🐳 Latest Moby v2023.06.02 update

The Dagger of Amon Ra

aka: Colonel's Bequest II, Laura Bow 2, Laura Bow: Der Dolch des Amon Ra, Roberta Williams' Laura Bow in The Dagger of Amon Ra

[ All ] [ DOS ] [ Windows ] [ Windows 3.x ]

Critic Reviews 75% add missing review

ASM (Aktueller Software Markt) (11 out of 12) (92%)

NatĂŒrlich gibt es - wie in jedem guten Krimi auch - am Schluß ein rĂŒhrendes Happy End. Bis dato ist aber viel spannende Knobelarbeit angesagt, und so lassen sich auch die gelegentlich auftretenden Perspektivenfehler in der ansonsten passablen Grafik verzeihen. HĂ€tte das noch gestimmt, wĂ€re ein Adventure der absoluten Spitzenklasse herausgekommen.

Aug 1992 · DOS

Just Adventure (A-) (91%)

I consider Laura Bow 2: The Dagger of Amon Ra to be one of the best Sierra games. It has a well developed plot with very good gradation. The tone is serious but not overly dry. The artwork was top notch when the game was released, and in my opinion holds up pretty well after all those years, and it's been a while since the game's release. On the downside, the dead ends make The Dagger of Amon Ra relatively difficult - which is not necessarily bad - and may be frustrating. For every fan of detective mysteries, The Dagger of Amon Ra is a must play.

Mar 17th, 2005 · DOS · read review

Just Adventure (A-) (91%)

I consider Laura Bow 2: The Dagger of Amon Ra to be one of the best Sierra games. It has a well developed plot with very good gradation. The tone is serious but not overly dry. The artwork was top notch when the game was released, and in my opinion holds up pretty well after all those years, and it's been a while since the game's release. On the downside, the dead ends make The Dagger of Amon Ra relatively difficult - which is not necessarily bad - and may be frustrating. For every fan of detective mysteries, The Dagger of Amon Ra is a must play. My overall grade for this game is an A-.

Mar 17th, 2005 · Windows 3.x · read review

Quandary ( ) (90%)

The Dagger of Amon Ra is an excellent game for murder mystery fans. Though the graphics seem a little pixilated now, this is no problem as the gameplay easily rivals many games that are published today. The music is very good and, more importantly, the game sets up enough problems to keep you thinking and even gnashing your teeth occasionally. Also, it has the 'old' Sierra interface which allows you to 'look' at things (invaluable in a detective type game); and which also allows for the puzzles/problems be more complex and for you to do the 'detecting' rather than just clicking on everything in sight and waiting to see what happens.

Apr 1996 · DOS · read review

Play Time (90 out of 100) (90%)

Was ich aber noch verrate und das sogar sehr gerne ist, daß die Jungs von Sierra hier ein Meisterwerk von einem Spiel geschaffen haben. SĂ€mtliche Grafiken sind Zeichnungen von OriginalschauplĂ€tzen im New York der 30 ‘er Jahre, die Autos, die Kleidung der Leute, alles wurde genau recherchiert. Dazu kommt noch der Sound, fĂŒr Leute die Swing und Jazz mögen empfehle ich dringend den Kauf einer Soundkarte, was bei meinem Computer aus der Soundblaster kommt, klingt einfach toll. Die Figuren bewegen sich leider etwas ruckartig, aber das stört kaum. Mit dem Steuerungssystem ĂŒber die Icons ist das Spiel sehr benutzerfreundlich und könnte ein Klassiker im Softwaremarkt werden.

Sep 1992 · DOS

Zero (84 out of 100) (84%)

Laura Bow II is slightly disappointing - the graphics and sound have the making of a great game, but somehow the structure and playability (and the relentless moralising) make the whole thing fall short of the definitive adventure game. All the same, it's still worth a look.

