Tōdō Ryūnosuke Tantei Nikki: Ōgon no Rashinban

aka: Ōgon no Rashinban: Shōyōmaru San Francisco Kōro Satsujin Jiken
Buy on Windows
[ All Stores/Prices ]


Ōgon no Rashinban ("Golden Compass") is the second case starring the private detective Ryūnosuke Tōdō, following Kohakuiro no Yuigon. Like the first case, the adventure takes place in the 1920's. This time the investigator finds himself on a ship sailing from San Francisco to Yokohama. A mysterious murder occurs, and it is up to Tōdō to gather evidence and find the culprit.

Like its predecessor, the game mainly follows an adventure format with some simulation elements. The game is heavy on realistic investigation routine, and mostly consists of questioning characters and finding clues that would help to solve the case. Unlike the previous entry, the game has isometric graphics with superimposed character portraits, and elements of point-and-click interface (e.g. when navigating the ship map and accessing various locations).


  • 藤堂竜之介探偵日記 黄金の羅針盤 - Japanese spelling

Groups +


Related Games

Tōdō Ryūnosuke Tantei Nikki: Kohakuiro no Yuigon
Released 1990 on TurboGrafx-16, iPad, Android...
Ōgon no Kizuna
Released 2009 on Wii
Ōgon Musōkyoku
Released 2010 on Windows
Released 1991 on Commodore 64, ZX Spectrum, Amstrad CPC
Sadakichi Seven: Hideyoshi no Ōgon
Released 1988 on TurboGrafx-16
Ōgon Musōkyoku: Cross
Released 2011 on Windows
Ōgon Musōkyoku X
Released 2011 on Xbox 360

Identifiers +

  • MobyGames ID: 54291


Are you familiar with this game? Help document and preserve this entry in video game history!

Contributors to this Entry

Game added by Unicorn Lynx.

Sharp X68000, FM Towns added by Trypticon. Windows added by Infernos. Nintendo Switch, BREW, J2ME added by Ms. Tea.

Additional contributors: Dawgbb, Kayburt.

Game added January 12th, 2012. Last modified August 26th, 2023.