🐳 Latest Moby v2023.06.02 update

Fragile Dreams: Farewell Ruins of the Moon

aka: Fragile: Sayonara Tsuki no Haikyo

Critic Reviews 68% add missing review

Gamer Limit (9 out of 10) (90%)

When my time with Fragile Dreams finally concluded, I was extremely pleased. The game doesn’t at any point jump the shark, and wraps up nicely. However, I can’t help but feel that playing through it again would be counter-productive. Like a movie that’s great the first time, but exposes its flaws more and more with repeat viewings, Fragile Dreams is no doubt a game meant to be played once and once only. This isn’t an issue, since it has a decent length (about 9-10 hours for most), and it’s so well put together that it’s one hell of a ride.

Apr 7th, 2010 · Wii · read review

Nintendocu Nintendo Dergisi (87 out of 100) (87%)

Tri Crescendo yine bütün yaratıcılığını ortaya dökmüş, Baten Kaitos ve Eternal Sonata (bu oyunu bir Nintendo konsolunda görememek gerçekten üzücü, kendisi favorilerim arasındadır) yapımcılarından kötü oyun beklemek olmazdı doğrusu. Oynanış mükemmel olmasa da, duygu yüklü senaryo ve bunu en iyi şekilde yansıtan atmosferi sayesinde Fragile Dreams: Farewell Ruins of the Moon diğer oyunların arasından kolayca sıyrılmayı başarabiliyor. Umarız yapımcılar sonraki yaratıcı fikirlerini yine Nintendo konsollarında kullanırlar da, bir şaheserden daha mahrum kalmayız.

Apr 2010 · Wii · read review

4Players.de (85 out of 100) (85%)

Es gibt viele Spiele, die ausgezeichnet unterhalten, aber nur wenige, die wirklich berühren. Fragile Dreams ist für mich eines dieser wenigen. Ein kleines Kunstwerk, das man trotz aller Mankos in sein Herz schließt und nicht missen will. Das Kampfsystem mag plump, die Rollenspielelemente belanglos, der Schwierigkeitsgrad ein Witz sein. Aber Setos Suche nach Geborgenheit und Wärme in einer wie ausgestorben zu seinen Füßen liegenden Welt wird so ergreifend und liebevoll inszeniert, dass man bereitwillig über so manch spielerische Schwäche hinweg sieht.

Mar 25th, 2010 · Wii · read review

Multiplayer.it (8.5 out of 10) (85%)

Fragile Dreams: Farewell Ruins of the Moon è un titolo prodotto da mani esperte, e si vede: gli sviluppatori di Tri Crescendo non solo hanno fatto un eccellente lavoro in termini di atmosfera, ma sono riusciti anche ad infondere la loro opera di un gameplay magari un po' superficiale, ma che comunque si dimostra coinvolgente per tutta la durata dell'avventura. Nel panorama a volte troppo "giocattoloso" dell'offerta ludica Wii, Fragile Dreams: Farewell Ruins of the Moon si distingue per eleganza e cura dei particolari, elementi che sicuramente faranno gola ai seguaci Nintendo alla ricerca di qualcosa di più profondo di esperienze mordi e fuggi.

Mar 5th, 2010 · Wii · read review

GamingXP (83 out of 100) (83%)

Zusammenfassend kann man sagen, dass der Titel im Test voll und ganz überzeugt hat. Der Titel ist meiner Meinung nach, eines der besten Action-Adventures dieses Jahres auf der Nintendo Wii. Es stimmt so gut wie alles!

Apr 4th, 2010 · Wii · read review

Nintendo Life ( ) (80%)

When Fragile Dreams is good, it’s excellent, with great cutscenes, a beautiful decaying world to explore and enough mystery to make Professor Layton hang up his hat. The combat is the only downside, though you soon learn to avoid where possible. Graphically and aurally the title excels in offering a world unlike any other, and for fans of intelligent, emotive gaming there’s no brighter torchbearer than this.

Mar 25th, 2010 · Wii · read review

Nintendo-Online.de (8 out of 10) (80%)

Eine atemberaubende Grafik einer geisterhaften Welt, ein bewegender Soundtrack und eine spannende Geschichte machen „Fragile Dreams: Farewell Ruins of the Moon“ zu einem der wenigen wirklich atmosphärisch überzeugenden Spielen auf der Nintendo Wii. Wer sich den Kauf überlegt, sollte aber wissen, dass das Spiel eher ruhig abläuft und es nur in den Kämpfen hektisch wird. Letzteres ist dann allerdings auch der Kritikpunkt, denn in den Kämpfen spielen einem Kamera und Steuerung schon mal einen Streich und man verliert dadurch kurzzeitig die Übersicht. Wer damit leben kann, bekommt ein traumhaftes Abenteuer für die Wii, das in jede Spielsammlung gehört.

