Join our Discord to chat with fellow friendly gamers and our knowledgeable contributors!

Not an American user?


Crack City is a single player, text adventure with optional graphics. It is the first game in The Snow Dogs Trilogy and it is also the last as the second game A Handful Of Snow was never completed

This game is set in 2003, which at the time of release was 'the near future', in the city of New Washington. The Mafia are working with a ruthless drugs organisation which the player, a secret agent, is tasked with infiltrating. The player can play as one of three secret agents, Mike Hammelford - a good shot but no fighter; Louis Chorbenski - a giant of a man but not too bright; Ed Macpherson - English and a good all-rounder, the player also has an assistant, Dwight, who can be instructed to perform tasks.
The screen layout used is different to most text adventures. The upper part of the screen is divided into panels, on the right is a panel showing the number of items being carried in the player's pocket, wallet and hands. In the centre is a picture of the current location and on the left is a panel showing the exits from the current location. Below all this are seven sets of numbers showing the time of day, available cash, agent's skill, SIF rating - how good a spy you are, health, score and number of turns taken.

This game was developed using Professional Adventure Writer. It supports the standard shortcuts such as N/S/E/W for North/South/East/West as well as more advanced commands such as RAMSAVE and RAMLOAD


Crack City ZX Spectrum The title screen
Crack City ZX Spectrum In-game graphics are optional, they can be toggled on/off with the commands GRAPHICS ON/GRAPHICS OFF
Crack City ZX Spectrum Credits
Crack City ZX Spectrum Agent selection

Promo Images

There are no promo images for this game

Part of the Following Group

User Reviews

There are no reviews for this game.

Critic Reviews

There are no critic reviews for this game.


There are currently no topics for this game.


What's In A Name?

The original title of this game was Snap! and the other two games in the trilogy were going to be called Crackle and Pop
piltdown_man (156551) added Crack City (ZX Spectrum) on Feb 24, 2017