SoulCalibur

[ All ] [ Android ] [ Arcade ] [ Dreamcast ] [ iPad ] [ iPhone ] [ Xbox 360 ] [ Xbox One ]

Critic Reviews 96% add missing review

Retroage (10 out of 10)

Pod względem muzycznym Namco postawiło na klimaty kojarzące mi się z azjatyckim kinem przygodowym. O dziwo sprawdza się to bardzo dobrze – skutecznie zagrzewa do walki i nie utrudnia skupienia się gdy na ekranie robi się gorąco. Poza tym o wiele lepiej podkreśla unikalny klimat gry niż, jak to zwykle w klepkach bywa, niezbyt wymyślne techno w najogólniejszym znaczeniu tego słowa. Dodatkowo mamy możliwość wybrania języka w jakim mówią postacie ustawiając oryginalny japoński lub angielski. Co zaskakujące obydwa są bardzo dobre i pozwalają się wczuć w klimat walk na miecze, kije i topory. Co tu dużo gadać, Soul Calibur jest grą wybitną, dającą dużo satysfakcji i mile łechczącej oczy i uszy gracza. Masz Dreamcasta i nie masz Soul Calibur? To na co jeszcze czekasz?

Mar 2nd, 2013 · Dreamcast · read review

The Video Game Critic (A)

One of the system's original "launch" titles, this one-on-one fighter is regarded by many to be the greatest Dreamcast game of all time. It's difficult to argue. Although technically a sequel to the excellent Soul Blade (Playstation, 1998), Soul Calibur's level of graphic detail, fluid animation, and rich gameplay eclipsed all that came before it. It's an absolute work of art, and to this day I'm still blown away by its magnificent backdrops and responsive controls.

Jan 18th, 2006 · Dreamcast · read review

Adrenaline Vault, The (AVault) ( )

One common fallacy regarding video game reviewers is that we never actually have to pay for any of the titles we review. While this is often true, there are certain exceptions. For me, Soul Calibur was one of these. I bought it along with my Dreamcast and I can honestly say that I don’t think I’ve ever gotten as much gameplay for $50 before. This title would be worth buying at twice that, and I can’t think of a single reason why anyone would get a Dreamcast without picking up Soul Calibur to go along with it.

Oct 4th, 1999 · Dreamcast · read review

Spel för Alla (10 out of 10)

Jag hatar att säga det, men Tekken 3 har förlorat sin position som världens bästa fighterspel. Faktum är att det är slaget med hästlängder. Dreamcasts senaste titel i genren, Soul Calibur, är störst, bäst och starkast på alla fronter. Det är bara att inse fakta.

Feb 2000 · Dreamcast

All Game Guide ( )

The Museum Mode includes the Battle Theater which enables you to view CPU battles. Purchasing these beautiful Art Cards lets you save them to the VMU so you can add to your collection. With all these fantastic features and options that are enhanced by a visual presentation that gives you a sugar tooth, what game player -- fighting fan or not --wouldn't want to get their hands on this baby? Soul Calibur has it all.

2002 · Dreamcast · read review

Thunderbolt Games (10 out of 10)

Since the Tekken series was slowly growing bit stale in my opinion, and Virtua Fighter 4 frustrated me to the point of cursing like a sailor, my search for the new ultimate fighting game began. Little did I know that a relatively old Dreamcast game named Soul Calibur could be one of the most addictive and exciting fighting games ever made. The gaming gods (or maybe it was just Namco) have blessed us with the closest game to perfection since The Punisher on the arcade (play it if you haven’t already).

Dec 1st, 2004 · Dreamcast · read review

GameSpot (10 out of 10)

While it may seem bandwagon-esque to say this game is worthy of a perfect score, it really isn't much of a stretch to say it is. Think state of the art. Absolutely brilliant in all aspects, as far as games of this type go, Soul Calibur is the undisputed king of the hill. It is essential in any gamer's collection.

Aug 9th, 1999 · Dreamcast · read review

IGN (10 out of 10)

Few games come to mind as "required purchases," games that are so good that they have to be a part of your lineup. The original Soul Edge was such a game, and now Soul Calibur has earned a place alongside its brother. It may or may not be the most complicated fighting game out there - I'm not bold enough to make such a statement. I am bold enough, though, to state that I've never had so much fun with a fighting game than I had when playing Soul Calibur.

