🐳 New! Moby v2023.06.02 update

Heart&Slash

[ All ] [ Blacknut ] [ Linux ] [ Macintosh ] [ Nintendo Switch ] [ PlayStation 4 ] [ Windows ] [ Xbox One ]

Critic Reviews 72% add missing review

Gaming Access Weekly (9.5 out of 10) (95%)

If I had to pick something that really got on my nerves sometimes was the camera angles. More than I care to admit I was hit with a giant hammer or cut down by a giant with a chainsaw only because I was stuck on a guardrail I could not see. Or there happened to be a flying baddie that I couldn’t quiet get because the top view or automatic zoom in camera angle kept making me over/under jump to try and bash them. The controls can be a little aggravating but overall the game is a testament of genius. The music is catchy, although a bit repetitive (especially for the first couple of hours when you are dying so much). Like I said before the story doesn’t matter so much since the gameplay is so much fun. Do yourself a favor and pick up Heart & Slash. Especially if you are a retro gaming fan, the graphics, art, and difficulty curve will keep you coming back for more to clean up the Robopocalypse.

Jun 24th, 2016 · PlayStation 4

Hey Poor Player ( ) (90%)

Heart&Slash is an extremely fun game. It’s got a cute, little, indie style. It has an endearing story. It has addictive gameplay, and Heart is a great character. It’s everything it should be. It’s true that I have a few gripes about it. That tight camera work is just inexcusable. But it is no doubt that the positives of Heart&Slash far outweigh the negatives of it. From the gear and upgrades to the lightning fast combat, Heart&Slash keeps calling me back for me. And I am happy to answer that call.

Aug 26th, 2016 · Windows

GameSpew (8 out of 10) (80%)

Heart&Slash successfully transitions roguelike gameplay into the third-dimension with its fluid, fast-paced (and challenging) combat. Fiercely battling through hordes of enemies is thoroughly satisfying, thanks to the diverse supply of weapons unlocked at a consistent rate. Its retro-reminiscent graphics and soundtrack are both very stylish, though some more musical diversity would certainly be welcome. Aside from some glaring camera issues and the odd technical blemish, Heart&Slash presents exactly what the title suggests: a lot of slashing, and a lot of heart.

Jul 5th, 2016 · PlayStation 4 · read review

Niche Gamer (8 out of 10) (80%)

This game is a perfect example of what a Kickstarter games should be. The controls are responsive, it looks amazing, and they understood their scope of production. A great Roguelike that can appeal to so many different aspects of other action genres, it makes for a good entry point of roguelike gaming. Hands down, this has to be one of the best games to come out of Kickstarter, and one of the better roguelikes release.

Nov 24th, 2016 · PlayStation 4 · read review

Indie Game Reviewer (4 out of 5) (80%)

Heart&Slash will not appeal to everyone – the roguelike genre is always a tad divisive. I would have been pleased to see some sort of ongoing progression system to help maintain interest, but thankfully the game is so engaging and, frankly, charming that this is easily overlooked. From its elegantly implemented combat to its fun-loving soundtrack, Heart&Slash has a lot to offer action and roguelike fans alike.

Sep 2nd, 2016 · PlayStation 4 · read review

Video Chums (8 out of 10) (80%)

If you're looking for a fun-filled retro-style 3D arena brawler then you need to download Heart&Slash. The combination of exciting combat, upbeat presentation, and constant discoveries make it one of the most addictive games I've played so far this year.

Jun 27th, 2016 · PlayStation 4 · read review

Impulse Gamer ( ) (80%)

With tight refined combat, a charming visual style and an endearing main character that reminds me of an anthropomorphic companion cube, Heart & Slash’s throwback difficulty won’t be for everyone but, if you like your games to push back a little and not hold your hand, you’ll find Heart & Slash a rewarding experience that’s well worth the effort.

Jul 4th, 2016 · PlayStation 4 · read review

Destructoid (8 out of 10) (80%)

Impressive efforts with a few noticeable problems holding them back. Won't astound everyone, but is worth your time and cash.

Jun 24th, 2016 · Xbox One · read review

BonusStage.com (8 out of 10) (80%)

Mix in a happy hardcore soundtrack that keeps the game flowing and the hits coming, and you can see that Heart&Slash is a treasure trove for roguelike fans that need to get there hits in. You’ll rejoice when you get an electrical sword, you’ll curse when you get the shield (I never play defensively). You’ll be frustrated when you explode just out of reach of a healing heart and you’ll reload, eager to see what the game deals you this time around. In short, if you want to brawl in style and have a great time, you’ll love Heart&Slash.

May 2016 · Nintendo Switch

Invision Game Community (8 out of 10) (80%)

Spirited is exactly what this game is. Vivacious, energetic, choose a word; its pure, visceral fun to play and has a lot of good ideas and a lot of personality, whether it’s the bold, stylistic visuals or memorable, eclectic soundtrack. A bugfix is reportedly in the works for the crashing, but until then that, a silent prayer goes out to all the runs lost to the robot’s final evil trick, the worst known to man; occasional performance issues.

Feb 22nd, 2018 · Nintendo Switch · read review

Use a Potion! (7.7 out of 10) (77%)

It controls well, combat is tight and there’s plenty of cool unlockables to find. It’s a tricky experience that can feel frustrating at times thanks to its perma-death, but fortunately the variety provided with each playthrough keeps Heart&Slash feeling like an enjoyable experience. There are certainly better action games out there, but there’s still a lot to love about Heart&Slash.

