🐳 New! Moby v2023.12.02

Agatha Christie

Moby ID: 199907

Biography edit · view history

Agatha Christie is the world's most renowned mystery writers. Her books have sold over a billion copies in the English language and another billion in over 45 languages. She is outsold only by the Bible and Shakespeare.

Agatha Miller was born in Torquay, England on September 15, 1890. In 1914 she married Colonel Archibald Christie, an aviator in the Royal Flying Corps. The couple had one daughter, Rosalind, before their divorce in 1928.

In a writing career that spanned more than half a century, Agatha Christie wrote 79 novels and short story collections. She also wrote over a dozen plays including The Mouse Trap, which opened in London on November 25, 1952, and is now the longest continuously running play in theatrical history.

Christie's first novel, The Mysterious Affair at Styles (1920), was also the first to feature her eccentric Belgian detective Hercule Poirot. Surely one of the most famous fictional creations of all time, Poirot's 'little grey cells' triumphed over devious criminals in 33 novels and many dozens of short stories. Christie's last publication novel, Sleeping Murder (1976), featured her other world-famous sleuth, the shrewdly inquisitive Miss Jane Marple of St. Mary Mead. Miss Marple appeared in 12 novels, beginning with the The Murders at the Vicarage in 1930.

Agatha Christie also wrote 6 romantic novels under the pseudonym Mary Westmacott. She wrote nonfiction as well - four books including an autobiography and an entertaining account of the many archeological expeditions she shared with her second husband, Sir Max Mallowan. In 1971, she achieved her country's highest honor when she received the Order of Dame Commander of the British Empire. Agatha Christie died on January 12, 1976.

[Source: Manual from the game And Then There Were None]

Credited on 9 games

Displaying most recent · View all

The Invisible Hours (2017, Windows) Team Thanks
Agatha Christie: The ABC Murders (2016, Windows) Based on the novel "The ABC Murders" by
Agatha Christie: 4:50 from Paddington (2010, Windows) Game Based Upon
Agatha Christie: Peril at End House (2007, Windows) Based on the book of the same name by
Agatha Christie: Evil Under the Sun (2007, Windows) Based on the work of
Agatha Christie: Death on the Nile (2007, Windows) Based on the work of
Agatha Christie: Murder on the Orient Express (2006, Windows) Based on the work of
Agatha Christie: And Then There Were None (2005, Windows) Original Book Written by
The Scoop (1989, DOS) Original Story

[ full credits ]

Related Sites add


Add your expertise to help preserve video game history! You can submit a correction or add the following: