🐳 New! Moby v2023.03.30 update

Blood Bowl

[ All ] [ Windows ] [ Xbox 360 ]

Critic Reviews 74% add missing review

Girl Gamers UK ( )

Despite a couple of small niggles with the games menu and AI, Blood Bowl is a great game. Perhaps it is because I have waited so long for a faithful representation of my favorite table-top game to appear, but I will be playing this game for a long time to come. New players may find the game a bit confusing to start with, but with a little commitment, I think they will find a great and involving game.

Sep 30th, 2009 · Windows · read review

Jeuxvideo.com (17 out of 20)

GĂ©nĂ©reux jeu de massacre, Ă  la croisĂ©e des chemins entre fantasy, football amĂ©ricain et jeu de stratĂ©gie, Blood Bowl est une petite perle. Terriblement prenant, mĂȘme lorsqu'on encaisse une sĂ©rie de dĂ©faites, le jeu associe un contenu consĂ©quent Ă  des graphismes soignĂ©s, le tout serti dans un gameplay redoutablement efficace. Au fil du temps, on finit par s'attacher aux espĂšces de tarĂ©s qui nous servent de joueurs et on ne vise plus qu'une chose : les emmener au firmament des meilleures Ă©quipes de Blood Bowl. Autant dire que le soft n'a fini de tourner sur nos PC, comme Chaos League en son temps.

Jun 25th, 2009 · Windows · read review

Peliplaneetta.net (84 out of 100)

Pelin ongelmat eivÀt estÀ nauttimasta mistÀÀn nÀistÀ, mutta lautapelin aktiiviharrastajien on syytÀ ottaa se asenne, ettÀ kaikki ei toimi vielÀ tÀysin niin kuin pitÀisi. Uusien pelaajien taas pitÀÀ varautua suhteellisen korkeaan opettelukynnykseen, ennen kuin pelistÀ pÀÀsee kunnolla nauttimaan. TÀmÀn lÀhemmÀksi aitoa BB:tÀ virallisessa kaupallisessa videopelissÀ kuitenkaan tuskin pÀÀstÀÀn.

Sep 10th, 2009 · Windows · read review

Hellbored (8.3 out of 10)

By now, countless games have been made of various Games Workshop franchises, with wildly varying levels of success. As a full-priced game, Blood Bowl might not be for casual gamers, but the devotees are going to have a spike-studded ball. Where another developer might have taken the franchise and turned it another action-packed button-masher, Blood Bowl is the most faithful translation of the board game that you’re ever likely to get.

Jun 30th, 2009 · Windows · read review

Level (8.2 out of 10)

Blood Bowl pare un joc greoi, neprietenos și complicat, dar odată ce i-ați prins gustul și ați crescut Ăźn Ăźnvățătură puțin mai sus de genunchiul orcului, veți descoperi un joc absolut superb care merită toată atenția voastră.

Feb 2010 · Windows

Impulse Gamer (8.2 out of 10)

In conclusion, the version of Blood Bowl we played was rather impressive, however if you despise American Football but love the universe, we do suggest you take a look at the game due to the Warhammer references and items. At the end of the day, it's refreshing to see a developer get out of their comfort zone and Blood Bowl seems to work quite well.

Jun 28th, 2009 · Windows · read review

UltraNinjas (8 out of 10)

Thus, even though at first you might find the learning curve
 well
 vertical, as soon as you do get your claws into what’s going on you find it very hard to stop playing. Another major thing that Cyanide must be commended on is how faithful they have been to the original game, which will no doubt leave fans with a smile on their faces. Possibly not the most anticipated game, sure, and definitely not one that was on my radar, but a bloody good slice of strategically slanted sports action it is.

Jul 1st, 2009 · Windows · read review

games xtreme (8 out of 10)

Issues like the commentary, the occasionally flaky multiplayer service, and a handful of other bugs are unlikely to utterly ruin the game for anyone. Blood Bowl has a long history as a well loved game and all Cyanide needed to do was not screw it up completely, and fortunately they haven't. Of course, this wont be a game for everyone. The idea of a sports board game is unlikely to appeal to madden fans. But anyone else interested in the concept is likely to have a good time.

