🐳 New! Moby v2023.06.02 update

Simon the Sorcerer

aka: Shuliyat Hamechashef, Simon the Sorcerer I

[ All ] [ Acorn 32-bit ] [ Amiga ] [ Amiga CD32 ] [ Android ] [ Antstream ] [ DOS ] [ iPad ] [ iPhone ] [ Macintosh ] [ Windows ]

Critic Reviews 85% add missing review

Datormagazin (5 out of 5) (100%)

Simon the Sorcerer pÄ CD32 har allt vad man kan önska sig av ett Àventyrsspel; bra grafik, underbart ljud, en bra historia och inga diskettbyten. Det Àr förtrollande.

Sep 14th, 1994 · Amiga CD32

Retro Spirit, The (6 out of 6) (100%)

Kort sagt er Simons skikkelige i Simon The Sorcerer pĂ„ lik hĂžyde med Monkey Island spillene, hvor du fort legger merke til at det er lagt ned arbeide hele veien igjennom. Tittelen spiller pĂ„ humor og direkte innbydelse for alle eventyrfans med en historie, karaktĂȘrmasse og underholdningsaspekter det lyser klasse av. Hvis du synes tanken om et bunnsolid, langt og ikke minst fantastisk eventyrspill hĂžres fristende ut, er Simon The Sorcerer et absolutt "mĂ„-prĂžve" spill. Til slikt hĂžrer ogsĂ„ vĂ„r "Golden DOS Spirit"-utmerkelse med.

Dec 29th, 2006 · DOS · read review

High Score (5 out of 5) (100%)

"Simon the Sorcerer" Àr det bÀsta som hÀnt AmigaÀgarna sedan "Monkey Island 2". Köp det - dÄ fÄr vi förhoppningsvis se fler sÄdana hÀr föredömligt vÀlgjorda och underhÄllande spel. Roligare Àn sÄ hÀr blir det knappast.

Feb 1994 · Amiga

Adventure Corner ( ) (100%)

'Simon the Sorcerer' setzt auf viele eigenstĂ€ndige Ideen und sorgte dafĂŒr, daß es problemlos neben der damals ĂŒbermĂ€chtigen Konkurrenz aus dem Hause Lucas bestehen konnte. Das Spiel ist damit zu Recht ein Klassiker, um den ein richtiger Adventurefan definitiv nicht vorbei kommt. Glasklare Kaufempfehlung!

Dec 26th, 2008 · DOS · read review

High Score (5 out of 5) (100%)

Simon Àr en charmig odÄga som man mycket snabbt fattar tycke för, antingen för att han driver med bÄde sig sjÀlv och Àventyr i största allmÀnhet. "Simon the Sorcerer" Àr inget nytt "Monkey Island", men det har alla förutsÀttningar för att bli ett klassiskt spel.

Jan 1994 · DOS

Adventure Classic Gaming (5 out of 5) (100%)

Among mankind’s oldest fantasies is a dream to live in a place where magic really does exist. It is a place where witches can fly with their brooms, where giants can live in peace with the people, and where wizards are as common as next door neighbors. It is a place where the battle between good and evil always ends triumphantly for the good side. Unfortunately, there is no way to experience this place in our lives, but thanks to Adventure Soft, at least we can experience it in our games.

Sep 12th, 1999 · Windows · read review

ASM (Aktueller Software Markt) (12 out of 12) (100%)

Eins ist sicher, an Simon the Sorcerer gibt es nichts, aber auch wirklich nichts zu meckern. Wir haben uns lange nicht mehr so amĂŒsiert und unterhalten wie hier. Kurzum: Kurzweil, die zu kurz ist!

Oct 1993 · DOS

Amiga Computing (94 out of 100) (94%)

Simon the Sorcerer is a very large (nine disks in all) well thought-out graphical adventure that'll keep you happy and out of harm's way in the land of giants, fairies and dwarves.

Apr 1994 · Amiga · read review

ASM (Aktueller Software Markt) (11 out of 12) (92%)

Simon the Sorcerer ist auf dem Amiga absolut empfehlenswert. Wegen winzig kleiner Mankos bei Grafik und Gameplay darf ich keinen Megahitstern geben, aber den Hitstern dĂŒrft Ihr Euch gerne in dreifacher Anfertigung denken

Feb 1994 · Amiga

CU Amiga (90 out of 100) (90%)

Any fool can be funny, but you've got to be clever to be witty. A joke attempts to make you laugh, but a witty remark invites you to understand it and, if you do, then you'll feel both amused and pleased with yourself. Simon the Sorcerer is very, very witty. It's also easy to tell it's English, because they've spelt the swear words correctly!

Feb 1994 · Amiga · read review

Gry Onet (9 out of 10) (90%)

Premiera "Simon the Sorcerer" na smartfony i tablety to najlepsze, comogƂo spotkać mƂodocianego czarodzieja na jego dwudzieste urodziny. Grę powinni kupić wszyscy fani gatunku, nie zwaĆŒając na cenę (App Store - kilka zƂotych, Google Play - aĆŒ kilkanaƛcie), gdyĆŒ ABSOLUTNIE jest jej warta. To w dalszym ciągu jedna z najlepszych przygodĂłwek wszech czasĂłw.

Sep 23rd, 2013 · iPhone · read review

CU Amiga (90 out of 100) (90%)

If you haven't come across Adventuresoft's Simon the Sorcerer before, you've been missing out in a big, possibly huge way. Not since Monkey Island has there been such a genuinely funny, chuckle-inducing graphic adventure on the Amiga, and Simon the Sorcerer isn't just another point-and-click, 'ooh nice graphics' sort of adventure either but a slick, humourous and superbly drawn fantasy. And if it was good on the Amiga, it's downright fantastic on the CD32.

Jul 1994 · Amiga CD32 · read review

Quandary ( ) (90%)

If you haven't yet had a look at Simon then do so now, it's well worth it, and especially as the sequel is almost upon us. Also, don't be put off by the fact that the main protagonist is a 12 year old. Simon may have a bit of growing up to do -- he has yet to learn that asking personal questions of heavily armed warrior women is impolite, not to mention downright dangerous -- but, rest assured, he doesn't do anything too drastic. Deep down he's a friendly and obliging little fellow. This is one of those games that has universal appeal. Adults will love it just as much as children, if not more so.

