ūüź≥ New! Moby v2023.03.16

XGIII: Extreme G Racing

aka: XG3

[ All ] [ GameCube ] [ PlayStation 2 ]

Critic Reviews 82% add missing review

Consoles Plus (92 out of 100)

Un bon jeu de course à la réalisation très soignée. Malgré un certain manque de diversité, l'ensemble s'avère diablement efficace.

May 2002 · GameCube · read review

Nintendojo (8.9 out of 10)

With F-Zero GX already released and XGRA on its way, XGIII probably won't be among the best racers on the GameCube for long. In the meantime, it shouldn't be overlooked at this point in time as it still offers some excellent gameplay and a fun multiplayer racing experience. It has some faults, but what racing title doesn't? Show me one and I'll show you a racing title that can do the can-can as well. After playing through all four circuits, you can easily push this one aside and take a crack at the upcoming titles. That's what it's all about.

2001 · GameCube · read review

64 Power / big.N / N Games (85 out of 100)

Wer bei XG3 also erfolgreich sein will, braucht höchste Konzentration und Aufmerksamkeit! Aber es lohnt sich, denn wenn man es in die höheren Klassen geschafft hat und sein voll getuntes Bike unter Kontrolle halten kann, ist XG3 ein einziger gnadenloser Thrill!

Apr 2002 · GameCube

Digital Press - Classic Video Games (8.5 out of 10)

I hope this letter has inspired you join our league. Through our extensive research, we have found that we offer numerous items that our competitors cannot match. The thrill of racing against our talent has been proven to get adrenalin flowing like nothing else can. Get you weapons ready, check your engine, and buckle yourself in. Good luck and remember: Live, Earn, Burn.

Jul 23rd, 2005 · GameCube · read review

Gaming Target (8.5 out of 10)

It seems like Acclaim has all the bases covered with this All-Star Racing title. Although there is noticeable shortage of courses, each is complete with excellent structure and will amaze you for some time. Also, the four person multi-player frenzy adds to the fun and makes this title as good as it is fast.

Apr 15th, 2002 · GameCube · read review

64 Power / big.N / N Games (85 out of 100)

Von den Nebelschleiern oder Slowdowns der ersten beiden Teile ist nichts mehr zu sehen, stattdessen rauschen imposante Kulissen mit soften 60 Frames an dir vorbei. Die Techno-Tracks passen stilistisch sehr gut zum Spiel. nur die Steuerung ist nicht ganz einfach, denn die Bikes reagieren äußerst sensibel. Außerdem sind die CPU-Gegner keine Anfänger, sondern fahren stets auf der Ideallinie und reizen ihre Maschinen bis zum Limit aus. Wer dies nicht als Abschreckung, sondern als Herausforderung ansieht, wird mit Etreme-G 3 eine Menge Spaß haben.

Dec 2001 · GameCube

NGC Magazine (85 out of 100)

(...) XG3 is a very solid racer that'll provide hours of entertainment and, combined with the multiplayer modes, is a game you'll still revisit for a quick speed fix months down the line.

May 2002 · GameCube · read review

IGN (8.5 out of 10)

Nintendo 64 owners will remember Acclaim's Extreme G beginnings as something less than spectacular. The first two games appeared on last generation's cartridge-based console and while they were both admittedly ambitious -- filled with style, energy and powered by a unique take on the futuristic racer, they were scarred by sloppy execution.

Nov 28th, 2001 · GameCube · read review

Netjak (8.4 out of 10)

If you are looking for a fun, adrenaline rushing title; this is the game for you. If you are looking for a realistic career type game such as Grand Turismo this is definitely not for you. Imagine taking the fun of F-Zero, multiply the speed times ten and throw in some next-gen graphics, and you have XG3 Extreme G Racing. Go get it.

May 22nd, 2005 · GameCube · read review

GameSpy (83 out of 100)

Extreme G 3 is the latest, but no doubt not the last, word on sci-fi racing. With graphics so fast and attractive you won't want to blink, it's a great way to showcase what the Gamecube can do. Although the single player game has a few too many potential dead ends, the accessible gameplay and multiplayer support for up to four people means it's a surefire crowd pleaser.

