🐳 25 years ago: StarCraft was released!

Alien Carnage

aka: Alien Carnage: Halloween Harry, Halloween Harry

[ All ] [ DOS ] [ Macintosh ] [ Windows ]

Critic Reviews 89% add missing review

VictoryGames.pl ( )

W Alien Carnage grafika niestety nie zachwyca, lecz trzeba pamiętać, iż owa produkcja ma 14 lat. Klimat w niej jest nieco ponury, lecz tym bardziej wydaje się pasować do charakteru gry. Trzy poziomy trudności oraz możliwość wyboru dowolnego epizodu z pewnością przypadną do gustu tym graczom, którzy niekoniecznie są mistrzami w grach zręcznościowych. Generalnie uważam, iż warto zagrać w Alien Carnage i przypomnieć sobie dawne czasy.

Aug 17th, 2007 · DOS · read review

Hrej! (9 out of 10)

Krásná, detailní grafika představuje již jen třešničku na dortu, za níž o něco zaostává slabší ozvučení. Zde je však třeba vzít v potaz stáří hry, díky němuž můžeme tento zápor autorům snadno odpustit. Jinak ani co odpouštět není - Alien Carnage má i po 14 letech šmrnc a zapomenout se u ní na několik hodin nepředstavuje ani dnes žádný problém.

May 31st, 2007 · DOS · read review

Plné Hry (90 out of 100)

Hodnotit technickou stránku hry v porovnání se současnými projekty by asi nebylo příliš vhodné. Každý průměrně inteligentní hráč totiž musí uznat, že v roce 1993 nemohli tvůrci tvořit taková grafická kouzla, na něž jsme momentálně zvyklí. I tak ale svět Alien Carnage doslova září svou propracovaností, která si vaši pozornost zaslouží!

May 28th, 2007 · DOS · read review

FreeHry.cz (90 out of 100)

Grafika je dnešní poměry pochopitelně nestandardní, setkáváme se s typickými „kostičkami“. Ani ozvučení není zrovna nejmodernější, ale má své kouzlo. Zub času se na počinu nesmazatelně podepsal, někomu to může vyhovovat, jinému nikoliv. Alien Carnage je klenot, na kterém se od doby jeho vzniku usadila silná vrstva prachu, přesto se však mezi dnešními hity jen tak neztratí. Neváhejte a stahujte, velikost archivu není nijak závratná a tohle opravdu stojí za to!

Jun 17th, 2007 · DOS · read review

Freegame.cz (88 out of 100)

Mimochodem, dnešní gameska je specifická tím, že patří jak do druhé skupiny, tak i tím, že je od společnosti Apogee/3D Realms, která je charakteristická právě naprosto špičkovou kvalitou. Předem ale upozorňujeme, že bez programu DOSBox si gamesku dopřejete jen opravdu stěží. Co se námětu týče, věřím, že mezi vámi není prakticky nikdo, kdo by si nedokázal představit, oč vlastně půjde. Velmi jednoduše řečeno, v roli jednoho dobrodruha s jetpackem na zádech se vydáváte do džungle zmutovaného velkoměsta, pomoci několika přeživším dámám v nesnázích. Úkol jako stvořený pro opravdové hráče. Doporučujeme!

Jun 22nd, 2007 · DOS · read review

ASM (Aktueller Software Markt) (9 out of 12)

Alles in allem ist Halloween Harry die Registrierung wert. Besonders die tolle Musik, die SoundBlaster-Besitzer verwöhnt, die gute Anleitung sowie der günstige Preis sprechen für das Game.

Apr 1994 · DOS · read review

Player Reviews

General rule: Flamethrowers are sweeeet. HeHeHe....
by Zovni

The Good
Beautiful VGA graphics!! This was the first Apogee game (along with Raptor) that was simply gorgeous to look at, with vivid colors, lush details (I loved those office levels early on!) and plenty of good animations and fxs. Furthermore as standard for all Apogee games, the controls are silky smooth making for a very satisfying experience even if it takes a bit to get used to the new way of "jumping".

The use of heavy-duty weaponry and especially the implementation of the flamethrower and the jetpack made for an interesting twist in gameplay since it worked as an effective way to ditch the jumping puzzles and kept the focus on the action. Ditto the updates that your partner gave you from HQ. They may not seem like much but it all amounted to a clever twist that kept you playing what was essentially a standard platformer, and certainly brought the game up from being just a Duke Nukem wanna-be!

And dammit, it's always sweet to torch a zombie with a flamethrower!

The Bad
Didn't break any new ground really. Heck, if you start thinking about it the hostages are just another way of having you pick up keys or stars, or whatever.

The Bottom Line
Standard side-scroller gameplay wise. But man, is it sweeet :))

Big guns, beautiful graphics and plenty of smooth action. That's Halloween Harry, perfect for when you feel the need to torch some aliens.

Dec 3rd, 2002 · DOS

It's Halloween Harry!!
by Toadstool

The Good
Halloween Harry (aka Alien Carnage) is an absolute classic side-scroller. Aliens are turning people into zombies and you, as Halloween Harry, must save the day. The graphics were awesome, the animation was smooth, and the controls were responsive.

As Harry, you shoot zombies and retrieve coins. Using the coins, you could purchase weapons at what looked like vending machines. As I recall, there were five weapons (flame-thrower, photon gun, missiles, grenades, and omega). The omega pretty much wiped out everything on the screen.

The Bad
Nothing. The game rocked.

The Bottom Line
Holloween Harry is a classic side-scrolling, platform game. Great fun!

Jun 18th, 2000 · DOS

A truely great game!
by Tomer Gabel

The Good
Everything! I used to play a different version called Halloween Harry, but they're basically the same. The graphics are excellent, the music is great (really!), the controls are more than decent and the gameplay is as addictive as they get!

The Bad
Nothing! It really is that good.

The Bottom Line
A greatly underappreciated game most people will find enjoyable.

Feb 23rd, 2001 · DOS

Plus 37 player ratings without reviews

Contributors to this Entry

Critic reviews added by Scaryfun, Grandy02.