🐳 29 years ago: The Elder Scrolls: Arena was released!

Mario Kart: Super Circuit

aka: Mario Kart Advance

[ All ] [ Game Boy Advance ] [ Nintendo 3DS ] [ Wii U ]

Critic Reviews 91% add missing review

Pocket Magazine / Pockett Videogames ( )

Techniquement, Mario Kart Super Circuit est une vĂ©ritable claque. Bien qu’en fausse 3D mode 7, le graphisme n’a rien Ă  envier Ă  la version N64, les couleurs sont chatoyantes et les dĂ©cors bĂ©nĂ©ficient de nombreux dĂ©tails. Non contente de maintenir un framerate impressionnant tout au long de la course, l’animation se paie le luxe d’enrichir les arriĂšres plans Ă  coups de scrollings diffĂ©rentiels. Comme bien souvent chez Nintendo, la maniabilitĂ© est irrĂ©prochable. En fait ; elle se rapproche davantage de Super Mario Kart que de Mario Kart 64. On regrettera cependant que l’astucieux systĂšme de dĂ©rapage du dernier n’ait pas Ă©tĂ© conservĂ©. Par contre, on pestera contre l’inclusion des ses power-ups ultimes, comme les triples carapaces rouges ou vertes. De mĂȘme, regrettable qu’un item aussi puissant que l’étoile puisse ĂȘtre obtenue en deuxiĂšme position lors d’une course. Tout ceci contribue certes au fun mais aussi au dĂ©sĂ©quilibre des confrontations.

Oct 2001 · Game Boy Advance · read review

The Video Game Critic (A)

It goes without saying that the gameplay is fast, exciting, and supremely fun. The controls haven't changed much, with the exception of a new "spin turn", which lets you quickly change direction. The one-player mode saves your progress as you conquer each circuit, but Super Circuit is best played by multiple players linking up. A battle mode is available, and you can even shared your "ghosts" with friends. If you want to race on your Game Boy Advance, this one is a no-brainer.

Dec 28th, 2003 · Game Boy Advance · read review

UOL Jogos ( )

E se tudo isso nĂŁo for suficiente para vocĂȘ... Mario Kart Super Circuit ainda tem um excelente brinde: todas as pistas do Mario Kart do SNES, com direito Ă  mĂșsica original. Se depender de jogos como esse, os cartuchos nĂŁo estĂŁo com os dias contados como alguns sugerem.

Sep 10th, 2001 · Game Boy Advance · read review

The Next Level (USA) (A)

Nintendo has done well to protect one of it's best franchises in it's trip over to the GBA. The playability of this game is one the main reasons why I like it so much. Forget that the graphics are nice or that the sounds are great. If a game, especially a racing game, isn't playable then it's just a wasted effort. Luckily, fans of the Mario Kart series won't have to worry about this. Thus far, Mario Kart: Super Circuit has got to the be the best game the Game Boy Advance currently available. I would seriously recommend that anyone with a penchant for kart racers pick this one up for sure.

Sep 4th, 2001 · Game Boy Advance · read review

64 Power / big.N / N Games ( )

Die hohen Erwartungen werden mehr als erfĂŒllt. Mario Kart trĂ€gt seinen stolzen Namen völlig zu Recht. Von der kindlichen Aufmachung sollte sich niemand tĂ€uschen lassen, denn unter der knallbunten OberflĂ€che steckt ein ausgefeiltes Rennspiel mit unglaublicher Spieltiefe. Allen Freunden von Fun-Racern ist dieses Spiel wĂ€rmstens zu empfehlen und alteingesessene Mario Karter kommen um die Neuauflage sowieso nicht herum, im Gegenteil: Super Circuit ist definitiv ein Kaufgrund fĂŒr den GBA!

