🐳 New! Moby v2023.03.30 update

Halo: Combat Evolved

aka: Blam!, Guangyun: Zui Hou Yizhan, Halo: El Combate ha Evolucionado, Halo: Kampf um die Zukunft, Monkey Nuts

[ All ] [ Macintosh ] [ Windows ] [ Xbox ] [ Xbox 360 ]

Critic Reviews 95% add missing review

Silicon-Fusion.com ( )

Overall, Halo is a perfect cumulation of the best bits from many past first-person shooters, with some great bursts of originality to top it off. It's a superb launch title, which really everyone with an Xbox should own. Oh, and if you haven't got an Xbox, this should make you seriously consider one. The only disappointing aspect is the long wait we can expect before a sequel emerges. Sigh.

Apr 17th, 2002 · Xbox · read review

Game Critics (10 out of 10)

I believe that the greatest achievement to which any game can strive is to create a world so lifelike, so logically implemented, that it allows players to feel a suspension of disbelief that is uninterrupted by illogical inconsistencies. Every aspect of Halo—the amazing artificial intelligence, the realistic physics, the weapons and health management, the graphical detail—blend together seamlessly to realize a convincing world that is awe-inspiring and truly immersive. While physical laws are complex and predictable, Halo's world is permeated by a feeling of uncertainty that brings it to life in way that no other game has done before. It is the best single-player first-person shooter ever created, and its cohesive design will serve as a stepping stone for many years to come.

Jan 1st, 2002 · Xbox · read review

AceGamez (10 out of 10)

There is so much more I could say, but I'll leave you to discover the rest for yourself. Buy it now. Thank me later.

2004 · Xbox · read review

1UP (A+)

Halo is, quite simply, the closest thing we have experienced to a living, breathing alternate universe. To call it a first-person shooter is to do the game an injustice; it pushes the structure farther than any game before it, transcending its genre and, in some respects, its medium. It is the sci-fi adventure game towards which many will soon aspire, but few will equal. It is, beyond the shadow of a doubt, the much-anticipated Xbox killer app.

Nov 14th, 2001 · Xbox · read review

The Next Level (USA) (A+)

Since the days leading up to the XBox’s launch, it’s become quite stylish to heckle the big black behemoth of a console for what is perceived to be a void of support from Japanese third parties. If it can manage to crank out enough titles with the polish and overall quality of Halo, however, acquiring more help from the Far East will be the least of Microsoft’s worries.

2002 · Xbox · read review

Extreme Gamer (10 out of 10)

Packed with combat, Halo will have you battling on foot, in vehicles, inside and outdoors with Alien and Human weaponry. Your objective: to uncover Halo's horrible secrets and destroy mankind's sworn enemy, the Covenant.

Dec 18th, 2002 · Xbox · read review

XBox Solution (XBS) (10 out of 10)

Halo took the gaming community by storm when it was released as a launch title for the Xbox console. It has since broke the 1-million units sold mark. Halo is regarded as the most successful Xbox title to date, and there are tons of reasons why. I’ll detail a few of them throughout the review, but plain and simple, if you have not picked this game up, you haven’t played a First Person Shooter on a console yet, at least not the right way.

Aug 20th, 2002 · Xbox · read review

Edge (10 out of 10)

GoldenEye was the standard for multiplayer console combat. It has been surpassed. And the single player? If you knew what happened on the third level, and the fifth, and so on… That’s the problem. You can talk around Halo a lot, but you can’t talk specifics if you don’t want to spoil it for those who want to experience it. And that should be everybody: this is more than Edge expected, and exactly what Microsoft needed. This is not hyperbole: this is the most important launch game for any console, ever. It doesn’t mean the XBox will succeed, but it does mean that, if it fails, it will leave videogaming with one perfect, eloquently coded moment. That’s it. That’s all you can say.

Nov 29th, 2001 · Xbox · read review

Le Geek (5 out of 5)

All in all, I had a blast playing through Halo. The story, the setting and the gameplay come together to form a sum greater than the whole, and I highly, highly recommend this game.

May 2008 · Xbox · read review

GMR (10 out of 10)

Halo is, quite simply, the closest thing we have experienced to a living, breathing alternate universe. To call it a first-person shooter is to do the game an injustice; it pushes the structure farther than any game before it, transcending its genre and, in some respects, its medium. It is the sci-fi adventure game towards which many will soon aspire, but few will equal. It is, beyond the shadow of a doubt, the much-anticipated Xbox killer app.

Nov 14th, 2001 · Xbox · read review

Gameplanet ( )

There are so many little things that make Halo good it's hard to keep track of them all. The way the character models are animated as they climb into vehicles, the way human marines will shoot already dead aliens on the ground and trash talk them, the bullet marks, the way night vision works ... you get the idea. It's an amazing game and Bungie deserve every ounce of praise they have received. This review is probably preaching to the converted as chances are if you're going to buy an Xbox you already know about Halo and it will be in your bag with the console. It still has to be said though, we love Halo and it's always a pleasure to review one of the truly great games out there on the market. Five out of five. No question.

Oct 16th, 2002 · Xbox · read review

GameCell UK (10 out of 10)

Halo should be given away with the console (and frequently is), and is a true 'system seller', or 'killer app' - Proof positive of the texture handling & polygon pushing capabilities of the Xbox, and also that maybe MS do know what they're doing in the games biz - Even with the likes of Half Life 2, Doom and Far Cry on the way to Xbox, realistically only Halo 2 is likely to replace Halo in our affections… OK, the gushing praise is almost over, as is my easiest review of the year (and it may be 2 years on, but Halo is still a 10/10 in anyone's books).

2004 · Xbox · read review

Gamestyle (10 out of 10)

Playing Halo definitely leaves one of those satisfying great game smiles on your face. Whether following through the story or just blasting it up multiplayer with some friends it delivers hours of fun. For the next several months expect to see gamers trading great stories and knowing looks talking about it and all the while XBox enjoying some great word of mouth. Halo goes in the books as one of those rare “not to be missed” experiences and that makes a pretty compelling argument for getting an XBox.

May 1st, 2006 · Xbox · read review

Adrenaline Vault, The (AVault) ( )

Larry Niven's Ringworld series can always lay claim to being one of the best stories ever told about this theoretical construct. Put simply, a ring world is a torus or doughnut shaped structure that has a landscape on the inner curve of its axis. Usually constructed using technologies that even our widest science fiction can't describe, a ringworld's surface area would be billions of times that of Earth's, and all connected by the underlying ring structure. Taking this idea and running with its shape as inspiration, Bungie and Microsoft have teamed up to deliver us Halo for the X-Box.

Nov 22nd, 2001 · Xbox · read review

Thunderbolt Games (10 out of 10)

Halo. The hype leading into the release of this game was so staggering that there was no possible way it could live up to it...right??? WRONG. Quite simply, Halo ranks as one of the best videogames of all time. I know that is a big claim to make, and many people throw it around half-heartedly these days, but I am dead serious. Halo is one of the best games EVER. Everything about it is absolutely phenomenal. The levels are gorgeous, the enemies are intelligent, the music is of epic motion picture quality and the gameplay is so addicting you will surely find yourself popping Halo into your Xbox even two years from now. I have been gaming for 19 years and have never seen a title with so much polish and attention to detail as Halo. If you are not getting the hint by now then I will make it simple for you: STOP READING THIS REVIEW AND GO BUY THIS GAME!

May 13th, 2003 · Xbox · read review

GamePro (US) (5 out of 5)

Great launch titles make selling new hardware platforms much easier, and with Halo in its arsenal, the Xbox's job just got easier. Halo's gripping tale begins as a spacecraft fleeing the Covenant (Earth's alien enemies) stumbles across Halo, a mysterious ring-shaped world. Playing as the Master Chief, a cyborg soldier so advanced that even the Covenant are awed by him, you fend off the Covenant and explore Halo, uncovering vast secrets that?won't be spoiled here.

Nov 7th, 2001 · Xbox · read review

Gamereactor (Sweden) (10 out of 10)

Men Halo är verkligen en total upplevelse med allt vad man kan begära. Vare sig man spelar själv eller mot mänskligt motstånd, så pulveriserar det allt motsånd och Gamereactor tvekar inte att utnämna spelet till 2002 års bästa spel. Att inte spela Halo borde inte få finnas som alternativ för den sanne spelfantasten och jag hoppas innerligt att alla får chansen att uppleva det antagligen bästa speläventyr västvärlden någonsin skapat. Detta är verkligen för alla och till och med folk som normalt inte spelar förstapersonsskjutare har fallit pladask för äventyren på ringvärlden Halo. Det antagligen bästa släppspelet någonsin sedan Super Mario 64 är härmed ett faktum! Välkommen Halo.

