🐳 Latest Moby v2023.06.02 update

Heart&Slash

[ All ] [ Blacknut ] [ Linux ] [ Macintosh ] [ Nintendo Switch ] [ PlayStation 4 ] [ Windows ] [ Xbox One ]

Critic Reviews 77% add missing review

Gaming Access Weekly (9.5 out of 10) (95%)

If I had to pick something that really got on my nerves sometimes was the camera angles. More than I care to admit I was hit with a giant hammer or cut down by a giant with a chainsaw only because I was stuck on a guardrail I could not see. Or there happened to be a flying baddie that I couldn’t quiet get because the top view or automatic zoom in camera angle kept making me over/under jump to try and bash them. The controls can be a little aggravating but overall the game is a testament of genius. The music is catchy, although a bit repetitive (especially for the first couple of hours when you are dying so much). Like I said before the story doesn’t matter so much since the gameplay is so much fun. Do yourself a favor and pick up Heart & Slash. Especially if you are a retro gaming fan, the graphics, art, and difficulty curve will keep you coming back for more to clean up the Robopocalypse.

Jun 24th, 2016 · PlayStation 4

GameSpew (8 out of 10) (80%)

Heart&Slash successfully transitions roguelike gameplay into the third-dimension with its fluid, fast-paced (and challenging) combat. Fiercely battling through hordes of enemies is thoroughly satisfying, thanks to the diverse supply of weapons unlocked at a consistent rate. Its retro-reminiscent graphics and soundtrack are both very stylish, though some more musical diversity would certainly be welcome. Aside from some glaring camera issues and the odd technical blemish, Heart&Slash presents exactly what the title suggests: a lot of slashing, and a lot of heart.

Jul 5th, 2016 · PlayStation 4 · read review

Indie Game Reviewer (4 out of 5) (80%)

Heart&Slash will not appeal to everyone – the roguelike genre is always a tad divisive. I would have been pleased to see some sort of ongoing progression system to help maintain interest, but thankfully the game is so engaging and, frankly, charming that this is easily overlooked. From its elegantly implemented combat to its fun-loving soundtrack, Heart&Slash has a lot to offer action and roguelike fans alike.

Sep 2nd, 2016 · PlayStation 4 · read review

Impulse Gamer ( ) (80%)

With tight refined combat, a charming visual style and an endearing main character that reminds me of an anthropomorphic companion cube, Heart & Slash’s throwback difficulty won’t be for everyone but, if you like your games to push back a little and not hold your hand, you’ll find Heart & Slash a rewarding experience that’s well worth the effort.

Jul 4th, 2016 · PlayStation 4 · read review

Video Chums (8 out of 10) (80%)

If you're looking for a fun-filled retro-style 3D arena brawler then you need to download Heart&Slash. The combination of exciting combat, upbeat presentation, and constant discoveries make it one of the most addictive games I've played so far this year.

Jun 27th, 2016 · PlayStation 4 · read review

Niche Gamer (8 out of 10) (80%)

This game is a perfect example of what a Kickstarter games should be. The controls are responsive, it looks amazing, and they understood their scope of production. A great Roguelike that can appeal to so many different aspects of other action genres, it makes for a good entry point of roguelike gaming. Hands down, this has to be one of the best games to come out of Kickstarter, and one of the better roguelikes release.

Nov 24th, 2016 · PlayStation 4 · read review

Use a Potion! (7.7 out of 10) (77%)

It controls well, combat is tight and there’s plenty of cool unlockables to find. It’s a tricky experience that can feel frustrating at times thanks to its perma-death, but fortunately the variety provided with each playthrough keeps Heart&Slash feeling like an enjoyable experience. There are certainly better action games out there, but there’s still a lot to love about Heart&Slash.

Jun 21st, 2016 · PlayStation 4 · read review

GameGrin (7.5 out of 10) (75%)

All in all, Heart&Slash is a fun brawler rogue-lite with a quirky and charming presentation, it has a good sense of humour and a lot to offer fans of both genres. The unique elements it brings to the table definitely make the genre more approachable.

Jul 7th, 2016 · PlayStation 4 · read review

Vertical Slice, The (B) (75%)

I said it a couple of times already, but I’ll say it again, I didn’t like this game when I first tried it out. No save, tough controls/systems to get used to, weird graphics (that I really ended up loving). All this dumped on me right from the start. Not only that, but the game is hard. HARD, like the olden days decades ago where you get dumped in and need to figure things out just to survive, and even then it isn’t a guarantee. I don’t usually mind that stuff, at all, but for some reason, here, I did. At first. I don’t know why, really. I think maybe it’s because I wanted this game to be something other than what it is. In the end, with as much fun as I had playing it, and as much fun as I expect to keep having with it on my way to 100%, I’m glad it wasn’t the unicorn I unreasonably wanted. This horse that was born is just fine on its own.

Jul 19th, 2016 · PlayStation 4 · read review

MAN!AC (62 out of 100) (62%)

Gewöhnt Ihr Euch an die Kamera und andere Schwächen, kann der ungeschliffene Action-Rogue-Mix unterhalten.

Jul 25th, 2016 · PlayStation 4 · read review

Push Square (6 out of 10) (60%)

Heart&Slash has some enjoyable moments. The weapon and armour unlocks coupled with the randomly generated levels will keep you coming back, but ultimately, the experience is let down by unfair encounters and repetitive combat. It's a quirky combination of roguelike and brawler that will leave fans of either genre disappointed.

Aug 1st, 2016 · PlayStation 4 · read review

Player Reviews

We don't have any player reviews for PlayStation 4.

Contributors to this Entry

Critic reviews added by Tim Janssen, A.J. Maciejewski, Omnosto.