Dec 21st, 2001 · GameCube · read review

Game Informer Magazine (8.25 out of 10)

I had a love/hate relationship with my controller and this title. The shoulder buttons work nicely for the air brake, and the gas button is impossible to miss. I just wish it was easier to use one of your fingers to activate a weapon. You can configure the controls to your liking, but any way you do it, you'll wish you had one more easily accessible button. This gripe aside, Extreme G3 will keep GameCube race fans stoked for some time, especially after the mild disappointment that was Wave Race.

Feb 2002 · GameCube · read review

Deaf Gamers (8.2 out of 10)

Extreme-G 3 is certainly one of the best racers on the GameCube and if you like your games fast and furious they don't get any better than Extreme-G 3. There are a couple of problems for deaf gamers but they can be overcome if you are interested in the game.

2002 · GameCube · read review

N-Zone (81 out of 100)

Normalerweise bin ich ein Fan von Science-Fiction-Spielen. Mit Extreme-G3 wurde ich allerdings nicht so richtig warm. Zu lieblos wirkte mir die Portierung von der Playstation 2 und zu gering ist die Spieltiefe selbst im Vergleich zu Nintendos altem F-Zero X. Klasse sind dagegen die h√ľbsche, wenn auch ab und zu ruckelnde Optik und der tolle Meisterschaftsmodus.

Jul 6th, 2003 · GameCube · read review

Adrenaline Vault, The (AVault) ( )

Despite the persistence of a weak AI, this new GameCube version improves on its PlayStation 2 predecessor in many tangible ways, which makes this release of Extreme G 3 a stronger product overall. The smooth controls, incredibly fast races and fun combat are still here, and the Cube’s processor seems more than able to handle the blindingly fast races even in four player split screen. A new arcade mode also revamps the multiplayer aspect by scrapping the loaded rider profiles and instead unlocking later tracks and hardware for all to use in their multiplayer matches. These improvements upgrade the farade of a game that was already possessed of a solid core of fast-paced fun, making this a great racer for the GameCube.

Feb 21st, 2002 · GameCube · read review

Game Informer Magazine (7.5 out of 10)

I love the speed and tracks here, and this should earn it a look by 'Cube fans. My knock on the game is that the opponent AI seemed poor and the strategy with the weapons wasn't always necessary. Even during the hard races, it seemed I could go from sixth place to first with no problem. Still, the GC-only four-player mode is impressively fast.

Feb 2002 · GameCube · read review

N-Philes (7.5 out of 10)

Acclaim has created a futuristic racer that impresses with it’s blazing fast gameplay and graphics. You’ll find no charm here. Just speed. The course of your career can be slightly repetitive due to the small number of tracks. One Gamecube game on the market has even fewer tracks but manages to stay more interesting through various means. But we are talking XG3 here. The controls are spot on and work almost perfectly with the Gamecube controller. The computer AI can be very frustrating as your enemies use the same annoying weapon time and time again. Extreme G3 is a short game, but an experience that every Gamecube owner should have if only as a rental.

2002 · GameCube · read review

Jeuxvideo.com (14 out of 20)

Au final, XG3 sur GameCube n'√©tonnera pas ceux qui connaissent d√©j√† la version PS2, mais il offre un gameplay qui, s'il n'est certes pas tr√®s original, se r√©v√®le pour le moins efficace. On se pla√ģt √† encha√ģner les courses √† des vitesses vertigineuses et √† customiser sa machine au fil des courses pour rendre les bagarres toujours plus passionnantes. Le jeu permet √©galement de s'affronter √† deux en √©cran splitt√© mais le titre souffre toutefois d'une long√©vit√© un peu d√©cevante en d√©pit des 9 circuits et des diff√©rents modes de jeu.

May 15th, 2002 · GameCube · read review

Officiel Nintendo Magazine (6.5 out of 10)

Un jeu plaisant, rapide et fluide. Il manque cependant de personnalité, et son système de jeu basé sur l'argent ne récompense pas assez le pilotage.

May 2002 · GameCube · read review

Player Reviews

We don't have any player reviews for GameCube.

Contributors to this Entry

Critic reviews added by Alsy, Patrick Bregger, Wizo, Tim Janssen, RhYnoECfnW, Big John WV, Xoleras, Cavalary, Jeanne.