Oct 20th, 2009 · Windows · read review

AusGamers (8 out of 10)

Cyanide is continually patching, but still there are a number of rules mistakes still happening in the game (the use of the Apothecary is not quite right). Right now though, this is a game that fans of the Games Workshop classic will find a great substitute for sitting down with mates and breaking out the miniatures. Newcomers however, will love the fluff but may find the game inaccessible.

Oct 23rd, 2009 · Windows · read review

Play.tm (80 out of 100)

Ultimately, fans of the tabletop game will be delighted with Cyanide's videogame translation. Shoddy turn-based mode aside it's a faithful, accurate conversion of the game. The Blood Bowl faithful will appreciate the chance to test out strategies in matches with their friends without having to fork out fifty quid on models and spend a fortnight holding a paint brush. The rest of us, though, will have a more difficult time. Blood Bowl is an unashamedly complex game, and it's been a long time since games have forced you to study text and plough repeatedly through failure to get a basic grip of what exactly is going on. But when it clicks, it's spectacular.

Sep 16th, 2009 · Windows · read review

Gamers.at (78 out of 100)

Ich mag es eigentlich ganz gern wenn es etwas komplizierter wird, aber wenn ich wie in Blood Bowl das grundlegende Regelwerk auch nach mehreren Spielstunden genauso wenig durchschaue, wie so manche GedankengĂ€nge meiner Freundin, dann geht das fĂŒr meinen Geschmack einen Schritt zu weit. Ich weiß, die Gratwanderung zwischen Casual Gaming und anspruchsvoller Strategie ist schwierig, aber ein etwas ausfĂŒhrlicheres und vor allem spannender inszeniertes Tutorial hĂ€tte mir schon gereicht. So musste ich mich entgegen meiner Überzeugung erst durch das Handbuch kĂ€mpfen und zahlreiche Niederlagen einstecken, nur um dann herauszufinden, dass Blood Bowl eigentlich ein tolles Spiel ist, welches vor allem in den verschiedenen Multiplayer-Modi sein ganzes Potential ausspielen kann. Etwas mehr Abwechslung, sowie Verbesserungen in Sachen Einsteigerfreundlichkeit und Blood Bowl wĂ€re nicht nur eine Empfehlung fĂŒr Genre-Fans.

Jul 9th, 2009 · Windows · read review

PC Games (Germany) (75 out of 100)

Gemein und unfair – das ist Blood Bowl. Trotzdem spiele ich es unheimlich gern, allerdings erst nach vielen, vielen Stunden EinĂŒbung. Wenn man aber die Mechanik des Spiels begriffen hat, will man der KĂŒnstlichen Intelligenz einfach zeigen, wo Barthel den Most holt! Ich rate jedoch jedem Spieler vom Kauf ab, der auf tolle AtmosphĂ€re steht und nicht eine Anglersgeduld mitbringt. Wer es doch tut, kann vielleicht mal gegen mich in der Online-Liga antreten. Zum Testzeitpunkt war sie noch nicht spielbar.

Jul 3rd, 2009 · Windows · read review

GamersGlobal (7.5 out of 10)

Blood Bowl ist anders als typischen Sportspiele: brutaler, taktischer und vor allem anspruchsvoller. Ohne viel Einarbeitungszeit werdet ihr selbst gegen die KI die meiste Zeit kein Land sehen – online gegen Menschen schon gar nicht. Hat man das Spiel aber verstanden, macht es mĂ€chtig Laune und hĂ€lt lange bei der Stange. Die sehr unterschiedlichen Rassen, die Lizenztreue und die Onlineliga sind nur drei positive Beispiele. Und doch bleibt dem Titel eine höhere Wertung verwehrt: Zu umstĂ€ndlich ist die Bedienung in Teilen, zu wenig motivierend die Kampagne und zu hoch und schwankend der Schwierigkeitsgrad. Und auch im Mehrspielermodus wird es dank weniger Stadien und einem nur rudimentĂ€ren Managerpart auf Dauer eintönig und langweilig. Da fehlt dann doch die direkte Interaktion mit einem echten Mitspieler am KĂŒchentisch. Den können wir auch direkt anbrĂŒllen, wenn er soeben unseren Starspieler getötet hat.

Dec 2nd, 2009 · Windows · read review

GameStar (Germany) (74 out of 100)

Mir hat es vor allem die Runden-Variante von Blood Bowl angetan, in der mein Taktikhirn gehörig ins Rotieren kommt. Der GlĂŒcksfaktor stört mich nicht, schließlich hilft er manchmal auch mir. Schade nur, dass ich nach einer knappen Woche alles gesehen habe. FĂŒr Zwischendurch-Turniere eignet sich die munter-brachiale Klopperei aber bestens. Ich werde Blood Bowl fortan regelmĂ€ĂŸig aus dem Regal ziehen, um mit meinen Zwergen ein paar Elfen zu vertrimmen.

Jun 26th, 2009 · Windows · read review

Total PC Gaming (7.2 out of 10)

Since they can be turned off or disregarded, none of these flouncy additions take away from the fact that Blood Bowl is, at its core, a highly competent conversion of a classic tabletop game. It needs more team customisation options (two-colour strip selection would be a nice start, as well as home and away kits), and more teams from some of the lesser races would be even more pleasing, but it’s hard not to imagine that a possible future expansion will put right such obvious and broad oversights, after which, perhaps, we can put in a request for a digital edition of that other GW comedy classic, Trolls In The Pantry.

Jul 23rd, 2009 · Windows · read review

2404.org PC Gaming (7.2 out of 10)

The game can be fun and the game can be maddening. It is at its best playing in an online league, where the only downsides are the long load times and odd multiplayer interface. This is a perfect example of a game that I’ll pull out from time to time and play. I’ll have fun with it and overlook its faults, but it isn’t worth anything more than the occasional diversion. An interesting side-note: it runs without the DVD in the drive so playing on the road, in an airport or somewhere similar, means you don’t have to lug the disk and case or have a spinning optical drive chip away at your battery life. Is the title recommended? Since Cyanide gave us a half-hearted game, I can only give it a half-hearted recommendation. I’m mildly happy with my $40 investment, but your mileage may vary.

Mar 8th, 2010 · Windows · read review

True Game Headz ( )

If you are a “Blood Bowl” fan and own the board game, chances are you’ve already bought this. It uses today’s technology to make the excessive bookkeeping of the original game more streamlined and the league-based online play will keep veterans hooked. It certainly sticks to the original source, which is a bad thing if want strategy in a turn-based environment. If you new and want to understand how “Blood Bowl” works, this game will not tolerate your existence. Simply put, this video game adaption is for fans only and does a good job appealing only to them.

Jan 26th, 2010 · Windows · read review

Eurogamer.de (7 out of 10)

Die echte StĂ€rke von Blood Bowl liegt in den Online-Turnieren. Üben, kĂ€mpfen, fallen und wieder aufstehen. Erst hier zeigt sich die StĂ€rke des vergleichsweise langsamen Hochlevelns des eigenen Teams. Mit jedem Spiel wachsen euch eure Helden mehr ans Herz, jeder Tackle am geliebten, selbst aufgebautem Star-Player schmerzt und das „nur eine Runde noch“ schlĂ€gt schnell und erbarmungslos zu. Es gibt keinen schöneren Moment in irgendeinem Spiel, als einem Team, das euch drei Mal eine blutige Nase verpasste, endlich das zu geben, was es lĂ€ngst verdiente. Keine Freude ist so schön wie Schadenfreude und das gilt doppelt fĂŒr Blood Bowl.

Jul 17th, 2009 · Windows · read review

Games TM (7 out of 10)

(...) The result is a turn-based strategy game with surprising depth that remains close to its roots despite digitised accessibility. Blood Bowl couples this with mandatory single-player and online tournaments, as well as an alternate Blitz mode with customised rules and real-time play... which is fun, but then again, we don't think bringing it one step closer to Maddden is in the spirit of the original Blood Bowl.

Oct 1st, 2009 · Windows

GameSpot (7 out of 10)

Blood Bowl's drawbacks are such that the board game faithful will grin and bear them simply because the core turn-based strategizing is so good. Each match is a tense, tactical standoff, and the game will keep you up past your bedtime because it's so hard to pull yourself away. However, the aspects that weren't culled from the board game--the interface, the commentary, the bizarre real-time matches--feel messy and improvised. Nevertheless, Blood Bowl is good fun, even if it doesn't deliver on its full potential.

