🐳 Latest Moby v2023.06.02 update

Sword of the New World: Granado Espada

Critic Reviews 64% add missing review

Worth Playing (8 out of 10) (80%)

Sword of the New World is free to download (also available at retail via Elephant Entertainment, which adds some bonus material) and play, and there are restrictions that you need to pay to remove: your level is capped at 20 (100 without the restrictions), you cannot trade items between characters or teams, and you have zero access to customer service unless you pay. I would guess that those who click with the fast pace and gorgeous setting of this game will gladly pay for it. Those who aren't wired for the Korean MMO experience of heavy grinding and repetition will probably find that level 1 to 20 is just enough to sate the urge to try something new. I personally think Sword of the New World is very well done for what it is, but I don't quite gel with the style of gameplay. I certainly have no reservations about recommending it, though, since it's definitely worth playing. The only question is, for how long.

Aug 16th, 2007 · Windows · read review

GameStar (Germany) (77 out of 100) (77%)

Man kann Sword of the New World spielen, indem man das Spiel allein lässt. Ich hingegen bleib am Monitor, denn ich mag diesen Kontrast zwischen Musik und Optik. Zudem gerate ich ratzfatz in einen Flow beim Monsterverdreschen. Das ist fast, wie durch einen schnellen Shooter zu toben. Was mir allerdings fehlt, ist die Möglichkeit, die Helden mehr nach meinem Gusto zu gestalten. Oder alternativ eben moderatere Preise beim Kostümhändler. 240.000 Vis (Währung im Spiel) will der eitle Fatzke für einen Hut! Für einen einzigen Hut!

Aug 2007 · Windows

PC Action (Germany) (77 out of 100) (77%)

(...) Die Helden verfügen über eine ordentliche KI, die dafür sorgt, dass sie sich selbstständig verteidigen. Das klappt so gut, dass man sie irgendwo in der Pampa umringt von Gegnern abstellen kann, um sie locker allein leveln zu lassen. Abgesehen davon gibt es an Sword of the New World nicht viel auszusetzen – es ist zwar simpel gestrickt und ohne großartigen spielerischen Tiefgang, aber dennoch ganz witzig. Im Moment gibt es das Spiel noch nicht im Handel. Interessierte laden die Installationsdateien über das Internet herunter. Ob es sich lohnt, dafür monatlich knapp zehn Euro auszugeben, entscheiden Sie ab Level 20. Bis dahin dürfen Sie kostenlos spielen.

Aug 2007 · Windows

MMORPG.com (7.4 out of 10) (74%)

Sword of the New World is a huge step in the right direction for Asian MMOs looking to sell in the western market. It has beautiful graphics, unique game play, and a fast paced style that is great for those who don't have hours to sit and play an MMO. With the free 2 play account it is definitely worth giving a try.

Aug 6th, 2007 · Windows · read review

games xtreme (7.2 out of 10) (72%)

Despite my criticism SOTNW does have a certain elegant charm to it. It is an enjoyable game though it doesn’t capture the feel that games like World of Warcraft and Guild Wars do. Eventually the game does start to become a grind fest, even at its high points I never felt completely involved with the game. This is a real shame because some parts of the game work so very well. As the game is free to download and play up to level 20 I would recommend that any MMO fan gives it a try.

Aug 25th, 2007 · Windows · read review

YouGamers (64 out of 100) (64%)

Certain type of MMO player might enjoy this. I didn't, but I can see that some aspects of the game design appeal to the intended audience. Rest of us probably can't stomach the mindless grinding. Unquestionably Korean, in both good and bad.

Aug 17th, 2007 · Windows · read review

4Players.de (59 out of 100) (59%)

Eigentlich ist Sword of the New World ein 08/15-Einheits-Asiagrinder – man muss es leider so direkt sagen. Wäre da nicht die Idee mit der Familie und den drei steuerbaren Charakteren, dann wäre gar nichts an dem Spiel besonders. Die Grafik ist gut und schön, so lange man nicht zu nahe an Gebäude oder Marktkarren kommt und man sich nicht an extremen Weichzeichnungseffekten stört. Aber die Vertonung ist – abgesehen von der Eingangsmusik – eine einzige Katastrophe. Am Ende bleibt, trotz der interessanten Idee, doch nur wieder ein Durchschnitts-Online-Rollenspiel aus Fernost über, wie sie in steigender Zahl nach Europa drücken. Etwas Positives sei aber noch vermerkt, denn das Abenteuer ist sehr gut lokalisiert. Aber was bringt das, angesichts des öden Spielablaufs?

Jul 20th, 2007 · Windows · read review

Gameplay (Benelux) (58 out of 100) (58%)

Als je eens van een gratis Koreaanse MMORPG wilt proeven is dit een uitgelezen kans. Verwacht echter niet te veel.

Sep 27th, 2007 · Windows

Eurogamer.net (UK) (4 out of 10) (40%)

On the plus side, however, Sword of the New World does have one huge inducement in its scabbard - it's entirely free to download and play, with the firm planning to make its money back by convincing players to buy gold and items for real cash. Make what you will of the business model; it does certainly mean that you can try the game out at minimal expense, though. It's almost worth it just to see the lovely visuals, and the moderately interesting party mechanism in action - but on our list of our favourite things about Korea, this is coming in a hell of a long way below kimchi and curry doughnuts. (Although still above Bae Yon Joon.)

Sep 8th, 2007 · Windows · read review

GameSpot (4 out of 10) (40%)

It's hard to imagine anyone choosing to endure this sort of monotonous gameplay for very long. The price may be right, and there is certainly something hypnotic in the combination of the non-stop killing and way-out music, but you'll still soon wake up to the reality that Sword of the New World is an endless onslaught of hacking-and-slashing.

Aug 24th, 2007 · Windows · read review

Player Reviews

No player reviews yet.

Contributors to this Entry

Critic reviews added by Scaryfun, Patrick Bregger, Cavalary, CalaisianMindthief, vedder.