🕹 Introducing the Atari 2600+

The Book of Unwritten Tales: The Critter Chronicles

aka: The Book of Unwritten Tales: Die Vieh Chroniken
Windows Specs [ all ]
Buy on Linux
Buy on Macintosh
Buy on Windows

Description official description

The Book of Unwritten Tales: The Critter Chronicles is a prequel to The Book of Unwritten Tales and tells the story how Nathaniel Bonnet met his furry friend, the Critter (or the eponymous Vieh in the original German version). The premise is that Nathaniel won a flight ship during a poker game, but he has no idea how to fly it and the previous owner hired an assassin. After the inevitable crash he finds himself in an icy area where the story unfolds.

During the first chapter the player controls Nathaniel, in the second the Critter and after that he can freely switch between the two which is also used for puzzles. Those are mostly grounded on finding and combining inventory items, but there are also some dialogue and logic puzzles. Dialogues and texts are humorous and there is a second hard difficulty level with expanded puzzle chains. A help function can be activated to show all interactive items on the screen.

Groups +



Credits (Windows version)

67 People (60 developers, 7 thanks) · View all

Creative Director
Executive Producer
Content Integration & Scripting
Additional Scripting
Story & Texte
Charakter Design & Lowpoly Design
Lead Location Designer
Concept Art
Location Designers
Gameplay Logic
Additional Game-Design
Additional Graphics
Sound Effects
[ full credits ]



Average score: 81% (based on 21 ratings)


Average score: 4.6 out of 5 (based on 9 ratings with 0 reviews)

Be the first to review this game!



The game was originally meant to come out shortly after The Book of Unwritten Tales as a add-on sized game to tell the background story of the Critter who proved to be popular with the game's fans. Shortly before release the publisher HMH Interactive filed for bankruptcy and the release was delayed.

Later JoWood acquired the game, but shortly after they also had to file for bankruptcy . Again, the developer was without publisher and could not release their game. Finally Crimson Cow released the game two years after the original release date. In the meantime the developers kept working on the game and brought it to full-game size.

Related Games

The Book of Unwritten Tales
Released 2009 on Windows, 2012 on Macintosh, 2013 on Linux
The Forbidden Book
Released 2018 on Windows
The Book of Unwritten Tales Collection
Released 2011 on Windows
The Book of Unwritten Tales 2
Released 2015 on Windows, Xbox 360, PlayStation 4...
The Book of Unwritten Tales: Complete Collection
Released 2016 on Linux, Windows, Macintosh
Book of Enigmas
Released 2012 on Android, 2013 on iPad, iPhone
The Book of Unwritten Tales 2 (Almanac Edition)
Released 2015 on Macintosh, Linux, Windows

Related Sites +

Identifiers +


Know about this game? Add your expertise to help preserve this entry in video game history!

Contributors to this Entry

Game added by Patrick Bregger.

Macintosh added by Rola. Linux added by Iggi.

Game added December 18th, 2011. Last modified August 27th, 2023.