Sep 1992 · DOS

ASM (Aktueller Software Markt) (4 out of 5) (80%)

(CD-ROM version)
Trotzdem: FĂŒr den, der Laura Bow II bereits kennt, lohnt sich eine Anschaffung der silbernen Scheibe sicherlich nicht. Diejenigen unter Euch aber, die das Geheimnis des Dolches von Amon Ra noch nicht gelöst haben, sollten sich die CD-Version auf keinen Fall entgehen lassen.

Jul 1993 · Windows 3.x

PC Joker (75 out of 100) (75%)

Ihr seht also, ohne ein gewisses Durchhaltevermögen sind die „musealen“ RĂ€tsel dieses Krimis nicht zu knacken. Aber was tut man nicht alles fĂŒr die gerechte Sache, noch dazu, wenn sie so hĂŒbsch verpackt ist und dank witzig-bissiger Dialoge auch die Lachmuskeln zu ihrem Recht kommen?

Sep 1992 · DOS · read review

Joker Verlag prÀsentiert: Sonderheft (75 out of 100) (75%)

Als Belohnung fĂŒr geduldige SpĂŒrnasen winken gepfefferte Dialoge und eine sehr stimmige PrĂ€sentation. Die leicht an „Heart of China“ erinnernden und toll animierten Bilder stellen einen deutlichen Fortschritt gegenĂŒber der (immerhin recht atmosphĂ€rischen) EGA-Grafik des VorgĂ€ngers dar; Ă€hnliche Steigerungen sind beim Sound mit seinen Rhythmen aus den „Roaring Twenties“ zu verzeichnen. Dank der mittlerweile standardisierten Sierra-Iconleiste ist auch die Handhabung hier kein Thema mehr, von den leichten Macken bei der Klickerei mal abgesehen. Happy Crime-Time!
(page 67)

1993 · DOS · read review

Power Play (69 out of 100) (69%)

Mögen abgebrĂŒhte Fans der angestaubten Edelkrimis von Agatha Christie mit Lust und Wonne in die digitale Haut der SpĂŒrnase Laura Bow schlĂŒpfen, dem logikgestĂ€hlten Detektiv der 90er sind die haarstrĂ€ubenden Puzzles des jĂŒngsten Sierra-Adventures ein echtes Greuel. Von feinfĂŒhliger Überlegung oder Holmschen Sachverstand hat die junge Hobbydetektivin Laura Bow wohl noch nie was gehört. Mit der Brachialgewalt eines Schimanski (sprich: Wilde Klickerei mit der Maus) und nur einer guten Portion GlĂŒck sind viele der KrimirĂ€tsel zu knacken. Immerhin wiegt die gehaltvolle Historiengeschichte zwischen Charleston und Börsenkrach sowie die bunte Mischung aus Mumien, Mysterien und Mord einiges wieder auf. Laura Bow zieht locker am Magerkollegen Sonny Bond, stolpert aber bei mir privat ĂŒber die HĂŒrde zum „Gut“. Mehr Logik statt schicker Grafik wĂ€re besser gewesen.

Aug 1992 · DOS · read review

PC Games (Germany) (67 out of 100) (67%)

Das Krimi-Abenteuer ist als Diskettenversion schon seit dem vergangenen Herbst erhĂ€ltlich (Review in PC Garnes 10/92). Wie bei Sierra so ĂŒblich, hat sich am Gameplay im Vergleich zur ursprĂŒnglichen Version ĂŒberhaupt nichts geĂ€ndert. Erweitert wurde die CD- ROM lediglich um ĂŒber 100 MByte gesprochene SĂ€tze. Sowohl alle Dialoge, als auch alle Gegenstands- und Ortsbeschreibungen wurden von Schauspielern nachgesprochen und auf der Silberscheibe aufgezeichnet. Ein anderes interessantes Feature ist bei Sierra ebenfalls zur Gewohnheit geworden: Alle CD-ROM-Konvertierungen enthalten eine speziell fĂŒr Microsoft Windows geschriebene Programmversion, die als “echte“ Windows-Anwendung im eigenen Fenster ablaufen kann. Trotz identischer Puzzles und nicht verbesserter Grafik werden also doch einige ZusĂ€tze geboten.