Mar 30th, 2010 · Wii · read review

Gemakei (formerly Zentendo) (8 out of 10) (80%)

It may not have the best control scheme or the most fluid combat system, but Fragile Dreams is still a beautiful, emotional, and insightful look into what defines us as humans. It pushes the boundaries of storytelling in games and is another fantastic addition to the Wii library.

Mar 24th, 2010 · Wii · read review

Spazio Games (8 out of 10) (80%)

Fragile Dreams: Farewell Ruins of the Moon è uno di quei videogame che affascina fin da subito e si rivolge a tutti coloro che in una produzione videoludica apprezzano anche le sfumature riuscendone a trarre il massimo dell'appagamento. Si tratta di un'avventura dai toni molto particolari e che vanno ben oltre una meccanica che ad un'analisi superficiale potrebbe apparire lineare e non così approfondita. La "ricerca" al centro della storia non è che il mezzo attraverso il quale immergersi in un mondo fantastico da esplorare, conoscere e scoprire poco alla volta. Grazie all'eccellente colonna sonora implementata dagli sviluppatori e supportata da un comparto grafico più che buono nel complesso, il gioco risulta molto accattivante anche dal punto di vista prettamente tecnico, contando anche su numerose sequenze animate e "cantate" che contribuiranno ad elargire con generosità momenti di spessore emotivo elevato.

Mar 24th, 2010 · Wii · read review

Jeuxvideo.com (16 out of 20) (80%)

Fragile Dreams n'est certes pas un titre dénué de défaut mais il s'agit tout de même d'un jeu exceptionnel. Si vous n'avez pas peur d'être rebuté par son gameplay un peu rigide et par son rythme plutôt tranquille, foncez sans attendre découvrir cette aventure empreinte de poésie.

Mar 24th, 2010 · Wii · read review

Worth Playing (8 out of 10) (80%)

Fragile Dreams: Farewell Ruins of the Moon has almost everything going for it in terms of being an excellent RPG. The graphics are some of the best on the Wii so far, and the sound ranks up there among the best from any game on any system. More importantly, both the main story and the anecdotal episodes are emotionally powerful and told well enough that even the most jaded RPG players will care about some aspect of the game's plot. With all of these elements being so well done, it's a shame that the gameplay is so bland overall and filled with odd design choices and practices that have been abandoned for quite some time. If you can easily forgive a few of the game's faults, by all means pick up Fragile Dreams: Farewell Ruins of the Moon. Despite some flaws, it establishes itself positively as one of the Wii's early standout RPG experiences.

Apr 14th, 2010 · Wii · read review

Mygamer.com (7.8 out of 10) (78%)

Whatever their obsession with the elements is, Tri-Crescendo has made my list of companies to watch, up there with XSeed, Tri-Ace and Atlus. As a final thought about Fragile Dreams, I have to say, while I didn’t have too much fun playing the game, I did have immense fun experiencing its story, music and narrative. I couldn’t recommend this game to a lot of people though, as it is more of a movie then a game. It’s niche and like I said, I can’t blame anyone for passing it up on store shelves.

Apr 11th, 2010 · Wii

Cheat Code Central (3.8 out of 5) (76%)

Fragile Dreams: Farewell Ruins of the Moon is a title I wholeheartedly recommend to every Wii owner. It's also a game that is, unfortunately, held back from true greatness by its own gameplay. The combat is sure to frustrate even the most forgiving of gamers, as you'll be doing more fighting with the controls than the actual enemies in the game. That being said, Fragile Dreams is worth fighting for. Push past its flaws, and you'll be rewarded with a beauty that is priceless. I won't dare claim the game to be a masterpiece, but it is still very much a work of art.

2010 · Wii · read review

3D Juegos (7.5 out of 10) (75%)

La soledad Action-RPG más existencialista llega a Wii con un título melancólico, intimista y muy emotivo. Teniendo como mayores aliados a su interesante argumento y acertada puesta en escena, Fragile: Farewell Ruins of the Moon es un videojuego que, aunque de corta duración, posee un esquema jugable tan variado y accesible que podría ser recomendable para todo tipo de jugadores. Una aventura, en definitiva, que te mantendrá pegado a tu Wii hasta que descubras por qué la humanidad ha desaparecido del decadente pero original mundo que han creado los japoneses de tri-Crescendo y Namco en conjunción.

Apr 14th, 2010 · Wii · read review

NintendoWorldReport (7.5 out of 10) (75%)

Overall, there is a lot to like about Fragile Dreams: Farewell Ruins of the Moon. It delivers its story well, features great design and technical prowess, and fills a niche not currently met on Wii. However, the uninspired combat, control irritations, and vestiges of survival horror games of days past bring the experience down. Fragile Dreams struggles to live up the hype, but does manage to deliver a journey through a world that is both moving and haunting at the same time.

