, while average game buyers will likely trade it back in for something more rewarding. Still, flaws and all, Ninja Gaiden II provides nearly sixteen hours of unabated mayhem and bloodshed, so are there are definitely worse ways to spend your time and money.

Jun 19th, 2008 · Xbox 360 · read review

Peliplaneetta.net (71 out of 100)

Kaiken tämän vuodatuksen keskellä voi tuntua siltä, että Ninja Gaiden II olisi surkea peli. Se ei ole. Sitä kyllä pelaa ihan mielellään, haastetta piisaa ja kontrollit toimivat, mutta erinomaisen ykkösosan jälkeen odotukset olivat vain todella korkealla. Peli siis kärsii hieman samasta ongelmasta kuin Devil May Cry 4. Se yrittää uudistaa tuttua ja ihastuttanutta reseptiä tavalla, joka kääntyy loppujen lopuksi sitä itseään vastaan.

Jun 10th, 2008 · Xbox 360 · read review

Softpedia (7 out of 10)

Overall, with a story that’s unfit to support the gameplay and a camera control that’s ridiculously impossible to fully control, the entire gameplay experience rests entirely on the shoulders of the slashing and body slicing abilities of Ryu and the variety of hellaciously vicious monsters that relentlessly want to take you apart.

Mar 5th, 2011 · Xbox 360 · read review

Games TM (7 out of 10)

It doesn't have the same 'wow' factor that Ninja Gaiden provided when it arrived on the Xbox. Things haven't progressed enough and, it has to be said, Devil May Cry 4 is the better game.

Jun 2008 · Xbox 360

Eurogamer.net (UK) (7 out of 10)

None of which is to say that you shouldn't go out and buy the most balletic, explosive combat game we've seen in years - especially if you were a fan of the last one. Just don't expect it to be as good as its predecessor, allow for the fact that sometimes you're going to have to grit your teeth and accept that some bits just aren't fun - and always remember, if you have to throw a controller, your sofa's cushions make a better target than your TV.

May 26th, 2008 · Xbox 360 · read review

PlayDevil ( )

If you liked the original rebirth of Ninja Gaiden then this gory sequel, "Ninja Gaiden 2" shouldn't disappoint you, being so similar to its predecessor. The camera may have difficulties keeping up pace with the action, although the combat is so good that it's almost enough to forgive the game for its failings. I'm just not one to easily forgive and forget though. I'd tell the naughty camera to go into the corner and face the wall like the bad boy that it is, although it doesn't actually need any telling as it's already stuck in the damn corner.

Aug 13th, 2008 · Xbox 360 · read review

Gamekult (7 out of 10)

Ninja Gaiden II offre sans doute aujourd'hui le meilleur système de combat jamais mis au point pour un jeu d'action, une sorte de conflagration fatale où violence visuelle et finesse du gameplay s'entrechoquent sans relâche. Noyé sous les geysers de sang à chaque impact, le joueur ne sortira pas indemne d'une telle initiation au dépeçage virtuel. Et pas d'exclus cette fois, grâce à un nouveau dosage de la difficulté qui pense aussi aux joueurs moins habiles, sans pour autant faire de trop lourdes concessions. Dommage que l'armature du jeu ne soit pas à la hauteur d'une telle réussite. En sacrifiant le design des niveaux pour se focaliser presque uniquement sur les combats, Ninja Gaiden II oublie la cohérence et le sentiment d'exploration qui faisaient de lui un jeu d'action autrement plus ambitieux. Incapable de masquer sa linéarité flagrante, Ninja Gaiden II est enfin victime de nombreux errements techniques, certains inédits depuis le passage de la série à la 3D.

Jun 6th, 2008 · Xbox 360 · read review

Level (Sweden) (7 out of 10)

Trots att det bygger på en av tidernas bästa actionspelsmotorer lever Ninja Gaiden II aldrig helt upp till sin potential. Det är trist, eftersom Team Ninja verkligen ansträngt sig för att förbättra saker som plattformspartierna och inventorysystemet. Nu lär Ninja Gaiden II istället bli ihågkommet för att det fick Postal 2 att kännas som en My Little Pony-licens.

Jul 2008 · Xbox 360

1UP (B-)

But chances are, you're not playing it for the story. Or the platforming. Or any of that other jazz. It's just dismaying that these elements are simply brushed aside under the assumption that the combat can support the weight of the entire experience. When things click, it most certainly does: The Airship stage is easily the best slice of the entire game -- a perfectly paced, adrenaline-packed adventure through an environment that simply works (even the camera behaves). But NG2's an otherwise inconsistent package with almost as many frustrations as satisfactions. This is a game for Ninja Gaiden fans, who will play it on the toughest difficulties and upload their best playthrough videos online. For those purposes, it excels; for less devoted action-adventure fans, it's more of a violent curiosity than something to get invested in.

