🕹️ New release: Lunar Lander Beyond

Forums > Game Forums > The Void > Can a game fry your processor?

MichaelPalin (1414) on 1/21/2010 8:46 AM · Permalink · Report

I don't recall many posts on hardware in mobygames, but, anyway, maybe somebody can help.

I installed this game yesterday. It looks very promising, although I don't understand half of the thing the girl talks me about, :P I started playing and, soon after, a fan started to spin very fast. I didn't though it would be a big problem, but, after 20 mins or so, the computer turned off by itself and now it wont turn on again. All signs (also known as LEDs) point to the three year old Core2Duo, I'll check again today.

So, my question is, have you had any experience like this with a game? What can a game feature to put your processor to the limit? The Ageia Physx thing didn't installed, but, then again, there is absolutely no physics going on at the beginning of the game.

Maybe there is not enough color in my heart to play this game, :P

Slug Camargo (583) on 1/21/2010 11:36 PM · edited · Permalink · Report

Modern processors are extremely unlikely to be killed off by a game --or any other program for that matter.

A processor's main enemy is heat, and that danger has been taken care of a long time ago by both AMD and Intel.

Motherboards for AMD chips are made so that the system shuts down automagically should the processor reach a dangerous temperature (I would know it, it's happening all the time in this f'ing heat >=( ); and while I don't know how exactly modern Intel chips are dealing with heat, I do know their protection has been much better than AMD's since the times of the old Pentium 3 Coppermine: Early Pentium 4's would start to throttle clock cycles down on the fly until the temperature got better, and then it would go up again.