Jun 1993 · Windows 3.x

PC Games (Germany) (67 out of 100) (67%)

Abschließend bleibt zu sagen, daß Sierra mit “Laura Bow - Der Dolch des Amon Ra“ ein Spiel herausgebracht hat, das bei Grafik und Sound einen hohen Standard hĂ€lt, dessen Handlung recht komplex ist, was ĂŒber kleinere LĂ€ngen hinwegtrösten könnte, das aber bei der deutschen Übersetzung einer skrupellosen Legasthenikerfront in die HĂ€nde fiel.

Sep 1992 · DOS

PC Games (Germany) (67 out of 100) (67%)

Das Krimi-Abenteuer ist als Diskettenversion schon seit dem vergangenen Herbst erhĂ€ltlich (Review in PC Garnes 10/92). Wie bei Sierra so ĂŒblich, hat sich am Gameplay im Vergleich zur ursprĂŒnglichen Version ĂŒberhaupt nichts geĂ€ndert. Erweitert wurde die CD- ROM lediglich um ĂŒber 100 MByte gesprochene SĂ€tze. Sowohl alle Dialoge, als auch alle Gegenstands- und Ortsbeschreibungen wurden von Schauspielern nachgesprochen und auf der Silberscheibe aufgezeichnet. Ein anderes interessantes Feature ist bei Sierra ebenfalls zur Gewohnheit geworden: Alle CD-ROM-Konvertierungen enthalten eine speziell fĂŒr Microsoft Windows geschriebene Programmversion, die als “echte“ Windows-Anwendung im eigenen Fenster ablaufen kann. Trotz identischer Puzzles und nicht verbesserter Grafik werden also doch einige ZusĂ€tze geboten.

Jun 1993 · DOS

Adventure Classic Gaming ( ) (60%)

The Dagger of Amon Ra: A Laura Bow Mystery is the second installment in the Laura Bow Mystery series. In this sequel, our intrepid reporter investigates the theft of an ancient artifact that subsequently leads to several murders inside a museum. To many Sierra On-Line fans, this game is among the last decent adventure titles produced by the company before its eventual demise as a developer of adventure games.

Feb 26th, 1999 · DOS · read review

PC-Spiele '93 (6 out of 10) (60%)

Ein gewisser Spielanreiz entsteht durch die originelle Story, aber die FĂŒlle an kleinen Widrigkeiten stutzt die Motivation arg zurecht. So ist z.B. jede Taxifahrt mit einer halbminĂŒtigen Zwangspause verbunden. WĂ€hrend die meisten Personen in diesem Spiel recht schillernde Typen sind, hat Laura Bow selbst das Charisma einer Dose Ölsardinen. Die gelegentlichen Ironie-AnsĂ€tze im Spiel kommen bei der teilweise etwas ungeschickten deutschen Übersetzung nicht immer voll rĂŒber.

1992 · DOS

Adventure Gamers ( ) (50%)

And yet, should you succeed, The Dagger of Amon Ra has a brilliant conclusion, one of those (few and far between) moments of grace when the plot's flaws manage to disappear behind the game's artistic qualities and witty writing, showing what this sad farce of a game might ideally have been. My, what a sorry mess... What a sad, sad waste of talent... What to make of this game? If you think you can play it as just a typical Sierra game, with great music and graphics, clever writing, and some fun gameplay elements, and are not interested at all in trying to figure out the plot, then please do give it a try. But if you want a good murder mystery that doesn't insult your intelligence with lazy design... Well, just replay The Colonel's Bequest.