Jun 4th, 2008 · Xbox 360 · read review

EL33TONLINE ( )

While there is much to bemoan in Ninja Gaiden II, there is also quite a bit to love, and there is no doubt that many gamers will find much to enjoy here, provided they can get past the flaws. But there’s no getting around the fact that it’s a disappointing game, and what should have been a Game of the Year contender has turned out to be merely reasonably good, and occasionally bad. In a year that has already seen at least two superior action games in Devil May Cry 4 and the superb God of War: Chains of Olympus, Ninja Gaiden II just doesn’t quite make the cut. Gamers who have not yet indulged in the series are encouraged to rather check out Ninja Gaiden Black or Sigma instead. It’s everything that this game should’ve been.

Aug 20th, 2008 · Xbox 360 · read review

DarkZero (6 out of 10)

So, in the end the game is best described as an acceptable update in terms of presentation, but regretfully somewhat lacking in the new gameplay features the move to a new generation should demand. Regretfully, it is far from the spectacular game many hoped it would be when it was first announced. It grasps on too tightly to what came before, refusing to give gamers the freedom other games in this generation have offered. In addition, the game is just far too inconsistent to considered a classic as the Xbox version was, and you always seem to get the feeling it’s a game that could have offered so much more.

Jul 9th, 2008 · Xbox 360 · read review

Brutal Gamer (6 out of 10)

In my opinion this is one of the best Ninja Gaiden games to date, it’s a lot friendlier to the people playing the game, however don’t get me wrong the game is still a pain in the ass. The game easily could have been improved in different areas and some patch’s to fix the bugs in the game will definitely make it a lot better and more fun. If you are even slightly interested in this game I do highly suggest you at least rent the game, you will most likely love it you have to be patient with it though!

Aug 1st, 2008 · Xbox 360 · read review

Immoral Gamers (5 out of 10)

Some people will like NG2, claiming that those who can meet the challenge it provides will already know who they are: they get a letter down the chimney, or something. For everyone else, have a barbecue and listen to the noise that ice cubes make when you swirl a gin and tonic in the glass; watch the sun filter through the leaves of a tree; read a book.

Dec 23rd, 2008 · Xbox 360 · read review

GamesAreFun.com (GAF) (5 out of 10)

By now, some readers may be saying some variation of, "But you should just know about the unpredictable attacks! You should've just seen them coming!" or "Just kill all thirty of those enemies in the two seconds before they hit you with their completely unblockable and dominating attacks!" etc. Cycle those lines around in your head for a moment. Is there a fundamental flaw to these statements? If you answered no, then go out and buy Ninja Gaiden II immediately. If you answered yes, then avoid this game like the plague.

Aug 24th, 2008 · Xbox 360 · read review

Player Reviews

Every cliche under the sun.
by ResidentHazard (3564)

The Good
Ahh Team Ninja. Purveyors of bouncy boobs, ridiculously dressed women, and the worst clichés in all of gaming. After spending ample time with Ninja Gaiden II, I’ve come to realize that I should never have been surprised how badly Metroid: Other M turned out. But, before that…

There are a few, good things that can be said of Ninja Gaiden II. Graphically, of course, the game is quite impressive, even as an early Xbox 360 title. Granted, Ninja Gaiden Black was already pretty fancy on the original Xbox. Largely what we have here isn’t so much immense detail as it is high numbers and massive enemies, and ample blood splatter.

Like the previous title, it’s largely a hack-n-slash affair that can often be fun. Particularly when using a weapon that slices and dices enemies with little effort, like the giant sickle. For a while, the combat is actually pretty satisfying—arguably the most satisfying part of this game. Running through stages and chopping cookie-cutter enemies to bloody bits. Just be prepared to be mashing the X button a lot. Like, all the time. When an enemy is clearly crippled (missing a limb), that’s when you can do a finisher simply by approaching and pressing the Y button. Theoretically, this earns more yellow orbs (which act as currency) for upgrading Ryu.

All weapons are upgradable, which is nice. The life bar and magic (Ninpo) can be upgraded as well, though, to be frank, the upgrades to the life bar are usually insultingly small. Bosses are enormous, colorful, and impressive. Some are outstanding—at least in their looks.

The acrobatic moves typically work quite well. I was thankful that there was never really a moment in the game that forced ridiculous amounts of acrobatic nonsense or hefty platforming elements. The reason I’m glad this isn’t over-used? Because while they work fairly well, over large areas, the moves can be a chore to do well consistently. Such as wall running while, while jumping back and forth between opposing walls to maintain momentum. This occurred only about two times in the game, and thankfully they were for bonus collectable crap not requirements to get through the game.