May 19th, 2010 · Wii · read review

GamingTrend (73 out of 100) (73%)

Fragile Dreams: Farewell Ruins of the Moon is definitely a unique videogame experience. It is a game that won’t be for everyone. If you are a twitch gamer who demands a robust or even decent fighting system then you should steer clear of Fragile Dreams. But, if you enjoy a story driven adventure that is about a journey to try and salvage a normal life when it seems that none is attainable, then you will most likely find Fragile Dreams charming and worthwhile. Some people have voiced concerns about the length of the game, but my first play through took over 10 hours to complete. If you are the type of gamer who has to get a 100% completion rate then you could easily invest 20 hours into Fragile Dreams. To me, the game’s length is perfect. If you own a Wii and you are looking for something different that will challenge your emotions then give Fragile Dreams: Farewell Ruins of the Moon a shot.

Apr 2010 · Wii · read review

Official Nintendo Magazine (72 out of 100) (72%)

So because of this, Fragile Dreams is in danger of shooting itself in the foot. It's a game like no other in look and feel, but perhaps developer Tri Crescendo could have taken some cues from other games in a number of key areas so that players would want to play past the first couple of hours and experience its haunting journey, because it really is a journey worth making.

Mar 18th, 2010 · Wii · read review

GamesNation (7.2 out of 10) (72%)

L'assenza di un qualsiasi tipo di adattamento italiano potrebbe rappresentare un ostacolo per chi non è in grado di comprendere l'inglese (o peggio ancora il giapponese): tutte le linee di testo del gioco sono in lingua inglese, mentre all'interno del disco sono presenti sia il doppiaggio anglosassone che quello nipponico (per la gioia dei puristi). Nonostante gli innegabili difetti, comunque, Fragile Dreams: Farewell Ruins of the Moon si rivela un'esperienza piacevole, avvolgente e gratificante.

Mar 19th, 2010 · Wii · read review

RPGamer (3.5 out of 5) (70%)

So what does it all come down to? Is Fragile Dreams good or bad? The game can be completed in roughly ten hours, but I spent sixteen thoroughly scouring creepy hallways and empty buildings for clues to this ruined world's collapse. So, did I enjoy Fragile Dreams? Overwhelmingly, yes. Will you? I don't know, and that's the honest truth. This really is a game you'll have to try for yourself and see.

2010 · Wii · read review

GamePro (US) ( ) (70%)

Even with these inconsistencies, I still found exploring and fighting to be satisfying enough to push through the rough patches, if only to see where Seto's journey would lead him next. Sifting through what's left of the destroyed world for pockets of humanity and revisiting the past through the last memories of the people who once populated the now desolate landscape makes for a somber and moving tale. Fragile Dreams is touching at some moments and irritating at others, but taken as a whole, it's an adventure that's worthy of your time.

Mar 25th, 2010 · Wii · read review

XGN (7 out of 10) (70%)

Door de toegankelijkheid wat betreft het verhaal heeft Tri Crescendo de game open gesteld voor mensen die geen te diepe verhalen willen, maar de echte RPG-gamer eigenlijk een beetje tekort gedaan. Fragile Dreams is dan ook niet de sterkste game wat betreft diepgang, maar toch erg vermakelijk geworden. Wat betreft de sfeer en grafisch gezien over het algemeen doet de game het erg goed op de Wii en ook qua geluid is er absoluut niets mis. Jammer genoeg laat de game qua besturing wat steekjes vallen, waardoor je soms wat gefrustreerd raakt. Toch is het wel aan te raden deze game eens te proberen, ook al is het maar omdat je niets om handen hebt.

Apr 4th, 2010 · Wii · read review

Cubed3 (7 out of 10) (70%)

Certainly one of the Wii's most abstract and unusual offerings, marred by minor control issues, and a considerable amount of general repetition in tasks and exploration. Fragile Dreams brings to gamers a world eager to be explored and marvelled at, and despite the aforementioned issues, the result is a worthy addition to your Wii's library.

Apr 10th, 2010 · Wii · read review

Gamestyle (7 out of 10) (70%)

Despite some cumbersome game mechanics, particularly the shoddy combat, Fragile Dreams is an interesting, emotional experience. It's successful in creating the feeling of loneliness and isolation, and exploring the well-realised environments while slowly uncovering the mysteries of what happened to the world. A flawed adventure, but it's an enjoyable one at that.

