đź‘ľ The lost Atari arcade game returns with Jeff Minter's Akka Arrh

Murdered: Soul Suspect

aka: Murdered: Soul Suspect - Ĺšledztwo zza grobu

[ All ] [ PlayStation 3 ] [ PlayStation 4 ] [ Windows ] [ Xbox 360 ] [ Xbox One ]

Critic Reviews 57% add missing review

XGN (7.5 out of 10)

De sfeer in Murdered: Soul Suspect is interessant genoeg om je tien uur lang mee bezig te houden. Ook voor langere speelsessies. Zo verslavend als het in RPG's is om loot te verzamelen, zo verslavend is het om in deze game continu aanwijzingen te vinden. Het verhaal is interessant en bovendien oogt de game op (in ieder geval) de PlayStation 4 netjes. Murdered: Soul Suspect is een hele ander game dan je op voorhand zou verwachten, maar wel een die zeer de moeite waard is tussen al die andere titels in je collectie. Maar enkel als je al je traditionele game-opvattingen laat varen. Nogmaals: dit is een game als een legpuzzel waarbij jij op je dode gemakje aanwijzingen bij elkaar legt en de puzzel compleet maakt. Op zoek naar de dader.

Jun 6th, 2014 · PlayStation 4 · read review

PSX Extreme (7 out of 10)

Murdered: Soul Suspect is a valiant effort and that’s always worth acknowledging. In spite of all the flaws, I do continue to go back for more, and I’m frequently driven by a desire to learn more about that ghostly world. This experience has nothing to do with making a character more powerful, or taking down a host of rampaging enemies (via weapons or guns). It’s more cerebral, more methodical in its approach, and it really tries to encircle the player in a world full of questions and uncertainty. It’s too bad that the production isn’t more refined but for what it is, it’s a minor achievement.

May 5th, 2014 · PlayStation 4 · read review

Polygon (7 out of 10)

Murdered: Soul Suspect is awash in tropes, but somehow, that's part of the charm. It's a pulpy detective tale remixed as a classic ghost story, and it works as a sort of playable B-movie. It's linear and mechanically simple, but it flows well and keeps a fast pace, at least as long as I wasn't chasing down demons. Supernatural Salem was a rich, sad, beautiful place to visit, and as it turned out, Ronan was the perfect tour guide.

Jun 3rd, 2014 · PlayStation 4 · read review

Game Informer Magazine (6.5 out of 10)

This is one of those games that I find myself raving about one second, and dragging through the mud the next. Is it worth your time? I think so. Despite its numerous shortcomings, I was entertained to the point of not wanting to put it down. It’s a satisfying murder mystery and a sub-par game all rolled in one. The story won out in the end for me. If you can tolerate the shoddy investigation gameplay, there’s plenty of fun (and wrong guessing) to be had.

Jun 3rd, 2014 · PlayStation 4 · read review

Tweakers.net (6 out of 10)

Murdered: Soul Suspect is een game waar je op zich weinig aan kunt missen. Het spel heeft meer minpunten dan pluspunten en zet zichzelf daardoor snel buitenspel als het gaat om een hoge beoordeling. Wie echter wel de moeite neemt de game door te spelen, wat gezien de korte speelduur niet heel erg moeilijk is, zal wel een avontuur voor zijn kiezen krijgen dat hem of haar nog wel even zal bijblijven. De originaliteit, de goede sfeer en het spannende verhaal maken van Murdered namelijk een gedenkwaardige game, die vooral een veel betere uitwerking had verdiend.

Jun 7th, 2014 · PlayStation 4 · read review

GameSpot (6 out of 10)

Murdered: Soul Suspect is as troubled as its protagonist. There are so many problems--from the presentation to the story and even technical hiccups--that I was continually pulled out of the experience. And yet, I continued on, and I'm glad that I wasn't overwhelmed by those missteps. It's empowering to piece together the sad details of the people you encounter, and that element was strong enough to keep me engaged throughout. Murdered: Soul Suspect has a lot more spirit than its taciturn protagonist could ever muster.

Jun 5th, 2014 · PlayStation 4 · read review

Push Square ( )

Less game and more interactive story, your enjoyment of Murdered: Soul Suspect will be directly proportional to how much you buy into the tale that it tells. Those looking for a title with engaging gameplay will be sorely disappointed by the lack of challenge, boring stealth, and hunt the clue investigations. But if you can overlook its shortcomings and throw yourself headlong into the fiction, you might just find a detective yarn with a supernatural twist that’ll keep you engaged until justice is done.

Jun 18th, 2014 · PlayStation 4 · read review

Anime News Network (C+)

This game fills a niche, but only functionally. Murdered: Soul Suspect is good for a slow weekend, but it fails to deliver on its concept, turning out something that's good enough just because games like it are so thin on the ground we'll take anything that doesn't fall flat on its face.

