Kart Fighter (NES)

Kart Fighter NES Title screen


Published by
Developed by
Critic Score
100 point score based on reviews from various critics.
User Score
5 point score based on user ratings.
Not an American user?


This game can be purely considered the 'illegal' predecessor of Super Smash Bros., since it's, ironically, Street Fighter II with Mario Kart characters. All in all, it copies the mechanics of Street Fighter II in almost everything, starting from the moves and ending with combo system.

Like in Mario Kart, there is an overall of eight characters to choose from, starting with Mario, going through Luigi, Princess Peach, Toad, Koopa, Yoshi, Donkey Kong Jr. and, finally, Bowser, whom you have to defeat two times during the arcade play. Most of the character roster is being a huge bunch of shotoclones, with one of the few exceptions being Peach, who has Chun-Li's moveset, Koopa, who has some sort of a 'kamikaze' projectile and Donkey Kong who throws a ground projectile, similar to Terry's Power Wave.

The game has original sprites and music, although some graphics were obviously reused from such games as Little Nemo: The Dream Master and Wario Land 4, not to say about the use of the graphics from Mario games themselves.

Like in many games based on the same engine (along with NES Street Fighter II port by the same developers), this has the two-player mode, apart from the contrary belief, by pressing the A button on the second gamepad during player select sequence.


Kart Fighter NES Peach vs. a Koopa ; she looks more like an evil twin version from a regular fighting game.
Kart Fighter NES Peach vs. Luigi
Kart Fighter NES Victory
Kart Fighter NES Character selection

Promo Images

There are no promo images for this game

Part of the Following Group

User Reviews

There are no reviews for this game.

Critic Reviews

There are no critic reviews for this game.


There are currently no topics for this game.


There is no trivia on file for this game.

Alexey Bilichenko (19) added Kart Fighter (NES) on Nov 25, 2010