Jun 4th, 2003 · Xbox · read review

Snackbar-Games.com (5 out of 5)

Halo is one of those games that I should have purchased the second I got an Xbox. From now on, I will not hesitate to try out new games that the whole world seems to enjoy. Odds are, if millions of people like the game, there's good reason for it.

Jan 11th, 2006 · Xbox · read review

Gaming Age (A)

Halo contains everything that makes a great videogame, great. Excellent visuals, some of the best videogame audio yet, a cool storyline and theme, and plenty of replayability and challenge. If for some reason you can't stand first person shooters then it may be difficult to convince you otherwise that Halo is more than just Quake with a storyline. Along with Dead or Alive 3, Halo is one of those Xbox games you should definitely pick up at launch.

2001 · Xbox · read review

Game Revolution (A)

A few months ago, I said Halo was "...set to deliver an unprecedented video game experience on a console." Here it is, six months later and Bungie has delivered the package like some digital stork on a divine mission. Is the video game experience actually unprecedented, you ask? Let's just say if you plan to buy an Xbox, Halo will be on the front lines at the Battle of I-Told-You-So. Although one game won't win the system wars, this one puts up a hell of a fight.

Nov 1st, 2003 · Xbox · read review

Cheat Code Central (5 out of 5)

In conclusion Your Honor, Halo is as good as everyone says it is. I love the intense fire fights as they really captures the "shoot out" mood if you get my drift. Bungie did an excellent job melding story, action and suspense. If you own an Xbox and you love FPS, then you're in luck. Buy it.

2005 · Xbox · read review

PGNx Media (10 out of 10)

Overall, I must say go buy this game now. If you don’t have it already that is. This game is good enough to buy an XBOX just to play, that’s what I did. I’d also like to point out the system link feature, because it’s awesome. If you have a network set up in your house, you can have your friend bring over his XBOX and hook it up to the network and to a TV, and you can play multiplayer without having the annoying split screen. You can have up to 16 people playing Halo at the same time, which I personally have not done yet, but I hope that I can someday because it would be awesome. This game outshines all other games in graphics, sound, control, and just plain being fun, not to mention that it makes anyone who doesn’t own an XBOX want one very bad. Bottom line, Halo is the best game to grace my room in a very long time, maybe the best game to grace my room ever.

May 23rd, 2002 · Xbox · read review

Game industry News (GiN) ( )

The only problem I have with Halo is that the game is just to short. By the end I found myself wanting more. I was addicted to the graphics and the story, and I would wake up wanting to play the game. I would play so late that I would just be about ready to drop before I would drag myself to my bed. Halo is in my opinion the best Xbox game to come out with the system and I have to give it 5 GiN gems.

2002 · Xbox · read review

GamersMark (10 out of 10)

This is definately a "Game of the Year". Never before have I been so emersed into an FPS. Never before have I continued playing each level over and over just to see new results and better myself. Never before have I been obesessed with such a game. Halo is it soilder. Now get your ass to your local software store if you don’t have this game. Do I make myself clear Marine!

Dec 2nd, 2001 · Xbox · read review

PCMag.com ( )

This sci-fi first-person shooter might just make you forget about Half-Life: Counterstrike—for a little while, anyway. If you're used to playing shooters on the PC, give yourself some time to get used to playing with a controller instead of a keyboard and mouse; once you do, you'll be intrigued by the richly detailed, fully explorable environment.

Apr 23rd, 2002 · Xbox · read review

Fragland.net (99 out of 100)

HALO, the most awaited game on the Xbox has landed. Although rumors predicted the quick death of this game when Microsoft acquired Bungie, HALO made it through and I can't say I'm unhappy with that.

Sep 15th, 2002 · Xbox · read review

Xbox Exclusive (9.9 out of 10)

After all is said and done you have one the best FPS ever made on anything hands down with out a doubt. Halo with its awesome AI is the kind of game you will play over and over again and each time will be unique, you will never have the same thing happen 2 times in a row and the enemies will never be in the same places, and thats just the single player. The multiplayer will keep you busy for months much the same way Goldeneye did. If you a fan of FPS or action games Halo is a must buy and a game that really shows off Xbox's power. Long live Halo!

2001 · Xbox · read review

TalkXbox (98 out of 100)

There’s a reason this is the highest rated and best selling Xbox game, it’s because it currently is the best Xbox game out there. To not pick this up for any reason is almost foolish. Halo has converted many FPS haters into fans, which is a feat few games can boast. Sure, there are minor annoyances like The Library level for example, but some people like that type of level, and you only have to play through it once per user file if you want. Halo has excellent graphics, superb sound, great A.I., unparalleled replay ability, and it’s just damn fun. Now if Halo is this great and it was a rushed game that had lots of stuff left out of (Bungie was disappointed about rushing it), just imagine how great Halo 2 will be, especially considering that it will not be rushed, and Bungie already has lots of Xbox experience. Halo is without a doubt, a superb game, it’s not a perfect game by any means, but it’s tons of fun, and the best Xbox game out there.

Oct 13th, 2003 · Xbox · read review

Xbox Gamers First (XGF) (9.8 out of 10)

Well, if you are going to buy a Xbox, MAKE SURE YOU BUY THIS GAME. If you aren’t going to buy one, then change your mind and then buy this game. It is the single best game I have ever played, and I wouldn’t be surprised if it won Game of the Year. It easy outclasses every single PC FPS ever released, and it doesn’t look like anything will even come close to the level of this game until Unreal 2 is released. Halo has lived up to the hype, and even surpassed my expectations.

Dec 4th, 2001 · Xbox · read review

GameSpot (9.7 out of 10)

Even if you bear in mind the company's well-earned reputation for creating excellent games for the Mac and PC, Bungie's epic Xbox first-person shooter is of such a staggeringly high level of quality that you can't help but be surprised. Halo is a complete thrill ride from beginning to end, an experience perhaps best described as a 16-hour-plus version of the siege scene from the film Terminator 2. Those who've spent the last few years looking for a first-person shooter as good as Rare's GoldenEye 007 or Valve's Half-Life will be happy to hear they need look no longer.

Nov 9th, 2001 · Xbox · read review

IGN (9.7 out of 10)

When you get past all of the chatter about the potential of Halo looking better on a PC, and all of the yip-yap about Halo being "just another" first person shooter, and all of the lip-flapping about Halo not being able to compete with the very best games on PS2 or GameCube and you actually sit down and play the game on your Xbox...you're in for one hell of a game.

Nov 9th, 2001 · Xbox · read review

Game Over Online (97 out of 100)

Every now and then, a game comes along that redefines its genre and sets a new standard in gaming. Halo is one such game. Even better for Microsoft, it's one of the Xbox launch titles, which makes the Xbox that much more attractive to potential buyers. Over the past few weeks, many critics have concluded that Halo is a must-have for owners of the Xbox. I whole-heartedly agree with that and I'll even take it one step further; experiencing Halo is reason enough to purchase an Xbox, the game is simply that damn good.

Dec 3rd, 2001 · Xbox · read review

Gaming Target (9.7 out of 10)

If you don’t have an Xbox, or have one without Halo for whatever reason, do yourself a favor and buy this game. At the very least, you owe yourself a rental or two. Halo is a masterpiece that just has to be experienced to be believed. Whether you go it alone, or with a friend, or 15 friends, Halo is something you owe yourself to play. In the words of The Game, Halo is just “that damn good.”

Nov 20th, 2001 · Xbox · read review

Game Freaks 365 (9.7 out of 10)

This game has a long life span. You have to beat the game on all difficulty settings which will take at the least 30 hours. Even when you're done, you will play multiplayer over and over until the next Halo comes out. Even the Campaign is fun to redo over and over because there is always new stuff to find. You will never get bored of the blockbuster hit they call Halo.

2005 · Xbox · read review

Shin Force (9.7 out of 10)

If you plan on getting a Xbox this Christmas i would recomend this game. Microsoft and Bungie did a great job to put out one the the Xbox's greatest games, which is only on Xbox.