Jun 8th, 2014 · PlayStation 4 · read review

Jeuxvideo.com (11 out of 20)

Un beau gâchis. Pétri de bonnes idées, Murdered : Soul Suspect était très séduisant sur le papier. Mener l'enquête sur votre propre meurtre en incarnant un spectre nous promettait des enquêtes haletantes nimbées de mystère. Malheureusement, en raison d'une écriture blindée de clichés, d'enquêtes qui ne se résument qu'à des mini-jeux d'objets cachés et d'un cruel manque de finition, le jeu peine à remporter l'adhésion. Ne reste que l'interaction entre Joy et Ronan, la qualité de certaines quêtes annexes et l'atmosphère globale qui se dégage du jeu pour sauver l'intérêt d'une aventure qui ne prend corps qu'une fois les premières heures de jeu écoulées et qui laisse à son terme un amer goût de frustration.

Jun 6th, 2014 · PlayStation 4 · read review

IGN (5.5 out of 10)

There are some great concepts in Murdered: Soul Suspect, but they feel undercooked or underutilised, and the lack of demand for any real input from us makes Murdered feel like a pick-a-path game where there’s only one path. It scrapes by on the power of its central whodunnit mystery, but I can’t help but feel that Murdered: Soul Suspect is ten hours worth of unfinished business.

Jun 3rd, 2014 · PlayStation 4 · read review

GamesRadar ( )

It's really sad that Murdered: Soul Suspect fails to fulfil its promise. There are some interesting characters and plot-lines, as well as some really great visuals (depending on what or who you're looking at), but the game's strengths are haunted by mediocre gameplay and substandard production values. You won't feel any smarter having solved Soul Suspect's mystery, nor will you feel tested by its combat. Perhaps it's a blessing that most will quickly forget this game and get on with their lives.

Jun 3rd, 2014 · PlayStation 4 · read review

4Players.de (50 out of 100)

Schade um die guten Ideen und Ambitionen der Entwickler: Auf der letzten E3 sprühte der kreative Leiter Yosuke Shiokawa förmlich vor Ideen und Tatendrang für seinen Genremix. Doch das Endergebnis zeigt, dass sich Square Enix übernommen hat. Kaum eines der Elemente ist wirklich spannend: Das Schlussfolgern gestaltet sich bei weitem nicht so logisch und fordernd wie bei Sherlock Holmes und auch die zu simplen Schleich-Einlagen enttäuschen. Sehr langweilig ist zudem der Suchmarathon nach Indizien und Gedanken von Zeugen. Die kleinen Umgebungsrätsel und unterhaltsamen Filmschnipsel haben mich aber doch noch zum Weiterspielen motiviert. Auch technisch ernüchtert das Spiel: Figuren und Kulissen erinnern sofort an die alten Konsolen; trotzdem leidet die PS4-Fassung unter ständigem Tearing und leichten Rucklern. Bislang hat uns Square Enix nur die PS4-Fassung zur Verfügung gestellt – wenn die anderen Versionen eintrudeln, werden wir sie nachtesten.

Jun 6th, 2014 · PlayStation 4 · read review

Gamer.nl (4 out of 10)

Al met al is Murdered: Soul Suspect een opeenstapeling van spelelementen die gemakzuchtig, niet af, nutteloos of niet overtuigend zijn. Dan blijft alleen een enigszins vermakelijk verhaal over dat na een uurtje of zes eindigt in een overigens afgeraffelde climax. Als geheel kunnen we deze nieuwe IP niks meer dan een zielloze teleurstelling noemen. Maar dat krijg je ervan als je een detective game maakt waarin je geen vrijheid krijgt om een detective te zijn. Murdered: Soul Suspect minacht zijn spelers en dat is de grootste zonde die je als ontwikkelaar kunt plegen.

Jun 8th, 2014 · PlayStation 4 · read review

Games TM (3 out of 10)

The story is entertaining in theory, but the gameplay mechanics are uninspired and borderline on being broken entirely. Murdered treats the player like an idiot, never letting the puzzles or investigations require anything more than a glance. A waste of a great concept. We tried, but Murdered just didn't want to be enjoyed.

Jul 17th, 2014 · PlayStation 4

Kotaku N/A

The game tells an uninspired story by forcing you through a series of repetitive, bland, and unrewarding puzzles.

Jun 3rd, 2014 · PlayStation 4 · read review

Gameluster N/A

Murdered Soul Suspect is a game so ripe with ideas that you want to like it, unfortunately the real truth of the matter is outside of the actual story and setting there just isn’t really anything that works. The potential is there but it is just a mismatch of ideas that never quite make the cut and never really strive for the perfection they could have deserved, and that is the point there is so much that could have been good but that just isn’t the case the potential just isn’t used.

Mar 7th, 2015 · PlayStation 4 · read review

Player Reviews

We don't have any player reviews for PlayStation 4.

Contributors to this Entry

Critic reviews added by Cantillon, Tim Janssen, CalaisianMindthief, jaXen.