Feb 23rd, 2006 · DOS · read review

Adventure Gamers ( ) (50%)

And yet, should you succeed, The Dagger of Amon Ra has a brilliant conclusion, one of those (few and far between) moments of grace when the plot's flaws manage to disappear behind the game's artistic qualities and witty writing, showing what this sad farce of a game might ideally have been. My, what a sorry mess... What a sad, sad waste of talent... What to make of this game? If you think you can play it as just a typical Sierra game, with great music and graphics, clever writing, and some fun gameplay elements, and are not interested at all in trying to figure out the plot, then please do give it a try. But if you want a good murder mystery that doesn't insult your intelligence with lazy design... Well, just replay The Colonel's Bequest.

Feb 24th, 2006 · Windows 3.x · read review

Alle PC Spiele N/A

Nicht nur fĂŒr Krimi-Fans hat Laura Bow einiges zu bieten. Der zweite Teil erscheint mit neuem Grafikgewand und einer recht komplexen Handlung. Bei diesem Adventure aus der Sierra-Werkstatt stimmt einfach alles. Die Geschichte ist in verschiedene Akte unterteilt, die fĂŒr viel Abwechslung sorgen.

1993 · DOS

Computer Gaming World (CGW) N/A

Laura Bow in The Dagger of Amon Ra proves itself to be another quality adventure from the fertile minds at Sierra. It's refreshing to see a game presented from the perspective of a female character, as well as to find a subject treated seriously while maintaining both a strong sense of realism and a touch of humor. Once past the rather slow-paced, moderately interesting first two acts, game play becomes quite enthralling — so much so that the rest of the game seems to pass much too quickly. Regardless, armchair detectives and amateur sleuths alike will find The Dagger of Amon Ra an enjoyable adventure and a nostalgic excursion into 1920s America. Though one could wish for more object-oriented puzzles in the early stages, and a bit more game play overall, few will not enjoy their stint as a reporter for the Trib — and you can quote me on that!

Oct 1992 · DOS

Player Reviews

A Classic Adventure Game

The Good
The Dagger of Amon Ra is a superior sequel to The Colonel's Bequest. As sequels go it features superior graphics, better music, and far simpler control mechanics. This game succeeds both as a sequel and as its own game.

The game is set in the 1920s and stars Laura Bow. Ms. Bow is an idealistic, plucky young reporter who has relocated to the big city, from her quaint rural hometown. Can Ms. Bow succeed in the big city?

Success requires you to explore the city, interact with its many citizens, collect items and solve puzzles. The big puzzle in the game is a high profile murder mystery that can make you famous or dead.

True to the tenor of the times, this game features many of the historical elements of the 1920s. This was the era of the flapper, fabulous gender nonconformity, free love, underground speakeasies and widespread love for Egyptology.



The Bad
While the gameplay mechanics are much improved from the first game, it is still a bit of a headache asking questions. I never got comfortable using the notebook to select various topics to ask people about. The sequel is miles above its predecessor, but it's still a bit of a pain.

Beyond the slight gameplay headaches, some of the voice acting in the game is probably a tad bit, "politically incorrect". I am talking about the police officer with the thick Irish accent or the Chinese laundryman who does not speak English terribly well. I will leave it to the player to decide for himself or herself whether or not this is a problem.

This game was published prior to the Entertainment Software Ratings Board (ESRB), but I would personally suggest that the game is suitable for players 13+. Some of the death sequences can be pretty brutal to watch, and this game has a fair share of mild sexual innuendos to giggle at.

The Bottom Line
The Dagger of Amon Ra is a wonderful adventure game from the early 1990s. Fans of adventure games, or a good murder mystery, should give this game a try.

by browned (118) on Jan 17th, 2019 · Windows

Brilliant! Over a decade later, it is still a masterpiece!

The Good
I love the cast of colorful characters. Everyone is a suspect, and it's up to you to find out who's killing everybody and why. The death scenes are very cool. As the character's get bumped off one by one, your list narrows and you become a little more afraid that you might be next. Full of mystery, intrigue, and suspense, it is a wonderful game that can stand the test of time. Perhaps not graphically, but in substance and plot. Very few games coming out nowadays can even hold a candle to it.

