Forums > Game Forums > Final Fantasy XIII-2: Opponent - Ultros & Typhon > Japanese title romanization

Fred VT (25953) on 1/8/2014 1:16 PM · Permalink · Report

How should this be romanized: エネミー「オルトロス&テュポーン」 I would write Enemy: Orthros and Tupon

Ultros is named Orthros in some languages, and since the kana name begins with an 'O', I'd use this one. Other possibilities are Ultros, Ortros, Oltros.

The other one is either Tupon or Tyupon.

Adzuken (836) on 1/8/2014 3:52 PM · Permalink · Report

Wouldn't the romanization be the literal transcription? Orutorosu & Tyupōn? I think Ultros & Tupon would be considered a full translation. However, this is probably better left to our more fluent members with more experience.

Terok Nor (41968) on 1/8/2014 3:58 PM · Permalink · Report

I have no knowledge of Japanese, but yeah, if it isn't an English word, use literal transcription. Otherwise it's just guesswork.

Fred VT (25953) on 1/8/2014 4:03 PM · edited · Permalink · Report

Orutorosu & Tyupōn would be the same as having "Fainaru Fantajii" in my opinion. Both names actually haves translated versions. I think "te"+ small "yu" is "Tu" (like "fu"+ small "a"="Fa". It's the main reason why I asked if Tupōn was the better transilteration.

Nah...Te+yu is Tyu, Tu would be Te+U (like the Ta in Tactics is Te+A, not Ya)

Adzuken (836) on 1/8/2014 4:28 PM · Permalink · Report

[Q --start Fred VT wrote--]Orutorosu & Tyupōn would be the same as having "Fainaru Fantajii" in my opinion. Both names actually haves translated versions. I think "te"+ small "yu" is "Tu" (like "fu"+ small "a"="Fa". It's the main reason why I asked if Tupōn was the better transilteration.