The Cave of Time

Moby ID: 27799

Description official description

This is a multiple-choice adventure based on the first book in the popular "Choose Your Own Adventure" series for kids, written by Edward Packard. The Bantam Books publishing success sold 250 million domestic copies in the U.S. alone between 1978 and 1998, making it one of the most successful children's book series ever.

In the game, you are a kid who enters the Cave of Time to recover four items stolen by the Time Grouches and must return them to their proper places and times. The items are: a golden crown, Abraham Lincoln's hat, the Loch Ness Monster's egg, and a piece of flint.

When entering the cave, you can choose 3 options: up or down which take you to one of the 4 time periods, or go to the Time Grouches' lair where they will attack you two at a time. Using your sword you swing at them until you connect when their guard is down. If you defeat enough of them, you will get one of the required items behind 4 doors.

When you go to each time period, you will have to correctly choose the proper actions in order to solve the required puzzle. You may have to go through each several times until you are able to get everything that is needed.

Groups +




Average score: 75% (based on 1 ratings)


MobyPro Early Access

Upgrade to MobyPro to view research rankings!

Related Games

The Cave
Released 2013 on Xbox 360, Windows, Linux...
Cave of Illusions
Released 2019 on Windows
The Enchanted Cave
Released 2010 on Browser
The Ice Cave
Released 1983 on Apple II
The Cave Adventure
Released 2011 on iPhone
The Oracle's Cave
Released 1981 on ZX81, 1983 on ZX Spectrum, 1984 on Commodore 64
The Deep Cave
Released 2010 on Xbox 360
Goblet Cave
Released 2020 on Macintosh, Windows

Identifiers +

  • MobyGames ID: 27799
  • [ Please login / register to view all identifiers ]


Are you familiar with this game? Help document and preserve this entry in video game history! If your contribution is approved, you will earn points and be credited as a contributor.

Contributors to this Entry

Game added by Scaryfun.

Game added April 25, 2007. Last modified May 27, 2024.