Jul 1995 · DOS · read review

PC Games (Germany) (89 out of 100) (89%)

(CD-ROM version)
Mit beinahe schon strĂ€flichem Desinteresse vernachlĂ€ssigten die PC-Spieler Jungmagier Simon, der Ende letzten Jahres ein glĂ€nzendes DebĂŒt feierte. Trotz unverkennbarer Anleihen bei der Konkurrenz ĂŒberzeugte das Adventure vor allem durch seine markerschĂŒtternden ZwiegesprĂ€che und die vorzĂŒgliche Grafik. Jetzt bietet sich Ihnen die Gelegenheit, diese Scharte wieder auszuwetzen: Simon the Sorcerer spricht - und zwar deutsch! Wir garantieren Ihnen: Schon nach wenigen Minuten werden Sie mit LachkrĂ€mpfen zusammenbrechen. Noch nie gab es eine dermaßen geglĂŒckte Vertonung eines Adventures. Da stimmt einfach alles: Die Übersetzung, die Synchronisation und die WiedergabequalitĂ€t. Rauschfrei und ohne merkliche Zugriffe auf die CD-ROM piepsen die HolzwĂŒrmer vor sich hin und der Sumpfling klagt uns lispelnd sein Leid.

Sep 1994 · DOS

Play Time (89 out of 100) (89%)

(CD-ROM version)
Das witzige Adventure um den Zauberlehrling ĂŒberzeugt mit der bislang besten deutschen Sprachausgabe. Jegliche Konversation kommt nun glasklar von der CD. Grafik, Sound und Steuerung blieben unangetastet und bieten herrlichen Abenteuerspaß.

Sep 1994 · DOS

One Amiga, The (89 out of 100) (89%)

At last! It seems like ages since the Amiga has been treated to a decent graphic adventure romp (Er, what about Beneath A Steel Sky, Matt? - David.) but now, thanks to Adventure Soft, it's time once again to swap disks until you can't swap no more, STS has pretty much all the elements that are necessary for a successful adventure, with the only major missing ingredient being the lack of real threat. By this I mean that you never actually feel as if you're in danger from any of the characters you encounter. Though you run into witches, dwarfs, trolls, etc, you're newer really worried about doing anything wrong because there's no way to be killed. That apart, the game is excellent.

Feb 1994 · Amiga · read review

Amiga Games (89 out of 100) (89%)

Die zauberhafte Grafik und das abwechslungsreiche Gameplay machten dieses Spiel schon auf dem A 500 zum Hit, fĂŒr CD 32-Version wurden jedoch zusĂ€tzlich rund zwei Stunden englischer Sprachausgabe auf die CD gepackt. Wer gut englisch kann, muß hier zugreifen.

Jun 1994 · Amiga CD32 · read review

Génération 4 (89 out of 100) (89%)

Bref, Simon The Sorcerer, en plus d'ĂȘtre un jeu d'aventure trĂšs bien rĂ©alisĂ©, traduit dans un français particuliĂšrement bon et dotĂ© d'une bonne durĂ©e de vie, est peut-ĂȘtre le plus loufoque des jeux d'aventure... Bravo !

Sep 1993 · DOS · read review

Amiga Action (88 out of 100) (88%)

I like a good chuckle and Simon the Sorcerer raised a smile quite a bit more than most. Any game where you can even laugh about the descriptions of the programmers in the manual is alright by me, and this is such a game. Certainly not too linear in the old plot department, this provides a very tough challenge that is both warm and lighthearted at the same time. Congratulations are deserved all round, and acclaim should be heaped on this.

Apr 1994 · Amiga · read review

Tilt (88 out of 100) (88%)

Des graphismes de toute beauté, une animation à rendre jaloux plus d'un réalisateur de jeu d'action, un humour décapant, une ergonomie quasi parfaite, un scénario qui court de rebondissements en retournements de situation, décidément Simon The Sorcerer fait trÚs fort.

Oct 1993 · DOS · read review

Amiga Games (88 out of 100) (88%)

Endlich wieder ein Spiel, bei dem es sich lohnt, stundenlang in den Monitor zu glotzen. Seit den legendĂ€ren Indy-Adventures hat es kein ebenbĂŒrtiges Spiel dieses Genres gegeben (abgesehen von Day of the Tentacle). Simon the Sorcerer sollte sich jeder Fan von intelligenten und witzigen Abenteuerspielen besorgen. Und wahrlich ich sage Euch, bald werden sich fĂŒllen die Helplines der Computerzeitschriften mit den mĂŒhsamen Erfahrungen von Simon-Spielern, auf daß anderen geholfen werde!

Feb 1994 · Amiga

Retro Archives (17.5 out of 20) (88%)

Portage extrĂȘmement proche de la version PC CD, Simon the Sorcerer sur Amiga CD32 profite Ă  la fois des qualitĂ©s de l’AGA et de celles du support CD pour offrir une version identique Ă  99% Ă  l’originale – seule la musique est trĂšs lĂ©gĂšrement diffĂ©rente, mais les voix, elles, sont lĂ  et c’est bien tout ce qu’on leur demande.

Apr 30th, 2019 · Amiga CD32 · read review

Retro Archives (17.5 out of 20) (88%)

C'est rĂ©ellement un fameux tour de magie qu'a accompli Simon the Sorcerer, en parvenant Ă  se faire un nom au cƓur de la plus grande annĂ©e de toute l'histoire du Point and Click. PortĂ© par un humour Ă  toute Ă©preuve et une rĂ©alisation qui cĂŽtoie souvent le merveilleux, le titre de Simon Woodroffe ose tout, parfois Ă  contre-courant des attentes de l'Ă©poque, et parvient Ă  Ă©crire une histoire longue, mĂ©morable et particuliĂšrement efficace. LĂąchĂ© dans un univers hyper-rĂ©fĂ©rencĂ© dotĂ© d'une vĂ©ritable magie, on accompagne le jeune sorcier jusqu'au terme de son pĂ©riple sans jamais ressentir la lassitude, en dĂ©pit de quelques dialogues qui tirent parfois un peu en longueur, et on l'abandonne Ă  contrecƓur tant on Ă©tait prĂȘt Ă  l'accompagner pour une aventure de plus - ce qui sera heureusement possible grĂące Ă  Simon the Sorcerer II. Un quasi sans-faute miraculeux, et un titre Ă  (re)dĂ©couvrir d'urgence

Apr 30th, 2019 · DOS · read review

Retro Archives (17.5 out of 20) (88%)

(AGA version) Simon the Sorcerer livre, dans sa version AGA, une version extrĂȘmement proche de la version parue sur disquettes sur PC – son seul dĂ©faut, en somme, Ă©tant de n’avoir jamais bĂ©nĂ©ficiĂ© d’une version doublĂ©e sur CD-ROM.

