Moby Poll: Do you pre-order games, buy at launch, or wait?

Akira Toriyama

Game Credits


Dragon Quest VI: Realms of Revelation (2010)   (Character & Monster Designer)
Dragon Ball Z: Burst Limit (2008)   (Original Author)
Dragon Quest V: Hand of the Heavenly Bride (2008)   (Character Design)
Blue Dragon (2006)   (Monster Designers)
Dragon Ball GT: Transformation (2005)   (Original Author)
Dragon Ball Z: Sagas (2005)   (Original Creator)
Dragon Ball: Advanced Adventure (2004)   (Original Story and Arts)
Dragon Ball Z: Budokai 3 (2004)   (Original Author)
Dragon Ball Z: Buu's Fury (2004)   (Original Author)
Dragon Ball Z: Supersonic Warriors (2004)   (Original Story and Art)
Dragon Quest Monsters: Caravan Heart (2003)   (Original Character and Monster Designer)
Dragon Ball Z Collectible Card Game (2002)   (Original Author)
Dragon Ball Z: The Legacy of Goku (2002)   (Original Author)
Dragon Warrior I & II (1999)   (Monster Design)
Dragon Warrior Monsters (1998)   (Character & Monster Design)
Tobal No.1 (1996)   (Character Design)
Dragon Quest V: Tenkū no Hanayome (1992)   (Character Design)
Dragon Warrior (1986)   (Character Designer)


Dragon Ball Z: Burst Limit (2008)   (Original Author)


Fortune Street (2011)   (Dragon Quest Character & Monster Designer)
Dragon Quest Monsters: Joker 2 (2010)   (Monster Designs)
Blue Dragon Plus (2009)   (Character Designer)
Dragon Quest IX: Sentinels of the Starry Skies (2009)   (Character & Monster Design)
Dragon Quest Wars (2009)   (Monster Design)
Dragon Quest Swords: The Masked Queen and the Towe... (2007)   (Character & Monster Design)
Blue Dragon (2006)   (Character Design)
Dragon Quest Heroes: Rocket Slime (2005)   (Character Designer)
Dragon Quest VIII: Journey of the Cursed King (2004)   (Character & Monster Design)
Dragon Quest V: Tenkū no Hanayome (2004)   (Main Character & Monster Designer)
Dragon Warrior Monsters 2: Cobi's Journey (2001)   (Character & Monster Designer)
Dragon Warrior VII (2000)   (Original Character)
Tobal 2 (1997)   (Character Design)
Chrono Trigger (1995)   (Character Design)
Dragon Quest VI: Maboroshi no Daichi (1995)   (Character Design)
Go Go Ackman 2 (1995)   (Guest Character Design)
Kūsō Kagaku Sekai Gulliver Boy (1995)   (Special Mechanical Design (スペシャル・メカデザイン))
Torneko no Daibōken: Fushigi no Dungeon (1993)   (Character Design)
Dragon Warrior IV (1990)   (Monster Design)
Dragon Warrior III (1988)   (Character & Monster Designer)
Dragon Warrior II (1987)   (Monster Designer)


Dragon Ball Z: Budokai 2 (2003)  
Dragon Ball Z: The Legacy of Goku II (2003)   (Original Author)
Dragon Ball Z: Budokai (2002)   (Original Author )
Go Go Ackman 3 (1995)   (Special Thanks)
Go Go Ackman (1994)   (Special Thanks)
Kasumi Ninja (1994)   (Special Thanks To)

Developer Biography

Akira Toriyama (鳥山 明) was born in April 1955 in the outskirts of Nagoya. In 1974 he entered high school to study art specializing in publicity. In 1977 he decided to abandon this to enroll in cartoon drawing.

Some time afterwards, he entered Shueisha, the biggest manga publisher in Japan, as a mangaka or cartoonist, where he started drawing as a professional. It was here he published his first work as a professional. In December 1978, he published his first manga, Wonder Island in the popular Shonen Weekly Jump.

Akira Toriyama is most known for designing the popular manga series Dragon Ball. In the world of video games, his most important work is character design for the famous RPG series Dragon Quest.

Last updated: Jul 30, 2011