Sep 20th, 1999 · Dreamcast · read review

Video Games (4 out of 4)

Fazit: Soul Calibur ist ein Meisterwerk erster Güte und ein Meilenstein des Genres, das sich niemand entgehen lassen sollte. Lasset uns in diesem Sinne für weitere Namco-Games auf dem DC beten!

Sep 1999 · Dreamcast

Game Vortex (100 out of 100)

Close your eyes. Now try to imagine a game in which the characters react as quickly as you can think of a move. Now open your eyes, damn it, and go buy Soul Calibur and a Dreamcast.

2000 · Dreamcast · read review

GamePro (US) (5 out of 5)

What are you waiting for? Sonic can wait, TrickStyle will still be pulling tricks next week, and NFL 2K has a millenium ahead of it. There's no excuse for you not to be enjoying the best fighting game this year, and possibly the best ever. Power Stone and the laughable Mortal Kombat Gold can't touch the soul of this fighter, but you can.

Nov 24th, 2000 · Dreamcast · read review

Sega Collectors Guild (100 out of 100)

Overall, Soul Calibur is the greatest 3D fighting game ever made (if not ever, than definitely on the Dreamcast). Namco did everything right with this game and anyone who tries to pick it apart and undermine its greatness is an ignorant fool. Once in awhile a game comes along that is just so good that it makes you remember why you got involved in videogames in the first place---because they're fun. And Soul Calibur is one of those games; a must-buy masterpiece that anyone who considers his or herself a gamer needs to own and experience.

May 23rd, 2003 · Dreamcast · read review

Meristation (10 out of 10)

Mediante este artículo Meristation se enorgullece de presentar una obra maestra, una maravilla lúdica, una experiencia inolvidable. Intentaremos converceros para que os hagais con él y sintais todo su poder en vuestras propias manos, pues será la única forma de que os deis cuenta de la magnitud de SoulCalibur. Los videojuegos han muerto. Vivan los videojuegos.

Oct 25th, 1999 · Dreamcast · read review

GamesFirst! ( )

Soul Calibur is a must have for the die hard fighting fanatics and those with a moderate interest alike. If you haven’t seen it yet, then you haven’t seen what the Dreamcast is capable of. Considering this is a first generation title, it has my mouth watering for things to come. Does it surpass Tekken 3? Is the king really dead? Well he sure looks dead, but I think there’s still some life left in the old chap. One thing is for certain though, when it comes to hardcore fighting games, I’ve seen the face of the future and it still looks like Namco.

Nov 25th, 1999 · Dreamcast · read review

Aftonbladet ( )

Spelet har Namcos lätthanterliga fightingspelkontroll, häftiga karaktärer och Dreamcasts oerhört mjuka och vackra grafik. En lyckad kombination - det är ju som att ha ett eget arkadspel hemma! De ursnygga animationerna, rörelserna, bakgrunderna och musiken gör att man bara inte vill sluta spela. Och eftersom Soul Calibur är väldigt lätt att hantera kan faktiskt alla lira på samma vilkor - riktiga fightingfreaks såväl som ovana spelare.

Dec 13th, 1999 · Dreamcast

Revista Oficial Dreamcast (10 out of 10)

Es así de claro, olvídate de todo lo que has conocido antes. Soul Calibur se eleva sobre cualquier título similar que se haya programado jamas para ninguna consola. Sin duda, el mejor juego de Dreamcast hasta la fecha.

Jan 2000 · Dreamcast · read review

Dreamcast. Das offizielle Magazin ( )

Was soll man zu Soul Calibur sonst noch sagen? Mit Abstand das beste Spiel für Dreamcast. Mit weitem Abstand. Ungefähr so weit von den anderen entfernt wie Krieg der Sterne von allen anderen Science-Fiction Abenteuern. Und hier wird man nicht von krötenartigen Außerirdischen genervt, sondern höchstens mal von einem Echsenmann. Kaufen! Kaufen! Kaufen!

Nov 1999 · Dreamcast

Gaming Age (A)

It should go without saying that Soul Calibur is worth the purchase. It is a finely tuned package that every gamer must experience at least once. Sure there might be a couple of complaints here and there, but as the old saying goes, nothing's perfect. Soul Calibur is the closest thing that we've seen to perfection, and as such, it deserves the kind of hype and attention that it's getting. The more relevant question, however, is whether or not Soul Calibur makes the Dreamcast worth the purchase. Whether you're a fighting game fanatic or not, the answer is a thunderous yes. Soul Calibur is the Dreamcast's first true system seller. Don't miss out on it.