Sep 2001 · Game Boy Advance

GamePro (US) (5 out of 5)

Overall, Super Circuit handles like a front-runner, but sometimes the windshield needs cleaning. The direct-light-dependent GBA screen can drive you nuts when you use body english around turns because glare makes the game temporarily disappear, which can destroy your run. The controls are tight, but nit-picky M. Kart vets may find the right-shoulder-plus-directional-button combo for powerslides a little finicky.

Aug 27th, 2001 · Game Boy Advance · read review

GamesFirst! ( )

This is a great game, and I haven’t even touched on the miracle of the super tight controls or beautiful menu design. Simply stated: Mario Kart Super Circuit is a big miracle in a small package. Some reviews are torture to write, but sometimes the words seem to flow straight from the mouth to the iridescent computer screen. Chalk up another minor miracle to the gaming gods. If you buy only one game for your Game Boy Advance, make it this one.

Sep 29th, 2001 · Game Boy Advance · read review

Nintendojo (9.6 out of 10)

I’m currently trying to have a second system where I only buy games if I love them, and not fall for any hype. I picked up this game yesterday, and I’m completely glad I did. Plus, Target is selling them for a mere $25 brand new. Jesus, what a deal! So go pick it up now. And take a few friends along while you’re at it, you gotta try multi-player. Link cables are $10 a pop, too.

2001 · Game Boy Advance · read review

GameSpy (96 out of 100)

As is typical of Nintendo's famous Mario games, the graphics are splendid, and very reminiscent of the original Mario Kart for the SNES. The sound effects are good and the music is track specific and very true to the game's spirit. It never grows obnoxious or tiresome.

Sep 2001 · Game Boy Advance · read review

PGNx Media (9.5 out of 10)

This game really brings back the magic of the original, and the amazing thing is you are playing it on the size of a candy bar. This game is the best for the GBA for its endless fun and brilliant gameplay.

Jun 7th, 2002 · Game Boy Advance · read review

NintendoWorldReport (9.5 out of 10)

No matter how you look at it, Mario Kart Advance is a fantastic addition to the series. Beginners along with Kart veterans will be very happy when they play this game. I wouldn’t say it’s necessary to import this game since it’s coming out in about a month, plus you never know if it will be compatible multi-pak wise. Chances are it won’t be. I’m a freakin’ Kart junkie, and I took one for the team, and forced myself to play this game for hours just for you! Overall, Nintendo seemingly took all of the good things from Super Mario Kart, Mario Kart 64, sprinkled a touch of Diddy Kong Racing (coin challenges), and created a portable Kart-fest. The game does have some minor flaws, but overall Mario Kart Advance is not only the best Kart game on a handheld system, it’s one of the main reasons you should have a Game Boy Advance.

Jul 24th, 2001 · Game Boy Advance · read review

Game Informer Magazine (9.5 out of 10)

After playing so many craptacular knock-offs of Mario Kart (Super Bombad, South Park Rally, Smurf Racer, etc.), you'd think I would be sour to the kart racing genre as a whole. Nay, for I am not. Mario Kart Super Circuit may be the best and most entertaining entry in this hit-or-miss category yet. Everything about this game blows my mind, especially the fact that I was playing it on a system the size of a flat guinea pig.

Sep 2001 · Game Boy Advance · read review

IGN (9.5 out of 10)

Mario Kart Super Circuit is a perfect example of how a little extra development time can do a Game Boy Advance title wonders -- the game made its first playable debut almost a year before this review, and it's obvious that the additional time in development worked to the game's and developer's advantage. This title is an awesome Game Boy Advance game that shows off everything the system's capable of, from the single and multiple cartridge, four player link, to the digitized audio, to the hardware's pseudo-3D capabilities. It's a GBA game with very few flaws -- it's a shame that it didn't quite make the system launch, but the extra wait did the game wonders, and it shouldn't be missed.

Aug 29th, 2001 · Game Boy Advance · read review

Deaf Gamers (9.5 out of 10)

Mario Kart Super Circuit is one of the best games on the GBA and certainly justifies the price of the console just to play it. It really is hard to come up with something that Nintendo could have improved upon. One of handheld gaming's greatest moments.