Nov 29th, 2001 · Xbox · read review

GameCola.net (9.7 out of 10)

With Halo, we have to look at the bigger picture. It gave us intelligent soldiers to fight along-side. It gave us enemies that learned, communicated, reacted. It gave us this beautiful world to play inside or out in, vehicles, little touches like a dead body twitching and firing off one last shot into the ground in their death throes. It gave us co-op play (four times through and counting!), but most of all it convinced my first-person shooter hating friend that first-person shooters don’t, in fact, have to suck. Just wait until I get to Halo 2. It’s even better. This, along with Eternal Darkness, comes as close to a perfect score as I’ve ever given. It’s just that good. Oh, and good goddamn luck on the legendary setting.

Sep 2005 · Xbox · read review

games xtreme (9.6 out of 10)

This is a superb game, and a worthy flagship for X-Box's future Rear Admirals.

Mar 25th, 2002 · Xbox · read review

Netjak (9.6 out of 10)

Overall, I can't get enough of the game. I have yet to play the game online, but expect to use Microsoft’s upcoming network to play the game online and at a high-speed. I'll be sure to be in line to play this online. I do realize that there is an "underground" network of online Halo players, but for now I am content in playing the single player mode (which lasts about 20 hours from start to finish).

Mar 26th, 2002 · Xbox · read review

TeamXbox (9.6 out of 10)

The day has finally come and it’s time to see just how well Halo stands up against the massive amount of hype that has been built up behind it these last few months. To be honest with you, I was starting to feel that the hype would create a vision of a game that, in reality, wouldn’t live up to its expectations. Boy, was I ever wrong! Halo has gone far beyond my expectations and has managed to stand up to the shadow of hype. I thought maybe gamers would also expect too much from Halo, when in reality they still have no idea what Halo has in store for them. Halo is not only the perfect next-generation first person shooter, it has redefined the genre, on a console no less. Never before has a combat game been so amazing in every way.

Nov 9th, 2001 · Xbox · read review

MS Xbox World (9.5 out of 10)

This is gaming at it's best. No matter what your genre preferences, you need to try out Halo. Almost the perfect package. A brilliant balance between graphics and gameplay that must be seen, and experienced, to be believed. If anyone had any doubts about the X-Box's credentials as a console, Halo dispels them with a sumptuous gaming feast. Well deserving of a ten score.

Jun 20th, 2002 · Xbox · read review

Peliplaneetta.net (95 out of 100)

Halo on uskomaton pelikokemus. Sen addiktiivisuus on jotain ennen kokematonta ja sen visuaalinen ylivoimaisuus hämmästyttävää. Neljä valittavaa vaikeustasoa yksinpelissä lisäävät uudelleenpelaamisarvoa ja tolkuttoman addiktiivista kaksinpeliä pelaa mielellään niin kauan kuin fysiikka vain kestää. Halo on jokaisen Xboxin omistajan pakko-ostos ja muille todellinen syy alkaa keräämään säästöjä. Osta ja nauti!

Mar 27th, 2002 · Xbox · read review

Digital Press - Classic Video Games (9.5 out of 10)

Even with the slight control problem, there isn't a gamer on this planet who won't find something to like about Halo. It's combination of mesmerizing graphics and outstanding gameplay make this only game that every Xbox owner should have. Nobody will be disappointed with Bungies masterpiece

Dec 10th, 2003 · Xbox · read review

DreamStation.cc (9.5 out of 10)

At Halo’s base is one of the best FPS engines ever, at its surface great graphics and well-done audio effects. Great multiplayer and replay value, solid controls, and an array of cool weapons and vehicles make this game the masterpiece it is. The only real con is the single player is on the short side and some of the later levels get a bit repetitive. That doesn’t change the fact this is a must-own for an Xbox owner, it might even be worth getting an Xbox for. I did.

Sep 13th, 2003 · Xbox · read review

Game Informer Magazine (9.5 out of 10)

While there really isn’t enough space to go on about all the great features Halo has going for it, the most impressive thing to note is the fact that the whole adventure is seamless. When the Xbox hits the streets, every player will want to get their hands on a copy of Halo – it's really that outstanding. It may not be a system-seller to the masses, but the hardcore players will love its intense action. Sixteen-player LAN deathmatches and multiplayer co-op are icing on this already delicious cake.

Nov 2001 · Xbox · read review

ZTGameDomain (9.5 out of 10)

Yeah baby as the time draws closer and closer to the launch of the might box the games keep pouring in and we here at ZTGD wanna try and give you the heads up before you go out and spend all that hard earned cash on the next generation of videogames! Our first two reviews gave you some insight into two of the lesser known titles for launch now we bring you the granddaddy of them all Halo! It is time to sit back, relax and get your game on!

2005 · Xbox · read review

GameZone (9.5 out of 10)

I don't care what genre you like to play, if you didn't buy Halo when you bought your Xbox - you just don't know what's good for you. We know some of you have been waiting a LONG time for this highly-anticipated game, and unlike many games whom have fallen at their time of debut, Halo goes above and beyond our expectations. Incredibly intelligent AI, a wide selection of well-balanced weaponry and vehicles, and audio/visual to do the Xbox launch justice - this game has been well worth the wait - and it has validated my acquisition of the Xbox.

Jan 11th, 2002 · Xbox · read review

Retroage (9.3 out of 10)

Podsumowując, Halo: Combat: Evolved to świetna gra, godna tytułu startowego nowej konsoli. Znakomicie stworzone uniwersum, świetna fabuła i dynamiczna walka sprawiają, iż pochłonie Was do reszty i ciężko będzie się od niej oderwać. Śmiało mogę powiedzieć, że to jeden z najlepszych FPSów w jakiego miałem okazję zagrać.

Dec 26th, 2014 · Xbox · read review

DarkZero (9.2 out of 10)

Such a mature game to say it was brought out so premature in the X-Box’s life. It’s got looks, gameplay and sound, making it a complete package. A game I class as one of the best and I’m sure a lot of you will too. You need this game, and if you don’t want to splash out on a X-Box wait a few months for the PC version, which promises to be just as, if not more, impressive than this version. I recommend everyone to get this seminal gaming master peace.

Jan 29th, 2002 · Xbox · read review

Play.tm (92 out of 100)

The Xbox’s best launch game by far, and one of the finest and most all-round excellent examples of the FPS genre. Go and enjoy it at once.

Mar 14th, 2002 · Xbox · read review

Computer Bild Spiele (1.41 out of 6)

Wer zwei oder mehrere Spieletastaturen (Gamepads) hat, drückt dem besten Freund eine davon in die Hand, und schon geht’s im Duo oder zu viert am geteilten Bildschirm gegen die Invasoren. Zwei bis acht Konsolen lassen sich zu einem Netzwerk verkabeln und machen irrwitzige Mehr-Spieler-Gefechte möglich. Kurz, mit Halo tobt der interstellare Krieg bei Ihnen zu Hause. Und das macht er „sehr gut“.

Mar 2002 · Xbox

4Players.de (91 out of 100)

Die Wartezeit hat sich gelohnt: Halo ist der neue hell leuchtende Stern am Shooter-Himmel - auch wenn das Licht bedingt durch Grafik-Ruckler und kleine Mängel im Leveldesign nicht so strahlt, wie man es sich wünschen würde. Doch KI, die Grafik im Allgemeinen (deren Detailverliebtheit man sich auf dem PC auch wünschen würde), die Ausgewogenheit des Spieles sowie die Steuerung stimmen und setzen die Messlatte für alle kommenden Konsolen-Shooter auf eine neue Höhe. Da auch Multiplayer-Fans nicht zu kurz kommen, gibt es für Xbox-Fans eigentlich kein besseres Spiel als Halo, um die Ära Xbox einzuläuten. Lohnt es, sich für Halo extra eine der schwarzen Boxen zu kaufen? Schwer zu sagen. Fest steht, dass Halo systemübergreifend einer der besten Ego-Shooter ist, der selbst viele PC-Produkte der letzten Zeit locker in die Tasche steckt...

Mar 14th, 2002 · Xbox · read review

videospiele.com (91 out of 100)

Mit "HALO - Kampf um die Zukunft" haben wir wohl das zur Zeit beste Spiel für Microsofts Xbox-Konsole gefunden, denn HALO nutzt als einer der wenigen Titel die Xbox-Hardware wohl vollkommen aus. Die Soundkulisse mit Dolby Suround 5.1-Support und besonders die Grafik können überzeugen. Jedoch hat auch HALO, wie jedes Spiel, seine kleinen "Mängel", aber die sind nicht unbedingt erwähnenswert. Man könnte Bungies Titel wohl als Pflichtkauf werten, denn jeder der eine Xbox besitzt sollte einmal in den Genuss von HALO kommen!

