🐳 Moby v2023.03.16 update

Mortal Kombat: Deadly Alliance

aka: MK5, MK:DA, Mortal Kombat V: Vengeance

[ All ] [ GameCube ] [ PlayStation 2 ] [ Xbox ]

Critic Reviews 82% add missing review

PGNx Media (9.5 out of 10)

All in all, this game delivers the total package= What everyone has come to expect of the Mortal Kombat series, and so much more, all wrapped up in one bundle. This game is a new twist to an old series, and will hopefully be enough to bring the MK series back to the top of the Fighting Game world. All in all, I give this game a 9.5 out of 10, because it does not disappoint in any area, and does not fail to rekindle the fighting passion, that MK once had.

Dec 10th, 2002 · GameCube · read review

Consoles Plus (95 out of 100)

Mortal Kombat nous avait vraiment étonnés sur PlayStation 2. Cette version Game Cube est en tout point identique, c'est-à-dire technique et gore à la fois. Ce Mortal Kombat se démarque surtout des autres jeux de baston par la possibilité de recourir à plusieurs techniques de combat différentes (généralement, trois par combattant). Le nombre de coups et combos possibles est donc colossal.

Apr 2003 · GameCube · read review

GameZone (9.1 out of 10)

This game is definitely one of the best fighting games available to Gamecube owners. Practice is needed to complete a lot of the game’s modes, such as Konquest or Arcade. Your challengers will become increasingly difficult, which makes the Practice mode very helpful. Combos are easy to memorize, but a little harder to pull off since the necessary timing is required. Even just watching the fights is entertaining; the realistic movements and detailed character models create pure eye candy. Mortal Kombat: Deadly Alliance should not be missed.

Dec 11th, 2002 · GameCube · read review

Game Informer Magazine (9 out of 10)

After a long hiatus Mortal Kombat has finally returned, and I’m happy to report that Midway didn’t pull any punches with Deadly Alliance. In fact, this is easily the most hard-hitting MK in the series yet.

Jan 2003 · GameCube · read review

Gamesmania.de (88 out of 100)

Mit Mortal Kombat: Deadly Alliance besinnt sich Midway endlich wieder auf die QualitĂ€ten der Serie. Albernheiten wie Friendships und Babalitys gehören der Vergangenheit an und weichen den fatalen Moves. Dieses Spiel ist definitiv zu brutal, um in KinderhĂ€nde zu gelangen, sollte jedoch von VolljĂ€hrigen als das interpretiert werden, was es ist: Ein gutes PrĂŒgelspiel mit viel Tradition, dessen Gewaltdarstellung man als Teil des Konzepts nicht ĂŒberbewerten sollte. Wer mindestens 18 Jahre alt ist und keine Abneigung gegen PrĂŒgelspiele hat, sollte sich dieses tödliche Turnier auf keinen Fall entgehen lassen. Dazu spendiert Midway auch noch ein Making Of und das offizielle Mortal Kombat Musik Video. Kauft es Euch, so lange die BPjS nicht dazwischenfunkt!

Mar 7th, 2003 · GameCube · read review

IGN (8.6 out of 10)

We are a happy office. For the first time in all of IGN's history, we can sit together in unison and say in agreement that we enjoyed the latest Mortal Kombat game. Not without its problems, particularly in terms of the unforgiving CPU aggression, Deadly Alliance is still among the best fighting games of 2002. A late night favorite for the last couple of weeks and for a few months more, Deadly Alliance is a remarkable achievement in the history of a series we wrote off long ago. Congratulations all around, and congratulations to anyone lucky enough to pick this one up!

Nov 19th, 2002 · GameCube · read review

Jeuxvideo.com (17 out of 20)

J'ai dĂ©jĂ  dit que c'Ă©tait une bonne surprise ? Mortal Kombat est, pour rĂ©sumer, un jeu de baston violent, un peu bourrin sur les bords mais qui a su se renouveler et enrichir son gameplay de deux ou trois petites choses bienvenues. Que les fĂ©rus de VF 4 ou de Tekken 4 ne sautent pas au plafond en voyant la note, car MK ne joue pas dans le mĂȘme registre technique, et en tant que jeu de boeuf, il s'en sort fichtrement bien. Le seul bĂ©mol de cette version GameCube sera pour la croix (pas d'autres choix) qui n'est pas vraiment adaptĂ©e. On s'habitue mais si on a le choix de la version, ça mĂ©rite que l'on y rĂ©flĂ©chisse.