Jul 8th, 2009 · Windows · read review

IGN UK (6.4 out of 10)

Blood Bowl is a respectable attempt at bringing the ideals of a board game to a videogame. It has decent elements of personality, but the abundance of text and rule memorization can be a downer when all you want to do is get into a game. With so many other great games from the holiday and early in 2010, it’s difficult to recommend Blood Bowl unless you have a serious hankering for a board game on your TV screen.

Jan 29th, 2010 · Windows · read review

4Players.de (61 out of 100)

Es ist sympathisch, das Sub-Genre des Brutal Sports ist sowieso unterbesetzt und als Warhammer-Ableger kommt es noch dazu mit einem bekannten Namen daher. Es sieht hĂŒbsch, wenn auch nicht umwerfend aus und das Spielprinzip ist ebenso ungewöhnlich wie unterhaltsam. Aber als ich nach den ersten Stunden feststellen musste, dass das Spiel vollkommen ungeniert schummelt, verging mir der Spaß an der Taktik! Nichts gegen RundenkĂ€mpfe - im Gegenteil. Aber hier fehlen taktische Möglichkeiten, der Gegner agiert viel zu einfallslos. Auf Dauer geht Blood Bowl deshalb schnell die Luft aus. Den Echtzeit-Modus kann man zudem knicken, da das unmotivierte Klick-Dich-Tot schon nach wenigen Minuten in ein ermĂŒdendes Ball-Schubsen ausartet. Nur dem umfangreichen Online-Möglichkeiten im Einzel- oder Ligaspiel hat es Blood Bowl zu verdanken, dass ich letztendlich doch noch Spaß daran hatte, meine Waldelfen ĂŒber den Rasen zu hetzen!

Jul 10th, 2009 · Windows · read review

Gamer.nl (6 out of 10)

Blood Bowl is in de kern een zeer goede game, maar dat is met name te danken aan het bordspel. De overzetting van Cyanide mist de visie om er een soepel en toegankelijk geheel van te maken. De interface is Ă©Ă©n van de slechtste in jaren, de campagne mist vaart en progressie en de instapdrempel had niet hoger gekund. De echte doorzetters zullen er op den duur best veel plezier uit kunnen halen, met name vanwege de online spelopties. Maar het vergt geduld, heel veel geduld.

Jul 17th, 2009 · Windows · read review

Eurogamer.nl (6 out of 10)

Blood Bowl doet eigenlijk precies hetzelfde wat zijn spirituele voorganger Chaos League een paar jaar geleden al deed. Het brengt deze zeer grappige, intense en spannende sport niet op een slechte manier naar je computer, maar je zal de game ook geen half jaar alleen maar spelen. Desalniettemin is het toch een zeer vermakelijk, en is het vooral voor de fans van het bordspel eigenlijk een must.

Jul 18th, 2009 · Windows · read review

Eurogamer.net (UK) (6 out of 10)

What Blood Bowl offers is a way for enthusiasts to enjoy their chosen tabletop sport without much of the hassle, remotely and conveniently - and for those with friends who'll also indulge, it's probably a no-brainer purchase. What it doesn't really provide is a compelling way for newcomers to learn and become involved in what is clearly a balanced game offering great tactical depth. I'll probably return and persevere with it, attempting to take my Orc team all the way through the punishingly extended campaign, but it's unlikely to convert me to being a real fan - which smacks of a missed opportunity.

Sep 14th, 2009 · Windows · read review

Good Game (6 out of 10)

But you can see effort’s been put into the game with little extras like when players go out of bounds, the spectators pile on and lay into them. I see that stuff and it gives me a bit of a laugh. ... but I did expect more. 6 from me.

Jul 6th, 2009 · Windows · read review

Good Game (3 out of 10)

There’s a lot of assumed knowledge in Blood Bowl. So I guess if you’re already into it, you might get a kick out of seeing how the game plays out in real-time. For the rest of us, the tutorial does a terrible job of explaining a game which in end, isn’t even worth it. I’m giving it a 3.

Jul 6th, 2009 · Windows · read review

Player Reviews

We don't have any player reviews for Windows.

Contributors to this Entry

Critic reviews added by Cavalary, Alsy, Picard, JudgeDeadd, Cantillon, Yearman, Patrick Bregger, Sicarius, Jeanne, jaXen, Rebound Boy, Tim Janssen, Kabushi, CalaisianMindthief, beetle120.