🐳 Featured Group: Gameplay feature: Auto-mapping

Minecraft: Story Mode

aka: Minecraft: Story Mode - A Telltale Games Series, Minecraft: Story Mode - The Complete Season
Moby ID: 75296
Windows Specs

Description official description

Minecraft: Story Mode is a five-part adventure series based on the sandbox building and exploration game Minecraft. Typical for Telltale games, it is a cinematic adventure where the story is driven through the player's choices. Decisions are carried over and influence characters and events. The game uses the original title's block design and introduces a story for the game world as there was none for the original title. At the start of the game the player can choose between six characters, three male and three female, with different appearances. It consists of five episodes released gradually over time:

The character Jesse (either male or female) is the protagonist. His friends are Olivia and Axel, along with Jesse's pet pig Reuben. Axel brings the news of the Endercon where there will be a building competition with a chance for the winner to meet Gabriel, one of the heroes of The Order of the Stone. Over the course of the five episodes the story centers around the legacy of the heroes of The Order of the Stone as Jesse and his friends end up in many difficult situations. At the end of each episode an overview of the choices is shown, compared to those of players worldwide.

As the story unfolds, there are different moments where the characters is offered different choices for actions or conversations. These are time limited and if none is chosen, the 'silence' option is selected automatically, which also counts as a decision. Choices are remembered by characters, with a notice for the player, and influence how they will react in the future. Unlike other Telltale titles however, the tone is lighter and less mature, and many choices do not have the strong emotional impact other games by the developer are known for. There are many humorous moments and references to typical Minecraft elements. Next to the cut-scene-like gameplay there are moments with free exploration. Jesse then can freely explore the environment, collect items in an inventory and solve small puzzles. There are quick time events and also action sections where he fights mobs. He can move between a number of lanes, strike and has a limited amount of health. There are also sections where Jesse gets to create a new items and weapons by arranging various items in a way according to a recipe similar to how it is done in the original Minecraft.

This game entry only covers the platforms where the entire season of five episodes is available as a single purchase. For PC this is the only option, while other platforms offer the entire season, or just the first episode with additional ones as single items or episode packs as DLC or in-app purchases. Along with the release of the fifth episode, three additional episodes were announced. They are not included in this version of the game, but need to be bought separately as the DLC bundle Minecraft: Story Mode - Adventure Pass.

Groups +



See any errors or missing info for this game?

You can submit a correction, contribute trivia, add to a game group, add a related site or alternate title.

Credits (Windows version)

789 People (488 developers, 301 thanks) · View all

Lead Writing
Lead Design
Directed by
Art Direction by
Music by
  • Anadel
  • Antimo
  • Welles
Lead Content Programming
Content Programming
Lead Animation
Lead Cinematic Artist
Action Team Lead
Cinematic Artists
[ full credits ]



Average score: 69% (based on 3 ratings)


Average score: 3.6 out of 5 (based on 6 ratings with 0 reviews)

Be the first to review this game!


MobyPro Early Access

Upgrade to MobyPro to view research rankings!

Related Games

Minecraft: Story Mode - The Complete Adventure
Released 2016 on PlayStation 4, Wii U, 2017 on Nintendo Switch...
Minecraft: Story Mode - Season Two
Released 2017 on Windows, PlayStation 4, 2018 on Nintendo Switch...
Minecraft: PlayStation 4 Edition - Minecraft Story Mode Skin Pack
Released 2016 on PS Vita, PlayStation 4, PlayStation 3...
Released 2010 on Linux, Windows, Macintosh
Batman: The Telltale Series - Shadows Mode
Released 2019 on Windows, Xbox One
Released 2017 on iPhone, Android, iPad...
Minecraft Classic
Released 2009 on Browser
Minecraft: PlayStation 4 Edition - Minecraft Candy Texture Pack
Released 2014 on Xbox 360, PlayStation 4, PlayStation 3...
Minecraft: PlayStation 4 Edition - Minecraft Fantasy Texture Pack
Released 2014 on PlayStation 4, Xbox One, PS Vita...

Identifiers +

  • MobyGames ID: 75296
  • [ Please login / register to view all identifiers ]


Are you familiar with this game? Help document and preserve this entry in video game history! If your contribution is approved, you will earn points and be credited as a contributor.

Contributors to this Entry

Game added by Sciere.

Additional contributors: Plok.

Game added October 17, 2015. Last modified September 19, 2023.