Mar 6th, 2003 · GameCube · read review

N-Zone (82 out of 100)

SKANDAL! Der knallharte PrĂŒgelklassiker taucht endlich wieder aus seiner Versenkung auf. Neben den gelungenen Beat 'em Ups Bloody Roar: Primal Fury und X-Men: Next Dimension gibt es fĂŒr PrĂŒgelspielfans abermals Anlass zur Freude. Zwar hatten wir schon BefĂŒrchtungen, dass es die Fortsetzung mal wieder nicht schaffen könnte, in den HĂ€ndlerregalen zu landen, aber nach eingehender PrĂŒfung und ein paar winzigen Abstrichen wurde der Klassiker glĂŒcklicherweise doch fĂŒr den deutschen Markt freigegeben - angesichts des eimerweise spritzenden Blutes schon fast verwunderlich.

Mar 25th, 2003 · GameCube · read review

64 Power / big.N / N Games (82 out of 100)

(PAL version)
Hat neben purer Gewalt auch spielerische QualitÀten.

Feb 2003 · GameCube

64 Power / big.N / N Games (82 out of 100)

Den grĂ¶ĂŸten Fortschritt hat MK in der Grafik vollzogen. Diese protzt mit vielen Details, schicken Effekten und umwerfenden Animationen der KĂ€mpfer. Die dĂŒstere Musik bringt die martialische AtmosphĂ€re gut rĂŒber, an den Sprachsamples hat man sich aber schnell satt gehört. In diesem Sinne: Finish him!

Dec 2002 · GameCube

GameSpot (8.1 out of 10)

Mortal Kombat is a survivor. Back in the early '90s, the fighting series started out in arcades as one of the first viable alternatives to the juggernaut that was Capcom's Street Fighter II. The original game had a distinctly gritty feel that aimed for photo-realism mixed with fantastic scenes of unprecedented gore. Over the years, it became a gigantic mythos, spawning movies, action figures, comic books, cartoons, and even a live-action TV show. But even though the series expanded outside the video game realm, the core product's quality waned. Many people still regard Mortal Kombat II as the pinnacle of the series, though Mortal Kombat 3's faster gameplay and pumped-up combo system certainly added a lot to the series. By the time Mortal Kombat 4 came around, though, the arcade market wasn't in particularly good shape, and the new game's lackluster cookie-cutter gameplay and unimpressive 3D graphics didn't win it many fans.

Nov 20th, 2002 · GameCube · read review

GameSpy (80 out of 100)

Mortal Kombat: Deadly Alliance really surprised me. After the shenanigans of the past seven or so years, I didn't think Midway was capable of creating a solid fighting game. Deadly Alliance has proven me wrong, and I'm glad it has. This is the over-the-top, pick-up-and-play fighter that's we've been missing for so long. It's far less complex than its top-rated contemporaries, but that's part of the fun. You can just sit back, turn your brain off, and beat people to bloody pulps. The fighting is satisfying, the cast is varied, and it's just fun to play. If you're looking for a fun, easy-to-grasp fighter, this is one alliance that's definitely worth joining.

Nov 22nd, 2002 · GameCube · read review

Realm of Gaming (8 out of 10)

I was glad to see that Midway put more effort into making the fights as smooth, fun, and deep as possible than creating a sequel with dozens of new features introduced and all just average. Only two modes are really available for play (though multi-player is pretty fun as well), and each can easily be completed in half an hour or less. But, surprisingly, the fighting system and Krypt make for more a more long-lasting game than you'd expect, and should keep most gamers busy for at least a month or so.

Apr 2nd, 2006 · GameCube · read review

Officiel Nintendo Magazine (8 out of 10)

Un titre splendide avec un univers séduisant et une prise en main aisée qui satisfera les amateurs du genre en manque de sensations.