Apr 30th, 2019 · Amiga · read review

Play Time (87 out of 100) (87%)

Simon the Sorcerer lĂ€ĂŸt im Adventurebereich sicherlich keine Revolution aus. Weder die Handlung noch die OberflĂ€che, noch die Art, RĂ€tsel zu lösen befindet sich auf unerforschtem Terrain. Aber die technisch perfekte Umsetzung, die witzige Story und die liebevollen Details, die ein Spiel spielenswert machen, geben diesem ein beispielhaftes Gameplay. Simon the Sorcerer hat alle Voraussetzungen, die Nummer Eins der Adventurespiele zu werden.

Dec 1993 · DOS

Play Time (87 out of 100) (87%)

(A1200 version)
Adventure Soft zeigt, zu was ein A1200 fĂ€hig ist! Außerdem werden hier Adventures wie Monkey Island und Indiana Jones gehörig auf die Schippe genommen und es offenbart sich fast perfekter Adventurespaß. Wer eine Festplatte sein eigen nennt, kann die A1200-Version auch als PC-Variante durchschmuggeln, nur daß der Sound ohne teure Soundkarten noch besser klingt. Grafisch beeindruckend, umfangreich, Ă€ußerst humorvoll und perfekt in Szene gesetzt.

Mar 1994 · Amiga

Computer and Video Games (CVG) (86 out of 100) (86%)

Adventure Soft has ensured that adjoining scenes are on the same disk whenever possible. A nice touch and there's plenty more. Graphics are fantastic, even on the base machine. Gameplay's where it's at though, aid it's funny, challenging plus the control is fantastic. Heck, even the manual's worth reading it's that polished.

Apr 1994 · Amiga

Amiga Joker (86 out of 100) (86%)

(AGA version)
Die Grafik ist nicht nur farbenfroher, sondern auch ein wenig detailreicher als gehabt, am Spielablauf hat sich natĂŒrlich nichts geĂ€ndert. Aber das war bei diesem rundum geglĂŒckten Abenteuer-Hit von Adventuresoft ja weder zu erwarten noch nötig – aus malerischen GrĂŒnden setzen wir jetzt ebenfalls den Pinsel an und erhöhen auf kunterbunte 86 Prozent.

Jan 1994 · Amiga · read review

Computer and Video Games (CVG) (86 out of 100) (86%)

I still regard the original game very highly and gameplay wise this is no different, though playability is slightly increased since you don't have a nine-disk horror. The speech is well acted, but Chris Barrie's highly distinctive voice detracts from the personality and charm of the original script. Still, along with Beneath a Steel Sky this is my favourite Amiga adventure and as the former is not yet available on CD it's an essential buy.

Oct 1994 · Amiga CD32

Megablast (86 out of 100) (86%)

Der langen Rede kurzer Sinn: Simon the Sorcerer ist ein Hochgenuß. den sich humorvolle Englischkönner mit einem MĂ€uschen in der Hinterhand nicht entgehen lassen dĂŒrfen!

Sep 1994 · Amiga CD32

Play Time (86 out of 100) (86%)

(A500 version)
Traurig mĂŒssen die Besitzer eines nicht mit AA-Chipset bestĂŒckten Amigas nur deswegen sein, weil die Grafiken nicht 256 Farben erstrahlen, ansonsten bekommen sie “nur“ tolle Grafiken und die gleichen Gags zu sehen. Von Prozessorproblemen merkt man eigentlich kaum etwas.

Mar 1994 · Amiga

Amiga Joker (86 out of 100) (86%)

Die fein gezeichnete Grafik ist schön wie eh und je, gleiches gilt fĂŒr die tollen Animationen. Ja, es ist schon ein echter Augenschmaus, wie der jugendliche Held da in seinem Magier-Outfit der GrĂ¶ĂŸe X-Large durch witzige Szenarien stolpert und sich wĂ€hrend der Denkpausen (die abgedrehten RĂ€tsel sind nicht ohne!) ein paar Songs am Walkman reinzieht, den er genĂŒĂŸlich aus seiner MĂŒtze zaubert. Allerdings fĂ€llt der Umgang mit verblödeten Eulen oder streikenden BrĂŒckentrollen per Maus um einiges leichter als via Pad. Wer so einen Nager und ausreichend Englischkenntnisse besitzt, wird sich mit der sprechenden Version dieser genialen MĂ€rchen-VerĂ€ppelung jedenfalls prĂ€chtig amĂŒsieren – allen anderen bleibt nur die Hoffnung auf eine deutsche Version, wie sie vorlĂ€ufig leider nur fĂŒr den PC erhĂ€ltlich ist.

Sep 1994 · Amiga CD32 · read review

Amiga Joker (85 out of 100) (85%)

Simon the Sorcerer ist also ein Game, wie wir es am Amiga schon viel zu lange nicht mehr hatten - ein rundum gelungenes, herrlich schrÀges Grafik-Adventure mit nicht immer ganz leichten RÀtseln. Fazit: Und wenn sie nicht gestorben sind, dann lachen und knobeln sie heute noch...

Dec 1993 · Amiga · read review

Jeuxvideo.com (17 out of 20) (85%)

S'il ne fait que reprendre les bases des grands classiques du point & click en matiÚre de gameplay, Simon sait séduire esthétiquement. Vraiment trÚs apprécié dÚs sa sortie, le jeu a tout des grands. Grùce à des musiques envoûtantes et des tableaux soignés, Adventure Soft nous offrait là une aventure exceptionnelle qui aura su marquer pas mal de mémoires.

Jan 28th, 2011 · Amiga · read review

Play Time (85 out of 100) (85%)

FĂŒr Adventure-Fans war das CD 32 bislang ein schlechtes Medium. Meist Action- und Sportspiele fanden zur Recycling-Maschine, und wenn mal ein Spiel ihrem Geschmack entsprechen konnte, war es auch gleich eines der langweiligsten. Der jĂŒngste Streich von Adventure Soft wurde nun mit zwei Stunden Sprache und nochmals verbesserter Grafik zum Hitspiel gemacht.