May 25th, 2002 · Xbox · read review

Gamesmania.de (91 out of 100)

Halo liegt auch im Vergleich zu anderen Top-Ego-Shootern ganz vorne mit dabei und wird wohl eine ganze Weile Referenz für alle Xbox-Titel dieses Genres bleiben. In vieler Hinsicht war der Hype also durchaus gerecht. Vor allem die Mehrspieler-Modi machen richtig Laune und werden sicher dafür sorgen, dass bald die ersten Xbox-(Mini)-LAN-Parties stattfinden. Wenn man bedenkt, dass mit vier "Boxen" schon bis zu 16 Mann an den Start gehen können, ist das Unterfangen eigentlich nicht einmal zu aufwendig.

Mar 11th, 2002 · Xbox · read review

The Video Game Critic (A-)

Finally, the game only saves between chapters, and these can be lengthy. Still, Halo is a showcase title from the system and should be considered standard issue for all Xbox owners.

Mar 1st, 2004 · Xbox · read review

ActionTrip (91 out of 100)

HALO is the most advanced all-around shooter I've played so far, in a sense that it successfully combines some of the most spectacular team based action and enemy AI, very good visuals and impressive sounds, and it does it all with a lot of style. The only game that comes close to being this good all-around is Remedy's Max Payne, but you cannot really compare the two since the design goals of both dev. teams were different.

Dec 12th, 2001 · Xbox · read review

Armchair Empire, The (9 out of 10)

Goldeneye and Perfect Dark aside, first person shooters haven’t exactly been received with open arms by console players over the years. The first reason is clearly control. Hardcore FPS fans point out (quite correctly) that there is no substitute for the classic mouse and keyboard control scheme that PC first person shooters utilize. Additionally, consoles have traditionally been behind the power curve when compared to PC’s of the same generation. Hence, console ports of FPS classics like Quake 2 and Unreal Tournament were seen as clearly inferior to the original PC games. Given that history, it is surprising that the most heavily hyped and most sought after launch title of Microsoft’s new Xbox is indeed a first person shooter. Halo, luckily, is more than able to overcome the limitations that plagued earlier releases and provide an experience unequaled to this point by a console first person shooter.

Nov 30th, 2001 · Xbox · read review

Christ Centered Gamer / Christ Centered Game Reviews (90 out of 100)

With plenty of levels, multiple difficulty settings, a gripping story, and addictive multiplayer action, it will take a while before gamers tire of Halo. When that time comes, Halo 2 should be available to continue the adventures of the Master Chief.

Jun 1st, 2005 · Xbox · read review

Cheat Code Central (4.5 out of 5)

If this is only the beginning of what the Xbox can bring to all of us gamers, I cannot wait to see what is next. The game is very complex with several options not just the campaign mode. So do not expect to just spend a few hours on this one. This is definitely one you will want to show off to all your friends who did not yet get the Xbox! Take your time conserve your ammo and be prepared to be surprised at some of the awesome things that will happen during the game. One last thing, this is a 1 player game. To use the 4-player mode, you will definitely want to use the Xbox Link system.

2005 · Xbox · read review

Bordersdown (9 out of 10)

Yet, having said all that, Halo is still an incredible game, despite these minor flaws. The graphics, sound, and control scheme all work together to draw you into an incredibly detailed world. The variety of environments and gameplay keeps you from getting bored, and the story pulls you forward, secretly forcing you to play much longer than you intended. The action is fast, the world is beautiful, and the sounds are divine. Every gamer should make it a point to play this game, as it will be the standard by which all future console FPS games are judged. It alone is reason enough to justify the purchase of an Xbox. Halo is, without a doubt, a killer app, and it deserves all of the praise that the media has heaped upon it. Play this game. Now. You won't regret it. It just may be one of the greatest console games ever made.

2002 · Xbox · read review

GamesAreFun.com (GAF) (9 out of 10)

Halo may not be everybody’s cup of tea and it does have some flaws, but it is still one of Xbox’s strongest titles. Plus, the multiplayer mode will have you coming back for more time and again. Halo 2 may surpass Halo in many areas, but Halo is still a worthy purchase for any Xbox owner.

Apr 28th, 2003 · Xbox · read review

Gamesdog (9 out of 10)

Well history was made, the game sailed past the million mark in sales with ease. For those who can't wait for the sequel in November 2004, we suggest two things, either buy an X-box - Halo is one of the launch titles - or play through it again on Legendary if you've finished it once already for the quintessential Halo experience.

Jul 14th, 2003 · Xbox · read review

X-Power (9 out of 10)

88% van alle Xbox bezitters heeft dit spel spraken recente cijfers. Ik vraag me af waarom die andere 12% Halo nog niet heeft. Dit is het spel dat iedere Xboxbezitter moet hebben. Nu reeds het "beste spel ooit"(TM) tot Halo2 eraan komt. Tenzij je het laatste jaar onder de grond hebt gewoond heeft iedereen wel van de kwaliteiten van Halo gehoord. Is al de hype, het geschreeuw, de euforie, de flauwvallende gamers voor dit spel echt de moeite waard? Eén woord: ja!

May 10th, 2002 · Xbox · read review

Level 7 (9 out of 10)

Halo har satt en ny standard för FPS. Både vad det gäller känsla och AI. Ett engagerande och actionfyllt skjutalir som borde sälja ett gäng Xboxar på egen hand.

Jan 14th, 2002 · Xbox · read review

GamesCollection (9 out of 10)

Halo è un ottimo gioco, su questo non ci sono dubbi. Dal mio punto di vista di Nintendaro, somiglia molto a Metroid Prime - ma probabilmente è vero che si assomigliano a vicenda, però pensateci... non si vede mai la faccia di Master Chief, così come non si vede quella di Samus Aran, ecc. -, e forse anche per questo mi è piaciuto. La trama, almeno in questo primo episodio, non è particolarmente originale, ma il ritmo è spesso incalzante e spinge a proseguire, se non altro per scoprire cosa ci aspetta oltre la prossima porta, oltre il prossimo colle, di quel misterioso pianeta ad anello...

Sep 4th, 2009 · Xbox · read review

Xboxdynasty (XD) (9 out of 10)

Fazit: HALO Kampf um die Zukunft gehört in jede XboX Spiele Sammlung. KAUFEN und genießen... Dieses Spiel allein macht die XboX Konsole zu einem Pflichtkauf.

Apr 5th, 2005 · Xbox · read review

Computer and Video Games (CVG) (9 out of 10)

Halo is truly blessed with its slick sci-fi storyline, buckets of gut-buzzing atmosphere and explosively intense alien-annihilating action. Awesome in both single and multiplayer, this pushes console shooters to an all-new high and even gives the finest the PC can offer a run for its money.

Jan 8th, 2002 · Xbox · read review

Mygamer.com (8.8 out of 10)

Halo's single-player campaign is worth the price of an Xbox alone, but several multiplayer options make the deal even sweeter. You can play with four friends on a single screen or with up to 16 through LAN connections. There's also a fun co-op mode that allows you and another player to conquer the single-player quest. Halo also offers four difficulty settings. At the now reduced price of $29.99USD, picking up a copy of Halo is simply a no-brainer. It's not difficult to understand why Halo is held in such high regard within the gaming community. While not a perfect title it certainly raises the bar of quality for console based FPS games. Can't wait to pick up a copy of Halo 2.

Dec 2nd, 2004 · Xbox · read review

Game Critics (8.5 out of 10)

In the end, Halo delivers as Bungie's and Microsoft's showcase release for the Xbox. It is technically sound and manages to incorporate most of the innovative ideas that drew praise from audiences at its debut. The vehicle-based combat, huge outdoor environments and complexity of the AI—though old hat for PC gamers—are quite groundbreaking in a console video game. We can only hope other developers will try to incorporate them into future FPSs. Halo does suffer from repetitive gameplay, a lack of full exploitation of the ideas and gameplay introduced at the beginning of the game and a disappointing multiplayer mode. But all in all, it is a worthy release for gamer's willing to bet on Microsoft next-generation console.

Jan 1st, 2002 · Xbox · read review

Jeuxvideo.com (17 out of 20)

En somme, si on savait que Microsoft fondait de nombreux espoirs dans ce titre on comprend mieux pourquoi. Halo devrait sans nul doute se placer comme l'une des références majeures en terme de FPS sur console. On en a beaucoup parlé avant sa sortie et on devrait continuer après tant il s'avère d'une qualité absolument remarquable.