Feb 2003 · GameCube · read review

Netjak (8 out of 10)

Do you know how badly I wanted this to be game of the year? It was so close, yet so far away. I could almost taste it. What has been an anthem for the Gamecube since its inception is still running strong. The small D-Pad dooms this game (as well as other fighters) from being a "Game of the Year" title. While it took me some time to get used to the controls, even now it is still difficult to consistently pull off signature moves. Pulling off these moves as well as combos, is the heart of any fighter and not doing so consistently nearly renders the game useless. Even with the problematic D-Pad, I was still able to enjoy the game more than I expected. It is a sure-fire rental, and most would benefit from a purchase. Add in the unique playing styles, amazing finishing moves and never ending replay makes MK: DA still one of the best games of the season.

Dec 3rd, 2002 · GameCube · read review

Game Chronicles (7.9 out of 10)

The sheer size and scope of this title will impress even the most jaded fighter, and the complex fighting system, multiple stances and styles and elaborate combo system will keep all but the most godlike of gamers busy for months to come. Deadly Alliance is easily the best Mortal Kombat in the history of the series, but I simply didn't find this version as playable or enjoyable as the other formats. It's nothing a good arcade stick or controller with a decent D-pad and button arrangement couldn't easily fix.

Jan 18th, 2003 · GameCube · read review

JeuxActu (14 out of 20)

Ce Mortal Kombat : Deadly Alliance est une franche réussite. TrÚs beau, rapide, jouable, profond, ça faisait longtemps que Midway ne nous avait pas sorti un bon jeu. Mais en ce qui concerne la version Gamecube, on reste un petit peu sur sa faim cÎté graphique et la Dual Shock aurait été encore mieux adaptée. Si vous avez le choix de la version, tentez plutÎt celle de la PS2, puis de la Xbox et enfin de la Gamecube (à cause de sa manette).

Feb 14th, 2003 · GameCube · read review

GameCola.net (7 out of 10)

Mortal Kombat: Deadly Alliance certainly ranks as one of the better fighter games I have played recently. I would recommend this to any fan of the series, although diehards may be incredibly turned off by the lack of finishing moves. For those just entering the arena of Mortal Kombat, the game provides more than enough back story to get you caught up and prepped to kick some ass.

Apr 1st, 2003 · GameCube · read review

Gamekult (7 out of 10)

Que dire si ce n'est que ce Mortal Kombat : Deadly Alliance pas forcĂ©ment trĂšs attendu s'avĂ©re ĂȘtre finalement un jeu de baston trĂšs efficace. Bien rĂ©alisĂ©, violent Ă  souhait et disposant d'une identitĂ© forte, voici un titre qui risque bien de rĂ©concilier les fans avec une sĂ©rie qui s'Ă©tait quelque peu enlisĂ©e au cours de ces derniĂšres annĂ©es. Bien sĂ»r, en matiĂšre de gameplay le jeu ne peut pas rivaliser avec les tĂ©nors du genre mais "l'esprit" Mortal Kombat est bel et bien prĂ©sent et redore efficacement son blason du mĂȘme coup. Une bonne surprise qui tombe Ă  pic pour combler un certain vide dans la ludothĂšque des jeux GameCube rĂ©putĂ©e pas trĂšs fournie en jeux de baston.

Feb 21st, 2003 · GameCube · read review

Player Reviews

A great rebound from their last screw up.
by Exodia85 (2163)

The Good
The weapns were a nice touch to the game and new characters spiced up the game a little more. I can honestly say that the fatalities have gotten better every year.

The Bad
I didn't like that you couldn't wall damage like in the old MK games. And the old sweep and punch action is worthless which was my best chance of winning.

The Bottom Line
Gothic people and people who like gore and violence will jump for joy with this game.

Feb 28th, 2003 · GameCube

Plus 15 player ratings without reviews

Contributors to this Entry

Critic reviews added by nyccrg, Alsy, Jacob Gens, Patrick Bregger, Jeanne, Xoleras, Evil Ryu, Wizo, Big John WV, Alaedrain.