The Bad
The only complaint I had was in the version with speech, some of the acting left something to be desired, particularly with Laura herself. As I played the first version of the game, I had an idea with what all the characters would probably sound like, and in my mind, Steve Dorian was not a bass. Either way, the end is tough, particularly if you didn't collect all of the evidence or get all of the points. When the coroner asked me who did what and why, I had to play the game a couple of times through again just to get most of them right.

The Bottom Line
If you love mystery games, this one is for you! I put a personal guarantee that you will enjoy it, and be immersed in the story. As a matter of fact, if you have a free day, I'd be willing to bet that one could sit and just play it from beginning to end without stopping. A wonderful game, well worth the purchase if you can find it anywhere.

by Aaron Jones (14) on Nov 10th, 2003 · DOS

A good old fashioned murder-mystery, with a female protagonist that has more brain than bod.

The Good
This was the very first PC game I played when I got a computer at home, so I'm somewhat biased towads it.

This is another in Sierra's long line of fine adventure games, and it doesn't fail to please. You get the chance to play a brainy, but inexperienced, reporter/detective trying to solve a string of murders in 1920's New York. Surprise surprise though, the character is female. At the time of this games release, a strong female lead character was almost unheard of. Kudo's to Sierra for choosing to take this risky path.

The plot includes all the best ingredients from classic murder-mysteries, with a dash of the egyptian thrown in for spice. Graphically, the game delivers Sierra's usual sumptious hand-painted backgrounds, combined with their trademark less-than sumptious rotoscoped characters. The game has almost no bugs in it's initial release, a rarity among Sierra's fare at the time.

One final point I should make are the "extra's" packed in with the game. Included with the requisite disks and manual are a small pamphlet giving directions to the fictional Leyendecker Museum portayed in the game as well as a longer pamphlet describing all the latest displays at the museum. These are professionally designed and are great keepsakes that really enhance the games atmosphere. I only wish more games these days came with these types of cool extra's.

The Bad
While as stated before, there are few bugs in the game, but the ones present are game stopping, of the variety "oops, you did something we didn't expect, now the game has to crash". Save often is all I can say.

The only other bad point I can find with the game is the ending. Your asked several questions about all the murders, alliances, and conspiracies that took place during the game. But at no point during the game or manual is it mentioned that you should take notes while playing. Trust me, the questions asked are tough enough even if you do take notes, and your sunk if you didn't take any. Keep a pad and pen handy while playing and write down everything "significant" that a reporter would about the mysteries.

The Bottom Line
Overall a superb game that I wished continued in a few sequels. Be sure to check out the first game in the Laura Bow series, "The Colonel's Bequest".

by Digital Arse (9) on Nov 19th, 2000 · DOS

The excellent sequel to TCB – more involved and bloodier

The Good
Way back in the early Eighties, Sierra On-Line was quite new to the computer industry. There were only two people running the company: Ken and Roberta Williams. Both of them created the first graphic adventure game ever. Titled Mystery House, the game saw the player trapped in a Victorian mansion along with nine other people. They must find who is killing them off before they themselves are the next victim. It was the best-selling computer game of all time.

Nine years later, Roberta herself created her second detective game called The Colonel's Bequest, a game starring a university student named Laura Bow going around doing what real-life detectives do best: asking questions, searching for clues, and investigating murders. The game uses a real-time feature where events take place at certain times. It also features multiple endings, and the game encourages the player to try it again in case they missed any clues the first time around.

Now, we get to The Dagger of Amon Ra, the sequel to TCB released in 1992. If you brought the game back, you probably notice that the text above the title mentions Roberta's name. Ironically, Roberta wasn't even involved with the project due to time constraints. So she handed the reigns over to Bruce Balfour. However, she still worked as creative consultant, so she made sure that the quality of the game was on par with the first one.