Jun 21st, 2016 · PlayStation 4 · read review

Vertical Slice, The (B) (75%)

I said it a couple of times already, but I’ll say it again, I didn’t like this game when I first tried it out. No save, tough controls/systems to get used to, weird graphics (that I really ended up loving). All this dumped on me right from the start. Not only that, but the game is hard. HARD, like the olden days decades ago where you get dumped in and need to figure things out just to survive, and even then it isn’t a guarantee. I don’t usually mind that stuff, at all, but for some reason, here, I did. At first. I don’t know why, really. I think maybe it’s because I wanted this game to be something other than what it is. In the end, with as much fun as I had playing it, and as much fun as I expect to keep having with it on my way to 100%, I’m glad it wasn’t the unicorn I unreasonably wanted. This horse that was born is just fine on its own.

Jul 19th, 2016 · PlayStation 4 · read review

GameGrin (7.5 out of 10) (75%)

All in all, Heart&Slash is a fun brawler rogue-lite with a quirky and charming presentation, it has a good sense of humour and a lot to offer fans of both genres. The unique elements it brings to the table definitely make the genre more approachable.

Jul 7th, 2016 · PlayStation 4 · read review

TechRaptor (7.5 out of 10) (75%)

Heart&Slash is an easy game to pick up and run with but mastering it and unlocking weapons and equipment as you go will add some more variety as you play. It is a fantastic entry point to the roguelite scene, and it's complex enough that even dungeon crawling veterans will find a lot to love.

Aug 12th, 2016 · Xbox One · read review

MAN!AC (62 out of 100) (62%)

Gewöhnt Ihr Euch an die Kamera und andere Schwächen, kann der ungeschliffene Action-Rogue-Mix unterhalten.

Jul 25th, 2016 · PlayStation 4 · read review

Push Square (6 out of 10) (60%)

Heart&Slash has some enjoyable moments. The weapon and armour unlocks coupled with the randomly generated levels will keep you coming back, but ultimately, the experience is let down by unfair encounters and repetitive combat. It's a quirky combination of roguelike and brawler that will leave fans of either genre disappointed.

Aug 1st, 2016 · PlayStation 4 · read review

Nindie Spotlight (6 out of 10) (60%)

Overall while Heart & Slash has some issues, the most concerning being that it is currently a bit crash-prone, it does a fairly good job of applying roguelike concepts to a brawler. While permadeath is obviously a guarantee the fact that you can carry over upgrades between games is a great benefit and since you’re consistently rewarded with new gear unlocks you’re heavily encouraged to continue to take on fights that are tough. If you love a stiff challenge and are willing to be patient with it Heart & Slash does pay off with some hard-won fun.

Dec 24th, 2017 · Nintendo Switch · read review

Miketendo64 (5 out of 10) (50%)

Despite a great aesthetic, interesting genre blend and plenty to do, Heart&Slash just isn’t the game we were first led to believe it was and the unexpected game crashing is a total nightmare. It’s one thing to have it crash on you when you’re on the first level, but on the third is worse, because 8 out of 10 runs you might not even make it that far. So in my opinion, Heart&Slash is not a game I can just recommend because it is not one of the better brawlers or roguelike games you can play on Switch, it’s just one of the more adorable ones and it shows throughout from its speedy, yet twitchy action, odd camera angles and the performance issues I’ve mentioned before.

Dec 31st, 2017 · Nintendo Switch · read review

Twinfinite (2.5 out of 5) (50%)

This is most definitely a charming endeavor that can be improved and built upon in the form of sequels or similar projects, however. There’s plenty of good here that’s sadly held back by a variety of issues that don’t necessarily lie with its developers, but most likely within finding the ideal balance between the genres it embraces.

Aug 15th, 2016 · Windows · read review

TheSixthAxis (4 out of 10) (40%)

Hearth&Slash has a lot of great ideas. On paper, a Devil May Cry roguelike is probably one of the most amazing ideas ever. Unfortunately, the reality of that idea never lives up to that promise. The roguelike features were relatively basic compared to games like Rogue Legacy. The action gameplay was nowhere near as satisfying as Metal Gear Rising. In the end, Heart & Slash just made me wish I was playing one of those games instead of this one.

Aug 10th, 2016 · Windows · read review

XBLA Fans N/A

Heart&Slash probably would be a lot more fun if it wasn’t a roguelike. Its weapons are really cool, the combat has some potential and the light RPG elements are rather neat. If the level design was more deliberate and there were checkpoints instead of permadeath, it may have negated some of Heart&Slash’s biggest issues. A good roguelike is constantly challenging but always fair., This one is just provides cheap frustration.

Jul 5th, 2016 · Xbox One · read review

PS4Blog.net N/A

If you’re looking for a hack and slash action release on Nintendo Switch, and don’t mind the extremely sensitive in-game camera and occasional game crash, then Heart and Slash might be what you’re looking for. Hopefully, the game is soon patched so that it can offer a smoother experience for players!

Feb 21st, 2018 · Nintendo Switch · read review

Windows Central N/A

The ease of being able to pick up and play Heart&Slash should be a huge deciding factor if you're thinking about purchasing it. It is brilliant for filling in time between mainstream title releases, if not a game worth picking up just for the hell of it.

Nov 21st, 2018 · Xbox One · read review

TheXboxHub N/A

Heart&Slash may come with a blocky art style akin to Minecraft, but it disappoints on so many levels. Due to a lack of features which fail to keep the game open and accessible whilst still offering that challenge that many gamers would be up for, and with an altogether hard to access story and strong repetitive feeling given throughout, this is certainly not a game I would choose to splash the cash on. Especially given the plethora of titles available on the Xbox store which have already succeeded where Heart&Slash fails.

Jun 28th, 2016 · Xbox One · read review

Player Reviews

No player reviews yet.

Contributors to this Entry

Critic reviews added by Tim Janssen, A.J. Maciejewski, Omnosto.