Eric and the Floaters

aka: Bakudan Otoko, Bomber Man
Sharp X1 Specs [ all ]

Description official descriptions

The first title in the Bomberman series, released as Eric and the Floaters in the UK, introduces the gameplay concept the series is known for, but otherwise bears little resemblance to the later, more famous entries, with series mascot the White Bomberman nowhere in sight.

The game includes 20 single-screen levels. Each consists of a regular grid of indestructible walls, randomly placed destructible walls, and enemies (Floaters) moving between them. The goal of the Bomberman (or Eric in the UK version) is to kill all Floaters present in order to advance to the next stage. There is only one Floater in the first level, but their numbers rise in later stages. To destroy them, Bomberman can drop a bomb at the push of a button, which goes off after a few seconds, hopefully vanquishing an enemy and not himself. If a bomb destroys a wall, hidden items may be revealed, including a treasure chest to be collected for bonus points. The Floaters change between various states indicated by their color, with some states netting higher score for their destruction than others. When they turn red, they follow Bomberman around, which can be used to lure them into strategically placed bombs. Some levels add an extra twist by making Bomberman drop his bombs automatically instead of manually.


  • 爆弾男 - Japanese spelling

Groups +


Credits (ZX Spectrum version)

Cover Artwork



Average score: 56% (based on 2 ratings)


Average score: 2.6 out of 5 (based on 6 ratings with 0 reviews)

Be the first to review this game!

Related Games

Adventurous Eric
Released 2009 on Browser
Eric the Unready
Released 1993 on DOS, Linux, 2018 on Windows
Bomberman 64
Released 1997 on Nintendo 64, 2017 on Wii U
An American Werewolf in L.A.
Released 2022 on Nintendo Switch
Eric Young's Squad Assault: West Front
Released 2003 on Windows
Rocksmith: Eric Johnson - Cliffs of Dover
Released 2013 on Xbox 360, Windows
Atomic Punk
Released 1991 on Arcade
Rock Band: Eric Church - 'Hell on the Heart'
Released 2010 on Xbox 360, 2015 on PlayStation 4, PlayStation 3
Line of Fire
Released 1990 on Amiga, Atari ST, Commodore 64...

Identifiers +

  • MobyGames ID: 72718


Are you familiar with this game? Help document and preserve this entry in video game history!

Contributors to this Entry

Game added by Terok Nor.

Sharp X1 added by Trypticon. FM-7, PC-6001, PC-88 added by Infernos. ZX Spectrum added by Kaminari. Sharp MZ-80B/2000/2500 added by firefang9212. Sharp MZ-80K/700/800/1500 added by OmegaPC777.

Additional contributors: koffiepad, Infernos.

Game added June 20th, 2015. Last modified August 17th, 2023.