2001 · Game Boy Advance · read review

Consoles Plus (95 out of 100)

L'esprit de Mario Kart est bel et bien lĂ  ! Le jeu est toujours aussi captivant et amusant... Un incontournable pour votre Game Boy Advance.

Sep 2001 · Game Boy Advance · read review

VicioJuegos.com / uVeJuegos.com (94 out of 100)

TĂ©cnicamente es superior a Super Mario Kart en todos los sentidos. Es bastante duradero, pero a veces puede resultar algo facilĂłn y una vez completado se hace monĂłtono a largo plazo. Lo mejor que podemos encontrar en este tĂ­tulo es el multijugador, que nos mantiene pegados a nuestra GBA todo el tiempo.

Jan 26th, 2007 · Game Boy Advance · read review

VicioJuegos.com / uVeJuegos.com (93 out of 100)

Intelligent Systems ha vuelto a conseguir crear un título sobresaliente, tanto en jugabilidad, técnicamente para su momento estuvo francamente bien, y ofrece un juego imprescindible para todo poseedor del sistema. Pese a que no innove jugablemente, y se trate de una versión mejorada del mítico juego de Super Nintendo, se trata de un título superior, tanto gråficamente, jugablemente, por la mayor complejidad de los circuitos, con sus atajos, el uso del Power Slide y los nuevos ítems, sin revolucionar, Intelligent Systems ha conseguido crear una joya para Game Boy Advance.

Jul 26th, 2005 · Game Boy Advance · read review

Gaming Target (9.1 out of 10)

Some of the game's extras involve using the Game Boy Advance's multi-link cable (which is sold separately at game retailers everywhere). With the cable, you will be able to go head to head against up to three friends when connecting three separate handhelds put together. In four-player mode, players are able to match up against each other in a race. If you don't have the extra handhelds to pass around, two players can duke it out in the Mario GP tournament; against the computer, you and a friend or family member will enter the tournament to find out who'll win the top brass. Of course, no Mario Kart game is complete without a battle mode; two players mop the floor with each other in a grueling battle of the fittest in any crazy arena.

Dec 18th, 2001 · Game Boy Advance · read review

Gaming Age (A-)

It's the best kart racing game out there and although Krazy Racers is fun and features unique characters with different weapons, I feel that Mario Kart edges it out in the replay department and features more innovative track designs. This is the killer app for the GBA (at least when it comes to multiplayer gaming) and shouldn't be missed by anyone. Fans of the series and new players alike will eat this game up. The only things that I am slightly disappointed with are the battle arenas and the lack of new characters & weapons. I'd love it if Nintendo would feature some hidden characters and some new weapons to keep the game fresh. Even with those minor drawbacks, Mario Kart Super Circuit is by far my favorite GBA game and will probably eat up more batteries than any other game I've owned thus far. Definitely give this game a try. Whether you're looking for a great 1-player excursion or an awesome 4-player racing game, this is the one to buy.

Sep 21st, 2001 · Game Boy Advance · read review

Super Play (Sweden) (9 out of 10)

Okej, nu har jag i alla fall försökt. Fast det kÀnns ÀndÄ som om jag missat mycket. Till exempel har jag inte berört spelkontrollen, som Àr lika fenomenal och skön som alltid. Jag har ocksÄ glömt bort att tala om att banorna mÄnga gÄnger Àr sÄ fÀrggranna och ljusa att det inte spelar nÄgon roll att Game Boy Advance saknar inbyggt ljus. Men förhppningsvis har budskapet ÀndÄ gÄtt fram. Mario Kart: Super Circuit Àr just nu det spel jag spelar helst. Och jag har svÄrt att se hur jag skulle kunna tröttna.