Jul 1994 · Amiga CD32

Retro Gamer (85 out of 100) (85%)

While not quite up to the early Monkey Island games, Simon The Sorcerer remains an excellent effort with great visuals, plenty of clever puzzles and some impressive voice acting. (This is the later CD-ROM effort and not the early floppy disk version).

Jun 18th, 2009 · Windows

Jeuxvideo.com (17 out of 20) (85%)

S'il ne fait que reprendre les bases des grands classiques du point & click en matiÚre de gameplay, Simon sait séduire esthétiquement. Vraiment trÚs apprécié dÚs sa sortie, le jeu a tout des grands. Grùce à des musiques envoûtantes et des tableaux soignés, Adventure Soft nous offrait là une aventure exceptionnelle qui aura su marquer pas mal de mémoires.

Jan 28th, 2011 · DOS · read review

PC Games (Germany) (84 out of 100) (84%)

Simon the Sorcerer wĂ€re das nahezu perfekte Adventure, wenn die ĂŒbermĂ€ĂŸig leichten Puzzles nicht die Stimmung drĂŒcken wĂŒrden. Hat man erst einmal einen Gegenstand entdeckt, löst der JĂŒngling das RĂ€tsel am richtigen Ort fast im Alleingang. Zudem gibt eine Eule in einem Baumstumpf so viele Tips, daß Simon zwangslĂ€ufig ĂŒber die Lösung stolpert. Somit eignet sich das Spiel wie kein zweites fĂŒr Einsteiger und Fortgeschrittene, die höchste AnsprĂŒche an Grafik und Sound stellen, aber eher ein Adventure “light“ bevorzugen.

Nov 1993 · DOS

Amiga Format (84 out of 100) (84%)

A flawed mix of mouth-watering visuals, cutesy characters and complex puzzles, Simon the Sorcerer offers you a great graphic adventure in a less than perfect game engine.

Feb 1994 · Amiga · read review

Score (84 out of 100) (84%)

Proč je tedy tato obyčejnĂĄ adventura tolik vĂœjimečnĂĄ? MĂĄ totiĆŸ vĆĄech pět "V" vĂœjimečnosti: Vtipnost, VĂœrazně povedenou grafiku, Velmi promyĆĄlenĂœ pƙíběh, VypiplanĂ© hĂĄdanky a problĂ©my a VysokĂœ Verdikt Score.

Jan 1994 · DOS

PC Joker (83 out of 100) (83%)

Derartige Überraschungen erlebt man noch öfter, so wird Simon von (angeblich) weisen Eulen gnadenlos in die Irre geschickt und von Fröschen verschluckt, die ihn aber gleich wieder ausspucken. Also ein gelungenes Spiel mit interessanten RĂ€tseln, zĂŒndenden Gags und farbenprĂ€chtigen, trickfilmreif animierten Grafiken - aber die unverschĂ€mten Anleihen bei „Monkey Island“ sind halt schon starker Tobak!

Sep 1993 · DOS

Retro Archives (16.5 out of 20) (82%)

La version Amiga 500, elle, impressionne par sa qualitĂ© visuelle en dĂ©pit de la palette rĂ©duite, mais doit Ă©galement composer avec une coupe malheureuse qui ne s’imposait pas vraiment.

Apr 30th, 2019 · Amiga · read review

Amiga Force (81 out of 100) (81%)

Despite becoming well and truly stuck and flummoxed by some of its puzzles I still can't wait to have another bash at Simon the Sorcerer. It has an enchanting storyline, beautifully drawn graphics with great animation and some nice tunes to play along in the background while you're adventuring... what more could an apprentice wizard want?

Mar 1994 · Amiga · read review

AppSafari (4 out of 5) (80%)

Control-issues aside, this is a solid port of a truly fantastic adventure game. It doesn’t bring anything new to the table, but it does a great job of helping to re-introduce a criminally under-appreciated genre to the iPhone. Nostalgia-seekers will get a kick out of playing this retro delight again, and new players will wonder how in the world they’d missed this exceptional game all these years. If you like well-written, funny games packed with story and a lot of heart, trust me when I say, this is the app to buy.

Apr 14th, 2010 · iPhone · read review

Defunct Games (80 out of 100) (80%)

The idea of playing a point and click adventure on a home console hooked up to a TV may seem awkward or strange, but it sure beats having to swap floppy disks on a PC. This kind of games seem best suited for sitting at a desk with your mouse atop a flat surface, but it remains a strong title even for a system touted as a console rather than a computer. Too bad the system did not fare well long enough to see the release of Simon's sequel which many consider superior to the original.

Jun 7th, 2008 · Amiga CD32 · read review

Adventure Gamers ( ) (80%)

Even now I find the game a joy to play, and it seems to have hardly aged at all. For many people this game is not top five material, but if you’re a fan of both adventure games and British humour like me, then Simon the Sorcerer should not be missed.

Aug 5th, 2004 · DOS · read review

GameZebo ( ) (80%)

Without a doubt, anyone who enjoys a bit of cynical humor and a good adventure game, despite the rusticness, will have a blast with Simon. While it might not be terribly appealing to people who have grown accustomed to the new innovative nature of casual gaming and their crystal-clear graphics and smoothness, anyone who's played an "old school" game will appreciate this one. Simon the Sorcerer is certainly a game that returns back to the true roots of the adventure genre.

Jun 21st, 2009 · Windows · read review

App Spy (4 out of 5) (80%)

Simon the Sorcerer is a great port of the 1993 original and is exactly as fans remember it, with a few improvements. The different control options are well done and overall the game looks and sounds a lot smoother. If you had the patience to play the original over multiple floppy discs, or just love the retro Monkey Island type adventure games, then do yourself a favour and add Simon the Sorcerer to your collection.

Aug 6th, 2009 · iPhone · read review

Amiga Computing (80 out of 100) (80%)

Simon the Sorcerer was a good game before. With the inclusion of speech, the game has been significantly improved and should be considered by any CD32 owner who has missed out on the fun before.

