Join our Discord to chat with fellow friendly gamers and our knowledgeable contributors!

Not an American user?


Released to commemorate the 75th anniversary of Nancy Drew, this is the 12th in the series of point-and-click, 1st person adventure games in which you take the role of the famous teen detective.

Taking place in the town of Titusville during the Depression era, the surroundings, clothing and manner of speaking are representative of the early 1930s.

A friend asks Nancy to go see 17 year old Emily Crandall who runs the lovely Lilac Inn. Money is tight, but a kindly neighbor tells her she will inherit his estate after his death. But, when he dies, the will leaves everything to someone else! In addition to this unexpected and suspicious occurrence, there have been some strange things happening of late. For instance, various things have disappeared and suddenly reappeared .. strange whispers have been heard in the halls when no one is about .. items on the walls move suddenly on their own. Nancy deduces that there is more to Emily's predicament than meets the eye. Determined to get to the bottom of it all, Nancy settles in to solve the mystery.

During your investigation, explore the town of Titusville, talk to its people, find and use inventory objects, and solve unusual adventure-type puzzles.


Nancy Drew: Secret of the Old Clock Windows The Carriage House
Nancy Drew: Secret of the Old Clock Windows Arrival at the Lilac Inn
Nancy Drew: Secret of the Old Clock Windows The parlor at the Lilac Inn
Nancy Drew: Secret of the Old Clock Windows One of the nostalgic "storefront" you'll see while delivering telegrams

Promo Images

Nancy Drew: Secret of the Old Clock Screenshot
Nancy Drew: Secret of the Old Clock Screenshot
Nancy Drew: Secret of the Old Clock Screenshot
Nancy Drew: Secret of the Old Clock Screenshot

Alternate Titles

  • "Нэнси Дрю: Секрет старинных часов" -- Russian spelling
  • "Nancy Drew 12" -- Informal name
  • "Les Enquêtes de Nancy Drew: Le Mystère de l'Horloge" -- French title

Part of the Following Groups

User Reviews

A fun game for when it's raining outside and just play with yourself or with friends or family, it's a fantastic game! erika hvistendahl (12) 4.83 Stars4.83 Stars4.83 Stars4.83 Stars4.83 Stars
Good who-dun-nit keeps you guessing until the end Jeanne (76362) 3.33 Stars3.33 Stars3.33 Stars3.33 Stars3.33 Stars

Critic Reviews

Edutaining Kids Aug, 2005 A 100
Game industry News (GiN) Oct 03, 2005 4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars4.5 Stars 90
Adventure Lantern 2006 90 out of 100 90
Just Adventure Jul 27, 2005 B+ 83
GameBoomers Aug 16, 2005 B+ 83
Adventure Gamers Aug 16, 2005 4 Stars4 Stars4 Stars4 Stars4 Stars 80
GameZebo Apr 07, 2008 3.5 Stars3.5 Stars3.5 Stars3.5 Stars3.5 Stars 70 Oct, 2005 6.5 out of 10 65 May 11, 2006 12 out of 20 60 Apr 24, 2006 11 out of 20 55


There are currently no topics for this game.


This game actually brings together elements of the first 4 Nancy Drew books:
  1. The Secret of the Old Clock
  2. The Hidden Staircase
  3. The Bungalow Mystery
  4. The Mystery at Lilac Inn

All were written by Mildred Augustin (Wirt) Benson (1905-2002) under the pen-name of Carolyn Keene and originally published in 1930. Mildred "Millie" Benson created the character Nancy Drew, but she had help writing the actual stories.

For the 1st 3 books, the story was based upon outlines supplied by Edward Stratemeyer (1862-1930). These were published shortly before Mr. Stratemeyer's death in May of 1930.*

Mildred wrote the manuscripts for the last one, The Mystery at Lilac Inn, using outlines from Harriet S. Adams, who edited for Mildred.

As times changed, stories became outdated in subject matter and social content. It became necessary to revise the stories to make them acceptable to a new generation of readers. Beginning in 1959, the stories in the Nancy Drew series were revised and, in many cases, substantially rewritten.

The revised version of the books The Secret of the Old Clock and The Hidden Staircase, published in 1959, were written by Harriet S. Adams based upon the outlines and manuscripts of the original 1930 stories.

The stories in The Bungalow Mystery (re-pub. 1960) and The Mystery at Lilac Inn (re-pub. 1961) were revised by Patricia Doll and Harriet S. Adams actually rewrote the manuscript.

* Stratemeyer Syndicate moved its publishing rights to Simon & Schuster in 1979. Simon & Schuster would later purchase the Syndicate in 1984.

Related Web Sites

Jeanne (76362) added Nancy Drew: Secret of the Old Clock (Windows) on Jul 14, 2005