Sep 2001 · Game Boy Advance

Thunderbolt Games (9 out of 10)

The game is better than most games around. It’s got a ton of options, and it easily is the best GBA Kart racer around. Hell, I would go as far as saying it’s the best GBA racer, period. I really can’t see why anyone wouldn’t like this game. The varied tracks, the fun multiplayer and the wide-variety of racers makes Mario Kart Super Circuit a true gem of a title to own on the Gameboy Advance.

Feb 18th, 2003 · Game Boy Advance · read review

All Game Guide ( )

With a wealth of 8-bit and 16-bit remakes available at its launch, the Game Boy Advance looked to be in danger of becoming a dumping ground for classic favorites. But Mario Kart Super Circuit proves that an excellent older game can be the jumping off point for an even better one.

2001 · Game Boy Advance · read review

Jeuxvideo.com (18 out of 20)

Mario Kart est à l'heure actuelle l'un des meilleurs jeux GBA, si ce n'est le meilleur. Doté d'une excellente réalisation et d'une jouabilité à toutes épreuves, ce titre fait donc déjà parti des classiques de la console. Un must-have, comme on dit.

Sep 5th, 2001 · Game Boy Advance · read review

Gamekult (9 out of 10)

Pas de doute, Mario Kart n'a rien perdu de sa pĂȘche ni de son fun. Ce jeu saura combler Ă  peu prĂšs n'importe quelle personne qui prĂ©tend aimer un tant soit peu les jeux vidĂ©o, car il regroupe absolument toutes les qualitĂ©s requises pour devenir un trĂšs grand Hit au mĂȘme titre que ses prĂ©decesseurs. La rĂ©alisation technique est impeccable, le gameplay est instinctif, la durĂ©e de vie quant Ă  elle est inĂ©puisable grĂące aux nombreux circuits et au mode multijoueurs convivial. Mario Kart Super Circuit est donc une rĂ©ussite totale, tout simplement le meilleur jeu Game Boy Advance Ă  ce jour, et le dĂ©trĂŽner ne sera pas Ă  la portĂ©e du premier venu...

Aug 2nd, 2001 · Game Boy Advance · read review

Gamestyle (9 out of 10)

Mario Kart Super Circuit has been treated with the love and respect that is missing from most videogames scattered across retail shelves today. Such qualities shine through and for those who have not played the SNES incarnation you afford to miss this. For the more experienced gamer, pick up a GBA and prepare to do battle once again!

Jul 27th, 2006 · Game Boy Advance · read review

Cubed3 (9 out of 10)

Some may try to tell you otherwise, but this is the definitive version of Mario Kart, and a perfect way to warm up your karting skills in the run-up to the GameCube’s forthcoming release. Thoroughly recommended.

Feb 2nd, 2003 · Game Boy Advance · read review

Eurogamer.net (UK) (9 out of 10)

The fact of the matter is though, apart from some niggles, one of which is a hotly contested design flaw in the console and one of which is a carry over from the Super Nintendo version, this conversion of a five year old game is the best driving game on the GameBoy Advance to date, and I would take it over a lot of its big brother's competitors on the PlayStation 2 and Dreamcast too. It has everything a single player, or indeed a foursome of like-minded console gamers, could ever dream of, and all with the added benefit of extensive replayability. With Super Mario Advance 2 still a way off, Mario Kart Super Circuit is the killer app for GameBoy Advance as of now. Buy it.

Sep 27th, 2001 · Game Boy Advance · read review

Computer and Video Games (CVG) (9 out of 10)

There's very little to fault here, and our only issues were ones of personal taste. Mike thought there were too many red-shells floating about in multiplayer races, while Lee thought the missing feather from the power-up roster was a shame. But we all agreed that while Mario Kart on GBA is close to perfect, its attraction has been dulled ever so slightly by the reams of other kart games out there. Hence no 10/10.