Dec 1994 · Amiga CD32 · read review

La Aventura es la Aventura (80 out of 100) (80%)

Al poco de que entråsemos en los noventa salió a la luz esta aventura gråfica que bebe de la vieja escuela, aquella que marcó un estilo. Con gråficos en 2D y un interfaz point&click a base de verbos con los que crear frases, un inventario repleto de objetos y mucho, mucho humor, supuso el inicio de una larga saga que, al menos, llegarå hasta su cuarto capítulo tras ser amada por muchos aficionados al género.

Aug 24th, 2006 · DOS · read review

Power Play (76 out of 100) (76%)

Was soll ich machen? Wie kann ich was machen? Warum soll ich was machen? Das MĂ€rchenland ist zu groß, der Spieler wird nicht gleich vor konkrete Probleme gestellt – man irrt ahnungslos umher, fĂŒhrt viele GesprĂ€che und wĂŒnscht sich einen flĂŒssigeren Spielablauf. Auf einen Nenner gebracht: Simon the Sorcerer ist ein liebenswertes Adventure und ein großer Fortschritt im Vergleich zu Mike Woodroffes frĂŒheren Werken, aber ohne den nötigen Feinschliff bleibt Simon der Zutritt in die absolute Adventure-Oberklasse verwehrt.

Oct 1993 · DOS · read review

Slide to Play (3 out of 4) (75%)

Control quibbles aside, this is a fantastic trip down memory lane that is well worth the $4.99 price of admission for point-and-click fans, especially those who never played this 16 years ago, and its auto-save feature makes it a perfect companion for your morning and afternoon commute adventures. Brush up on your Ye Olde Spellbooke and begin your wizard training without delay. You won't likely regret it.

Aug 17th, 2009 · iPhone · read review

PC Player (Germany) (75 out of 100) (75%)

Grafik, Gags und Steuerung von Simon the Sorcerer entlocken auch verwöhnten Adventure-Gourmets ein anerkennendes Raunen. Die Story samt mĂ€rchenhaftem Ambiente gewinnt nicht den OriginalitĂ€ts-Sonderpreis, wurde aber gekonnt mit vielen verrĂŒckten Typen besetzt. Die schönen Bilder und schrĂ€gen Typen sind es dann auch, die sich als Motivations-StĂŒtzpfeiler unentbehrlich machen. Die Puzzles sind nicht ĂŒbertrieben geistreich und enden oft in »Keinen-Gegenstand-ĂŒbersehen-und-alles-ausprobieren«-Routine. Doch wer nicht auf Perfektion besteht und öfters mal ein gepflegtes Grafik-Adventure genießt, bekommt allemal genug Spielspaß fĂŒrs Geld geboten.

Oct 1993 · DOS

Amiga Power (73 out of 100) (73%)

(AGA version) Simon the Sorcerer adds nothing new. A lot of work has gone into making sure it looks pretty, and it does. It's the kind of game that makes an ideal counterpoint to manic platformers and shoot-'em-ups. You can play it at any speed you like. As graphic adventures go this one is nearer the top of the pile than the bottom.

Mar 1994 · Amiga · read review

Amiga Format (70 out of 100) (70%)

Unfortunately this isn't the classic game that it could have been. The graphics are beautiful, lush and invigorating but they can't veil your eyes from the numerous annoying niggles of the game mechanics. Simon's for hardened adventure game fanatics only.

Oct 1994 · Amiga CD32 · read review

Amiga Power (69 out of 100) (69%)

A bit disappointing, really. I reckon that if you replaced the graphical interface with a textual one, you'd be left with an adventure that would have trouble passing muster ten years ago. Any mustard about has not quite been cut.

Feb 1994 · Amiga · read review

Amiga World (B-) (67%)

Ultimately, Simon the Sorcerer is a celebrity look-alike. It does a great LucasArts bit, but when you look for something distinctly its own, you don't come away with much of an impression except its similarity to something famous. Stylish props abound, but this Sorcerer has no magic.

May 1994 · Amiga

Amiga Power (57 out of 100) (57%)

A refreshingly different idea, but one that hasn't come off. Better writing would have helped the 'talkie' side, a closer look at the compact trickiness of, ooh, what, Monkey Island would have helped the sprawlingly colourless gameplay. It's at least 17% more annoying to play than the 'silent' version, so it's losing marks.

Feb 1994 · Amiga CD32 · read review

Aventura y CĂ­a ( ) (40%)

Adelantåndose a Perfect Entertainment con un videojuego que parodia los cuentos y relatos fantåsticos de goblins y orcos, Adventure Soft hizo una aventura que se sostiene débilmente por su apartado humorístico, concentrado en mayor parte en su protagonista, y en los diversos personajes con los que se relaciona.

Sep 27th, 2005 · DOS · read review

Player Reviews

Simon - Cocky Spotty Nose Hero!!

The Good
Simon is often placed in situations that many younger gamers would surely find humorous: bellying up to a bar, uttering minor cuss words, or sassing elders, but adults also will not be able to suppress a chuckle or two at the numerous double entendres and political snipes (though the Dan Quayle joke is a bit dated). Simon is a 12-year-old boy who wants nothing more than a Gameboy for his birthday. Instead, a stray dog with a strange book in its mouth shows up at the front door during his birthday party. Simon's parents don't have the heart to tell him that the dog is not a birthday present and allow him to keep it as a pet. The book is forgotten in the attic. Much later (as we see in a wonderful opening scene), Chippy (for that is now the dog's name) discovers the trunk in the attic that contains the book, and Simon is soon thrust into a world of fantasy and magic sporting the required raiment of all magicians, a ponytail and a pointy hat. What follows is a mix of Fractured Fairy Tales meets Monty Python as Simon must rescue Calypso the wizard, the only person with the power to return Simon to his home world, from the clutches of soon-to-be arch-nemesis Sordid. This game contains much of the one-liners and juvenility so familiar to fans of the Monkey Island series. In the few instances where the characters are fleshed out, it is more because their personalities are developed through extended give-and-take with Simon. In the tradition of a comic book, where the villains are always more interesting than the heroes. Puzzles are well thought-out and progress from the simple to the difficult. The inevitable to-and-froing is eased by providing maps that allow you to visit any location with a simple click. The menu interface is representative of the period in which the games were originally released. Simon the Sorcerer has a list of verbs available at the bottom of the screen, such as Walk To, Give, Pick Up, etc., that allow the player to choose an appropriate command.

