Join our Discord to chat with fellow friendly gamers and our knowledgeable contributors!

Not an American user?


This is a multiple-choice adventure based on the first book in the popular "Choose Your Own Adventure" series for kids, written by Edward Packard. The Bantam Books publishing success sold 250 million domestic copies in the U.S. alone between 1978 and 1998, making it one of the most successful children's book series ever.

In the game, you are a kid who enters the Cave of Time to recover four items stolen by the Time Grouches and must return them to their proper places and times. The items are: a golden crown, Abraham Lincoln's hat, the Loch Ness Monster's egg, and a piece of flint.

When entering the cave, you can choose 3 options: up or down which take you to one of the 4 time periods, or go to the Time Grouches' lair where they will attack you two at a time. Using your sword you swing at them until you connect when their guard is down. If you defeat enough of them, you will get one of the required items behind 4 doors.

When you go to each time period, you will have to correctly choose the proper actions in order to solve the required puzzle. You may have to go through each several times until you are able to get everything that is needed.


The Cave of Time Commodore 64 Starting location
The Cave of Time Commodore 64 Arcade sequence - ride the mammoth by moving your hands left and right with it.
The Cave of Time Apple II On a Train to Gettysburg
The Cave of Time Apple II Rowing through Loch Ness

Promo Images

There are no promo images for this game

Part of the Following Groups

User Reviews

There are no reviews for this game.

Critic Reviews

Family Computing Apple II Mar, 1986 3 Stars3 Stars3 Stars3 Stars 75


There are currently no topics for this game.


There is no trivia on file for this game.

Contributed to by Scaryfun (17974)