Sep 26th, 2001 · Game Boy Advance · read review

HonestGamers (Staff reviews only) (9 out of 10)

Nintendo has ''done it again.'' Not only have they delivered a near-perfect sequel/port of their classic trademark racing game, but they've brought it to the new handheld system. If you're looking for a combination of the handheld SNES classic (with improved graphics), plus a bunch of new elements, look no further! If you're a fan of Nintendo, Mario, racing games, or just good fun in general, this is perfect. Probably one of the best GBA games so far.

2001 · Game Boy Advance · read review

Pocket Gamer UK (9 out of 10)

And it's that randomness which gives Mario Kart most of its appeal. Races tend to be quick and absurdly frantic affairs, with the action so close that it's impossible to determine a winner until everyone's crossed the finishing line. There is obviously scope for bettering your skills both as driver and combatant, and the sense of achievement from outplaying the competition is immense, but ultimately Super Circuit's greatest achievement has to be how immediately and universally the game's exceptional thrills can be enjoyed.

Oct 21st, 2005 · Game Boy Advance · read review

Mygamer.com (9 out of 10)

Owning a GBA without Super Circuit is like kicking someone when they are down; you just shouldn't do it. This game delivers in every way possible. There are not many games with better graphics on the GBA. And what more could you ask for in the multiplayer department. Tell your friends to buy this game and get a link cable. Every kart racer that comes out from now will have to try to live up to the high standards set by Mario Kart Super Circuit. This game is at the top of kart racing and continues the Mario Kart lineage in style.

Aug 10th, 2004 · Game Boy Advance · read review

Gamereactor (Sweden) (9 out of 10)

Allt som allt sÄ Àr Mario Kart: Super Circuit en helt igenom positiv upplevelse, och med utsikten att vinna guld i tre kubik-klasser, att uppnÄ triple A-rating i alla lopp och att kunna köra dina vÀnner sönder och samman i multiplayer kan jag bara sÀga, att du behöver det hÀr spelet. Du behöver en Game Boy Advance och fler timmar pÄ dygnet!

May 25th, 2003 · Game Boy Advance · read review

Meristation (9 out of 10)

No vamos a caer en ningĂșn tĂłpico. Mario Kart Super Circuit es de compra obligada. De los pocos juegos de GBA que, por sĂ­ solos, justifican la adquisiciĂłn de la consola sin miedo a equivocarse por la elecciĂłn. Sus tremendos grĂĄficos a la altura de una jugabilidad antolĂłgica y una Banda Sonora de lujo asĂ­ lo certifican.

Sep 10th, 2001 · Game Boy Advance · read review

Nintendo Power ( )

Fast, furious and fun, Mario Kart: Super Circuit is an irresistible game, and it's surely destined to be a GBA classic.

Sep 2001 · Game Boy Advance · read review

Game Freaks 365 (8.9 out of 10)

While Mario Kart: Super Circuit isn't one of the greatest kart racing game ever made, it is still one of the best kart racing games on the GBA. Mario Kart: Super Circuit has one of the greatest multiplayer scores on the GBA to date. If you have friends with this game, expect a heck of a fun time. Don't have friends? Then I suggest that you get some or pass this game. Meet you at the finish line sucka (gets knocked out by a Koopa shell).

2001 · Game Boy Advance · read review

Computer Bild Spiele (1.6 out of 6)

Dieser wilde Wettkampf ist unterhaltsamer als so manches Formel-Eins-Rennen. Es gibt keine Regeln, Sie mĂŒssen auf nichts und niemanden RĂŒcksicht nehmen. Das macht vor allem mit mehreren Spielern Spaß. Bis zu vier Fahrer können per Linkkabel gegeneinander antreten. Und brauchen dazu nur ein einziges Spiel-Modul. FĂŒr diesen tollen Mehr-Spieler-Modus gibt es eine Aufwertung. Am rundum gelungenen Spielkonzept und der kunterbunten Grafik gibt es ohnehin wenig zu bemĂ€ngeln. Testurteil: „gute“ Fahrt.