The Bad
The only thing this game actually lacked was a decent Out of Europe launch, if this was the case maybe there would have been a longer adventure game life for all of the classics. However, saying that, this game did lack explosions!

The Bottom Line
I would describe this game in a few words: This game is the best of the whole Simon series and is more than capable of beating the first two Monkey Island games. This game is one of the true great classics that not many people have played, and too few have given word of mouth too.

This game has amazing graphics (for the time) Which is why it is such a cult classic of adventure gaming. The storyline is expertly done by Simon Woodroffe. And it is packed full of British humor!! this game will have you laughing at double entendres, and innuendos while also laughing at the 12 year old's apparent Manhood dilemma, of having to cuss at older people and get sarcastic comments out to very old powerful wizards!

by phil buckley (19) on Mar 31st, 2006 · Windows

Forget Guybrush - Take Simon!

The Good
I played the german versions. First the floppy version without speech - and later the CD-ROM version with fully german speech. It was great! I think it were much more jokes in Simon the Sorcerer than in Monkey Island. And I love this guy with his freaky hat. Especially the animations of Simon are great. Also there are many hidden allusions to other adventures/games, for example the 3 sorcerers (3 pirates in monkey island).

The Bad
The puzzles are not always logical and the game is too slow. You walk and walk and walk .... that nerves. The map is also no great help. I have had more problems finding a location than solving the puzzles.

The Bottom Line
The game is funny - comparable with The Secret of Monkey Island or Sam'n Max: Hit the Road. It's a point&click adventure like the old Lucas Arts games - but that's no disadvantage!

by Rantanplan (1711) on Dec 23rd, 2001 · DOS

Sierra?....Nah, Adventuresoft here we come!

The Good
This game was fantastic! One of the best point-and-click puzzle games I have ever played. It was hilariously funny with loads of toilet humour, and English humour. Although the characters look a bit old compared to todays gaming standards, the story line is one in a million, and although the puzzles aren't overly easy, they are very logical when you think about them. It's very user friendly with a fast map to get you around and a postcard to save/load/continue/quit the game. The game didn't crash on me once and i loved the fact that you could never die!

The Bad
Moving around the game could get a bit tedious, as the map didn't offer every location that you had to go to, sometimes spending 10 mins or so trying to find the place you were last at. Places are also very hard to find, as the game gives you no indication which way you can leave the screen, paths (sometimes completely invisible) can lead up, down or diagonally off the screen. Sometimes the inventory would dissapear also until you left one screen and went on to the next then came back.

The Bottom Line
You undertake the roll of Simon, who magically goes through a porthole in his attic, to a land of goblins, woodcutters and mystical talking trees. He is out to help a mysterious wizard named Calypso, and in the process, become a wizard himself. He doesn't appear to miss home very much? Venture through forests, mountains and strange villages that inhabit talking snowman and two headed shop-workers. A great adventure for kinds and adults a like!

by Hilary Richardson (12) on Feb 14th, 2003 · DOS

Silly hat, great game

The Good
Almost everything, that fairy-tale parody present through all the game its real charming, the humour in that game is also real good, with good made characters and great dialogue lines. The puzzles are very well thought as maybe you will spend some time with some of them. I really like the backgrounds too, the forest, the snowy mountains, and so on... Also if you are a Tolkien reader you may find funny some of the references in the game (the ring,The Fiery Pits of Rondor,and some more...) A real cool game, a classic, a must-have.

The Bad
Maybe there are too much similarities to Monkey Island and the ending was really short (i think it was because it was originally released in disks and there wasn't enough space) anyway, that's nothing really annoying.

The Bottom Line
If you like old style adventure games you really must try Simon the Sorcerer 1, it's really worth of it.

by Depth Lord (934) on Jul 18th, 2004 · DOS

A nice adventure game from the British version of LucasArts

The Good
Simon is a teenage boy living at home with his parents. He gets distracted when his dog Chippy starts wandering out of his bedroom. He follows the dog up the ladder to the attic where Chippy discovers a book called Ye Olde Spellbooke and shows it to Simon, who, showing a lack of interest in it, decides to throw it on the floor. This causes a portal opens and Simon and the dog enter a new dimension. There, he realizes that he must rescue the wizard Calypso from the evil sorcerer Sordid.

In Simon the Sorcerer, you will meet characters that can help you or hinder you, and most of these characters are based on fantasy and myth. During your travels, you'll encounter goblins, dwarfs, trolls, devils, and witches – the same type of characters from The Lord of the Rings. I enjoyed the parodies from different fairy tales, including Rapunzel, Jack and the Beanstalk, and especially The Three Billy Goats Gruff, in which the troll refuses to be thrown into the water because the actual story says so.

Gamers who have played adventure games from LucasArts will feel comfortable with Simon's interface, which is split up into two sides. The left side consists of twelve commands. The most common ones are Walk To, Pick Up, Talk to, Open, and Use. The rest of the commands are unusual and consist of Consume, Wear, Remove, etc. Your inventory is displayed on the right side.

Simon uses 256-color VGA to display graphics. The game features amazing environments that include forests, snowy mountains, swamps, and castles. The characters and the different objects that you have to manipulate are well done. I can even say that the graphics are even better than those in a LucasArts game.

There is humor in the game. Since it is impossible to die in Simon, you are free to experiment with the commands and use those with objects in each scene, and it is likely that whenever you do so, Simon will produce a somewhat funny response. For example, farm animals such as pigs and ducks can be seen throughout the game, and if you try to Talk to them, he will say “I'm not Dr. Doolittle, you know.” If you enter the dwarf cave, you are asked for a password by the head dwarf. If you get it wrong, he will keep on saying “No, try again.” until you get it right. Too bad you don't have that going on in real life.

The sound is excellent as well. Whether you play the game with MT-32 or Sound Blaster enabled, I enjoyed listening to almost all of the music, especially those that included some beats. The sound effects are slightly better than what you hear from a few adventure games. I enjoyed listening to a crow that sits on top of the well in the witch's house. The crow doesn't even produce a crow sound at all. The voices are great and the characters are funny to listen to.