Mar 8th, 2002 · Xbox · read review

PAL Gaming Network (PALGN) (8.5 out of 10)

It's most certainly one of the Xbox's best, and one of the top games of all time, but that doesn't excuse the fact that the game still has some glaring flaws in its design, flaws which could easily have been fixed with more time, and will hopefully be corrected in the sequel.

Feb 28th, 2003 · Xbox · read review

MS Xbox World (8.5 out of 10)

So in my view if you are a FPS lover and you can't get enough of them then this is another FPS with a good story and weapons and graphics to boot. But if you're just getting into FPS it's one to try too, the control pad makes it ideal for newbies to play at a competitive level. Halo has the best of both worlds it has a brilliant multiplayer and story too but is let down only slightly by the feel of repeated backgrounds whilst playing and the feeling that this has been done ever so well before by Half-Life and Deus-Ex, but still it keeps up a good standard not bad for a console only FPS.

Jan 11th, 2002 · Xbox · read review

MS Xbox World (8 out of 10)

Halo is one of the better games that you can find on the X-Box and worthy of buying if you're a first person shooter fan. Yes, people have said that the game rips off other ones and that the ideas here are nothing that you haven't seen before, but in the end, no game out there is a true 'original'. If you like the science fiction format of FPS games, and you like killing aliens with really big energy guns, the you'll find this to be right up your alley. However, if you don't like games where you have to kill everything in sight, then you need to move on to something else, because this one is for killers only!

Jan 31st, 2002 · Xbox · read review

Eurogamer.net (UK) (8 out of 10)

Halo is very much a game of two halves. The first half is fast, exciting, beautifully designed and constantly full of surprises. The second half is festooned with gobsmacking plot twists and great cinematics but let down by repetitive paint by numbers level design. Bungie could quite comfortably have cut several overly lengthy sections from this second half and still ended up with a respectably time consuming game while maintaining the adrenaline-pumping pace of the first few hours. As it is Halo is a flawed masterpiece, one which is well worth owning but which may start to grate after a while.

Mar 13th, 2002 · Xbox · read review

All Game Guide ( )

The development team at Bungie has done a remarkable job with Halo, taking many successful elements from previous standouts in the genre to make one very playable game.

2001 · Xbox · read review

Games Finder (8 out of 10)

For its time Halo was a revolutionary experience from the larger game levels to the regenerative shield to the mixture of human and alien weapons. The game still stands up against modern games quite well so you can return to the roots of the Halo series and still enjoy the game.

Jun 13th, 2014 · Xbox · read review

GameSpy ( )

If it's just the $50 you're worried about, by all means go out and pick up a copy of Halo -- it's hard to imagine any action gamer not enjoying it. On the other hand, if you're wondering if you should be spending (at least) $350 on a new console just to play the game, the answer is "no" -- for the same money, you can buy an entire library of fantastic games for any system you may already own.

Nov 15th, 2001 · Xbox · read review

GamesFirst! ( )

HALO is an excellent benchmark for future Xbox FPS titles, but it is not unbeatable. I can foresee some company taking the lessons learned from not only HALO but Deus Ex and Perfect Dark and combining them into a truly amazing game. Perhaps Bungie will do so in a HALO sequel, which is bound to come along. If you own an Xbox and have the slightest interest in FPS titles, get HALO now. If you don’t, go see it at a friend’s house. Either way, you need to check this one out.

Nov 18th, 2001 · Xbox · read review

Player Reviews

A good (NOT great) game that is overhyped to the extreme
by *Legion* (143)

The Good
Halo has a loyal fanbase. The fanbase is so loyal that they are willing to ignore all of the game's shortcomings - and there are a few key ones.

There's plenty to like about Halo, though. For one, the game has some great visuals. Halo is eye-candy, and a real display of Xbox graphical power. Halo made me look at console games a little differently - as though maybe they can compete with PC games in terms of graphical goodness, finally.

Halo also did what Goldeneye 007 miserably failed to - make the first person shooter playable on a console gamepad. The dual-analog control scheme isn't as good as a PC mouse-and-keyboard setup, but it works surprisingly well. The left and right triggers handle the guns and grenades, and the sticks control smooth and responsive movement. Bungie deserves an award for doing what everyone else has not been able to.

Enemy AI is very good. The "smarter" enemies will take cover from gunfire, dodge shots and avoid grenades, and just generally act like they have some concept of self-preservation. However, while this is a step forward, they are still too easily outsmarted. Too often, an enemy will take cover, and remain behind cover until you flank him and let him have it. Still, while a few games (like Unreal's bots) have been able to accomplish similar AI tasks, it's great to see in the framework of a regular single-player game (as opposed to deathmatch bots).

Vehicles (like hovercraft and jeeps) add an extra dimension to the genre. Unlike Red Faction's vehicles (which were very limited and served little purpose), Halo's vehicles are a core part of the fun. The physics engine is pretty remarkable, and vehicles react like one would expect, as the physics are as real-world as possible (at least as real-world as a hovering vehicle can be).

The split-screen multiplayer feature, similar to Goldeneye, has many different modes. Vehicles add a twist to the standard multiplayer gunplay fare.

The Bad
The single player campaign starts strong, and ends strong. Everything in-between, however, is plagued with constant repetition. Many stages feature the SAME room, OVER and OVER again. Many stages feature the SAME room, OVER and OVER again. See how repetition is annoying? Too many Halo levels are similarly annoying. Traverse a room, kill what appears there. Go to the next room, it looks exactly the same, kill the enemies, move onward. You may think I'm exaggerating, but many of these rooms truly are exact clones of previous areas.

The storyline really isn't very strong. This is very disappointing, compared to previous Bungie games like the Marathon series. Some cutscenes between levels moves the story along, but in reality, there just isn't much there.

Split-screen multiplayer, while a nice addition, pales in comparison to even an average online-capable PC shooter. Of course, it may not be fair to compare a console shooter like Halo to such games, but when the fanboys call Halo the "GREATEST GAME EVER", it's prudent to take a step back and see where Halo comes up short (and there are plenty of shortcomings). 4-player split-screen is a good time, but in the end, it's not great - especially since the Xbox supports online play with shooters like Unreal Championship.

The Bottom Line
Halo is a good game. Compared to PC shooters, however, it's just middle-of-the-pack. There's nothing wrong with that, but it quite possibly is the most overrated game of the PS2-Xbox-Cube generation of consoles. Halo's sequel will have plenty of things to improve upon. Halo is worth owning and playing through, but it does not deserve any special merit.

Oct 17th, 2003 · Xbox

Same old levels, same old guns, same old enemies, then..back again.
by Gareth Day (8)

The Good
The graphics are good as is the size of the environment your in. The Needler weapon is a neat device. The ability to get into vehicles and use them to move around and destroy enemies.

The Bad
The same old enemies on loop. The lack of variety of weapons. The tedium of seemingly advancing but seeing the same old scenery again and again, then having to do the whole lot in reverse as you try to escape from the monotonous levels.

The Bottom Line
Good Co-op and multiplayer but as a single player game it is very weak. And boring.

Jan 4th, 2004 · Xbox

Never before has a first generation LAUNCH title been SO good
by Jason Walker (1762)

The Good
The graphics are simply stunning, yes i KNOW its just a GeForce powered pc but who cares it works for me.The gameplay is simple and follows a very well defined and accepted method (Move, shoot, survive). Multiplayer rocks.

The Bad
The level design falls over in places, with it being SO repetitive that you could be going backwards for all you know (library level anyone?!?!) The graphics do stumble and slow down on occasion, but as i said this is first gen launch material here!! Just look at how different Ridge Racer and Gran Turismo are (on both PS1 and PS2)

The Bottom Line
I was very dubious about this title, when i first heard it was being put exclusive on the Xbox. However my fears were unfounded when i first played the game. It was fun, instant action and graphically stunning. The multiplayer section is just awesome, and perfect for those nights in with ya mates and a few cans of lager (although i would recommend a giant Widescreen Sony WEGA TV to play it on). I know the Xbox has a lot of haters but give it chance, the price drop will make it too tempting an offer to people, and with games like Halo out already on it, who can blame Microsoft for trying!