Aug 11th, 1999 · Dreamcast · read review

Gaming Target (10 out of 10)

Soul Calibur is still one of the best reasons to own a Dreamcast today. Even after almost two years no fighter has yet to match the overall package, mainly it’s the profusion of gameplay, graphics and features that just can’t be touched. If you own a Dreamcast you simply must own Soul Calibur, like the advertisement stated, the Dreamcast is the heart and Soul Calibur is its soul.

Aug 13th, 2001 · Dreamcast · read review

Armchair Empire, The (10 out of 10)

Now that Soul Calibur has been released it will, in all likely-hood, become the template by which all 3D fighters are compared. From the drop-dead gorgeous graphics to the tremendous depth in gameplay, this is the most amazing fighting game ever released.

Sep 1st, 2000 · Dreamcast · read review

The Game Hoard (7 out of 7)

Soulcalibur constructs a clear-cut set of interconnected fighting options, the direction of your swing and options for getting past an opponent’s guard all universal on some level but granted greater strategic depth based on the diverse cast’s specific forms of the fundamentals. Different attacking styles can exploit it in different ways without circumventing its core rules making it easy to understand why you took a hit and consider counters to it the next time it crops up. This weapon-based fighter set in the Middle Ages isn’t just sound when it comes to its fighting system and embrace of a heightened version of its period style but also provides a good amount of single player content to work through, Mission Battle shining with its subversion of the usual battle format while options like Arcade and Survival give you quicker clear-cut ways of testing your skills with a character.

Apr 29th, 2022 · Dreamcast · read review

Computer and Video Games (CVG) ( )

We're sure that more varied and original titles will arrive on Dreamcast before long, but they won't take away from the marvel of Soul Calibur. It's one of those games people will remember as defining the Dreamcast as a cool piece of kit. If you miss this you're missing a couple of screws.

Nov 1999 · Dreamcast · read review

The Next Level (USA) (A+)

The verdict on Soul Calibur? You won't find any argument here; it's totally perfect. For someone who's been an ethusiast of the game for over 11 months, how can I not give it a perfect score? After all the hype it's been through, after all the praises it's earned, how can someone not like this game? It's simple, you can't hate this game from a gameplay perspective, because there's something for everyone in this game, something for a newbie, a fighting vet, an early adopter to the Dreamcast... it's all here in one small little disc. For those of whom who haven't played Soul Calibur yet, I urge you to play it soon; at the arcades, on a Dreamcast, whatever, you need Soul Calibur, and it knows it.

Sep 15th, 1999 · Dreamcast · read review

Defunct Games (99 out of 100)

There is an in depth, well crafted one player game that trains, tests your skills, and also entertains as a game in and of itself. And the desire to continue playing until you have everything is intense like a drug. I'm afraid I have nothing bad to say here.

Feb 5th, 2005 · Dreamcast · read review

SegaFan.com (9.9 out of 10)

Estamos ante un verdadera obra de arte en videojuegos y no me canso de decir lo increíble que es, el mejor juego de lucha hasta el momento (a ver que tal se portan VF4, T4 y Soul Calibur 2.) Una joya que ha hecho a Dreamcast aún mas especial de lo que ya en sí es. Por eso según mi opinión merece el calificativo de OBRA MAESTRA.

Dec 16th, 2001 · Dreamcast · read review

Power Unlimited (9.9 out of 10)

Wie zoekt naar een overtuigende reden om een Dreamcast aan te schaffen, geef ik twee woordjes: Soul Calibur. Beter dan dit zul je fighters voorlopig niet krijgen, geloof mij maar. Fok, ik kna wel janken joh... van geluk dan hè!