The Bad
The main problem this game has concerns the inventory. For example:

  • A postcard that you carry throughout the game allows you to save, load, and quit games. This is annoying if you have quite a number of items sitting in the inventory, resulting in the postcard being invisible unless you scroll down. The same can be said with the somewhat-ancient map that you use to travel between locations. I don't think that there was anything wrong with putting a huge button in the middle of the interface that is labeled “MAP”.
  • When I ended up having heaps of shit sitting in inventory and decide to save and load a game, the scroll arrows were gone, and the only way that I could make them appear was to click on empty space.
  • When you pick up items, they are added at the beginning of the inventory, rather than the end. This can be annoying when you are near the end but have to scroll to the beginning in order to use it on something on the screen.

Calypso is mentioned at the beginning of the game, as well as throughout. Yet, he doesn't make an appearance in the game; not at the beginning, not throughout, and not near the end. I only know his existence by voice. I had to play the second episode of the series to see what he looks like.

The Bottom Line
Simon the Sorcerer is an adventure game similar to the ones that were created by LucasArts around the same time Simon was made, which is 1993. It features nice graphics and sounds, and, if you have the CD-ROM version, the different characters are funny to listen to. Since you can't die in the game, the user is free to explore with different commands, and use those commands with items that are seen on screen, more often than not causing a funny response from Simon. The sequel is a bit better than the original and does away with the commands. The ending leads in to that sequel.

by Katakis | ă‚«ă‚żă‚­ă‚č (43062) on Nov 10th, 2005 · DOS

Great British Adventure Gaming

The Good
Simon the Sorcerer 1 is a point n' click, graphic adventure game set in a fantasy world. Fans of the Monkey Island series or Disc World should love this game. Despite its age, it features some impressive animation, graphics and sound. The voice acting is terrific and be on the lookout for some funny British humor, parody and political satire.

The Bad
Die hard fans of point n' click, graphic adventure games might find the game a tad bit on the easy side. The game's ending is something of a let down, mainly because it was originally made for the old school computer disks.

The Bottom Line
Simon the Sorcerer 1 has the point n' click adventure gameplay that fans of Monkey Island will enjoy as well as some great British humor and satire that will remind gamers of Blazing Dragon or Disc World. It is not the hardest adventure game on the market, but is certainly one of the most enjoyable.

by ETJB (431) on Feb 14th, 2010 · Windows

"What’s the point in talking to an empty hole?"

The Good
So I decided to play Simon the Sorcerer again. Had I not stumbled upon my own review for this game I would have never realized that I already have played it. And then I noticed on many adventure gaming boards that how many people loved this game. So I was thinking that perhaps I was too young to appreciate this game, that perhaps it really is a good game. It was because of those reasons and that my former review of Simon was rather dreadful to read, that I decided to do a review of the review.

Bob the Imaginary Gaming Friend: "Yeah it was pretty bad, especially with lines like: "Well......it did have a nice atmosphere...it was sweet. The game had a innocent fairy-tale like feeling to it....the feeling I have long searched in a fantasy game.It is easy...graphics are tolerable. But if you are searching for originality then I advise you to stay away from this Monkey Island clone(with a sweet fairy-tale alike atmosphere....but it is still a forgettable game)." Like cut it with the dots already."

No wonder the approvers secretly mocked me all these years. Its a good thing that Im crazy now. What would I ever do without you Bob? Anyway, it was hard for me to review this game because after playing it I immediately forgot what happened in the game, and since I strive to be as honest as possible I wrote this review while playing the game (well at least parts of it). Bob will fill you out on what other games came out in 1993, just to give some sense of wider picture.

Bob: "Well to many 93 was a great year - Gabriel Knight, Betrayal at Krondor, Quest for Glory 4, Sam and Max Hit the Road, Wing Commander: Privateer, Doom, etc. – but considering that the release date of Simon the Sorcerer is 2 Jan 1993, I think it’s far more honest to compare it with games from 92 - Legend of Kyrandia, Fate of Atlantis, King’s Quest 6. And basically, the last entry from a game series that Simon greatly got inspired from, came out 13 months before Simon the Sorcerer (I’m talking about Monkey Island 2 of course)."

So the following here is a heavily-edited recording of our gaming session. After that, me and Bob will say a few final words and that`ll be that then.

Bob: "Put it on already."

Start Game

Bob: „Ach! Mine ears! What horrible music.“

That guy in purple is Simon, in case if you were wondering Bob.

Bob: "Some of the comments he makes during the credits sequence are quite amusing - "I would have skipped by now", I was actually thinking of the same thing."

I must say, the voice of Simon is actually a joy to listen to. Well done, Chris Barrie.

Bob: "A boy, living in a perfectly 90’s environment, finds a magic book that transports him to another dimension. Some not-so-funny dialogue between goblins, who intend to eat Simon (btw, the voice acting of goblins wasn't so good at all)... well, I’m excited. Too bad that the animation and character designs are... um... too interesting."

Ahah, see Bob, now he found a letter that tells him that he has been chosen to save some old guy from the hands of Dark Lord Sordid. See? Thats all the plot that this game has. Youve been told the story and now you must solve some countless puzzles until you can see the ending cutscene.

Bob: "I thought you said that you don`t remember anything about this game. I just hope he doesn't make anymore comments like "not a pizza bar in sight". That was just too unfunny. By the way, did you notice that that horrible credits sequence music is still going on."

Yup, the music just loops endlessly in this game. The interface is just like the interfaces in Lucasarts games, you know: pick up, look, talk, use options and the inventory dividing the screen into half.

Bob: "Which also means that it will rely more on funny dialogues than funny interesting descriptions (like Sierra and Legend did)."

In the town

Bob: "I am really getting sick of this credits music. Is some variety too much to ask?"

Ah, a tavern. Drunken Druid – quite a nice name for a tavern, don`t you think?

Bob: "Finally! A different tune. Oh no, it is even more horrible than the one before."

Look at dwarf. Talk to dwarf. Hmm... no response.

Bob: "Talk to those ugly chicks there."

Bob: "Ach... horrible voice-acting."

Simon: "What are your hobbies?"

Valkyrie 1: "I like killing things and drinking a lot."

Valkyrie 2: "And I like needlework and embroidery... and killing things and drinking a lot."

Bob: "Not a bad attempt at humour at all. Unfortunately the voice-acting killed it."

Exit town. In the Forest

The backgrounds are actually quite nice. Sure its nothing compared to Sierras hand-drawn artbook backgrounds, but I`m really fond of this digitized VGA art (partly because I have soft memories of Westwood games from that time). And the forest tune is not overtly terrible either.

Bob: "Ha! So says you."