Jan 19th, 2002 · Xbox

Really good shooter, really really good.
by Thiago Oliveira (97)

The Good
The graphics are amazing, sounds are really well done especially the soldier's voices (they speak many languages and swear etc.). The storyline is great, it doesn't make you ask what if? Atmosphere is really cool makes you wanna fight more, weapons are really cool and well balanced. Multiplayer is extremely fun especially with the tanks and other vehicles. The game controls go really well with the Xbox control, better than they would with PS2 controller.The maps are nice looking and things are strategically placed and well done. Vehicles are really fun to drive, the car runs like a racing game car. The main character/s look really cool and are a good concept! And the list goes on... This is a really great game; for a while it was the only reason to choose Xbox over PS2.

The Bad
It's really great, nothing to complain about. It can get slightly boring if you don't have Xbox live because the levels are so large. But that's not the game makers fault. The flood was a pain in the but to fight too, though exciting nonetheless.

The Bottom Line
Really great shooting game. There are some levels I'll never forget. Sniping is really fun. Very cool for multiplayer as well.

Mar 24th, 2003 · Xbox

Not The Best FPS, But Hardly The Worst
by MasterMegid (870)

The Good
Halo is one of those games that was in development for a long time. What began as a third-person action/adventure for the Macintosh, became a Windows game. And then became a first person shooter for the Xbox. Love it or loathe it, Halo made the Xbox the success it is today.

In Halo, the last inhabitants are embroiled in a losing war with aliens known as “The Covenant”. They are a pious group that see humanity as a threat. A super solider known as the “Master Chief”, is the only hope of the Earth. In Halo you are the Master Chief. You are given a rude awaking when the fanatical aliens board your ship. From here you must fight you way past them, and escape the vessel, to land on the strange and ancient ring world known as Halo.

Halo is seen as a reward for the Covenant. The truth is soon revealed. And you know you must keep the aliens from using Halo at all costs. Or humanity will be lost.

Halo plays much like any other FPS. You explore levels kill enemies, find ammo, better weapons, etc. Health is unique in that you have a recharging shield, that protects your health, it must be drained first for you to die. The recharge takes time however. In combat you strafe, shoot, jump, and use grenades to flush out aliens. The most unique aspect of Halo’s gameplay comes from the use of vehicles. An all terrain vehicle known as the “Warthog”, a flying “Banshee”, “Ghost”, and tank like “Scorpion”. Are all at your disposal. Many vehicles can house many, and human troops will join you in the fight. And in COOP mode two human player can use the same vehicle…sweet!

Speaking of multiplayer, like most FPS of today Halo packs in multiplayer fun as well. You can play on the internet, if you run your Xbox through your PC, this however is a little complicated, so most will likely just play via split screen, or better yet system link. Modes include standards like DeathMatch, CTF, and Domination. As well as less common COOP. In which two players can play the campaign together. This is great fun, more so than playing alone.

The Graphics are very good for early Xbox. Of course later games like Doom3, Half-Life 2, and Halo 2, put them to shame. The graphics are clean and crisp. Nice lighting effects here as well.

The Music is epic and grand when it needs be. And fast and rocking when it needs be. Halo’s score really puts it’s sequel down. The sound effect are top notch. And as one would expect from a newer game the voice overs are solid.

The Bad
Some levels don’t feel right. Such as the level in which you board a Covenant ship. The difficulty is unbalanced. Easy is too easy. And Hard is to hard.

The game ends with a driving stage, WTF? Oh and you know a sequel is coming. Even before Halo 2 was announced.

Halo also spawned a lot of crap ass games, like Darkwatch, Killzone, and Pariah. This is a very bad thing. Despite what others say.

The Bottom Line
Overall, Halo is an enjoyable game. And now is a Platinum Hit. You afford $20...right?

Sep 16th, 2006 · Xbox

Try not to pay any attention to detail, and it's a fairly decent game.
by Starbuck the Third (22710)

The Good
Halo probably has one of the most easily recognizable characters in the Master Chief. Show any gamer a picture of the Chief and ask who he is and they will say "that's Master Chief from the Halo games", whether they have played it or not. Another of halo's stand out characters is Cortana, the Pillar of autumns sparky, well humoured and very likeable AI. I think it forms a very good 'your brawn and my brain' partnership.

A particular delight for me was the Covenant weapons. They were pretty well designed and unique in that no two weapons were very alike, and with there own advantages. The needler fired needles that would explode if you got enough rounds into an enemy, the carbine with with handles a bit like a scope less sniper rifle and the plasma rifle were all stand out favorites for me.

The vehicles the covenant use were also particularly well done. For me, the two best were the ghost which is a fast hovering bike like number with a plasma machine gun on the nose and the wraith, a neat combination of a hover tank and a mortar.

The Bad
The repetitiveness. Halo:CE has flaws, and the single major flaw is its repetitiveness. And it is manifested in two ways. First off, and most significantly, is the repetitiveness of the level design, which is a bit like trying to tell the difference between Porches, 90% of the time you have to look very hard to be able to tell the difference between two indoor sections. It is so bad, that there are three different types if interiors that i can distinctly recall. Pillar of Autumn, covenant ship and Halo. Now, for me, that is not a good thing. Granted, the most of the game pretty much takes place on two of them, but you can't help go around each interior level thinking "errr, hav'nt i already been through here". I certainly did. The interiors are also note worthy because it's mostly corridor's. Only one or two rooms anywhere, and the rooms or corridor's never contain much, if anything. All they ever contain is wall displays or tables. No consoles, tools, not many chairs. Its all very bare. The second way the repetitiveness creeks in is the combat, in that it is mostly run and gun. More run and gun. And more run and gun. The only time your not running and gunning is when your not, is when your blowing up the Pillar of Autumn's engines. And that's IT. Combine it with the generic level design mentioned above, you become more acutely aware of both.

On a similar vein to the level design is that of the design when it come to the UNSC weapons and vehicles. Once again, they suffer from a lack of imagination. OK, the assault rifle has an electronic ammo counter on it, there is no particularly sci-fi-ish weapons in the UNSC armory, with is weird when you consider that the game takes place in 150 years time and your fighting with what is, pretty much, weaponry that woud'nt look out of place in current times. This is made stranger when you consider the effort Bungie put into the design of the Covenant weapons. It's the exact same with the the UNSC vehicles, its as if some one at Bungie said to there boss "boss, i've designed the Covenant stuff, but i can't be asked to do the UNSC stuff" and the boss replied "that's OK, don't bother, it's not like it matters, or anyone would notice" and at the last minute, cobbled together a couple of vehicles based on current vehicles. Just sheer laziness to me. And speaking of weapons, one of the little irritations that made it into most of the halo games is the severe lack of substantial amounts of ammo. It's alway's kill a few enemies, run out of ammo, switch to secondary weapon, kill a few more aliens, run out of ammo, run around looking for a new weapon whilst being shot at, find one, kill them, move on, rinse and repeat. Wait till your up against the hunter pair, you'll know then what it's like.

Halo does'nt get many points for story either. OK, were not exactly swamped in similar stories, but it is far from original or creative. I mean come on, religious aliens hell bent on wiping us out, and you single handily stop them. I could think of a few games in which 1) aliens want to wipe us out, 2) there using religion as an excuse to be crappy to humans and 3) you save the day all on your lonesome. Even outside of gaming, it's not very original. And to add insult to story telling injury, the characters don't, save for Cortana, shine to stand out. The Master Chief does'nt say enough to really stand out, Sergeant Johnson and Foehammer are just plain cliched and Captain Keyes is'nt around enough to make much of an impact. For me, Cortana is the ONLY stand out character.

I think i'll end this section off with a minor niggle. Objectives. Maybe it's just me, but going through the game, and the main trilogy for that matter, i got the feeling, that whilst your overall objective was pretty clear, some of the time is spent on objectives that either have no major point, get's switched to something else or scrapped all together. Could just be me.

The Bottom Line
If this came out now (2010), instead of in 2001, i would say not to expect a sequel. It does'nt have that much variety, some lazy design work and does'nt blow you away. But in spite of that, you can still have a bit of fun playing it. For me, Halo is a like a Arnold Schwarzenegger film. It's got a shallow plot, chances are Schwarzenegger's dialogue is being very mono syllable or dones'nt say much and is doing a cardboard character performance, but as long as you don't expect much from it, you can kind of enjoy it.