Feb 2000 · Dreamcast

Ultra Console Game: Practical Techniques For Games (UCG) (29.5 out of 30)

NAMCO第一个在DC上推出的游戏又一次证明了自身的实力, 虽然是移植自街机的作品, 不过游戏的各个方面都比原版出色得多, 可以称得上是目前家用机顶尖之作, 画面极出色, 而且加入了新人物和有多重故事性的特殊战斗形式, 真是让人兴奋。

Oct 10th, 1999 · Dreamcast · read review

Shin Force (9.8 out of 10)

Ivy is the babe, man! All ten immediately selectable characters have varied moves, animation and costumes. Choose from Arcade, Vs. Battle, Team Battle (up to 8 vs. 8 -- one at a time), Time Attack, Survival, Museum (watch), Practice, and Mission Battle modes! In the Mission Battle mode you can unlock extras like artwork by completing its levels. All that plus hidden characters and great Versus action and you have the second best fighter on the Uberconsole (IMO)...

Aug 9th, 1999 · Dreamcast · read review

CyberGames (9.7 out of 10)

A fantastic weapons-based fighter eclipsed only by it's predecessor, and only slightly so. Stunning graphics and great features add much replay value.

Sep 29th, 1999 · Dreamcast

neXGam (9.6 out of 10)

Namco hat es tatsächlich geschafft, mit Soul Calibur ein MUST-HAVE für die Dreamcast auf die Beine zu stellen. Die überragende und für Dreamcast-Verhältnisse ungeschlagene Grafik machen Lust auf mehr. Dazu kommt ein durchdachtes Gameplay, mit dem sich Buttonsmasher und Profizocker gleichermaßen anfreunden können... KAUFEN!!!

Dec 27th, 2009 · Dreamcast · read review

Gamezone (Germany) (9.5 out of 10)

Namco hat mit diesem Spiel echte Maßsäbe gesetzt. Gerade die berühmte japanische Liebe zum Detail ist in diesem Spiel bei jeder Gelegenheit bemerkbar. Hier hat man sich wirklich viel Zeit bei der Entwicklung gelassen und alles bis zuletzt abgerundet. Dieses Spiel ist alleine schon ein Kaufgrund für das Dreamcast und darf natürlich in keiner gut sortierten Spielesammlung fehlen!

Apr 27th, 2001 · Dreamcast · read review

Digital Press - Classic Video Games (9.5 out of 10)

With flawless gameplay mechanics, characters packed with polygons, nearly endless replay value, and a soundtrack like no other, Soul Calibur is a game not to be missed. With a game like this, it baffles the mind as to why this console is now defunct. It's really impossible to ask much more from any game, especially when it was one of the first games for the console. If you own the console, you must own this game, no questions asked.

Jun 18th, 2005 · Dreamcast · read review

Jeuxvideo.com (19 out of 20)

TA DAAAAA !!!! Soul Calibur est LE MEILLEUR JEU DE COMBAT DE TOUS LES TEMPS réalisé à ce jour ! Et je vois d'ici les grincheux qui trouveront quelque chose à redire à tel ou tel bonhomme, ou à tel ou tel aspect... Et bien qu'ils se plaignent si ça les amuse ! En attendant, nous, on va s'allumer la console et y jouer jour et nuit, et basta. Ce jeu est un chef-d'oeuvre, point à la ligne.

Nov 26th, 1999 · Dreamcast · read review

Game Freaks 365 (9.5 out of 10)

SC doesn’t leave you with much replay value, aside from unlocking new characters. Mastering moves will take quite some time and is, depending on how much of a fighter fan you are, worth your time. Sorry for writing such a short review, but hopefully this will give you an idea of how good Soul Calibur II will be (before I review it).

2000 · Dreamcast · read review

Planet Dreamcast (9.5 out of 10)

Soul Calibur has a lot to love. The graphics, particularly the character models and animation, are stunning. The fighting is both strategic and intense, fun to watch and fun to play. Multiple game modes, including an extensive single-player campaign, offer a lot of variety not normally found in fighting games. We would've liked to see more interaction in the arenas, but other than that this was a superb example of the Dreamcast at its best. A must-have title!

