🕹️ New release: Lunar Lander Beyond

Forums > Game Forums > Fallout: New Vegas > So buggy its breaking my heart.

Scott Monster (986) on 2/5/2011 4:30 AM · Permalink · Report

I just started playing it and already I'm finding an assortment of problems. Its like playing Kotor II all over again.

Unicorn Lynx (181775) on 2/5/2011 3:25 PM · Permalink · Report

The greatest RPGs in history are always buggy.

Patrick Bregger (301035) on 2/6/2011 10:39 AM · edited · Permalink · Report

I disagree with this statement. While this is true for many great RPG there are many notable exceptions, e.g. Baldur's Gate II or Planescape: Torment. While they are certainly not bug free there is a long way to recent disasters or Fallout 2.

Also if we reach into the JRPG console market, which some people also consider to contain great RPGs, this statement is not really true. Never heard anyone complaining about bugs in Final Fantasy VII (at least if you don't count the PC port) or Chrono Trigger...

But of course the gist of your statement if absolutely true: If you want to enjoy great RPGs, especially CRPGS and their recent console descendants, you need to learn to live with bugs. Period.

Disclaimer: To avoid misinterpretation of the second paragraph: I don't say there are no great JRPGs. Besides the glorious Chrono Trigger and the mediocre Final Fantasy VII I just don't know enough about them to rule judgement. And honestly, I also don't really care.

Unicorn Lynx (181775) on 2/6/2011 4:18 PM · Permalink · Report

Well, JRPGs are generally less buggy because they have much simpler game mechanics.

You are right about BG2 and Torment, of course :)

leilei (343) on 2/13/2011 11:49 PM · Permalink · Report

[Q --start חד-קרן·山猫 wrote--]The greatest RPGs in history are always buggy. [/Q --end חד-קרן·山猫 wrote--]

Indeed, and the hype level is always relative even when you lay Buggy Developer #2 on Buggy Developer #1 like a bug sandwich. Now, if only Lord British directed it