🐳 New! Moby v2023.06.02 update

Auryn Quest

aka: Auryn Quest: Die Unendliche Geschichte, Auryn Quest: L'Histoire Sans Fin, Real Neverending Story, The

Critic Reviews 53% add missing review

Game Captain (78 out of 100) (78%)

Letztlich kann zusammenfassend gesagt werden dass sich Auryn Quest in seiner Art deutlich von anderen 3D-Jump’n’Runs unterscheidet und in Sachen Grafik und Atmosphäre ein ordentliches Zeugnis vorgelegt hat. Eine Fortsetzung ist denke ich wünschenswert, solange die Entwickler noch etwas in Sachen Steuerung, Spielgefühl etc. investieren. Ein zweiter Teil der „nur neue Level“ zu bieten hätte wäre wirklich schade...

Feb 16th, 2002 · Windows · read review

ComputerGames.ro (77 out of 100) (77%)

Ai putea fi tentat sa afirmi ca Auryn Quest este un titlu de aventura. Aceasta impresie dispare atunci cand descoperi ca ai in fata ochilor un joc clasic 3D jump'n'run in care scopul tau este strangerea a 40 de energy balls (cate 10 pentru fiecare nivel) ce iti vor facilita intrarea in "Labyrinth of Time" unde vei gasi respectivul artefact impartit in 50 de bucati.

Jul 20th, 2002 · Windows · read review

Imperium Gier (7.6 out of 10) (76%)

Z tych właśnie względów Auryn Quest jest dla mnie jednym wielkim demem testującym możliwości karty graficznej. Gra jest bowiem niezwykle sterylna, wielkie powierzchnie, toporne duże wrota, mało postaci. Brak jej charakteru, czegoś, co miał choćby film. Tytuł polecany dla tych, którzy chcą sobie poskakać, mając jednocześnie pozytywne wrażenia estetyczne. Fani przygodówek będą z pewnością zawiedzeni.

Nov 6th, 2002 · Windows · read review

Gamezoom (65 out of 100) (65%)

Insgesamt kann man mit dem Spiel sicherlich sehr viel Zeit verbringen. Die Spielwelt ist sehr schön gestaltet und die Level bieten viel Abwechslung. Im Ganzen ist das Spiel, zumal es "nur" 20€ kostet, als noch gut zu bewerten.

Mar 21st, 2002 · Windows · read review

PC Games (Germany) (59 out of 100) (59%)

Wer sich von Auryn Quest die Spieltiefe eines Konsolen-Jump&Runs wie Sonic Aduenture 2 erhofft, wird enttäuscht: Profi-Zocker dürften trotz spärlich verteilter Speicherpunkte kaum einen Nachmittag für ihr Abenteuer brauchen, vorausgesetzt das doch recht dünne Kugelsammel-Spielprinzip kann sie überhaupt so lange fesseln. Als Budget-Mitbringsel für Einsteiger taugt Auryn Quast aber allemal, denn die Welten sind wirklich schön gestaltet und die Geschicklichkeitseinlagen und Rätsel angenehm fair - schon alleine weil sich durch die Ego-Perspektive die genretypischen Probleme mit der Kamerasteuerung in Wohlgefallen auflösen. Wenn es die Entwickler doch nur geschafft hätten, mehr aus dem Hintergrund der Unendlichen Geschichte herauszuholen - ihr Erstlingswerk wäre ein richtig neues Abenteuer geworden.

Feb 2002 · Windows

PC Action (Germany) (54 out of 100) (54%)

Bewundernswert, dass ganze fünf Personen aus der verkorksten Programmcode-Konkursmasse von The Real Neverending Story überhaupt noch ein Spiel zaubern konnten. Das ist mehr, als 150 Mitarbeiter in den vergangenen fünf Jahren auf die Beine gestellt haben. Dass Auryn Quest sich dabei nicht mit den ehemals hoch gesteckten Zielen des Urspiels messen kann, sollte klar sein. Für 20 Euro ist das Spiel kurzfristig trotzdem ein netter Zeitvertreib, besonders für Menschen mit viel Fantasie, die sich ausmalen können, wie abgefahren die ehemals größte deutsche Adventure-Hoffnung hätte werden können.

Feb 2002 · Windows

GameZone (5 out of 10) (50%)

The Badger has decided to return to the burrow. Another disappointment for a book turned game.I personally enjoyed both the book and the movie for The Neverending Story, even with the disparities between the two. Michael Ende disowned the movie, feeling that the movie did not stay true to his message. I think he would agree that Auryn Quest missed the mark as well. If the completion of the series is dependent on the success of this first installation, as I understand it is, it isn’t likely that “The Real Neverending Story” will come to pass.

Aug 11th, 2002 · Windows · read review

Adrenaline Vault, The (AVault) ( ) (50%)

Auryn Quest begins with the backdrop of a fascinating book and all the technological promise in the world, advancing and pushing the existing boundaries of the adventure genre. But then the designers squandered all this potential with misguided decisions about the content of the gameplay, the method of saving, the flexibility of input, and the requirements for making it all the way through to the end. Neither adventure gamers, who will be appalled at the lack of depth, nor platform players, who will see little point in all the jumping, will be satisfied in what they find here. If this title is successful, then the developers intend to develop follow-up releases; but at this point that outcome does not appear to be particularly likely. The only facet of this game truly approaching a never-ending story turns out to be, sadly, a chronicle of its deficiencies.