Sep 17th, 1999 · Dreamcast · read review

Mega Fun (94 out of 100)

Noch nie habe ich eine dermaßen detailreiche und zugleich flüssige Grafik gesehen wie in diesem Beat ‘emUp. Störten mich früher noch Prügler mit Waffen, ist mir das jetzt egal! Dieses Spiel muss man einfach lieben. 19 Kämpfer, unzählige Stages, Modi und Einstellmöglichkeiten werden euch fast ewig motivieren. Und dann der Mission-Modus. Wer einmal angefangen hat, der möchte am liebsten nicht wieder aufhören. Auch wenn die ein oder anderen Aufgabe dermaßen schwer ist, dass man kurz davor steht, das Pad in die Ecke zu brennen, wandert der Finger doch wieder auf den Start-Button. Wenn das kein deutliches Zeichen für Qualität ist, dann weiß ich auch nicht mehr. Jedem Freak, der bislang dem Dreamcast skeptisch gegenüberstand, gebe ich den gut gemeinten Rat, in den Laden zu gehen, sich Soul Calibur anzusehen und am besten gleich Spiel und Konsole mitzunehmen.

Sep 1999 · Dreamcast

Player One (94 out of 100)

Tous les fans de beat'em up (et même les non-initiés) doivent posséder ce petit bijou. Superbe, spectaculaire et enivrant.

Dec 1999 · Dreamcast · read review

Super Play (Sweden) (94 out of 100)

Lägger man därtill alla hemligheter som vi ännu inte har upptäckt trots ett par veckors hårdspelande och vad som kan döljas på Internet står det klart att Soul Calibur är ett spel som kommer att leva länge.

Nov 1999 · Dreamcast

DreamStation.cc (9.2 out of 10)

Incredible! Go buy this game! A must have! The graphics, sound, gameplay, control, are all fabulous. You couldn't ask for a better fighting game. Well, maybe Dead or Alive 2 will beat it but for now this is the best fighting game for a home system out on the market. Actually, it might be the best fighting game out period. Soul Calibur also has a story mode that makes the game have great replay value. Not only do you get to beat the game to get extra characters you also get to play different missions that when completed give you more extra features. Some of the extra features are pictures, endings, extra costumes, new levels, and more. I highly recommend this game to everyone. It is a must have game.

2000 · Dreamcast · read review

Game Revolution (A-)

Still, I really have to search for things to complain about… Hands down, Soul Calibur is the best fighting game I have ever played, even though most of the improvements over Soul Blade are purely in the graphics. It has tried and true characters, great combat and absolutely brilliant graphics. However, I have to award at least half of the graphical credit to the new Dreamcast system. Do you have one yet? It's worth buying for Soul Calibur alone.

Sep 1st, 1999 · Dreamcast · read review

TotalVideoGames (TVG) (9 out of 10)

This really is a staggering game with so much effort obviously put in to it, you just have to be impressed. This really is the ultimate fighting game. It is easy to get into and very rewarding when you put the time in. The characters are very diverse and there is a favorite in there for everyone. I canât get over this game. It doesnât have the complexity and pure skillfulness of VF3, but did you expect it to? But what it does have is an all-out action packed experience that will amaze everyone, it is without a doubt the ultimate two-player experience. As for is it the best fighting game ever, well yes and no but more yes than no. You see if you like depth and precision then you will probably still go back to VF3, but if you like everything else then Soul Calibur is for you. It will be a long time before a game amazes me like this again. Well not a long time, just until Shenmue is releasedâ¦

Aug 13th, 2001 · Dreamcast · read review

Game Critics (9 out of 10)

So much like my first day of class in a new school, I had some initial fears when first playing Soul Calibur. It wasn't what I had originally hoped for (like realizing college isn't just one long party) and I was like a new freshman longing for his yesteryears as a lower-school senior (back when I could muster up one combo chain after another in Tekken 2, resulting in some serious cans of whup-ass). Sadly, those techniques have faded in my memory and I was left to deal with the reality of now being a student of Soul Calibur. But fear not, because after finding new motivation (like punking Dale until he cries like a girl) and studying up on the techniques, I'm beginning to pick up the ropes and see the light that is Soul Calibur. It's only a matter of time now that, as my skills develop, my experience grows and pretty soon I'll achieve my PhD in Soul Calibur. Then people will have to start calling me Dr. Kilik instead of Mr. Fishcake.

Dec 6th, 1999 · Dreamcast · read review

Gamekult (9 out of 10)

Les jeux de baston 3D sur Dreamcast ne sont pas légion. Mais ils sont de qualité. Un des premiers qui soient sortis, Soul Calibur, reste sans aucun doute un des meilleurs du genre toutes consoles confondues. Personnages charismatiques, système de combat bien étudié, un plaisir éternel pour un jeu mythique !