Aug 7th, 2010 · Xbox

To date, my all-time favourite game.
by Jeff Sinasac (407)

The Good
The graphics are phenomenal, at or above the level of any other game on the market at the time I'm writing this. But it's the details that really make this my number one vote. Every leaf on every tree is individually rendered. Individual blades of grass actually tuft up from the ground - kneel in this grass and you'll get the sound of your knee depressing foliage, as opposed to the sound of your knee impacting any of the other surfaces in the game. The rushing water in streams is glorious to look at and listen to, the mist thrown from waterfalls, the dirt spray of a bullet hitting ground, or that cast up by a grenade detonation. (I served for four years in the infantry, and the grenade detonations in particular rang true to me). There is a level which occurs in a swamp, and the gently rippling water there looks incredible - not to mention the rain, and the bobbing lily pads. Trees actually sway in the breeze. When weapons strike rocks or trees, corresponding showers of stone or bark ensue. There were individual, 3d mushrooms growing at the edge of that swamp - adds nothing to game play, and some players might never notice it. But it builds realism, and that is something this game has in greater abundance than any other I've encountered.

The gameplay itself is wonderful. I know it's been done before (first in Goldeneye, I think, but possibly before that) but the zoom scopes on the weapons are a great deal of fun to use.

The plot is very original and engaging. It may seem a stereotypical mankind vs. alien fight at first, but as the tale progresses you learn that something a lot more sinister is going on behind the scenes.

The vocal acting is of great quality. Can't say that about a lot of games.

Wing Commander was the first game I remember to supply you with A.I. allies. This game gives you tons. Running onto the field of battle with 12 other marines, each with their own individual faces, voices, expressions and attitudes is intense. The detail here is incredible. There are different accents ringing out all over the battlefield.

The different vehicles are a lot of fun to drive. Spinning out in the warthog is a blast. Nice too, that your fellow soldiers will hop on back of the warthog to fire its machine gun, or take the passenger seat to snipe at enemies.

A co-operative mode is something many FPS games overlook. It's my favourite way to play, though, and this one has it.

You can carry only a maximum of 2 weapons and limited ammo. Nice change from the strange characters of other games who are presumably toting their arsenals around in invisible bags of holding.

The Bad
Most of this is trivial, but if Xbox designers ever read this, here's how to make the game EVEN BETTER.

Firstly, there's only 10 missions. Now, I'm getting a lot of gameplay out of these missions, since if I die, I start over. But I'm on the 7th now and not looking forward to ending. The first release of DOOM had 24 missions. Heed.

In such a wonderful, dramatic, serious game, I thought the attempts at comic relief were unnecessary. Hollywood does this all the time (witness those two miniature punks in Willow, for instance). What I'm referring to here is the high-pitched voices of the grunts, and more to the point, the things they say. It does spoil the intensity of the action somewhat for me to see this tiny being running away screaming "Little people first!" Half of me takes pity and the other half wants to gun him down for saying something so stupid. If it's a serious game, keep it serious. Comedy should never be forced.

Minor thing, but the assault rifle is my favourite weapon to fire (with the force feedback in the controller it both feels and sounds quite authentic), but the rulebook tells you that the Covenant forces are more susceptible to plasma weapons. And since as soon as you kill a single Covenant member you have access to plasma weapons, I don't get to fire the ultra-cool assault rifle very often. (I could, but then I would be deliberately hindering my own progress).

The game is done from a 1st person perspective, but when you mount a vehicle, suddenly you're in third person perspective. Forcing a change in perspective like that really attacks the reality base the game has laboured so hard and successfully to build. If I AM the main character I see out of the main character's eyes - to suddenly be looking at the back of my own head is confusing and only reminds me I'm playing a game. VERY BAD.

I could be wrong, but it seems to me that while you can play with up to 4 players (16 with multiple consoles) in a deathmatch, you can only play with 2 in co-op mode. Why the differentiation? Maybe it has to do with processor speed and reading that many input sources while simultaneously controlling so many A.I.s, but if not, what were the makers thinking? I would love to have a go at the enemy with 3 of my closest friends along for the ride.

When I look at a reflective surface (water, some of the more highly polished surfaces indoors), I don't see my own reflection. What am I, a frickin' vampire? With so much attention to detail, how was this overlooked? Likewise that beautiful water in the swamp I so praised earlier, does not accurately reflect the surrounding trees. It still looks great, but if you pause to compare the water's reflection with the overhangs, it doesn't match up.

While it is great that, in multi-player, when you look at another player you can see what weapon he has in his hand, you can't see what other weapon he's carrying. If he has a plasma rifle in-hand, but also has access to a rocket launcher, shouldn't that rocket launcher be slung over his shoulder? Minor details, but worthy details.

In the cutscenes the Master Chief is always displayed carrying an assault rifle, whether or not you still even possess an assault rifle.

I would have loved to have seen even more attention paid to the crazy sort of bullshit that occurs in battle. It would be nice if your fellow soldiers would just panic occasionally and fall down weeping. Or if an ammo clip you just inserted was occasionally inserted incorrectly and fell out of the weapon after firing a single round. Sadly, that sort of thing happens a lot more often than you would believe. (The ammo box on my old C9 used to fall off every 100 metres. Not fun). Or if grenades were occasionally duds. Combat is fraught with pathetic bullshit accidents. I would love to see some of them here.

While bark does fly from a tree when hit by a weapon, if you later examine that tree you will find it undamaged. Not even chipped. Again, defeats realism. Put enough damage onto that tree and I would love to see it collapse.

While I like that your fellow soldiers will fire the warthog's guns, why won't they drive it? These are trained marines.



The Bottom Line
As of the start of 2002, the most impressive first person shooter, if not the most impressive computer game, I have ever seen.

Jan 18th, 2002 · Xbox

An important step in the evolution of console gaming...
by Kartanym (12689)

The Good
I still remember the first time I played Halo. Up until that point, I was a constant player of Counter-Strike, Quake 3, that sort of thing. But once the PS2 and Xbox hit the streets, I noticed a growing change in the air that, until Halo, took a little time to get used to. Anyway, the story goes, I went to a friends place and picked up an Xbox controller to play Halo co-op for the first time. This was my introduction to the series, and I still remember to this day how enjoyable and exciting it all was.

Flash forward to today, and you can see clearly how much Halo changed the way we play video games. Yes, there are others who played their part, but Halo can be credited for proving how effective 1st person shooters can be on a home console, especially with the right control pad at your fingertips.

The story itself won't become an instant classic, but at this point online functions weren't a norm, so a two player fire fight or a four player slayer match on one TV was more than enough to keep people entertained. Co-op, on the other hand, wasn't always available for games of this ilk, and that's where my enjoyment of Halo built up from. Playing by yourself can be fun, but completing the game on the Legendary setting without a friend to cover your back can be ... well, hard. Really hard. If you're a freak of nature and can do it with one hand behind your back while aiming with your nose on the thumbstick, then all the best for your future career at the petting zoo.

The Bad
I will say that the visuals were up and down at times. I won't compare it to the modern games available as of this review, but Halo holds up well for its age (compared to Goldeneye, which goes to show that even the best four player N64 games look more like SNES titles compared to the first Xbox era). Still, frame rate slow downs and a glitch or two still pop in and out at times, not that it will lower the enjoyment of the game.

The biggest complaint I hear about Halo (and to a degree, the two sequels since), is the fact that each level is just the same as the last, corridor after corridor, creature after creature. It all feels the same no matter how different it might look. I tend to agree with that, but only because if you compared it to Call of Duty, which gives you a number of other objectives that don't always include shooting, Halo really is just the same thing over each level. But, and here's the big but, when played at the hardest difficulty setting or with a friend, that factor can quickly slip by the wayside as the challenge builds across the story. And that, dear readers, is the ultimate strength of the game.

The Bottom Line
So yes, perhaps Halo was overhyped. Perfection certainly isn't a term I would use to describe this first chapter. But for all the problems that may (or may not) be described by other gamers, Halo's place among the most important titles of the past decade is as rock solid as it was back in 2003. Bungie, and indeed Microsoft, took a huge risk in releasing this game to an audience that, up until that point, were hungry for more Quake and Unreal than anything else. The fact that Halo went on to sell so many copies, as well as helping Microsoft find a place within the gaming industry elite, just goes to show that the risk was worth taking.

Without any true multiplayer options, or any online functions to speak of, Halo wouldn't go down as well today as it did five years ago. But for those who are yet to play it, or those simply interested in knowing how it all began, the campaign can be a rewarding experience. Picking up a cheap copy won't be difficult to find, or you could just as easily download the game from the Xbox Live marketplace. It's worth trying, even by today's standards.