The Bad
I consider myself pretty knowledgeable on video games. I’ve been at this hobby almost non-stop for 20 years. So you could, at any time, ask me to list video game clichés and I would happily hold a conversation with you on the subject (hey it’s fun). Now, thanks to Ninja Gaiden II, I don’t need to list off video game clichés. I can just point to this game. It has pretty much all of ‘em. In spades.

Ninjas fighting robots? Check.

Ninjas fighting outdoors in daylight? Check.

Unbelievable levels of violence? Check.

Women dressed illogically, or inappropriately? Check.

Undead creatures? Check.

Illogical boss battles? Check.

Red exploding barrels? Check.

Reused boss characters? Check.

Nonsensical plotline? Check.

Ninja characters fighting high-tech futuristic enemies with ancient, inappropriate weapons? Check.

Hammy acting and storytelling? Check.

Damsel-in-distress plotline? Check.

Ninjas running across the surface of water? Check.

Game features every possible environmental setting imaginable? Check.

I could go on like this. It’s pathetic. It’s sad. Man, had I finished this before I played Metroid: Other M, I probably wouldn’t have been surprised how badly that game turned out. I guess it’s just Team Ninja’s way to craft half-assed games riddled with time-worn gaming clichés. There really is no part of this game that isn’t this way.

It’s hard to pinpoint these issues, and listing them all would be just… exhausting. All those clichés are in fact in this game. The story is next to impossible to follow, and near as I can figure, it’s mostly about Ryu taking down… some demonic force that’s trying to take over the world or something or other. Eventually, I stopped caring. I gotta be honest, I didn’t care why anything was happening. For some reason, the evil force/nation/thing Ryu Hyabusa is fighting has an interest by the CIA (then again, what evil force isn’t the CIA interested in?) and occasionally a “partner” of sorts shows up routinely to add… little… to the story. Basically, she shows up in scripted cinematics to lend a hand to various situations. She’s, of course, dressed like a stripper—but one with no real self-respect. Huge boobs, all jiggle, patently absurd. No wonder Samus didn’t get any respect as a woman in Other M, having a mature view on women clearly isn’t part of the Team Ninja game design philosophy. Of course, I’m sure we could have all suspected that given the nature of the Dead or Alive games. Oh, by the way, the damsel in distress? As the only female protagonist in the game, I’m sure we all see where this is going… There are a couple moments where it would make sense to have her participate in the gameplay activities (such as a boss battle), mainly because she starts out shooting at the boss, then is mysteriously absent during the actual battle. Continuity much?

Anyway… I found the bulk of this game to be a mish-mash of stuff that did and didn’t work. The clichéd stuff ruins any possible respect this game could have. The gameplay, while occasionally fun during the hacking and slashing, winds down to often being dull and repetitive. Mash the X button over and over and over again. Occasionally mash Y. Most bosses are faced just mashing the Y button. Well, that’s only half of it. An unimaginable amount of the gameplay is based around blind luck. Hack, slash, hack, slash—sometimes you live. Hack, slash, hack, slash—sometimes you die. Believe it or not, there’s an Achievement in this game for continuing 100 times. As I learned, that’s 100 times in one sitting, possibly one level. Because I know I continued the game well more than that. At least 10 times per level, at least 10 per many of the bosses. So not only is the gameplay shallow and repetitive, it’s also insanely difficult.

I’m well aware that the Ninja Gaiden games have a penchant for challenging gameplay. The problem here is that it doesn’t feel like challenging gameplay as much as it is challenging on the patience of the player. The game simply throws around so many enemies and attacks and crap all at once so to overwhelm the player. And there are, what, two difficulties higher than the normal setting that I used? This game can actually be harder?? It’s already pretty brutal.

Let me give you some examples of how insane this game can be. One stage opens with several enemies armed with infinite-capacity rocket launchers that fire off batteries of about 10 rockets—with pinpoint accuracy—from a city block away. Cliché exploding barrels reside near some of these guys, but good luck getting an arrow to find these marks before a dozen rockets hit you in the face. It was at this point that I stopped and stared at the screen and muttered aloud “this crap isn’t even fun.” At one point (at least), there were three of these guys in the area at once which created an uninterrupted volley of constant rocket attacks and explosions bouncing off my ass. I did eventually get through this, but I couldn’t tell if I used skills or just got plain lucky. It’s not uncommon in this game for a regular run-of-the-mill enemy to drive down Ryu’s health bar almost completely with a single combo attack.