Aug 30th, 2000 · Dreamcast · read review

SEGA-Portal.de (9 out of 10)

Soul Calibur ist mit Abstand das beste Beat’em Up, welches ich je gespielt habe. Hier passt alles zusammen. Audiovisuell ist der Titel eine absolute Wucht und die Steuerung für meine Verhältnisse perfekt, so dass die Kämpfe (vorzugsweise zu zweit) immer wieder ein Vergnügen sind. Der ausgezeichnete Missions-Battle und massig andere tolle Modi unterhalten wirklich für Wochen, was man von vielen anderen Genrevertreter nicht behaupten kann. Hier habe ich wirklich versucht jeden Charakter gut zu beherrschen, obwohl ich eigentlich immer nur etwas an der riesigen Move-Palette gekratzt habe. Soul Calibur ist ganz klar ein Meilenstein in der Geschichte der Videospiele und gehört auf jeden Fall in jede DC-Sammlung. „Welcome to the Stage of History!”

Sep 20th, 2009 · Dreamcast · read review

HappyPuppy (9 out of 10)

The graphics are the best ever on a home machine. The game itself is very fun and the extras will keep you coming back for a long time. This is a must-have for all Dreamcast owners.

Aug 13th, 1999 · Dreamcast

Video Games (90 out of 100)

(PAL version)
Namco setzt den Maßstab auf dem Dreamcast - Wahnsinn! Teilweise spielt man Soul Calibur gar nicht mehr, um das nächste Match zu gewinnen, sondern ist einfach nur noch perplex ob der bis in kleinste Details (keinerlei Clipping-Fehler, keine Gelenküberschneidungen etc.) akribisch perfekten Grafik und Animation der Kämpfer. Das ist gar kein Spiel mehr, sondern ein Kunstwerk! Wenn man ein Dreamcast-Spiel haben muss, dann dieses hier. Entschuldigungen werden nur akzeptiert, wenn man beim Anblick eines Beat‘em-Ups Pickel und Magenkrämpfe bekommt, hehe. Einziger haltbarer Kritikpunkt ist die nicht übermäßig tiefgehende Fighting-Engine - das ist hier aber irgendwie Nebensache und heißt auch keinesfalls, dass einem je die taktischen Mittel ausgehen, um jede Art von Gegner zu schlagen.

Nov 1999 · Dreamcast

Computer and Video Games (CVG) (9 out of 10)

The talented and caring team at Namco has provided the home user with much more than a straight arcade port-over. While everyone first zones in on the orgasmic visuals, it is the Mission Battle mode that defines the DC version as a classic. Mission Battle encourages players to appreciate the innovations in Soul Caliburis command system by offering great rewards. You donit feel worthy until youive got the gold-tinted title screen with all the character portraits. Itis true that you could give up every other DC game in return for this.

Aug 15th, 2001 · Dreamcast · read review

RetroGame Man (9 out of 10)

Overall, this is one of my favourite fighting games of all time. The only one that really gives it a run for its money is the sequel on Gamecube (where you can be LINK!). This game is fun, easy to pick up but hard to master, looks great and sounds even better! Highly recommended for anyone who owns a Dreamcast.

Sep 16th, 2016 · Dreamcast · read review

Bordersdown (9 out of 10)

Although any flavour fighting game will fail to convert the die-hard anti-scrapper to the genre, no fan of gaming can fail to be impressed by the product as a whole. If the future of video games depends on creating utterly consistent game worlds - to aid immersion - then this must be seen as a design blueprint for achieving such a lofty ambition. Not only does Soul Calibur have incredible (and still, arguably, unsurpassed on home formats) visuals for a beat-em-up, with glorious lighting effects when weapons clash and highly detailed and individualistic warriors, but this never feels like an achievement obtained at the expense of either gameplay or consistency.

Jul 30th, 2002 · Dreamcast

Edge (9 out of 10)

Few games scream at you to play them, stealing away hours and days without you even caring. Soul Calibur is one such title. Gather a few friends together and you’re transported back to the early days of the PlayStation and endless Tekken bouts, transfixed by a vision of the future. Just as it did when 32bit arrived, Namco has once more defined a new videogame era.

Sep 6th, 1999 · Dreamcast · read review

Cincinnati Enquirer (3.5 out of 4)

Soul Calibur is an excellent showcase for the Dreamcast’s capabilities. The game’s detail, graphics and addictive action make it the benchmark for future 3-D fighters and gives the Dreamcast another feather in its cap.