Apr 2010 · Wii · read review

Meristation (7 out of 10) (70%)

Fragile no logra acceder al podio, como se diría popularmente, del género de las aventuras en 3D pese a su original propuesta. Es uno de los mejores ejemplos (contrario a lo que normalmente solemos ver en esta plataforma) de que una buena historia y un estilo estético para quitarse el sombrero no son excusas suficientes para justificar la pobreza a la que nos somete la jugabilidad de cuando en cuando. Esta vez no hay excusa de tiempo que valga -ha pasado mucho tiempo desde el lanzamiento japonés al europeo- para justificar este hecho o la ausencia de una traducción al castellano que, como ha sucedido en el pasado, al final acabará por justificar las pobres ventas que podría obtener el juego por estos lares, más aún con todo el cirio que se ha montado alrededor de la famosa traducción de aficionados que hasta el momento sigue en el limbo.

Apr 12th, 2010 · Wii · read review

GameSpot (7 out of 10) (70%)

It takes around 16 to 20 hours to complete this adventure, and the flaws and frustrations you face along the way are significant. Fragile Dreams flubs the gameplay but succeeds at creating a compelling world and taking you on a journey that feels meaningful. If you are open to that, you'll likely find that you fondly recall the characters and the places you encountered on this quest, long after the frustrations have faded from memory.

Apr 2nd, 2010 · Wii · read review

RPG Site (7 out of 10) (70%)

Boring backtracking and somewhat slow story aside there aren't a lot of games like Fragile Dreams in general, let alone on the Wii. Fragile Dreams: Farewell Ruins of the Moon is far from perfect, but it's well worth checking out.

Apr 5th, 2010 · Wii · read review

Legendra ( ) (70%)

Fragile Dreams déstabilise en premier lieu puis émerveille le joueur, mais surtout l'émeut. Malheureusement, cette alliance qui semblait parfaite est plombée par un gameplay trop raide et peu maniable. De ce fait, ce genre d'expérience ne s'adresse clairement pas à tous les joueurs mais plutôt à un public sensible, en quête de nouvelles sensations. On aurait préféré une fin un peu moins prématurée et plus travaillée, bien que l'ambiance du jeu si singulière et sa plastique soignée suffisent comme arguments d'achat.

Mar 28th, 2010 · Wii · read review

ZTGameDomain (7 out of 10) (70%)

Fragile Dreams is a tough game to classify. On one hand the production values are definitely top-tier. The visuals, sound and atmosphere are truly engrossing, and keep you entertained from beginning to end. However, the dated game design and tedious combat and fetch quests really drag down the actual game side of the experience. If you can handle game design that would have been common during the PSOne days there is a lot to love about the game. The story and aforementioned items are definitely worth the price of admission. Just be wary of what you are getting into before taking the plunge.

2010 · Wii · read review

Vandal Online (6.8 out of 10) (68%)

Desde un principio Fragile nos llamó mucho la atención, pues tenía algo que lo hacía especial. Lamentablemente, aunque sigue pareciéndonos bastante especial, tiene importantes problemas que hacen que se aleje bastante de lo que podría haber sido. Y es que el juego llega a resultar aburrido en ocasiones, y aunque nos invitara a jugar por una historia que cada vez será más interesante, no es suficiente. Culpa de esto lo tiene su sistema de combate y un sistema de juego que nos hace ir de un lado para otro, pero aún así nos encontramos con momentos muy interesantes que pueden valer la pena darle una oportunidad y una duración más que aceptable. Es una lástima que no se haya pulido un poco más el juego, pero aún así, quien sepa perdonarle sus defectos se encontrará con un juego con mucho encanto.

Apr 16th, 2010 · Wii · read review

RPGFan (68 out of 100) (68%)

Fragile Dreams will not be the game for anyone and everyone, but that doesn't mean it's not necessarily worth a try if you're looking for something different in a game. Fragile Dreams offers an intense RPG mixed with a survivor horror eeriness that is bound to provide some with hours of enjoyment. Those who don't the patience to put up with the game's flaws, however, are best to look at a survival horror game for their survival horror fix or to an RPG for their RPG fix.

Apr 15th, 2010 · Wii · read review

Game Shark (B-) (67%)

This is a gorgeous, unique, emotion-filled game. It looks and sounds great, and I dare you to find another game that makes you misty-eyed as often as this one does. The problem is the game's ponderous movement, tiresome combat mechanics and underdeveloped RPG elements undermine its beauty and emotion. The game is definitely worth a look (once the price comes down) if you love a good story, beautiful artwork and can get into something perpetually emo. If you're going into it looking for a rich RPG experience though, you're setting yourself up for a let down.

Apr 26th, 2010 · Wii · read review

IGN (6.7 out of 10) (67%)

It really does have a lot going for it, and you'll see that reflected in the scores below. And yet, some of the design decisions and gameplay conventions are exceedingly tired and frustrating. The unnecessary, uninspired fetch quests, blatant backtracking and awkward item management system distract and subtract in a big way from what is otherwise a quality experience. If you fancy yourself an addict for Japanese adventure games, you will want to experience Fragile Dreams. But with some glaring issues that really overshadow the gameplay experience, there's just no way I can glowingly recommend the title, as much as I had hoped I could.