Boss encounters are among the worst I’ve seen this side of the Conan game. Whereas in that title, the bosses were overly complicated, over-long, bogged down with quicktime events, and generally breaking standard gameplay rules (beginning attacks in the middle of a combo, attacking through blocking), this one is all about bosses the size of skyscrapers moving as fast as mosquitos. I was literally killed by several bosses in less time than the game took to load the stage. Most of them were fought the exact same way: Constant dodging, mashing the Y button, and in the end, I usually had used up all my health regenerative items. Since that’s how most bosses are fought, imagine the confusion when I faced one that required me to tap the B button to fire arrows (aimed automatically, not manually) to the boss’s miniscule weak spot. Yeah, I broke down and referenced an online guide for that. How anyone figured that out on their own is beyond me.

This game uses the old “reuse the bosses” technique several times. One is fought, I kid you not, four times. I’ll hand it to Team Ninja, they came up with some massive, unique, and often creative boss designs. So why they still felt the need to reuse roughly half of them is beyond me. Two of the bosses have two Achievements each attributed to defeating them. The final stage is little more than a protracted series of near endless boss battles. I normally love boss battles. I hated almost all of these. Here’s the other reason I didn’t think of the auto-aim shot with the bow against one of the bosses: Most are not fought in such manners. As I said, dodge, mash Y, heal, heal, heal. One gigantic turtle-like boss (shoots lava, of course) was attacked mostly by me swinging the sickle at one of its hind feet. So… anywhere was vulnerable. Either every boss should be button-mashed, or every boss should require some tact. Making most of them button-mash battles and a couple requiring tact and weak spots? Ugh.

Boss battles and combat take another dark turn with the often cumbersome camera. I spent ample time thumbing the right stick attempting right the camera at key moments in the game. And while Ryu may control fairly smoothly on land, he's an absolute nightmare to control in water. Sure, you can run across the top of it like some Ninja-Jesus, but that doesn't always control all that well either. Regular swimming underwater is nightmarish, and it took me forever before I realized I could invert some of the controls so swimming felt somewhat more "natural." Underwater combat is just a headache. By the way--there is a boss battle done while having to fight this crappy underwater control.

While there are several weapons, and all are upgradeable, they’re also largely interchangeable. I felt as though the sickle was the best overall weapon, and I used it for practically everything once I picked it up. But here’s the thing: There are Achievements for completing the game—start to finish apparently—using only one weapon the entire time. This means all the weapons are, essentially, the same thing. Why have different weapons if there’s no real variety to their use? But yeah, if you read that carefully—this game pretty much demands that you play through it at least six times to pick up all the Achievements. Who the hell has the time or patience to play this game that much?



The Bottom Line
So, Team Ninja… I think they embody all the things this industry is desperately trying to out-grow. I mean, let’s face it. The heavy-handed nonsensical anime storylines are fine for kids. But like many gamers, I’m an adult and I’ve grown up. I want stories I can follow, with an element of believability, and characters with more dimensions than one. I have nothing against Ninjas. Ninjas are awesome. I have at least three games on the DS either pertaining to ninjas or with “ninja” in the title. But the video game industry has been growing steadily for over 30 years. We shouldn’t still be clinging to the clichés that were born in the 80’s. It’s shameful enough to see how they dressed the female protagonist, but for her to also be written as shallow as she is, that’s just unfortunate.

Don’t get me wrong, I love sexy women in all facets of life. The problem is that, here, that’s all they are. Women can dress sexy without looking like illogical strippers. And women can be sexy when they talk and through their behavior. Is it really that hard to write that into a character in a video game? Granted, it must be for Team Ninja, since they did the same half-assed crap in Metroid: Other M, where they took a once-strong female protagonist and whittled her down to a defenseless little girl almost entirely dependent on strong male stereotypes for everything.

I guess, in the end, the things I’m most disappointed with in Ninja Gaiden II are how overall shallow and unevolved it is coupled with some insane gameplay that often isn’t even fun. The rocket barrage guys were one thing. Giant robots that cruise in and attack with endless machine gunning, unending crowds of cookie-cutter enemies that barely allow for a second to get back on your feet. There are times this game seems intent on testing the patience of the player rather than delivering a quality game experience. Frustrating boss encounters, nonsense story, time-worn clichés throughout. Lengthy and occasionally awkward loading times.

I played through this game, and when it was over, I was relieved because my goal was to finish the game, get at least half of the 70 Achievements (got 36), and to put it back on my shelf so I could move on. I didn’t feel like I had fun with it. I was frustrated, annoyed, and constantly rolling my eyes. While it’s a generally solid game, it’s still about fifteen years past its expiration date.

Feb 8th, 2011 · Xbox 360

Plus 13 player ratings without reviews

Contributors to this Entry

Critic reviews added by Cantillon, Solid Flamingo, vedder, Wizo, Patrick Bregger, Jeanne, Yearman, Big John WV, jaXen, Alsy, Picard, Cavalary, Tim Janssen, vicrabb, chirinea, lights out party, CalaisianMindthief, Joakim Kihlman, John Cheney.