Sep 2001 · Game Boy Advance

GameSpot (8.2 out of 10)

Ultimately, Mario Kart Super Circuit does many things right and few things wrong. Whether you're an ardent fan of the Mario Kart series or a first-time player, Mario Kart Super Circuit is a must-have for owners of the Game Boy Advance.

Aug 27th, 2001 · Game Boy Advance · read review

AceGamez (8 out of 10)

Mario Kart Super Circuit is a top racing title that lacks a bit of polish where originality and gameplay is concerned. The graphics and sound are well executed and the game, on the whole, is engaging and fun - while managing to complete the package with a very respectable lifespan. Super Circuit is by no means a perfect or ground breaking racer, but it's still damn good fun and worth a place in anyone's collection.

2001 · Game Boy Advance · read review

Silicon-Fusion.com (8 out of 10)

Overall, there aren't many faults to be found with Mario Kart Super Circuit. It's one of the best looking Game Boy Advance titles around, making full use of the semi-3D modes from the SNES days, along with some great background music and sound clips to accompany the on-screen action and frantic gameplay to keep you playing for hours at a time. The only possible problems that arise would have to be with the controls, since the Game Boy Advance in incapable of bringing the same kind of precise analogue control that the N64 version had. However, this hardly tarnishes what has to be a must-have game for Nintendo's new console.

Sep 10th, 2001 · Game Boy Advance · read review

Bordersdown (8 out of 10)

Flaws? Well, it could be conceived as too cute, I suppose, but that would be to miss the point. Similarly, the ease with which it's possible to complete the Mario GP could be a problem, but the ranking feature adds longevity, as does the sheer amount of fun to be had tearing around Bowser Castle. Basically, this is the Game Boy Advance's killer app. With big, bold graphics (that aren't affected overall that badly by the screen problems), spot on handling and tracks, and the same classic multiplayer, it's impossible not to recommend this as a must-have game for any GBA owner. And if you don't own a GBA
now IS the time.

2001 · Game Boy Advance · read review

Level ( )

Jocul este extrem de bine calibrat și foarte bogat Ăźn opțiuni. La capitolul gameplay, fun-ul se datoreazsă mai ales vitezelor amețitoare și fondului sonor. Dacă mai adăugăm și faptul că la acest nivel grafica este cĂąt se poate de bună, avem Ăźn față un joculeț de recomandat.

Dec 2002 · Game Boy Advance

TigerChainsaw (7.5 out of 10)

The Mario Kart series is loved by so many gamers and I think it’s because casual players can pick it up and play it right away. I haven’t fallen in love with any of the games yet but I keep waiting for the series to rev up. Mario Kart Super Circuit offers a huge buffet of tracks to race on but the flatness of the tracks turned me off during my Mario Kart Super Circuit review. There’s no hills, bumps or dips and focusing on track so much to make sure I’m not running over and dangers made my eyes strain on graphics that I don’t care for. It’s a fun game to play but surprisingly I’d rather play Mario Kart 64 just so I’m not straining my eyes.

Apr 14th, 2020 · Game Boy Advance · read review

Player Reviews

Great handheld racing game
by Roedie (5243)