Mar 17th, 2010 · Wii · read review

Digital Chumps (6.2 out of 10) (62%)

Still, the explorative aspect of the experience is considerably more gripping than the rest of the gameplay. The game truly succeeds at building a solemn, lonely sensation… but there’s just one final gripe that I haven’t yet touched on. What is it? Simply that, all things considered, the game is just so damned depressing. I saw it through to the very end before beginning my review write-up here, and I was severely underwhelmed by the “closure” provided in the epilogue. It’s just too dreary and misleading in all its “hope floats” undertones right up to the fizzling conclusion, which, without spoiling anything, doesn’t provide a satisfying answer to the uncertainty the rest of the game creates. Nevertheless, as long as you don’t expect a blockbuster, if this sort of thing resonates with you, you might justify a rental. Just be sure to carry a positive outlook and hide the razor blades beforehand.

Apr 3rd, 2010 · Wii · read review

D+PAD Magazine ( ) (60%)

There is much to applaud in Fragile Dreams: Farewell to Ruins of the Moon and it is undoubtedly well worth experiencing. It looks and sounds lovely, makes excellent use of the Wii’s abilities and, as a slightly more contemplative survival horror it succeeds, scaring in less obvious ways and proving to be strangely though provoking. Unfortunately when it’s not scaring you, it can feel frustrating and slightly unfocussed, eking out its play time with lengthy revisits to previous locales. What is most frustrating is that most of its problems lie in some reasonably minor issues that could have easily been resolved with a little more design finesse. And this is a shame; Fragile Dreams has the potential to be a classic survival horror, but instead its merely a slightly flawed, quirky, original and triumphantly Japanese addition to the genre.

Mar 23rd, 2010 · Wii · read review

Destructoid (6 out of 10) (60%)

That's the biggest frustration with Fragile Dreams. That so much brilliance is let down by careless and slapdash game design. That a truly wonderful story is clouded by terrible combat, terrible quests and terrible wastes of time. That a title deserving nines, tens and nominations for game of the year has been relegated to the status of "alright" and "just about worth playing if you've got the stomach for it" thanks to things that not even the developers could have considered acceptable. Fragile Dreams: Farewell Ruins of the Moon is beautiful. I thank the developers for making it. I resent the developers for not making it good enough.

Mar 21st, 2010 · Wii · read review

Console Obsession (6 out of 10) (60%)

So we’re left with a deeply flawed game, but with an immersive ruined world and emotional story, both of which are considerable strengths. Fragile Dreams is undoubtedly a more alluring experience than it is a game and, depending on how tolerant you are of its flaws, you may very well think that it’s a game that’s worthy of experiencing at least once.

Jul 13th, 2010 · Wii · read review

Everyeye.it (5.8 out of 10) (58%)

I creatori di Fragile hanno decisamente buttato alle ortiche le ottime idee alla base del progetto. Il titolo poteva regalare un'esperienza coinvolgente ed emozionante come solo pochi esponenti di questo genere riescono ormai a proporre, ma purtroppo un battle system privo di qualsiasi elemento strutturale adeguato, ed un level design decisamente senza inventiva e originalità, fanno di Fragile un titolo tedioso e inconsistente. Se si considera che sotto il profilo artistico il gioco è una vera perla di bellezza, con temi principali come la solitudine e la morte rappresentati graficamente da personaggi ed ambienti davvero evocativi, il rammarico di avere tra le mani un videogioco bellissimo da vedere, ma non da giocare, aumenta ancora di più.

Mar 25th, 2010 · Wii · read review

1UP (C+) (58%)

No sir, aside from a few interesting things the game does with its use of sound and the Wii Remote speaker (you rely on the sound from the remote to determine enemy proximity), the actual game-y bits are not Fragile's strong point. The primary forces driving you through the game are the few "characters" you meet along the way, and the slow unraveling of story. And when I say "slow," I mean glacial. In fact, the very first few hours are downright tedious since the game pauses whenever a new tutorial pops up. And god-forbid, you try to go down the left corridor when the game wants you to go right, the result is a slow fade to black as the game resets Seto on the right path just two steps away from where you were already standing. This sort of hand-holding slowly disappears as the game goes on, but any sort of back-tracking you're required to do will still be monotonous and boring, and made that much more so by the game's sub-par combat.

