Not an American user?


The hero of the Gothic saga has fulfilled his destiny and became King Robar III. Once he recklessly agreed to deliver a strange amulet for a blind lady, and from that moment on, his soul became corrupted. Now all the former hero can think about is power and conquest - but not for long, as a new hero has risen somewhere else...

ArcaniA: Gothic 4 is the successor to Gothic 3 and based upon the stories of the previous games, but does not continue it. It is a single-player, role-playing game with a "back-to-basics" approach, and features which have been slimmed down.

Taking place a decade later than the previous game, players take the role of a new hero whose motivation and goal is to destroy the forces who have massacred his loved ones.

Unlike other Gothic series games, the world map here is much smaller. Although each location can be explored fully, once at a new location there is no going back to a previous area. The plot is linear. Through the series of quests, the storyline progresses as each objective is reached, eliminating guesswork. There are no guilds or factions to align with, and no in-game morality code so the player doesn't need to worry about being thrown in jail for opening the wrong chest, stealing an item or killing someone. In addition, the amount of inventory items that can be carried has no cap.

There are three main classes (mage, ranger and warrior), skill trees and levelling up as experience increases. Battles are action-based. Choose to fight with ranged or melee weapons, or cast one of the three types of spells (fire, lightning or ice). Spells increase in strength in alignment with the player's levels. Gather plants and minerals to create potions and other items using a simplified crafting system. Upgrades to armour and weapons can be purchased with the gold amassed from fallen foes or quest rewards.


ArcaniA: Gothic 4 Windows Tree of Tooshoo. A place which welcomes Mages of all three gods. Innos, Beliar and Adanos.
ArcaniA: Gothic 4 Windows You can get to important parts of every area faster and easier when you activate these teleport devices.
ArcaniA: Gothic 4 Windows There are a couple of quests which give you freedom to choose between two or three options of solving them.
ArcaniA: Gothic 4 Windows It may not look like it first, but a large portion of the game is spent in dungeons and caves.

Alternate Titles

  • "Готика 4: Аркания" -- Russian spelling
  • "Gothic 4: Genesis" -- Working title
  • "Gothic 4: Arcania" -- Working title
  • "ArcaniA: A Gothic Tale" -- working title

Part of the Following Groups

User Reviews

There are no reviews for this game.

Critic Reviews Windows Oct 27, 2010 7.5 out of 10 75
Hooked Gamers Windows Oct 15, 2010 6.9 out of 10 69
GameStar (Germany) Windows Oct 12, 2010 69 out of 100 69
ZTGameDomain Xbox 360 Jan 17, 2011 6.8 out of 10 68
Game Informer Magazine Windows Oct 19, 2010 6.75 out of 10 68 Windows Oct 20, 2010 6 out of 10 60
GamersGlobal Windows Oct 16, 2010 6 out of 10 60 Windows Oct 25, 2010 57 out of 100 57
Entertainment Depot, The Xbox 360 Dec 12, 2010 5 out of 10 50
GameSpot Xbox 360 Oct 18, 2010 5 out of 10 50


Topic # Posts Last Post
Good gawd, someone kill this series already. 15 Indra is stressed (19945)
Apr 16, 2013


Working titles

ArcaniA: Gothic 4 underwent quite some name changes during its development. Announced as anonymous sequel to Gothic 3 calling it Gothic 4 informally was a logical consequence. Though there have been four official announcements wreaking some confusion among the players. Here is a naming history:
  1. Aug 2007 Gothic 4: Genesis
  2. Apr 2008 Gothic 4: Arcania
  3. Sep 2008 ArcaniA: A Gothic Tale
  4. Mar 2010 ArcaniA: Gothic 4

Related Web Sites

Contributed to by y y (209)