After graduating from university, Laura lands a job in New York as a newspaper reporter. Her assignment: write a newspaper article about the theft of the infamous Dagger. Her boss gives her permission to attend a charity fundraiser being held at the Leyendecker Museum. There, the museum is in lockdown due to some suspicious activity that occurred that night, and everyone, including Laura herself, is a suspect. The characters are easy to warm up to, with Wolf Heimlich being the amusing one of the lot.

The Dagger of Amon Ra delivers a point-and-click interface, which makes things easier. When talking to characters, you use Laura's notebook to ask them about other characters; and not only that, but you can also ask them about places Laura visited, things that she picked up, and any miscellaneous stuff. And you don't even have to type anything in. It is rather interesting to hear what characters think of others.

The gameplay mechanics are the same as TCB, but Dagger is more involved. You have to search through people's offices and gather evidence. You also have to draw your own conclusions based on conversations and the evidence you gather, and use that at the end of the game, where you have to face up to the coroner.

The game focuses heavily on Egyptology, and it is obvious that Sierra did a lot of research. Click the eye cursor on almost any object in the room, such as the Rosetta Stones in the Egyptian exhibit, and you'll get the history of that object. It is much easier if the history was read out to you in the CD-ROM version, instead of just having it read. There are also hieroglyphics in some rooms, and at one point, you need to translate some of the hieroglyphs to solve a puzzle near the end of the game.

The graphics reflect the Egyptian setting quite well, and there are some smooth animations, like Rex the talking dinosaur with his mouth moving. The murders are a lot gorier than the first game, with more than one instance of blood pouring out the victim. Some of the victim's faces are horrifying, especially Ziggy's and the Countess'. You also get to see some of Laura's gruesome deaths. Seeing the bad ending to the game was confronting the first time I watched it.

The music in the game also reflects the Egyptian theme quite well, and it sounds more realistic when it is coming from the Roland MT-32 sound module. The CD-ROM version delivers speech, with most of the characters voiced by Sierra employees. The narrator has a bit of an attitude when you do inappropriate things with the bodies, such as touching Yvette Delacroix's breasts or trying to pull down Dr. Carter's tuxedo pants. I am not sure whether that the Archeologist song was present in the disk version. It's been a while since I've played it.

What I enjoyed about the game is that chase scene in Act Five. The music keeps you on edge as you make your way through the museum, trying to escape the killer. One wrong move, and you may be killed. Also, I enjoyed playing through the second act, eavesdropping on group conversations. The funny thing about this is that Laura is acting conspicuously.

The Bad
Sometimes, right from the beginning of the game, the game refuses to let you restore from a previously saved game. You get this message “You did something we weren't expecting” and the game just terminates, even if you're playing on a slower machine. It seems to be location-based, so the only way I can get by this problem is by saving the game at different locations.

More often than not, I found the control panel disabled so I could not even save the game (when you can take control of Laura) when I want to. I would have liked to save just before I found a body or when it's time to attend an important meeting.

There aren't any patches to fix these problems, either.

The Bottom Line
Dagger of Amon Ra is the sequel to TCB; and while the gameplay is similar, there is a lot more involved, particular when you get near the end of the game. Everything in the game, including the sound and graphics, reflect those in the 1920's era. The game could be a precursor to Sierra's horror game Phantasmagoria since the murders are bloodier. Finally, there may not have been a third Laura Bow game, but that would stop Roberta from doing a remake of this game. After all, Jane Jensen and Al Lowe both did remakes of their previous works. Come on, Roberta, get out of retirement and make it happen.

by Katakis | ă‚«ă‚żă‚­ă‚č (43057) on Feb 23rd, 2015 · DOS

Although essentially the same game, Laura Bow seems to have had a personality change

The Good
The graphics were a huge improvement over the original. Laura looked really good in this game! The Art Deco-ish look to the game was very appropriate for the era, I thought. It took a great deal of observation and cleverness to get through some of the problems. The setting was absolutely ideal for the game, although not as creepy as the old house in the first game. There is quite a bit that can be done in a museum, and the creators certainly did that. The way that the people were murdered in the game were...creative. I'm not sure if this is a good thing, but it made death fun in this regard. Well, I never did say I was normal. :) There was a nice pre-museum section to the game that let you get a handle on the games interface, but also let you know that the museum wasn't as isolated as the mansion in the first game.