Mar 19th, 2010 · Wii · read review

Game Hoard, The (4 out of 7) (57%)

Fragile Dreams: Farewell Ruins of the Moon never quite does any of its gameplay mechanics well, but the characters and atmosphere help to balance it out so that you land somewhere in between a captivating game world and a tedious battle system. The arcs of the people Seto encounters are paced well and can tug on the heartstrings quite effectively, and in a world that nails its lonely tone and eerie emptiness, it’s easy to fall for the setting and story of the game. Unfortunately, the bothersome inventory system, bland combat, and half-baked bosses and gameplay shifts are underwhelming or outright a chore to interact with, so sadly, Fragile Dreams: Farewell Ruins of the Moon only barely scrapes by as something decent almost solely on the efficacy of its well-realized post-apocalyptic world.

Oct 15th, 2020 · Wii · read review

RPGFan (55 out of 100) (55%)

Fragile Dreams is a clusterflock of bad ideas implemented poorly. I hope the developers consider a different business because they clearly don't know how to make a fun video game. In fact, they don't even know how to make a tolerable one. Excuse me while I try to forget about Fragile Dreams: Farewell Ruins of the Moon.

May 21st, 2010 · Wii · read review

Eurogamer.net (UK) (5 out of 10) (50%)

Somehow less than the sum of its parts, Fragile Dreams fails to match its ambition with its systems and imagination. To call it a flawed gem would be too generous, as the problems run too deep and critical to make this an engaging proposition for any but the most patient and forgiving of players. But it seems churlish to put the boot in too, as there's something fragile and beautiful at the game's core: a vision that's worthy of celebration, but one that's ultimately obscured by its maker's shortcomings in realising it.

Mar 31st, 2010 · Wii · read review

GameZone (5 out of 10) (50%)

I could have forgiven such transgressions if Fragile Dreams had more compelling content to seal the gaps. The tower is forgotten as soon as it is introduced, and, in lieu of any significant plot, Seto frequently discovers relics of the dead and listens to their mournful stories of loss, hopelessness, and even suicide. The ceaseless barrage of tragedies would be fine if some vaguely apparent reason existed for dumping the pains of the world in our laps. I get it, you’re sad. I pressed onward through hours of stifling melancholy and archaic, backtracking fetch-quests to find keys, because Fragile Dreams exists in such a beautifully detailed world that can be genuinely frightening. I was sure that a tangible story, a hint of character-development, or even a challenging boss-fight must be around one of the corners. That moment came after eight hours of trudging through to the final scenario, but I didn’t care. I had already given in to the sadness.

Apr 20th, 2010 · Wii · read review

AceGamez (50 out of 100) (50%)

For me though, the ‘find your lost love’ story is a bit tedious – I want action and a larger than life experience. The fact that much of the game is pointless in the grand scope of things also frustrates. If you’re the kind of person who loves to watch dramas like Survivors, Coronation Street or EastEnders on TV and are disappointed by the overuse of violence in modern games, then I recommend this game as there really aren’t many other titles like it that focus solely on drama. However, if, like me, you prefer games that blow your mind – steer clear of this one.

Mar 24th, 2010 · Wii · read review

Hardcore Gamer Magazine (2.5 out of 5) (50%)

Fragile Dreams’ premise of a young boy having to fight his way through a dead and lonesome world has some weight behind it, and walking down a desolate hallway with nothing but your flashlight to guide you does have its particular merits. However, with the clunky combat, overly punishing weapon system, and hollow writing the game never really builds up any steam to keep you going. The relentless sense of emptiness that permeates the game is not only due to mankind apparently getting wiped off of the map, but also due to the game simply lacking much of what makes a game compelling to keep playing with.

Apr 2010 · Wii · read review

Gameblog.fr (4 out of 10) (40%)

Pas forcément beau mais très détaillé pour un jeu Wii, Fragile Dreams bénéficie de bonnes idées qui ne vont malheureusement pas assez loin. Un rêve qui tourne rapidement au cauchemar même si ce petit somme ne dure pas bien longtemps, mais suffisamment pour regretter les euros dépensés, à moins bien sûr que vous ayez l'âme d'un poète. Auquel cas, ce titre pourra en partie vous satisfaire, si vous ne l'avez pas payé le prix fort !

Apr 9th, 2010 · Wii · read review

GameCritics.com (4 out of 10) (40%)

I have to be honest in saying that it was extremely difficult to find motivation to continue playing, and this review is based on an incomplete run. Although the controls were solidly implemented, the graphics were some of the best I've seen on the Wii, and I do believe the developers' hearts were in the right place, Fragile Dreams: Farewell Ruins of the Moon is a tedious, trying experience that didn't offer enough reason for me to carry on in spite of its downsides. I'm sure that some Wii owners and JRPG connoisseurs will fall in love with its moody nature and deliberate pace, but despite its attempts to be a serious, artistic game on a console that's choked with brightly-colored waggle-heavy cash-ins, I really can't say that its successes outnumber its failures.