Boy, you cant really stand endlessly looping positive midi tunes, can you? If it so pains, Ive heard that there`s an enhanced music project for this game by some guy called James Woodcock. It will still be looping but now it will at least sound good.

.....

Bob: "Much better. Never underestimate guys called Woodcock's. Thank you, your work has not gone unnoticed. And look, he’s working on to enhance other games also."

Yeah, good for him. I just wish I knew what Im supposed to do. So far, Ive picked up many random items like ladders and clangers, talked to many people that want some things and got accused of racism by woodworms. And haven`t really laughed at all. The woodworm thing was mildly amusing though.

Bob: "I liked the barbarian’s "I’m an accountant" line."

Oh dear! That conversation between the goats and the troll has gone on for several minutes.

Bob: "Trolls having a strike against fairy-tale stereotypes is not really your kind of humour, is it?"

Not really, but thats not the case here. The voice-acting is horrible. So far only Simon has been done well, everyone else sounds just like the designers third cousin twice removed. Good voice-acting can make even unfunny things sound funny.

After some hours, DI has fallen asleep and Bob’s playing the game

Bob: "Bob’s diary. Entry 101. Been playing some old adventure game for awhile. Still have no goal – in life nor in the game. Picked up a lot of things. Met a lot of interesting folks in need of some things or others. Not much else to talk to them about. Solved many puzzles, got more things. Kissed a princess, which turned her into a pig. Used her on chocolate door. Got a joint for bees. Used it on beehive. Got wax. Still confused. Di’s sleeping, his snores accompanying the solitude of confusion I dwell in. My voice echoes back to me from the lonely halls of a purposeless life. It’s dawning outside. And I ponder on the question "Do all alter-ego’s go to heaven?" What will happen to me if I die? Can I find life everlasting also. Do I exist at all? Who am I?

Just tickled a sleeping dwarf with a feather. Couldn't think of anything else. Worked. Got a key. Now I'm off to find a door for this key to open.“

After finishing the game

Bob: "Finished the game. Experienced a pretty anticlimactic and weird finale. By the way Di, there was no ending cutscene. Just some demons dancing."

Haha! Dancing demons. How funny is that.

The end of the recording

Bob: "Boy, you really don't know when to stop with the editing. All my best lines were removed. Next time, I’ll edit."

So what did you like about the game?

Bob: "Well I found it quite charming actually. Boring yes, but charming. Some of the jokes were also quite witty. My favorite was the dialogue between Simon and the village druid."

Village Druid: "Leave now or suffer the consequences."

Simon: "I don’t think a man on a rack is in any position to make threats."

Village Druid: "Your emotional torture cannot hurt me, foul fiend."

Yeah, he was great, especially how he insisted on plunging a silver dagger through Simons heart just to see if hes a demon or not.

Village Druid: "Never been wrong yet."

But back to reviewing. Yes, I agree. It was charming: the heartwarming VGA art and the mellow music (especially after the enhancing), some quite witty jokes, the overall old-school fantasy feel of it.

The Bad
But it was also terribly boring. Adventure games aren`t just puzzle games. They also need a plot. No, not just a story, but a well-done plot. Monkey Island for example made-up for those crazy puzzles it had with an exciting swashbuckling plot.

Bob: "I would like to add that thanks to Lucasarts IMUSE program Monkey Island 2 had a dynamic soundtrack, which most likely also helped to enhance the appropriate mood for the specific scenes."

And thats why Simon the Sorcerer fails in my opinion. It is just a collection of random puzzles and an ending sequence with dancing demons. This game hasnt any tension at all. Which also is bad for the humour, because jokes work best when introduced in with a feeling of tension. I mean, Simon just walked and picked up stuff. There`s nothing funny in seeing a guy walk.

Bob: "I don’t know about that. I laugh when you walk."

Part of the reason I think the early Space Quests were so funny was that because they provided that tension (of course they did that in a survival horror kinda way... perhaps survival comedy is the more appropriate name). And Simon the Sorcerer doesnt. Not only does it make the game boring in the adventure sense, but also humour, well at least for me, just didnt do it for me.

Bob: "Of course, we have to take into consideration that it wasn't just your taste. You have a different taste in humour and this game has a different taste. And that is why you did not get it."

Well, what about you?

Bob: "Um... I guess, it's pretty hard in a game to do a correct timing for a joke. And some games go way overboard with jokes and bad puns. Simon the Sorcerer avoided those pitfalls, and that's a good thing in my eyes. Sure, many of the jokes were pretty meh, and there weren't that much jokes at all - for example when Simon looked at something he mostly said "It's an object x" and nothing else. But it's way better to keep the jokes few than to throw many of them into and hope that some of them will make the player laugh. No, the biggest fault of Simon is that it's just a boring adventure game."

You do make a point. I guess it`s boring also because many of the dialogues were just "Give me object x and I give you object y. Deal?" in nature.

Bob: "Yes, this game really did lack characters."

Lot`s caricatures though.

And music while nice, was pretty annoying because it was always looping. Even the better-sounding enhanced music started to bug on my nerves.

Bob: "May my ears never hear cheerful midi tunes ever. And don't forget the voice-acting. Apart from Chris Barrie as Simon, everyone else were dreadful."

Yes. Well thats just it then. The game is charming, but boring. And the bad parts out-value the good parts in this game. Thus well come to the verdict.

The Bottom Line
I would give this game 2 out of 5. What about you?

Bob: "I'm more into 3 out 5 for this one. It is an experience, and not a bad one in visuals and atmosphere. Just mediocre in the overall experience."

So 3+2 equals 5, divide by 2 and it`s going to be 2,5 stars out 5.

As to the usual recommendation, I would say that by judging on how many people liked this game, it is possible that you, dear reader, would enjoy this game.

It's just didn`t work for me.

Bob: "There are great games and there are horrible ones - this game is neither."

by The Fabulous King (1330) on Jan 6th, 2011 · DOS

Plus 103 player ratings without reviews

Contributors to this Entry

Critic reviews added by Joakim Kihlman, Alsy, Parf, Wizo, Scaryfun, Patrick Bregger, Tim Janssen, Martin Smith, JudgeDeadd, Jeanne, S Olafsson, RetroArchives.fr, Sun King, SlyDante, Macs Black, Rodrigo Steinmann, LordAndrew, mailmanppa, VĂ­ctor MartĂ­nez.