Mar 24th, 2008 · Xbox

A Game for the change......
by Exeox (44)

The Good
Where to start. This game transformed everything known in the Fps genre. Everything was beautiful. Graphics were brilliant. Fantastic cutscenes, brilliant designs of enemys and top graphics. Overall. Music was brilliant, each song matched each part of the game and never disappointed. Sound effects were lovely, walking through the grass was brilliant. You could hear and see the effects. Lovely. Gameplay was also top notch, anyone who has played this and claim it sucks, try it multiplayer and legendary, even co-op. You will soon change your mind. This game did what over Fps shooters couldn't, stood out. Even the 2 weapon system limits worked. Everything was mindblowing. Bungie haven't made many games, but the ones they did kicked ass!

The Bad
Rushed. Halo 2 will fix that, I'm sure.

The Bottom Line
Any Xbox or Pc owners, get this. You will not be disappointed.

Mar 21st, 2004 · Xbox

You MUST buy this game if you own an XBOX
by Daemion Blackfire (15)

The Good
Everything. No, just kidding. Well, sorta. I did like just about everything about this game. Graphically, this game kicks. It's one of the most beautiful games out there to date, period. Well, outside of Unreal 2003... and maybe the new Doom when it finally comes out. Outside of that, this game is everything and a bag of chips. As a first person shooter, it has everything that makes this game a classic and more. It has a fairly immersive story... action that will continually kick your ass (depending on the difficulty level you pick), and tons of weapons, vehicles, and troop interaction stuff that just make the game so worthwhile.
Take for example... the vehicles. Most shooting games don't even have vehicles. Halo has approximately 4 that you can fly or drive. And they all act as you would expect them to... everything from the aliens' Ghost to the Tank to the Jeep thing (I forgot the name of the vehicle :P)... it all feels ultra-realistic.
Another thing I really like about the game is that the difficulty actually matters, unlike some other games where there is little difference between normal and hard. In this game, when you pick Legendary (the hardest setting), the AI is spectacularly smart... and difficult to kill. And on easy... it's pathetically easy to kill the aliens. I like that. I also like the multi-player deathmatch options. Definitely a lot there to keep things interesting for quite a while. Also a lot of options for a lot of different arenas. I also liked the option of having cooperative hot-seat multi-player. This made legendary that much less-hard. The music in the game is definitely scored well. It gets more intense during particularly hectic moments of the game when you're supposed to be doing something quickly... or when you've been ambushed... or when you're just generally surrounded by a lot of bad guys. The sound effects were realistic too... everything from the assault rifle to the Covenant weapons sound authentic enough. And, once again... blood splatters galore :) I think it should be a rule, however, if you're going to make a FPS... you have to include blood splatters. It's just not a FPS without them.... Anyway... the environments are also particularly wonderful. The terrain is realistically multi-tiered... filled with plenty of architecture and wild-life and all-around "earthly" objects... it makes you feel like you're actually on another world.

The Bad
Well... I only had a few minor gripes about the game. I felt that there could have been more deathmatch options. Sure, capture the flag, and king of the hill was fun... but they could have had some original ones... and the inclusion of bots (AI enemies) in some deathmatches would have just made my day complete. But, like I said... that's a minor gripe. I would have also liked some more weapons. For example... one of the huge aliens in the game has a plasma launcher that I would have loved to have gotten my hands on. You get a smaller version of it with the plasma gun... but, it... really... didn't satisfy me. Other than that, I can't think of anything I didn't like about this game.

The Bottom Line
The best FPS for any console. End of story. No matter how much you want to try to kid yourself, this is the king of all first person shooters for any console. It reigns supreme. All other console shooters just say "Please, sir... don't hit me over the head with the butt of your rifle again. It hurts." when in its presence.

Oct 8th, 2002 · Xbox

O.k, here is my real opinion on this classic game.
by AkibaTechno (252)

The Good
The fact is, when I wrote my last review for Halo: Combat Evolved I flat out lied. UnicornLynx had recently written his own take on the game, out rightly condemning it as gimmicky, convoluted and full of terribly in cohesive elements. Eager to impress him I wrote my own take on the game, despite the fact that I have loved the Halo series for years. Recently, I've felt the emphasis on multiplayer has come at the expense of the campaign but the early years are something to be appreciated.

So, I wrote the review, condemning one of my favourite games. Lying in bed this morning I remembered something I usually tell people about games; "Don't take reviews as gospel, and don't base your opinion on other peoples. There may be enough elements in a game that appeal to you more than someone else. This means while others might think it's terrible, there is something about it that endears that game to you." There, I had totally back flipped on the philosophy I came up with in order to appease someone that has distinctly different tastes from me. However by that same measure just because Halo isn't some obscure adventure game from a Russian studio no one has ever heard of before doesn't mean it is terrible.

So, I apologise for intentionally deceiving people. Here is my real opinion on Halo: Combat Evolved.

I first played Halo in 2002. I was 13 and at the time I was still enjoying the back catalogue of bargain Nintendo 64 games that the market was awash with following the release of the GameCube. I was invited to a friends house (how the hell do I remember all of this?) and the first thing he did was fire up his new Xbox so we could play Halo. My jaw dropped. This was the most beautiful game I had ever seen in action. It was the first game I had ever gotten a real "next generation" feel from. I felt like this was meaningful progression.

So, Halo takes place immediately after the Pillar of Autumn comes out of hyperspace following the destruction of Planet Reach. The ship is assaulted by the mysterious Covenant of alien races that has some sort of issue with humanity being in their neck of the woods and you, as the cybernetically enhanced "Master Chief" manage to escape with the ship's AI loaded into your helmet.
You crash land on the mysterious Halo ring world that is simply floating mysteriously in space and embark on a mission of resistance and then escape when the tables turn later in the game.

Halo is a game that, instead of feeling like multiple parts thrown together in an in cohesive mass of good ideas, feels like an actual refined package. The HUD elements, movement and combat have all be refined beyond reproach. The recharging shield concept was pretty revelatory (pretty much every FPS uses a variation on it now) and the combination of pulse pounding combat and the ability to melee attack made for some awesome battles. Then there is the seamless integration of vehicular combat with the on foot shenanigans and expansive battle fields which render with very minimal impact on the frame rate of the game.

The story was complicated (for the time) and featured a cinematic quality soundtrack with very competent actors providing a voice for each character in the game. The way the exposition unfolds also has this grandiose, cinematic feel to it. I don't mean it's complicated like "Half Life" (vague and confusing) I mean the developers put a lot of effort into making Halo seem like a movie.

There are subtle elements like playing the game that are easy to miss. To begin with, when you look out into the distance on the Halo ring you can actually see it arcing up into the atmosphere. Below you is a vast sea that seams to stretch forever. The forerunner structures are huge and complicated and while this becomes a detriment later in the game the architecture is both beautiful and monolithic. Such care went into the conception of Halo, that is why it deserves such praise.

The Bad
To begin with, there are moments that just seem to go on forever. Covenant drop ships just seem to keep coming and you begin to silently ask the game to let you continue playing. This is irritating.

The huge waves of enemies are great, however occasionally you will get cheap shotted by some Grunt standing behind the Elite's with a plasma grenade or a bunch of needler shots. You will then consequently go flying into the air and back to the last checkpoint.

There are locations that tend to get repeated in the game and unfortunately these particular locations are some of the most boring locations imaginable. Long purple corridors that open into longer purple corridors with a bunch of locked doors or expansive Forerunner corridors that lead to additional Forerunner corridors. There are only two points in the game where this happens, but they are very tedious and depending on how many times you die can take up to half an hour to complete. Backtracking is a bit of a problem in Halo, just be warned.

The Bottom Line
So, I love Halo. I love it because of nostalgia and I love it because I appreciate the effort Bungie put into trying to make a really different style of FPS. The elements like seamless integration of on foot and vehicular combat, the recharging shield, expansive environments, aggressive AI of multiple enemy types, vastly different weapons and beautiful soundtrack all give Halo credibility as a true classic.

There are problems like any game; the frame rate dips now and then, the enemy AI will occasionally cheap shot you, environments drag sometimes and the flood are irritating (while still being necessary for the plot) however these problems are fairly minor compared to how enjoyable the rest of the game is.

This is a must have for Xbox owners.

Sep 19th, 2010 · Xbox

Plus 197 player ratings without reviews

Contributors to this Entry

Critic reviews added by Big John WV, Yearman, yenruoj_tsegnol_eht (!!ihsoy), Alaka, nullnullnull, lights out party, Flu, Wizo, Cavalary, shphhd, Alsy, Cantillon, Patrick Bregger, Jeanne, Jess T.