Mar 30th, 2010 · Wii · read review

Teletext (4 out of 10) (40%)

Usually finding and using new items is a highlight of any game, but here it's just a tedious chore as you run back and forth between campsites - and enemies respawn each time you do so. The final nail in the coffin is the tedious fetch quests that underline your progress and frequently require you to back-track for miles. Somehow the melancholic atmosphere and plot (and consistently excellent graphics) do keep you going but even they're hampered by slow pacing. There is a lot of good work here but tri-Crescendo have sabotaged themselves with outdated and frustrating gameplay.

Mar 30th, 2010 · Wii · read review

Player Reviews

A profoundly moving game, unlike any I've ever played.

The Good
Fragile Dreams was one of those games I didn't intend on buying until I ended up walking past it in the store. I had read the reviews, listened to the word of mouth and watched the footage. My mind was not totally made up. There were reasons I considered buying the game; the Japanese dub, the immersive atmosphere and the impressive implementation of the IR pointer on the Wii remote as a flashlight. There were other games out there though, yet I inexplicably ended up settling on this. I'm glad I did as well, as I was constantly moved, almost to tears, by this beautiful game.

Fragile Dreams tells the story of a lonely 15 year old boy named Seto. After the old man who was taking care of him died he was left with nothing other than a strange crystal and a note telling Seto to head towards the red tower that punctuated the night sky outside of his observatory home. So Seto set off through the empty cities and deserted streets, scrambling through the crumbling relics of abandoned buses and cars, festooned with weeds like the empty buildings all around him. Soon Seto came across a young, silver haired girl who runs away and triggers in him a desire to be with someone, anyone. Seto's loneliness spurs his journey and fuels his resolve as he trudges through the mysterious world of ruin and abandon.

Seto's predicament is incredibly profound. I found myself so connected to him, relating to his situation in a very tangible manner. Seto is after all completely alone, yet he repeatedly reminds himself that he cannot be the only one who feels this way, convinced that others out there are searching just like him for companionship in an otherwise cold, lonely world. I find myself thinking this a lot, and a lot of the sadness I felt through the game was based on that empathy that Seto's predicament generated. In my personal situation, in a world of billions of people I am effectively alone. Those walking on the streets with me may as well be ghosts, simply flitting by completely indignant towards my existence. Yet I know eventually I will find someone just like me, who is simply seeking companionship, just like Seto. The scenario is pure genius, appealing to that sense of alienation everyone feels at one stage or another. It's this meditation on companionship and human emotion that causes Fragile's story to transcend what is otherwise a fairly standard mad scientist story.

Fragile's game play depends on fairly tried and true action/adventure dynamics with some light RPG elements to add that spice of achievement to the hacking and slashing. Seto moves forwards, backwards and strafes using the Nun-chuck. His view and flashlight are tied to the Wii remote, which realistically illuminates his surrounding environment wherever you so happen to point it. Pressing Z on the Nun-chuck causes the camera to lock itself behind Seto and the C button causes him to crouch, offering access to tight spaces. It's a very stress free control scheme and the pointer controlled view is really intuitive once you get the hang of it.

There are several classes of weapon; Light, Medium, Heavy and Ranged with each class offering a specific benefit over another. For instance a Medium weapon might be slower than a Light weapon but can be charged and swung around in a circle to hit multiple enemies at once, whereas a Light weapon can strike multiple times in the time it would take to hit once with a Medium weapon. Depending on the enemies you are encountering you can switch out your weapons accordingly, until they break that this.

Yes, weapons can break. This requires you to discard and replace them. It's not as tedious as it sounds and it takes quite a while for a weapon to break, normally it only happens after fighting a boss. Your inventory can be managed by heading to a bonfire, which also functions as a save point, in addition to healing you and letting you barter with a traveling merchant dressed as a chicken. He's a charming fellow and isn't totally one dimensional, his character is eventually elaborated on and although it's a little out of left field, his motives for doing what he does are heartbreaking. From the bonfire screen you can manage Seto's inventory, placing things you don't need in the suitcase which automatically sorts out all of your weapons, healing items, memory items and quest items saving you the pain of doing that yourself.

Personally, I think criticism regarding the bonfire save system is not only unfair but totally childish. The criticism in reviews I have read has targeted it as an archaic game play mechanic based on the item box system introduced in Resident Evil. While this comparison is somewhat accurate the implementation in Fragile is totally different. The game essentially plays linearly, with one or two instances of back tracking to obtain a quest item or find an alternate route to somewhere else. Bonfires are provided quite liberally and are very obviously placed. Those having trouble playing the game with this system are either very spoiled or are incredibly inept at playing video games. It's arrogant and pompous to totally discount it, as there is a strategy involved in how you use the bonfires. I won't go on about this anymore, I just wanted to add some balance to the criticism being leveled.