The Bad
I can't remember why no one could get out of the museum. It seems kind of ridiculous for so many people to get murdered there if they could all just leave. Maybe this is something I just can't remember--if a character lost their keys or something. Laura's personality seems to have undergone a bit of a change--at the party, she's making an absolute nusiance of herself by being an obvious snoop. She also doesn't quite appear to have the same level of intelligence she did in the first game--somehow I don't think the Laura in the first game would have allowed her suitcase to be stolen from her the way it was in the opening scenes. I thought Laura was much more street-savvy in the first game. The ending was sappy--I don't think of Laura as a girl that needs to be put with a boyfriend, and yet in this game the creators absolutely pushed for it, and not for the betterment of the game.

The Bottom Line
While this game will put you to the test trying to figure out who did it, I would have to say the changes made to Laura's character and the fact that her romance with Steve was pushed too much lessened my enjoyment of it.

by OceansDaughter (106) on Mar 28th, 2002 · DOS

Unlike today's games full of guns and unclothed women. This game has what was called substance.

The Good
I will never forget the fear I had when I first saw the killer walk in to take laura's life. Or the fact that I never could solve the corners questions. To this day I have never completed this game.

The Bad
Not much. As far as I can remember the only thing was that I could never solve the last puzzle.

The Bottom Line
Murder, Girl, Good Story

by Shawn McDonie (13) on Jun 15th, 2000 · DOS

Laura Bow moves to the Big City

The Good
The Colonel's Bequest (1989) is an underappreciated classic, graphic adventure game created by Roberta Williams and published by Sierra. In it, spunky student Laura Bow visits her flapper friend and her eccentric family on their posh estate. Naturally, this weekend getaway quickly descends into a murder mystery. The Dagger of Amon Ra is the second and, sadly, final entry in the series. Having graduated from college, Laura Bow is now a reporter for a big city newspaper where she investigates a new murder mystery involving a new cast of eccentric characters, with their own secrets, and, as the title suggests, Egyptology. The sequel features improved graphics and sound, along with an engaging storyline that weaves in a 1920s society that is both realistic history and glamorized Hollywood. Gone is the pesky requirement that all commands must be typed, with a new, more, user friendly, point n’ click interface. The CD-ROM version also adds some fine voice acting to the mix.

The Bad
As is typical of many classic Sierra adventure games, Laura Bow will die often and face certain puzzles that are difficult only because they are too abstract or illogical. The point n’ click interface beats having to type in commands, but having to repeatedly flip through the Laura Bow notebook for a noun is a cumbersome method of asking other people questions. In terms of the story, The Dagger of Amon Ra is not sure if it wants to depict the 1920’s accordingly to history or Hollywood. Case in point; the game does an excellent job addressing the sexism that Laura Bow, as a woman, would face. Yet, when it comes to depicting the 1920s in terms of race, class and sexual orientation, the game seems to be returning to a sanitized Hollywood where celluloid innuendos and gentlemen’s agreements ruled the day.

The Bottom Line
The Dagger of Amon Ra is an enjoyable point n’ click, graphic adventure game. The graphics and sound do their job well, but will probably not win any awards. Likewise the voice acting is good, but not above some cheesy dialogue and stereotypical accents. It stands out for its heroine, in an industry where damsels in distress are far more common, and its period storyline that, while not always historically accurate, does create an engaging murder-mystery atmosphere.

by ETJB (431) on Mar 12th, 2010 · Windows 3.x

Plus 59 player ratings without reviews

Contributors to this Entry

Critic reviews added by Patrick Bregger, Gonchi, Jeanne, Scaryfun, Tim Janssen, EonFear.