The Good

  • Great gameplay like we've come to expect from the Mario Kart series after Super Mario Kart & Mario Kart 64. Short races (never more than 3 minutes per race) with plenty of action, improbable comebacks, short-cuts and power-ups (on some tracks you can get up to 3 power-ups per lap). Races are exciting till the end as racers in the bottom half of the pack get better power-ups than those in the top half. The race-leader is especially vulnerable with all the red & purple shells fired by the other racers and the boo power-up also slows down the race-leader. If you play against the CPU the 50 cc & 100 cc classes are rather easy, but the 150 cc class is pretty hectic and you'll need quite a bit of knowledge of the track (know the shortcuts etc.) to win. During the race you must collect coins to increase the speed of your kart while other racers try to bump into you, which makes you lose coins. I definitely had a lot of fun while playing this game.
  • Mario Kart Super Circuit has a lot to offer and you won't get bored with it very fast. I spent a huge amount of time playing this game. There are 20 new tracks divided into five cups. To unlock the special cup you need to finish first in each of the four regular cups, You must do this for each of the three engine classes. When you've also won the special cup you can unlock all the 20 tracks of the SNES original by collecting 100 coins in each of the Super Circuit cups. If you want to challenge yourself some more you can then try to score a triple-star rating for each of the 30 cup/engine class combinations. Your rating is determined by the amount of points scored, your lap times, the amount of coins collected, the amount of power-ups used (less is better) and the amount of continues used. You can also try to beat the computer's times in the time-trial mode and play against another player (via the link cable) in a single race or in the classic battle mode.
  • Graphics are bright & colourful, which works fine with the GBA screen, and are a vast improvement over those of Mario Kart for the SNES. The action is smooth and the 150 cc class gives you a good sense of speed. The new tracks are longer, more complex and look better as well. There are several new unique themes, see for instance Sky Garden, Ribbon Road and Yoshi's Desert, which all have their own set of graphics and music. On some of the tracks the scenery changes during the race, for example the sun sets while you complete your laps or a volcano erupts and darkens the sky
  • Of course the handling of the karts is not realistic, however this doesn't mean that it is shallow. It takes a bit of practice to make the most of your time-trial attempts. Besides knowledge of the track, you also need to get used to the handling of the various karts and how they respond to the different surfaces of the various tracks. Your choice for a particular character really influences the handling of your kart. I enjoyed the fact that you can now powerslide through corners by holding down left (or right) on the d-pad & the right shoulder button. A good powerslide (either a couple of seconds or 180 degrees or more) gives you small speed boost so it's worthwhile to practice this. Another change to the gameplay is the ability to block incoming shells by holding down the left shoulder button after you've collected a shell or banana. However you can't look behind you anymore.


The Bad

  • Sounds & Music are up-tempo and upbeat which fits a Mario game. I think the sound-effects are well done and like the majority of the songs but after a while some the tunes start to get on my nerves as they are rather intense and hard to ignore (and can't be turned off). I can imagine it's really annoying to sit next to someone who's playing this game. Sometimes the music makes it hard to hear an incoming shell.
  • Mario Kart games are excellent multiplayer titles, but the nature of the GBA hardware makes it likely you'll mostly play this game on your own. You can play this game with up to four people but if you want the full range of options you'll need 4 GBA's, 4 game cartridges and a matching number of link-cables. Of course that's not going to happen very often. Anyway since most people will probably play this game on their own it's a bit disappointing that you can't play the battle mode against the computer.
  • One aspect of the original Super Mario Kart that annoyed me was that the A.I. drivers would somehow magically receive multiple power-ups per race (like Luigi getting 3 star power-ups in one race). I always felt that the A.I. was cheating. In this version the A.I. drivers need to hit item-blocks to get power-ups just like you (at least I think they have to). If you're not too far ahead I think you can prevent them from getting a power-up by driving through multiple item-blocks at once (the item-blocks will return after a little while). However some parts of the race still feel scripted; I've played some races in which a red shell came after me in exactly the same corner on every lap or in which one the race-leaders gets two star power-ups in a row, which never happens to you when you're in front of the pack.
  • There's only room for ten ghosts from the time-trail mode on the cartridge. So after a while you have to delete your old achievements to save your latest accomplishment.
  • While it's not extremely hard to win a golden cup in the 150 cc class, playing on this difficulty level can be frustrating if you're a perfectionist and aiming for those double / triple star ratings.


The Bottom Line
Mario Kart Super Circuit is another strong entry in the Mario Kart series. It offers a ton of gameplay and the short action-packed races work well on a handheld. It's a game with lots of replay value and one of the better GBA titles.

Oct 16th, 2007 · Game Boy Advance

You can't help but love Mario Kart
by Kartanym (12689)

The Good
Looking back at Mario Kart, I have to admit that the GBA version worked well compared to so many other titles that tried so hard to emulate the success of the franchise after the SNES original, and failed so easily.