The environments Seto rambles through are haunting shells of better times. An amusement park sits rusting against a twilight sky, filled not with the delighted squeals of children but rabid dogs and spirits. A once well maintained field sits unkempt and overgrown, rides infiltrated and slowly being destroyed as nature reclaims her stolen spaces. At another point Seto finds himself in a crumbling hotel, a tree penetrating the walls and essentially becoming part of the building. Dirty curtains twist and dance in the breeze as bright sunlight casts shadows over the mossy concrete inside the ransacked rooms.

Every room and hallway has been constructed with this haunting loneliness, the signs of civilization nothing more than old relics slowly being turned to rubble by the encroaching weeds and tree life. It's all rendered in such a magnificently subtle way, from the discarded teddy bears to the gentle to and fro of the leaves on a tree through a window. There's always something for you to see, to remind you of how busy and alive these places used to be, it's genius artistic direction.

In regards to the tech, it's incredibly solid. Seto and the other characters in the game are rendered with immaculate detail, their lips synching perfectly to the dialogue. The vibrant colors of some scenes contrast with the dim twilight of others, with Seto's flashlight doing nothing to alleviate the sense of isolation and creeping dread that these areas exhibit. The texture work is beyond reproach, with everything plastered with distinctive, high resolution imagery. Though there isn't a lot of variety to them enemies are animated well, with distinctive form and character from the ghostly jellyfish to the moaning women with pins coming out of their backs.

An important thing for me to note is the soundtrack, or distinctive lack thereof. In scenes where music isn't necessary, it isn't there. All you get is the echoing stomp of Seto's footsteps and the wind as it courses eerily through tree branches and dank tunnels. When enemies come into range a maudlin piano begins to play accompanied by sad strings that follow you until you either dispatch your foes or run out of range. So yes, there is boss and regular encounter music. There is also the music that accompanies Seto's revelations and discoveries, the tender melodies that play when his heart is broken and the heart-wrenching piano dirge that accompanies your final encounters. Like every other stylistic element in this game the soundtrack is incredibly refined and accomplished.

The inclusion of both the English dub and Japanese original voice over track is very appreciated. I don't pretentiously ignore the English dub of anime and video games (when you rarely get the chance to choose between the two) it's just I've never heard a Japanese dub I haven't liked. English dubs tend to be decidedly terrible, with many things either lost in translation or characters exaggerated or played wrong. So for me personally it was very nice to be able to play the game in Japanese, I appreciated the effort. Just out of curiosity, I played through the game in English. It's not bad, the dub is about on par with many higher quality anime dubs. So, whatever language you play the game in you will get a competently acted story.

One final thing I'd like to mention about the audio are the Memory items which are picked up as the game progresses. These items function as short stories, superbly acted pieces of mini-fiction that give insight into the minds and feelings of people before the great catastrophe that befell mankind. There is no practical use for these, however they add a layer of depth to the entire experience that goes beyond anything I've seen in a game before. They add a dimension of humanity to the entire experience. You know everyone is gone, but in games along a similar vain we don't really care. In Fragile you understand the loss of life so much better than if this feature was left out of the game.

The Bad
There isn't much about Fragile I didn't enjoy. What I didn't enjoy were tiny things. For instance, some enemies are designed to drift in and out of existence, this is understandable however it also means if you don't have your wits about you you will suffer a few cheap hits. In addition to that enemies can block corridors which was a little frustrating. It was difficult to sometimes see some enemies with a Ranged weapon equipped as you are denied the use of a flashlight when using one.

There is no checkpoint system in Fragile and if you are particularly daring and like to go without saving something disastrous could happen and you could end up going back an hour to your last save if you die. If you remember to save regularly it's not a problem, remember what I mentioned about the abundance of bonfires.

Some hallways are far too long, with little to do while you spend 5 minutes simply running in one direction to get to a door.

The Bottom Line
Fragile Dreams, in my opinion, is a masterpiece. It's a game that worked so intelligently on so many levels to evoke the most profound emotions in me. I felt so connected to Seto, I identified with his plight and I was genuinely moved, almost to tears, during the 10 hours it took me to finish the game.

The game play is rock solid, the engine is polished and the variety of environments and scenario's leaves the game feeling fresh up until the very end. There is a lot about the game I haven't even mentioned from the cat's you find on your journey to the occasional distractions here and there. I'll stop now and let you see for yourself how fantastic this game is.

by AkibaTechno (238) on Jul 31st, 2010 · Wii

Plus 7 player ratings without reviews

Contributors to this Entry

Critic reviews added by Jeanne, firefang9212, Patrick Bregger, Victor Vance, Cantillon, Cavalary, Alsy, jumpropeman, Alaka.