1999 · Dreamcast · read review

WomenGamers.com (8.5 out of 10)

I'm sure by now you have heard people say "Get Soul Calibur if you buy a Dreamcast! This is a must buy!". Well I have to go along with the general consensus, this is indeed a great game.

Sep 20th, 1999 · Dreamcast · read review

GameCola.net (8.4 out of 10)

OK folks, I think I’ve droned on enough. Bottom line is this: Soul Calibur is an incredibly fun and addictive fighter, even for people who generally don’t like fighting games, and it is still extremely good even when compared to the newest fighters out there. If you happen to have access to a Dreamcast and aren’t too busy playing Who Wants to Beat Up a Millionaire?, definitely don’t hesitate to check this game out.

Jul 2008 · Dreamcast · read review

Player Reviews

A beautiful, complex and realistic fighting game for Dreamcast - probably the best one
by Mumm-Ra (409)

The Good
Soul Calibur is undoubtely the best fighting game for Dreamcast and arguably the best game ever released for Dreamcast. This follow-up to Soul Blade/Edge is a really great 3D fighting game and features many improvements.

First, anyone can note the beautifully elaborated graphics. They are really impressive, even for Playstation 2 parameters. Soul Calibur was one of the first games released for Dreamcast and featured the best 3D graphics ever seen on a console. It was patent the power of the console was much greater than Playstation or Nintendo 64. Sega claims Dreamcast can process 3 million polygons per second; if one single game made use of that capacity it was Soul Calibur. The sprites were very detailed and the backgrounds were really great. The level of detail was fantastic: you can see the cold breath of the characters in the snowy stages and rats running behind you. The lighting effects were particularly amazing. Plus, anti-alias smoothed the edges of the graphics, so they were not sharp as in Tekken 3.

As in Tekken series (another one from Namco), the movement of the characters was as natural as it could be. In other words, the animation was incredible. Of course, as characters used weapons in Soul Calibur and some of them were supernatural, there was not so much compromise with reality. But that made the game even funnier.

In comparison, Soul Calibur main competitors in 3D fighting, Virtua Fighter 3 and Dead Or Alive 2, both for Dreamcast, had much less detailed graphics and the animation was not so fluid. In fact, it is unfair to compare any other Dreamcast game to Soul Calibur, as it has the best graphics ever seen on this console.

The sound effects were also very nice, with digitised voices. The music was perfectly adequate and, although not memorable, provided a nice background for the action.

Oh, the action! The best part! The action is fast, very fast. The backgrounds rotate and the zoom comes in and out, giving the impression of a 3D fighting game. Not just the impression. As the characters can walk to all directions, it is a real 3D fighting game.

The controls are adequate for the game. There are two weapon attacks, a kick, a defense and a charge for a special move. OK, the charge could have been substituted for another kick or so, but it doesn't spoil the gameplay. Controls are easy and respond well.

There are lots and lots of different moves to learn. It is really difficult to remember all of them and it requires lots of training to do them all. Someone may complain it is too hard to take full advantage of all the moves, but there is no other way. The gameplay is very complex and that makes the game very funny and realistic. It is much better to have 30 different moves, even if some are very hard to perform, than just two easy ones. You must have in mind Soul Calibur brings fighting games to a new level of reality, just like Tekken does. Gameplay is a great, great experience in this game.

Plus, there are lots of extras. Namco gave much more than players were expecting from the game. The game includes even artwork. Well, let's seen the main ones.

First, as already said, there were lots and lots of moves. You could spend days learning and trying to remember all the moves of a single character.

Second, there are 10 standard characters and 10 hidden ones. Most of the hidden characters are variations of the standard ones, but they have their own personality, as well as own moves. So, there is a total of 20 characters and half of them are discovered as you play the game.

Third, there are hidden stages and hidden variations of the standard stages (a different weather for the same stage, for example). The existence of so many scenarios shows the absurd level of detail this game reaches.

Fourth, there are different game modes. If you are tired of playing the Arcade version of Soul Calibur, you can call a friend to join you in the Versus mode. Or you can opt for Mission mode, for example, to face new challenges.