What is it that makes Mario Kart such a great title? Part of it is the charm. It may be colourful and kiddy friendly, but there's no doubting how effective that is, even for an older gamer. That's mainly because it's so addictive, the other prime element. You just keep coming back for more, even after years of playing. You can say the same for every other title in the series so far.

It still works after all this time, and it's arguably the one and only reason you should own a GBA ... well besides Advance Wars, perhaps.

The Bad
Originally I mentioned here that the game still has the same collection of characters to race as. That can still be considered a downer, really. Especially if you compared this to its original release. I just find it interesting that no-one has considered 'Hey, what if we throw Kirby into a Kart?'

Editing the review now, it's hard not to compare Super Circuit to the two latest versions, Double Dash and Mario Kart DS. Especially DS, when it comes to multiplayer modes. The stock standard options are within this cartridge, so upon reflection it's a shame that it took so long for a handheld version of the game to really get multiplayer spot on. Still, what's here isn't anything to be frowned upon. It's still alot of fun.

The Bottom Line
Super Circuit was a sign of things to come. More tracks, remakes of classics, more colour. With the DS addition tearing up the tracks, especially online, I'd suggest hunting around for a copy of this little GBA gem, if only for some extra tracks and a battle mode more like the SNES original.

Feb 13th, 2006 · Game Boy Advance

Retro fun but with a new twist.
by Sycada (191)

The Good
The original Mario Kart was one of the best racing games on the SNES in its day and still has great gameplay even today, beating many of the poor 'Kart' game imitators hands down so it's great to see a return to the gameplay of the original but with even more control. There are 20 new tracks to race around which is lover-ly, time trial, cup races, quick races, 3 difficulty levels and loads of gameplay are all in here. If you have friends with a Gameboy Advance and Mario Kart, then you can race head to head with up to 4 of you, or you can battle one another just like the SNES title. As if that wasn't enough, there are extra tracks locked away in the cart. These bonus courses comprise every track from the original SNES version which makes for 40 tracks. Basically this is a classic title and a new one in the same package. Graphics and sound are some of the best seen on the GBA so far with smooth movement and sampled sounds.

The Bad
The nature of racing games means that at some point frustration will kick in. Getting all the way to the last track in a cup and totally stuffing it up is infuriating. Also, the harder modes can be a real pain because at times you can be attacked by multiple racers all at once leaving you spinning out of control long after everyone has overtaken you. On a personal note, I really don't like the mario universe characters. Of course this is very personal but if you don't like Mario, then you're gonna be less interested in this title immediately but this shouldn't deter you.

The Bottom Line
The best Kart game to date. And it's portable too. If you like a bit of zany racing fun then pick this up. It's the perfect handheld title.

Sep 13th, 2001 · Game Boy Advance

Red Koopa-Shells other GBA racers!
by Suzie Pendlebury (2)

The Good
FUN!!! Really. I thought that hooning around endlessly in a little kart would get monotonous, but I never tired of blasting the opposition!!!

The Bad
The lightning powerup that I only got once and the computer karts kept blasting me with! I showed them though. ^^ And, in 150cc, you really start to wonder who granted Bowser his driver's licence, the maniac. Other than that, some tracks were insanely hard (especially secret ones) and others almost impossible. But really, all that adds to the thrill of the race!

The Bottom Line
You'll have so much fun playing this you'll never want to stop!! Seriously addictive. I even had my little brothers cheering for me at one stage!! ^
^

This game absolutely rocks!!!

Apr 25th, 2003 · Game Boy Advance

Plus 54 player ratings without reviews

Contributors to this Entry

Critic reviews added by Alsy, Big John WV, chirinea, Wizo, Patrick Bregger, nyccrg, Jacob Gens, Parf, RhYnoECfnW, Jeanne, lights out party, Zaibatsu, El Bosso, Giu's Brain, Seth Newman.