Jul 31st, 2002 · Windows · read review

GameStar (Germany) (43 out of 100) (43%)

Schade, aber Auryn Quest ist wenig mehr als der klägliche Versuch, aus einem schief gelaufenen Projekt noch ein bisschen Geld zu wringen. Teilweise schimmert aus der Grafik oder den Figuren schon hervor, dass daran früher gute Arbeit geleistet wurde. Was jetzt aber im Laden liegt, ist eine Enttäuschung. Weitgehend unbelebte Levels und simple Rätselchen motivieren niemanden. Für einen grauen Wintertag reicht es gerade – aber da gibt’s bessere Programme.

Feb 2002 · Windows

Game Chronicles (4 out of 10) (40%)

The groan inducing gameplay coupled with several poor design decisions and numerous other flaws places Auryn Quest squarely into a low budget category that barely rises above shareware. While the worlds of the Neverending Story might make for a great game, Auryn Quest isn’t it.

Oct 28th, 2002 · Windows · read review

4Players.de (36 out of 100) (36%)

Auryn Quest ist weitgehend gewaltfrei und soll so auch jüngere Spielerschichten (ab sechs Jahren) erreichen. Ob diese allerdings lange für die blutleere „Hüpf-und-Sammel-Orgie" zu begeistern sind, muss doch bezweifelt werden. Junge Menschen sind eben jung, aber deshalb nicht gleich doof! Die Fantasie fördert Auryn Quest in keinem Fall. Überhaupt hätte dem Thema ein richtiges Adventure besser zu Gesicht gestanden als ein solch dröges Jump & Run. Aber das ist eine andere Geschichte, die (hoffentlich) ein anderes Mal erzählt werden wird... Dass descret monsters sein Werk demonstrativ mit Teil 1 bezeichnet, muss angesichts der Qualität von Auryn Quest als Drohung verstanden werden - eine Androhung von möglichen Fortsetzungen nämlich! Wäre da nicht die recht ansehnliche 3D-Grafik, so wäre die Bewertung noch schlechter ausgefallen. Trotz des annehmbaren Preises von 20 Euro gibt es daher von uns ein „Daumen runter" sowie ein „Finger weg!".

Jan 21st, 2002 · Windows · read review

Jeuxvideo.com (2 out of 20) (10%)

Les développeurs n'auraient-ils pas oublié d'inclure un semblant d'intérêt à Auryn Quest ? Parce qu'un jeu où il n'y a rien à faire, c'est quand même problématique, non ? Allez, on oublie vite fait et on va gentiment se louer la vidéo de L'Histoire Sans Fin pour redorer le blason de Fantasia.

Oct 8th, 2003 · Windows · read review

Player Reviews

It's a platform game?!

The Good
Well, if we're talking about what I like then I'd have to say that I enjoyed some of the level designs, especially Urwerk and Gaya's dungeon. Not so much for the game-play point of view but for the interesting designs they had come up with. There's some really great looking levels that would be fantastic in a better game. Maybe they can be ripped and modded into a FPS.

The Bad
What I didn't like about the game was first of all that it was a platform game. I was really surprised by this as I bought it thinking it would be an adventure game. It's based on The Neverending Story and is from Adventure Company. Read a bit more into it and there's an interesting story that you can look up for yourself. But I digress.

Platform games are great! I love many platform games but in order to be successful you need tight controls. Not jump buttons that randomly work or don't work or at least the ability to save anywhere. That would help as well. Or at least tell me that I'll have to do everything all over again if I exit right now. You know, simple things that make the game fun, not infuriating.

This game is also another prime example of why there aren't many first person platform games out there. Simple reason being it's hard to judge depth without depth! Yes I realize it's a three dimensional engine the game is working off of but I can't see how far that platform is without 3D glasses! I can't really judge the depth. At least move it in some way that'll indicate where it is. Often times I found myself making blind leaps of faith. Thankfully there's infinite lives otherwise I don't think I would've gotten as far as I did. That and hex editing a bit.

The Bottom Line
I would have to tell people that it's really disappointing. There's some great level designs but it's an extremely frustrating game to play through. The sound and music is mostly inappropriate loops from Rebirth or random techno beats. There was great opportunity for atmospheric sounds and music but instead you get techno and cheapo sound effects that generate randomly. A piss poor execution that is frustrating due to its great potential being based on a great book and having some really talented level designs. I hope some of those designers have moved onto greener pastures of FPS designing.

by Depeche Mike (17425) on Aug 6th, 2010 · Windows

Plus 8 player ratings without reviews

Contributors to this Entry

Critic reviews added by Wizo, Geamandura, gukker, Xoleras, Patrick Bregger, Jeanne, Scaryfun.