To sum it up, Soul Calibur was a really well developed fighting game. It has wonderful graphics, sound and gameplay. Even the story is nice (stories are never nice in fighting games). Although easy to play, it is also very complex and is definitely not the kind of game you put aside after playing for a while. It is really worth a try.

The Bad
The game is really nice, but some improvements could be made. Nothing to complain about the graphics, but...

Well, the game is too easy in Arcade mode. The computer doesn't have half the skills it could and the challenge is not so great as it should be. It is also short, as you fight only with 8 characters before the ending.

Some of the hidden stuff is very difficult to reveal and, sometimes, they are not worth it. To finish a mission just to get a new artwork may sound disappointing. And some of the hidden characters are not a big deal, as they are similar to the standard ones.

The Bottom Line
Soul Calibur is undoubtely the best fighting game for Dreamcast. It is worth a try even for those who are not into Street Fighter or similar games, as it provides an incredible gaming experience. Plus, it won't take much of your time, as the action is very fast and the controls doesn't require a long learning (as much of Dreamcast games do). A real pity it was developed exclusively for Dreamcast.

May 29th, 2003 · Dreamcast

Amazing, if you can get past the gameplay
by Robyrt (53)

The Good
This game has more extras than any other game I know of, starting with a plethora of game modes and over 200 pieces of CG art, concept sketches, and even fanart. The graphics blow the rest of the fighting genre away completely. The moves are amazingly easy to execute, all the way up to 2-button parries. Even the voices are well-done.

The Bad
Almost half the characters are remakes of the other half, forcing you to unlock, say, a faster and weaker version of your previous character with maybe 5 new moves. Button-mashing is almost encouraged (the difference between an intermediate player and a newbie is that one of them knows when to hit the guard button). The music is just like every other fighting game: out of place sometimes, too heavy at others.

The Bottom Line
Those of you who would rather jump into a game than spend a week reading strategy guides will love Soul Calibur for its great presentation and better graphics. If you're looking for intricate gameplay, don't waste your money, but if you just want to knock someone 10 feet up with a giant demon blade, this game is right up your alley.

Sep 16th, 2001 · Dreamcast

Perfect mechanics, beautiful graphics, clunky story.
by kyuzo (20)

The Good
Soul Calibur is easily the most balanced fighting game series, and it was in many ways at its peak with the original Dreamcast version. This is a game that nearly any gamer can pick up and play, while enjoying themselves and being competitive even against a much more experienced player.

The graphics were stunning at the time of the game's release and still are beautiful. The effects are all very well done in the game and the characters are varied and well-detailed. The multiple costumes are all interesting and creative, even if the tendency is to clothe many of the female characters in an unusual manner.

The Bad
Soul Calibur contains a rather odd story mode, which is essentially an overblown epic story which serves only to link together various individual fighting encounters. The fights themselves are very interesting and frequently contain some scenario such as one-hit kills or survival mode to keep the variety going, yet the story is largely peripheral and I found myself frequently skipping over the painfully long text passages.

Also, the story carries over into the unintentionally comical one-liners the characters tend to utter before and after the fight. Sometimes the fighters will call each other out, but at other times they will shout something related to their backstory, which is sometimes comical, especially Rock, who will sometimes shout "Bangoo, this one's for you!" I found these moments funny, but that was not the designer's intention.

The Bottom Line
This is the finest fighting game ever made, and is well worth playing or finding a copy. This game alone makes the purchase of a Dreamcast worthwhile.

Apr 17th, 2007 · Dreamcast

The best fighting game EVER!
by Baza (1904)

The Good
The fighting style and button configurations are perfectly balanced for this genre of game. Well balanced characters and amazing graphics make is one of the most playable fighting games.

The Bad
It is slightly too easy and short and of course there was no 2nd one on Dreamcast.

The Bottom Line
Think of Tekken with weapons and better graphics and gameplay and thats Soul Calibur.

Feb 28th, 2002 · Dreamcast

Plus 145 player ratings without reviews

Contributors to this Entry

Critic reviews added by Alsy, Big John WV, Riemann80, lights out party, RhYnoECfnW, Riamus, Flu, Patrick Bregger, Wizo, Kohler 86, Joel Segerbäck, firefang9212, Alex Fest, jumpropeman, Tim Janssen, vedder, jean-louis, Jeanne, Parf, kurama, Tracy Poff, yenruoj_tsegnol_eht (!!ihsoy).